Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish army ranger wing

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Flying

Poccington & Flying I think you 2 are members of 31 Cav RDF in Cork, would I be right ?

Nope hate cork I am from Louth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Flying wrote:
    Nope hate cork I am from Louth

From you're posts though ye were a double act I know

No offence meant, not a Cork fan myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭elvis jaffacake

Flying wrote:
    Just to clear up who is actual special forces eg UK.

1.) SAS Regiment (22,23,21,264 SAS,63 SAS)

2.) SBS - RM

3.) Mountain and Artic Warefare Cadre - RM

4.) Commacchio Group - RM

5.) Pathfinder Platoon

The fifth is a conventianal (spelling) unit that has black and green designations.

The ARW is similar to the latter 3 but is not comparable to the first 2, as very few if any members are linguists,tech experts, trained in counter intel etc.

They are trained for Green and Black operations but on the latter have very little experience.

I am not saying they are a crap unit far from it but are defintely (spelling) not up to the standard of British or American Combat proven units.
    Oh BS son, all UK SF are under the DSR (Director of special forces), to be classed SF in the UK you must pass UKSF-S, thats selection to you, the Blades go through that then on to continuation, the SBS lads go on to do an extra 3 weeks of selection called "mad paddle", the SRR do UKSF-S too but then they go on to speacilist training afterwards succint to role, the M&AW cadre don't exist anymore as a seperate unit, they are in BP, and were never evr classed as SF, were they SF skilled in a lot of areas?, yes, Pathfinders the same, and no MM would ever ever say they were SF:rolleyes:

as for the commachio group their role was fleet defence and security of the bombers and warheads, they used to have the maritime CT role like 30+ years ago...they were never SF either

The fifth is a conventianal (spelling) unit that has black and green designations.
    What 5th unit?:confused:

I can see why you wanted me to PM you, your lack of SA is astounding for a scoopy

Elvis I think you have read far to much combat and survival.

Have you ever served in the British Forces just a question since you seem to be such an expert please humour me

Flying wrote:
    Elvis I think you have read far to much combat and survival.

Have you ever served in the British Forces just a question since you seem to be such an expert please humour me
    No soldier of fortune's my thing, I like reading up and dreaming about being a merc

please don't try to bluster your way through this, you called the PF/A&MWC and the Commachio group in the RN ouldn't do that

MY god man your full of yourself, had a good little read of the internet for that info, there there jog on now back to your action man and let the adults talk as if anyone was'nt full of BS your certainly are.

Want to astound us all with a bit more of your Buzz abreviation please I need a good giggle on a sunday afternoon.

Flying wrote:
    MY god man your full of yourself, had a good little read of the internet for that info, there there jog on now back to your action man and let the adults talk as if anyone was'nt full of BS your certainly are.

Want to astound us all with a bit more of your Buzz abreviation please I need a good giggle on a sunday afternoon.
    As I thought your trying to bluster yourr way through it...nice drills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Correct..;)
    really??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Ex rangers have been recruited into Gardai and subsequently the ERU

Amazing the changes that have taken place in the guards since the height restriction went:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I asked for a bit of retraint earlier, then I go out for a well earned glass of pastis and I come back to a load of squabbling oul wans.

Some people here are making this very personal. This is not on.
    If it keeps up there will be bans handed out.
    Don't say you haven't be warned.

Hagar wrote:
    I asked for a bit of retraint earlier, then I go out for a well earned glass of pastis and I come back to a load of squabbling oul wans.

Apologies for that, mostly my fault.....I'm done anyway, I've PM'd him to see can he answear some questions, if he can, he's who he say's he is, if not, he isn't

And back to lurking for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Apologies for that, mostly my fault.....I'm done anyway, I've PM'd him to see can he answear some questions, if he can, he's who he say's he is, if not, he isn't

And back to lurking for me

elvis jaffacake has left the building!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

Slightly off topic, but does anyone know what is required to join the ERU?

Serving member of the Gardai first, few years in then put in your name, they have a selection, you pass, then the usual probation time voila, your in.....it's a hard enough selcetion though, no walk in the Phoenix park Boom Boom

thanks I'll be here all week....have the chicken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

What does the selection entail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Irish_Army01

@ Flying

If you read my post correctly you would have noticed I said they have trained with some of the best units in the world.

Flying wrote:
    Just to clear up who is actual special forces eg UK.

1.) SAS Regiment (22,23,21,264 SAS,63 SAS)

2.) SBS - RM

3.) Mountain and Artic Warefare Cadre - RM

4.) Commacchio Group - RM

5.) Pathfinder Platoon

The ARW is similar to the latter 3 but is not comparable to the first 2, as very few if any members are linguists,tech experts, trained in counter intel etc.

They are trained for Green and Black operations but on the latter have very little experience.

I am not saying they are a crap unit far from it but are defintely (spelling) not up to the standard of British or American Combat proven units.

And you know this for a fact yeah?

Just so you know who your talking to..Im an NCO with 13 yrs service in the DF.

your the only one who has this opinion..http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Army_Rangers

And you know this for a fact yeah?

Just so you know who your talking to..Im an NCO with 13 yrs service in the DF.
    Irish it's over, I pm'd him, I saw him log on after that then he disappered with out answearing me...it would have taken 30 seconds, I can only assume he is off googling the answears...won't find them though;)

I thought a job/detail like this would only be given to Special Operations Troops and not Advanced Infantry:rolleyes:
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/westerners-face-new-fears-as-rory-returns-to-his-delighted-family-473766.html

TOBY HARNDEN
    IN BAGHDAD
    AS freed reporter Rory Carroll returns to the safety of his Dublin family today, sources have revealed that more Irish and British people in Iraq are living in fear of kidnap.

The threat has increased greatly since two SAS troopers clashed with police officers in Basra - and were rescued from insurgents.

An American official has revealed that the kidnapping of Guardian correspondent Rory, who was released on Thursday after being held for 36 hours, underlined the danger.

"If I were you, I would go now," the official said.

Meanwhile, Rory's family are trying to contain their excitement.

His father Joe said he expecting his 33-year-old son at his Blackrock home to see his mother Kathy and sister Karina after he flies in this afternoon.

And writing in the Guardian yesterday, Rory told how he was surrounded by gunmen and knew the moment of kidnap, a moment he "had dreaded", had arrived.

"A potential death sentence for Iraqi staff as well as the foreign correspondents who are the targets," he said.

"Since hostages started having their heads sawn off we have all been obsessed by it."

He said his captors bundled him into a car before one said: "Tawhid al-Jihad".

"Otherwise known as Abu Musab al-Zarqawi's al Qaida in Iraq, the beheaders of Ken Bigley. I stopped breathing."

And a British diplomat said that the trouble in Basra had led to the Medhi army issuing orders that at least two Britons should be kidnapped.

"Anyone considering remaining here does so at their own risk and needs to think very carefully about whether they can travel in the Red Zone," he said.

The Red Zone is the coalition term for everywhere in Iraq beyond the fortified Green Zone compound in Baghdad, the base of western and many Iraqi officials.

Irish and British journalists live in hotels outside the compound.

Carroll, 33, was abducted by gunmen after he left a house in Baladiyat, close to the Sadr City slum area of Baghdad, a stronghold of the Medhi army, a insurgent group made up of impoverished Shia.

He had been watching Saddam Hussein's trial on television as part of an interview arranged by the office of Moqtadr al-Sadr, the Medhi army leader.

His abductors had visited the house during the interview.

During his captivity, Carroll was told that his abduction was connected to the arrest by British troops in Basra of 12 members of the Medhi army.

A faction of the insurgent group was handed the two SAS men arrested by Iraqi police last month, necessitating their rescue.

"At one point I was told I would be used as a bargaining chip in exchange for al-Sadr people taken in Basra," Carroll wrote after his release.

A police car was involved in the kidnapping. He was freed after negotiations involving Ahmad Chalabi, a secular Shia with links to al-Sadr.

Several men were arrested by a specialist Iraqi police unit near the scene of the kidnapping, and it is understood that information gleaned from them helped to establish exactly who had taken him.

Diplomats said that no ransom payment was made but would not comment on whether anyone was released from police custody as part of the negotiations.

They indicated that Carroll's Irish citizenship might well have saved his life and those who planned the abduction had assumed that he was British.

Two Army Rangers were to travel with the Government party to Baghdad to advise on what type of military intervention would have been required to free Rory Carroll.

The Coalition forces are understood to have had good intelligence on where Rory was being held. He had been kidnapped from Sadr city where the American forces had previously clashed with the local militia, the so-called Mhadi Army.

The highly trained Army Ranger Wing is Ireland's main hostage rescue unit and would have given expert advise on the military options available.

However, with many American and British Special Forces on the ground in Iraq, including Britain's SAS and the American Delta unit, it was not planned to send a Ranger intervention team from Ireland to rescue Rory.

The two heavily armed Rangers would also have provided close protection to the Government team, who included two Arabic speaking officers from G-2, the secret Army intelligence unit, former Baghdad Ambassador Antoin MacUnfraidh, another Department of Foreign Affairs official, and a Garda superintendent from Garda HQ.

Rory said in his Guardian article yesterday that one of the kidnappers had told him they were from the group Ansar al-Sunna.

"The bad news was this was the group that killed an Italian journalist. The good news was this contradicted the driver. I suspected - hoped - they were winding me up."

Handcuffed, he was led out of the car and into a basement room five metres long, one metre wide, with a rug and a pillow.

He said he was well fed by his captors and, although treated like a "pet", was allowed to do press-ups.

After two nights in the cell, one of Carroll's kidnappers received a mobile phone call and the award-winning journalist was released.

Carroll earlier told RTE television how gunmen abducted him in Sadr City and attacked his driver and interpreter.

"We were driving down quiet streets when suddenly three vehicles came around the corner and sliced right in front of us to stop.

"About half a dozen gunmen jumped out of these vehicles and surrounded us.

"They pistol-whipped my driver and dragged the interpreter out of my car and they were beating him.

"Then I was forced at gunpoint out of the car into one of the unmarked cars that forced us off the road.

"I was handcuffed and then driven away at speed with my head shoved down in the back seat so that I couldn't see where I was going."

Carroll was freed on Thursday evening and was taken to a rendezvous point with Iraqi police.

He was transported to the offices in the fortified Green Zone of Iraqi deputy prime minister Ahmed Chalabi.

eroo wrote:
    really??

My feelings, you doubt me ? don't believe the bad boys, I speak d truth !

Inability to shoot straight :D

This is a joke, no offence to our boys in blue, you does a tough job well

Poccington seems to have left the building, hope the door didn't hit him on the back of the head :D:D:D

Irish it's over, I pm'd him, I saw him log on after that then he disappered with out answearing me...it would have taken 30 seconds, I can only assume he is off googling the answears...won't find them though;)

Googled LOL I replied to your PM and when you do so I will answer in due course.

***Edit, I see elvis has left the building, did I rumble you,LOL***

Irish 12 years PDF or RDF please enlighten me.

Hagar wrote:

suitably chastised ;)

Touche ;)

Flying wrote:
    Touche ;)

This don't mean we're mates and we can start taking hot showers together:D

You've watched heartbreak ridge far to many times.

Right I am away for the week enjoy the squabbling all.

Peace :D

Flying wrote:
    Googled LOL I replied to your PM and when you do so I will answer in due course.

***Edit, I see elvis has left the building, did I rumble you,LOL***

Irish 12 years PDF or RDF please enlighten me.

13 yrs PDF..still serving btw

That twice you have mis quoted me:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Thread Closed - In the interests of the forum as a whole.

I don't want anyone to resurrect this topic in the near future.

Trolling is sometimes hard to identify, I usually give posters the benefit of the doubt, but there was deliberate winding up in this thread and there were far too much personal shyte.

From here on there will be zero tolerance, no warnings and the bans will be permanent and the user will go on my ignore list so I won't even hear any appeals by PM.

Goonight all.