Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Championships

• 23-08-2007 4:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭

Ok, prediction time again!!!

We have a pretty good team going to Osaka, but not too sure of the medal potential. I think once the US factor is intruduced into the equation, it is a different championship altogether.

Cragg, Gillick, Hession, Cullen, Cuddihy, O'Keefe, O'Rourke should make the final. Not sure if we have any real medal prospects, although you can never rule out O'Rourke.

Anyone think we have a real medal hope on the world stage?

Domer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Domer wrote:

Anyone think we have a real medal hope on the world stage?

Domer

No.

Unless you count our walkers, which I see you didn't. :p

McGettigan might make the Steeple final.

Cragg and O'Rourke to go closest, I suppose.

The official startlists/heatsheets are up on the IAAF website.

Hession is not entered for the 100m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

These are my predictions from another forum.

•On current form, I'm going to bet Hession will break the NR in the 200m in the semi and steal a sneaky spot in the final! He's had a stormer this season so hopefully he'll peak next week.

•If Eileen O' Keefe can uncork another 70m+ then she should make the final. Unfortunately she didn't throw over 70m at the World Uni's but the silver medal should have her full of confidence! It also helps that that beast Lysenko and her training partner have been kicked out of the comp, but there’s still 3 class Russians, Cubans and a Pole in there so it will be tough.

•Joanne Cuddihy to make semi final and could finally break Shinkins’ NR. If she pulls out another performance like the semi in Gothenburg then she’ll be doing well.

•I know O’ Rourke hasn’t exactly had an ideal season thus far, but she’s showed that she’s a championship performer so she’s in with a shot at the final;I certainly wouldn’t rule her out. She’ll need a new PB/NR to make the final I’d say.

•Not sure about Gillick. I’m still not convinced about him outdoors, but I’d say he’ll make the semi and who knows after that.

•Cragg to make final but not much else.

•McGettigan to make final if she can produce the form she showed in Heusden.

•Carey & Campbell will find it difficult to get out of heats, but where better to pull out a shocker than the Worlds!

•Heffernan to do the best out of all the race walkers….top 20 finish?
    Hession is not entered for the 100m
    Yeah, I think I read on the indo the he was going to focus on the 200m. It's dissapointing because I'd love to see how far he could go in it, but with the humidity and such, it might be the best idea for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Linford

Slow coach wrote:
    The official startlists/heatsheets are up on the IAAF website.

Hession is not entered for the 100m.

Interview with Hession in the Irish Times today. Only says that he goes in the 200m.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

As far as I can see on the starting lists he is ranked 9th on season bests so a final spot is on. Take out the top 3 and its wide open. My only concern would be the multiple rounds. It would be amazing to have an Irish athlete in a World 200m final.

19.62 Gay
    19.75 Bolt
    19.82 Spearmon
    20.17 Williams
    20.18 Martin
    20.20 Suetsugu
    20.29 Campbell
    20.29 Dzingai
    20.30 HESSION

http://osaka2007.iaaf.org/documents/pdf/3653/AT
    .EL2..V01.O.pdf

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭Common Sense

Currently the following Irish athletes are ranked in the world top 10 (of those competing in each event)

10. Paul Hession (200m - 20.30)
    7. Alastair Cragg (5000m - 13:07.10)
    10. Robert Heffernan (20k Walk - 1:20.15)
    9. Roisin McGettigan (3000m S/C - 9.28.29

While 10th in the Hammer is 73.34 - so, Eileen O'Keeffe must be pretty close also.

Great start for Ireland; McGettigan and Britton both qualified for the final. McGettigan ran a great race and finished fourth, grabbing an automatic qualifying spot (She would have finished 2nd but she eased up at the line 'coz the top 4 were well clear of the rest).

Britton also ran an excellent race in the fastest of all three heats. She finished 7th overall, grabbing the final fastest loser spot (all 3 fastest losers came from her heat meaning Britain's Helen Clitheroe and Hattie Dean both failed to qualify).

It's great to see not one, but two Irish athletes in a World Final.

Great first session! Two finalists already is some achievement and to think its Britton's first real season in the event.

The men's marathon was a great race for the silver and bronze. The swiss guy was class and at one stage with a km to go I thought we might have 4 guys together in the stadium battling for silver. Kluft was brilliant in the high jump - 1.95, while I had some doubts about Powell but when I saw the front on shot of his heat he seemed to shutdown after about 30m and looked so easy. Really looking forward to the final tomorrow.

but when I saw the front on shot of his heat he seemed to shutdown after about 30m and looked so easy.
    Ya, he practically jogged for the final 70m! The USA are doing terrible in the 100m; it must be their worst championships ever for the 100m. Jelps and Samuels are both out before the semi-final. It doesn't bode welll for the relay either.

I'd say Ennis is a bit annoyed she didn't get to 1.95m too, or at least 1.92 to match te Ukranian. She had a poor shot today (as was expected) and needed to compensate for it in one of the other events. She had a lethal 100mH though in fairness to her. Sub 13 in no easy feat when you're a hurdles specialist, not a mind when you've 6 other events to focus on!

Just something to prove what an achievement the steeplechase result was last night; only three countries as far as I can see have more than one athlete in the steeplechase final:

Russia- Understandable given they've an excellent chance of doing a 1-2-3 in the final.

Kenya- Kenya speaks for itself in any middle/long distance event

.......and.....drumroll please....Ireland!

Yes, and Sli Cualainn are probably the only club with two athletes, can we safely say they are the top women steeplechasing club in the world?:)

Tough draw for Cuddihy tonight - Amertil, Sanders, Trotter (she is running sh*te though) and a 51.44 Nigerian. 4 to go through automatically.

The time-zone is a disaster. Off to bed for a few hours - then up at 2am until 5 ish, back to bed and up for the evening session at 11am. Not sure what I'll do on monday when I have work to fit in (just as well I'm on my break as training would suffer). Good practice for Beijing I suppose.

40 mins in and Rob Heffernan is in the hunt, in the main bunch about 40m behind an Italian out front.

Perez has made a break for the Italian and Rob is still in the pack. RTE are streaming it live - fair play to them - no commentary though. Top 10 finish is on the cards.

Italian DQed - Rob now 6th only 9 secs off a medal - Borchin just collapsed. This is great stuff!

Aussie DQed - up to 5th, go on ya good thing.

He ended up 6th what a performance, he looks very happy too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,308 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

www.rte.ie - what a service :)

What a finish for the silver

Gold medallist stretchered out

A delighted Rob Heffernan finishes in 5th place :)

Great entertainment

Fair Play to him, excellent result. Feck Fernandez anyway....I had him in my fantasy league team...quick transfer needed!

Rineanna wrote:
    Fair Play to him, excellent result. Feck Fernandez anyway....I had him in my fantasy league team...quick transfer needed!

Reinstated.

Cuddihy through, but a seriously tough SF.

O'Rourke in a very strong heat tomorrow (or tonight our time...)

She's 5th fastest this year, with only 3 to go through (+ 4 fasteest losers)

Well done to Robert - a good championships for us so far. Is any of our athletes going to better Robert's 5th place finish.

In setting out the British stall, their head coach, Dave Collins, set a goal of 14 top 8 finishes and 4 medals.

What would be a realistic measure for us? 4 or 5 top 8 finishes and no medals. (Top 8 finishers - Heffernan, McGettigan, Cragg and one from Hession, O'Rourke and Cuddihy??)

Well done to Robert - a good championships for us so far. Is any of our athletes going to better Robert's 5th place finish.

In setting out the British stall, their head coach, Dave Collins, set a goal of 14 top 8 finishes and 4 medals.

What would be a realistic measure for us? 4 or 5 top 8 finishes and no medals. (Top 8 finishers - Heffernan, McGettigan, Cragg and one from Hession, O'Rourke and Cuddihy??)
    That's spot on, I'd say. O' Rourke and Cuddihy, as was said previously, have both got really tough races tommorrow (or today??!!). I do think Hession has a great chance of making the final of the 200m. Actually, looking at the 100m in retrospect, he wouldn't have been out of place in the semi final if he was on form. Himself and the Slovenian athlete Osovnikar who made the final were pretty much evenly matched in the 100m before the champs began.

Fingers crossed the other heats are slower!!!

Edit: Great, she's through!! :D

She had a great start and is starting to look fast again.

I believe she has the easier semi draw - a sub 12.7 would probably get her in. Is she in sub 12.7 shape though.

Her start and first 60m were amazing and she normally improves as a championship progresses but, unfortunately, I don't think she has a sub 12.7 in her at this stage this year. But I'll be happy if Derval proves me wrong - it would be marvellous to see her in the final. Cuddihy in a very tough semi - quite honestly I can't see any way through for her without a massive PB and National record. Again, she has not done anything this season to suggest she is in that kind of shape. One person we haven't mentioned is Eileen O'Keeffe who goes in the hammer tomorrow morning. Any thing near her best should see her through to the final (automatic qualification standard is 71.00). Hession in Lane 9 tonight (Lane 1 not used), so with 4 to qualify and 8 fastest losers I can't see him not getting through. Rodney Marting of US in same heat (Hession has 1 win over him this season (Sheffield) although Martin got the better of him in Crystal Palace.) Gillick also in action tonight where 3 qualify by right and 3 fastest. Gillick is in lane 7 in same heat as Jeremy Wariner and Martin Rooney of GB. Moncur also in there, so difficult but not impossible task for him - I'd expect him to advance. That leaves the 3000m SC. McGettigan's SB is 6th fastest in the race and we all know what a battler Britton is. So a top 8 finish here is not out of the question.

Good luck to all our athletes today and tomorrow morning - we know you'll all do yourselves and us proud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Linford

Powell really blew it yesterday. Is he the new Leroy Burell of the sprint world?

I remember Linford Christie in the 90s saying something along the lines that there were about 10/15 people capable of running fast enough to win the olympic 100m final, but only 2 or 3 that can actually win it.

Linford wrote:
    Powell really blew it yesterday. Is he the new Leroy Burell of the sprint world?

He sure did. I'm a big fan of Powell as I think he is the ultimate 100m athlete when in full flow. I'm a fan of Tyson Gay too so I wasn't too disappointed that he won. I just hope Powell can get the head sorted and deliver on his amazing talent in Beijing next year.

Her start and first 60m were amazing and she normally improves as a championship progresses but, unfortunately, I don't think she has a sub 12.7 in her at this stage this year. .

I'd have to agree but if anyone can pull out a big one when its needed, its her.

McGettigan finished 10th, Britton finished 12th

Roisin tried to go with the pace early on but faded. 10th and 12th in the world is still excellent though

NR for Cuddihy!!!Excellent time in a tough, tough heat. Well done to McGettigan and Britton. Their performance bodes well for Beijing.

Damn, she misses out on a fastest loser place but fairplay to her on the NR; it's been a long time coming to her. Sanders ran a stormer!

Great run by Cuddihy. Sanders has just gone sub 50 and looked very, very good.