Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you manage to doss so much?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Niamho! wrote:
    i feel like doing serious Damage to myself.

I wouldnt mind having a go myself ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

What the hell is the interweb.

It's a hidden program in your 'puters operating system your boss uses to monitor your work !

Program = Something the Germans did to the Jews in WW2

Operating system = The Roster the doctors in the hospital use

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Niamho! wrote:
    i feel like doing serous Damage to myself.
    Sounds like a post for PI
    Niamho! wrote:
    ive had nothing to do since 11.30 yesterday morning and my boss knows....he's just ignoring it..... i think i should be allowed go home. :(

What do mena you have nothin to do. Surely boards can keep you entertained for the day, otherwise leave a jacket at your desk, walk around for a while with a file/clipboard and look really busy then just never come back after lunch. They will presume you are busy finishing what you were doing before lunch.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

It's a hidden program in your 'puters operating system your boss uses to monitor your work !

Program = Something the Germans did to the Jews in WW2

Operating system = The Roster the doctors in the hospital use
    What work? :D

The place you go to get free money :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

The place you go to get free money :D
    Hey, I earn that money. It's not easy making yourself look busy 8 hours a day.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Wheres my paper? *shakes fist angrily*

I understand the process is extremely frustrating and drawn out but you have to understand i have 350 other organisations in the same position as yourself. I really do understand why are you are upset and i am sorry but my hands are completely tied. i can transfer you another person, that is no problem but they will tell you exactly the same thing. i promise, i will do my best for you, i will be in touch with you in the next 2 - 3 weeks. thank you, have a nice weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Well I'm a 1 man IT team... I get lonely sometimes *sniffles*
    Ya'd think I'd be busy looking after 1200 people single handedly, but no because I encourage people to help themselves ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

azezil wrote:
    Ya'd think I'd be busy looking after 1200 people single handedly, but no because I encourage people to help themselves ;)
    Are you god?

Why yes, yes I am. *nods sagely*

azezil wrote:

And by encourage you must mean ignore them until they get fed up dealing with you and try to fix it themselves.

irishbird wrote:
    I understand the process is extremely frustrating and drawn out but you have to understand i have 350 other organisations in the same position as yourself. I really do understand why are you are upset and i am sorry but my hands are completely tied. i can transfer you another person, that is no problem but they will tell you exactly the same thing. i promise, i will do my best for you, i will be in touch with you in the next 2 - 3 weeks. thank you, have a nice weekend
    Brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭angeldelight

When I was working at the start of the summer, I was sitting in a lab by myself for the whole day, my supervisor might have come into it once every 3 days, and phoned me once the other days but that was the total... And the pc I was working on was furthest from the door so plenty of time to alt-tab. I worked hard in short bursts then dossed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

Sounds like a post for PI

What do mena you have nothin to do. Surely boards can keep you entertained for the day, otherwise leave a jacket at your desk, walk around for a while with a file/clipboard and look really busy then just never come back after lunch. They will presume you are busy finishing what you were doing before lunch.
    I like your Idea's. I would like to be subscribed to your Newsletter please. :D

And by encourage you must mean ignore them until they get fed up dealing with you and try to fix it themselves.
    That'd be pretty much it, yeah!

azezil wrote:

I hear ya ! My helpdesk phone hasn't rung in 2 weeks ! I have had one email (work related ) this week and only one mup... user call in to the office since monday !

Ahh the pressure I tells ye :D

I hear ya ! My helpdesk phone hasn't rung in 2 weeks ! I have had one email (work related ) this week and only one mup... user call in to the office since monday !

Woo man calm down think you need to book a holiday now. This is actually been one of my busy weeks. What am I saying my only busy week since I started half a year ago, and I have still managed to be on boards every day so you can see you use the term busy very loosely. I do have to go to Ballymote on Monday, thats a frickin three hour train trip twice on Monday.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Jaysus, that sounds like a great place to work! Any chance you could put in a good word for me? ;):D

irishbird wrote:

Funny, that's the exact same response you gave me when I asked you out for a date! :confused:;):D

Jaysus, that sounds like a great place to work! Any chance you could put in a good word for me? ;):D

Hmm ! I don't know, your avatar is a point in your favour, and as you can see I am a bit stretched at the moment. I might have a word with the boss the next time I see him, though that may take a few months :D

Just arrange to get me a meeting with him, Brother Slow Mo. I'll give him the trademark BGRH "special super secret handshake"* and I'm sure that'll be enough to get me in there straight away! ;):D

*oh, and in case Pighead or any other eejit is reading this and decides to make some smart arse comment, no, the BGRH "special super secret handshake" doesn't mean **** him off or anything like that! :D

ROFL :D
    Just arrange to get me a meeting with him, Brother Slow Mo. I'll give him the trademark BGRH "special super secret handshake"* and I'm sure that'll be enough to get me in there straight away! ;):D

*oh, and in case Pighead or any other eejit is reading this and decides to make some smart arse comment, no, the BGRH "special super secret handshake" doesn't mean **** him off or anything like that! :D