Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Picture Game

• Registered Users Posts: 11,969 ✭✭✭✭GBX

is 3 Long place/ grand canal place?

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Vmaxer

The Copper Roof on No.1 looks like a building in Ballybough?
    Am I in the right area?

Tonights Thursday so I suppose We will have to wait for Wishbone to return from the Local..:D

• Registered Users Posts: 24,993 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

GBX wrote: »
    is 3 Long place/ grand canal place?
    Fair play to you GBX - it is indeed Grand Canal Place (not to be confused with Grand Canal Street ;)) and often incorrectly referred to as Pim Street! I'd say this is the nearest halting site to the city centre - open to correction.
    Dubsmax wrote: »
    The Copper Roof on No.1 looks like a building in Ballybough?
    Am I in the right area?
    No - of course not. If you had been paying attention you would have known that they are all in Dublin 8 and no. 1 has already been identified! ;):D
    Dubsmax wrote:
    Tonights Thursday so I suppose We will have to wait for Wishbone to return from the Local..:D
    :D:D Just in - full to the neck with Guinness! :D:D:D

Think it is the closest halting site to town. My bro's apartment looks down onto it :cool:

4 and 5 to go.

4-27.jpg

5-26.jpg[/QUOTE]

Where are Hagar and boneless when you need them? :)

Would yis be wanting clues?

yeah .. go for it.. seeing its xmas :D

GBX wrote: »
    yeah .. go for it.. seeing its xmas :D
    No.4 could be a street for a giant vessel.

No. 5 may be for the homeless.

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Dufresne

Based solely on your clues Wishbone
    Is 4 Ship Street Great?
    and 5 possibly Island Street?

Dufresne wrote: »
    Based solely on your clues Wishbone
    Is 4 Ship Street Great?
    and 5 possibly Island Street?
    Yes and yes. :)

Here are a few. They are probably too easy for you guys and I apologise in advance for the quality - My camera is not great.

No3 Pepper Cannister Church.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,411 ✭✭✭✭Victor

1. Fresh supermarket (formerly Spar, formerly Irish Permanent), corner Camden Street Lower and Montague Street.
    2. ESB Substation and junction of Camden Row and Liberty Lane.

Thats seriously impressive
    Victor both correct - (I even cropped 1 to make it a harder), and GBX - yes the Pepper Cannister Church at the end of Lower/Upper?? Mount St.

It is Upper Mount Street, which is parallel to Lower Mount Street. Silly Dublin people.

It just might even be uphill from Leinster Lawn to the church. :)

OK folks, here's your Christmas Bumper Special - 12 pics from Dublin 1 and Dublin 2.

Enjoy! :)

1. Dublin 2

1-37.jpg

2. Dublin 1

2-32.jpg

3. Dublin 2

3-33.jpg

4. Dublin 1

4-28.jpg

5. Dublin 2

5-27.jpg

6. Dublin 1

6-1.jpg

7. Dublin 2

7-1.jpg

8. Dublin 1

8-1.jpg

9. Dublin 2

9-1.jpg

10. Dublin 1

10-1.jpg

11. Dublin 1

11-4.jpg

12. Dublin 2 (I threw this in for fun and I don't really expect anyone to get it. It looks like an ordinary private residence in Dublin 2 but it is in a very unusual location!)

12-1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 GutShot@CHLs

1 around hannover/grand canal quay, new apts
    2 parnell pl???
    3 off pearse st, erne st or brunswick pl
    6 strand st/north lotts
    7 east essex st, opp back of clarence hotel
    8 mid abbey st
    9 pearse st garda station
    10 between GPO/princes st and mid abbey st
    11 somewhere near buckingham st/monto
    12 camden lock. lock keepers house

1 around hannover/grand canal quay, new apts
    You're in the right part of Dublin 2 but a bit vague. I'd prefer the name of the statue or it's thoroughfare but if no one else gets any closer - it's yours! :)
    2 parnell pl???
    No.
    3 off pearse st, erne st or brunswick pl
    No but you're in the right area. ;)
    6 strand st/north lotts
    Yes, North Lotts.
    7 east essex st, opp back of clarence hotel
    Well done indeed! :) Yes it's East Essex Street. The building is now called Dolphin House and is used by the Courts Service (Family Law?).

EssexStreetEastDolphin3.jpg
    8 mid abbey st
    Yes, well done!
    9 pearse st garda station
    It certainly is! :)

PearseStreetGardastation2.jpg
    10 between GPO/princes st and mid abbey st
    That's impressive - well done! :) (William's Lane).
    11 somewhere near buckingham st/monto
    No.
    No but you are certainly on the right track. The picture is very heavily cropped but I think you've picked up a clue that remains. ;)

Overall, a very impressive performance GutShot@CHLs. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 706 ✭✭✭the boss of me

Happy Christmas Wishbone some great photos there (as usual).

Gutshot beat me to it on most of the ones I recognise but he'll be kicking himself for missing No 4 which is on Bachelors Walk. Pic taken from the boardwalk, you can see the top of the wall on the bottom of your pic.

Happy Christmas Wishbone some great photos there (as usual).
    Thanks the boss of me and a happy Christmas to you too. :)
    Gutshot beat me to it on most of the ones I recognise but he'll be kicking himself for missing No 4 which is on Bachelors Walk. Pic taken from the boardwalk, you can see the top of the wall on the bottom of your pic.
    Well done Sherlock! :D Batchelor's Walk it is.

(I'd like to think that this is Dublin's narrowest building but presumably it's a stairwell(?) for the adjoining buildings.)

BatchelorsWalkNarrow2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

3. Off Pearse Street, at Windmill lane?
    11. Where Middle Abbey Street meets Liffey Street, the Bagel Bar IIRC :D

Ideo wrote: »
    3. Off Pearse Street, at Windmill lane?
    I'll give it to you! :) It's Creighton Street (Windmill Lane is off Creighton Street);)
    Ideo wrote:
    11. Where Abbey Street meets Liffey Street, the Bagel Bar IIRC
    Excellent that's impressive - well done. :)

AbbeyStreetLiffeyStreet-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Oh and No. 1 is Admiral Brown :D

Ideo wrote: »
    Oh and No. 1 is Admiral Brown :D
    It is indeed - located on Admiral Brown Walk. Well done. :)

AdmiralBrownWalk.jpg

These three remain.

2. Dublin 1 - Located on a very busy area but it is one of those little enclaves that most people don't notice as their attentions are focused elsewhere

2-32.jpg

5. Dublin 2 - This is a bit off the beaten track so I don't expect many people to be familiar with it.

5-27.jpg

12. Dublin 2 (I threw this in for fun and I don't really expect anyone to get it. It looks like an ordinary private residence in Dublin 2 but it is in a very unusual location!)

12-1.jpg[/QUOTE]

Is No.12 along the canal somewhere? It looks like the top of a Lock Gate in the bottom of the picture.

No.5 Dublin Castle

65158302_e585624270.jpg?v=0

Is No.12 along the canal somewhere? It looks like the top of a Lock Gate in the bottom of the picture.
    Yup, GutShot had already indicated that on post #1968 - but where?
    Dubsmax wrote:
    No.5 Dublin Castle

65158302_e585624270.jpg?v=0
    Well done Dubsmax. :)

(Do you know anything about it? There is no plaque or anything informative around it!)

DublinCastleStatue.jpg

Note, Camden Lock is the sea lock to the Grand Canal Docks. It does look familiar.

There is a similar odd house at Percy Place / Upper Mount Street. I thinks its actually boarded up.

I hope Ya don't mind Me putting a few Pic's up, mixed Bag with some Festive thrown in.. :D

2134316104_3de7cbceb5_b.jpg

2134311036_5133a9c7fb_b.jpg

2134355512_6606b85ab9_b.jpg

2133583873_4273935d96_b.jpg

5. 2133590637_1c3bc7a294_b.jpg

No but you are certainly on the right track. The picture is very heavily cropped but I think you've picked up a clue that remains. ;)
    Yup, GutShot had already indicated that on post #1968 - but where?]
    Victor wrote: »
    Note, Camden Lock is the sea lock to the Grand Canal Docks. It does look familiar.
    I appear to have made an error through my own ignorance! :o:o:o

When GutShot mentioned Camden Lock, I thought he/she was referring to the canal further West. After reading Victor's post, it now appears that he/she was correct all along.

I took the pic from Britain Quay but did not realise that the entry to the Grand Canal Docks was known as Camden Lock!

Apologies GutShot - well done! :)

GrandCanalDocks.jpg

GrandCanalCanalDocks2.jpg