Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too late to start training for marathon?

• 26-08-2007 12:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭

Hi, I'm planning on running the october dublin city marathon. I have never done a 10K race before, let alone a marathon and I am planning on starting training today. Sounds like I'm leaving it incredibly late.
    Should I think twice? Any advice?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭jrar

KJF wrote:
    Hi, I'm planning on running the october dublin city marathon. I have never done a 10K race before, let alone a marathon and I am planning on starting training today. Sounds like I'm leaving it incredibly late.
    Should I think twice? Any advice?

KJF, I'd seriously consider thinking thrice, never mind twice - the minimum training programmes consist of 16 or 20 week schedules....trying to get to marathon condition in 8 weeks from scratch would be nigh on impossible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Noone is saying you have to run non-stop. You could jog it and take regular walking breaks.

Belfast is more than 6 months away so maybe that's a good goal for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

why have you left it so late?

Yes it is too late to train properly for a marathon. Not training properly can lead to a rough day on the race day, injury, several days of painful bits afterwards and prehaps even long term damage to your joints by pushing them so hard.