Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The worst place in Ireland......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭Pat the Baker

Arklow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Heln

Steez wrote:
    Clonmel got voted friendliest town in Ireland (or possibly the south east) on some radio thing before. Couldn't believe it tbh

Sure it wasn't the UNfriendliest town in Ireland? I pity anyone who has to move there because it has to be the hardest place to make friends, it's so clannish. It's gone dog rough too between all the knackers and knacker wannabes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Arklow

Arklaa!! ah you gotta luv Arklaa

two nice beaches nearby ..clogga bay & brittis bay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    And the winner is...........................
    Granard!!

I presume your are aligned with the Cavan Crips in their legendary wars with the Granard Gangster Disciples outside the Springs disco? :D Where did the rivalry stem from and how long ha it been going anyway?

But yeah, Granard is a kip, awful oul place.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

I've yet to come across it! :)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I presume your are aligned with the Cavan Crips in their legendary wars with the Granard Gangster Disciples outside the Springs disco? :D Where did the rivalry stem from and how long ha it been going anyway?

But yeah, Granard is a kip, awful oul place.
    Haha... Well I've heard about that alright but have never even been to the Springs (too far away). No idea where it stems from but they have been knocking lumps out of each other for quite a while now!

Its just that Granard is the most depressing place I've had the displeasure of driving through. Makes me glad I don't live anywhere near it!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Sli-fcuking-go

I hate the place, and iv another 2 years left up there :(

(I like my course though so that's a plus)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Ballinasloe, Tuam & Killimor in Co.Galway, Strokestown, Ballina, actually most towns in Mayo except Westport...all make Derry look like Kuala Lumpur.

But for sheer depressing sh*tiness, Dunmore in Co Galway takes some beating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭Celtic67

eoin5 wrote:
    I live in Maynooth and it aint pretty but Celbridge seems to have gone that extra step towards oblivion.
    Maynooth seems to be like a meeting place for every inbred in the country-must be something to do with the road to Galway.
    Confey as much as it might try is neither a town nor a village just an offspring of Leixlip - nice people there though in the Riverforest Hotel (The Blue)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Celtic67 wrote:
    Maynooth seems to be like a meeting place for every inbred in the country-must be something to do with the road to Galway.
    Confey as much as it might try is neither a town nor a village just an offspring of Leixlip - nice people there though in the Riverforest Hotel (The Blue)
    Remind me to kick your ass the next time you're in the blue. Just to change your mind about the place. I mean no offence or anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭zaratustra

Plug wrote:
    Kilkenny is little poland now:(

I was in Killarney last time. It was by night aswell. I could say that Killarney is little poland now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

Prosperous Co Kildare
    Sesspit if i ever saw one .

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Dundalk

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

macroman wrote:
    Dundalk

Hey, I'm from Dundalk!*

and I couldn't agree more

• Registered Users Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

drogheda.

cant stand the accent which is an inbred cross between a dublin scanger and a culchie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jb91

1. The people have the most annoying whinging accent ive ever heard.
    2. The place is looks like its falling down.
    3 There are no decent single women in the place, they are all pregnant by the age of 18 and drawing dole.
    3. The place is extremely zenophobic and narrow minded.
    4. There are no decent bar/clubs.
    5. The place has to be the most divided and sectarian city in Ireland.
    6. The place is full of scumbags.

Kilcoole, Co Wicklow

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

jb91 wrote:
    Kilcoole, Co Wicklow

ah kilcoole - i spent a fair amount of my teens out there. its an awful kip but they have an ATM machine now and a bottle shop so its slowly getting better

• Registered Users Posts: 11,350 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

big b wrote:
    But for sheer depressing sh*tiness, Dunmore in Co Galway takes some beating.

you are the first person i agree with on this topic, how i forgot Dunmore is beyond me :eek: We have a winner for sure :D

Anyone who thinks Dundalk, Derry, Limerick etc are the worst places in Ireland just take a trip down to Dunmore and you will soon change your mind :p

• Registered Users Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

humbert wrote:
    Hey, I'm from Dundalk!*

and I couldn't agree more
    You're not from Dundalk humbert. Dundalkonians have pride in their roots and love and respect for the town. Pighead suspects you're from that hellhole down the road that goes by the name of Drogheda. You've got that sort of smell of you.

Pighead wrote:
    You're not from Dundalk humbert. Dundalkonians have pride in their roots and love and respect for the town. Pighead suspects you're from that hellhole down the road that goes by the name of Drogheda. You've got that sort of smell of you.

I fear pighead you're one of those unfortunate souls who's been brought up with an idealised vision of Dundalk. All too common it is. Where the fair skinned women speak with a hint if a lilting northern accent. Where there's a friendly smile to greet you as you enter any pub in town. Where the clean sea air blows in from the bay. Well I'm sorry to tell ya pighead, it aint true. You've been duped.

humbert wrote:
    I fear pighead you're one of those unfortunate souls who's been brought up with an idealised vision of Dundalk. All too common it is. Where the fair skinned women speak with a hint if a lilting northern accent. Where there's a friendly smile to greet you as you enter any pub in town. Where the clean sea air blows in from the bay. Well I'm sorry to tell ya pighead, it aint true. You've been duped.

Listen pal Pighead doesn't get duped. Its quite clear here that its you who is in the wrong. You're anti-Dundalk attitude makes Pighead sick to the fcuking belly.

Its obvious what happened here, you're one of those cnuts who left Dundalk at 18 to go to college in Dublin and within 2 weeks you'd lost the accent for fear of 'not fitting in' whatever the fcuk that means. You casually put your hometown down in order to let the people around you know that you've moved on to bigger and better things.

Well humbert, you can stay the fcuk away if thats your attitude. Keep you're stinking college values and haughty attitudes. Give Pighead a pub in Dundalk surrounded by pure down to earth Dundalkonians any day.

If its getting pissed thats the order of the day, you've got the most relaxed natural public houses around, if you want to clear your head, a leisurely drive up the Cooley mountains will reward you with peace, fresh air and spectacular scenery.

If its chicks you're after Dundalk is continually churning out chicks who not only look good but who think good as well. If its top class soccer you're after you can head down to....actually scratch that one.

Bottom line is Dundalks a wonderful place to bring up a child and you should be ashamed of yourself for selling your soul for the Dublin dollar. You're no longer one of us humbert. You're nothing to Pighead now.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Touchy on Dundalk then Pighead.:D

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Nah, touchy on cnuts who get ideas above their station, thats all. The fcukers obviously got a small todger and has come to the conclusion that Dundalks to blame for all his woes.

Well mister pighead you do make a good point and far be it from me to call you a dirty great liar. Dundalk does churn out some of the finest chicks in Ireland, however it's not long before the good thinking head on their shoulders takes them from this grotty little dump.

The Cooley mountains are a sight to behold indeed and Carlingford is a lovely little place too, great places to live both of them.

Now on this last point I can't fault you at all, if you're looking to get dirty rotten drunk there's no better place in Ireland.

Oh and if you really were a Dundalker you'd know nobody loses a Dundalk accent!

foxhunter wrote:
    Prosperous Co Kildare

With a name like that, it should be done under the trade descriptions act.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Thurles Co Tipp.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Archeron wrote:
    Castledermot. Every time I drive through it I end up having to see a therapist to get back my will to live.

Why, because of the roadworks?

I generally have to see a back specialist after all the bumping around driving through Castledermot. I lived in Dublin for 8 years and every time I went to Waterford there would be roadworks in Castledermot. It's like an open sore that never heals.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

dj_quinn wrote:
    The worst place has to be were my ex wife is from, Kilmacow in South Killkenny. It is the absolute sticks and the Culchie Capitol of Ireland.

Oh yeah... total banjo territory. There's an air of threat about the place even though there's never anyone around. You sort of know that if you switched off the engine, you'd have "company" in no time.

We drove out there one night to drop someone home and we were overtaken by two motorbikes with rider and pillion on each. Not a helmet in sight, even though civilisation was only 5 miles away among the bright lights of Waterford.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭Micko23

Yeah ive been in GRANARD and just thought to myself what could possibly keep people here. Not judging the people, just the state of the place- depressing.

Leixlip wouldnt be in the running if it wasnt for The Ozone and its attractivenes to north western dubliners who would not get in anywhere in Dublin City. Maynooth as a town isnt too bad and Celbridge does have its bad parts really dragging the area down.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Micko23 wrote:
    Yeah ive been in GRANARD and just thought to myself what could possibly keep people here. Not judging the people, just the state of the place- depressing.

Leixlip wouldnt be in the running if it wasnt for The Ozone and its attractivenes to north western dubliners who would not get in anywhere in Dublin City. Maynooth as a town isnt too bad and Celbridge does have its bad parts really dragging the area down.
    Believe me, we had plenty of outsiders coming in before the ozone existed.