Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Warhawk Thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Vorrtexx wrote: »
    you can add me
    PSN: Vorrtexx

I'll have you know I suck :D. I'm still adjusting to a controller coming from a PC gaming background

you cant be as bad as me, and im coming from a console background lol

i really suck the big one at this game, but im getting better

learning curve seems to be fairly alrite

also id be up for a game or 2 of this

psn: H3lx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

weeder wrote: »
    im air marshall btw
    dont think i got that invite, how do i check?

You have to go into the Community tab and check for clan invites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

Helix wrote: »
    i have no idea how you even know what your rank is
    you can see it in the top left of the main menu, next to your username. or you can see if in your profile under 'community' in the main menu. it will tell you your rank and you can see which date you got each rank, as well as other stuff like medals & ribbons etc.
    weeder wrote: »
    im air marshall btw
    before or after the 1.1 patch?

how many points do you have, overall?

vibe666 wrote: »
    you can see it in the top left of the main menu, next to your username. or you can see if in your profile under 'community' in the main menu. it will tell you your rank and you can see which date you got each rank, as well as other stuff like medals & ribbons etc.

nice one! cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭3102derek

i had a awesome kill last night.
    i was been hunted down by a hawk, he was hovering really low, straffing side to side and shoot me with the guns.
    i was on foot with just the pistol. just by luck i picked up the landmine turned a let one fly at him, i got him right in the wing - then i just shoot him with pistol!!
    the best kill i have had to date.:D
    id say he was @#&*
    :):)

3102derek wrote: »
    just by luck i picked up the landmine turned a let one fly at him, i got him right in the wing - then i just shoot him with pistol!!
    the best kill i have had to date.:D
    id say he was @#&*
    :):)
    you didn't even need to shoot him. landmines activate after a couple of seconds. you'll see the light out the top of them go from green to the colour of your team (red or blue) after a few seconds. once that happens they will go off if an enemy is within range, even if they are stuck to them (works for tanks and jeeps too).

land mines and the air mines can be great for regular kills too, you just need to know where to put them. their sensor range and blast radius are the same, so if you're close enough to set one off you're toast.

when you're reasonably close you'll see the air around the blast warp slightly which will give you a good idea of their range. think about this when placing more than one as they will set each other off if too close, which is a waste.

remember as well that they stick on walls and ceilings too, nobody looks on the ceiling when going through a doorway into a base. :D

your own teams mines won't go off on you either, so pay attention to the colour of the light on to when you approach one.

if I'm taking a vehicle somewhere and plan on not making it out alive or just abandoning it in enemy territory, I'll always stick a mine to it somewhere inconspicuous if I have one. that way if an enemy decides to use it they'll get a nasty surprise and maybe one of their friends too if they're close. :D

make sure you have time to back off tho, or it'll get you as well as them.

a great place for mines is on the destroyed capital level, in the seperate towers either side of where the dome is in the centre. there's a flag base in each one and a mines pickup. you can spend all your time flying between the 2 towers planting one mine inside on the side of the centre pillars where each balcony is. people land on the tower and the first thing they do is run inside. unless they come in via the windows (unlikely) they'll walk right past one of your 4 mines. in the time this takes to happen you can have picked up the next mine pickup and re-laid your traps. there's also health, rifle, grenade, rockets etc. in each tower, so you'll want for nothing. if it gets quite fly to the other tower and have a go there. as an alternative, you can lay a mine outside on each balcony, 50% of the time someone will land right on it, or close enough to set it off.

the bad news is that I think you can only lay 8 mines before the oldest ones start disappearing before they get blown up, so don't go laying hundreds or you'll be wasting your time. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭bigslick

lol, just signed into warhawk and it seems i have been upgraded to some form of General. BLOODY ELL!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭agentgreen

Am I best buying this as a disk or just downloading it?

would you rather have it on disc or downloaded?

LOL, post of the day. :D

do you want a free BT headset to go with it? (no probably not). a mobile phone headset will work just fine if you really want to use one and sound like a dalek.

do you want it to cost more and take longer to load? no, probably not either.

download it unless you feel like you need to physically hold what you've just bought.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

I'm up for this clan. Only got the game yesterday and so far my only complaint is that its hard to get the hang of (no offline tutorials or anything). Scored a couple kills though.

Anyway, PSN is SonicDoom, add me and I can be the noob y'all laugh at :)

for a quick and safe self taught familiarisation lesson you can't beat starting your own LAN game offline and just having a run/drive/fly around the maps to get a feel for each one and the vehicles and weapons. give it a go, even if you're all on your tod you'll get a good idea of what's what without getting blown to bits. :D

Anyone know how to demote onesself?? im at brigadier general and cant find any games to play :mad::(

im still a recruit lol

bigslick wrote: »
    Anyone know how to demote onesself?? im at brigadier general and cant find any games to play :mad::(
    are you a genuine brigadier general?

check in your profile in the community section for the number of points you have and then match them up with the point requirement for the brigadier general rank.

before the 1.1 patch my rank was up and down like a yoyo, but i noticed my points were always correct. since the patch it's all been fine though, maybe there's something funky with your account. maybe check in the euro ps forums.

of course, you could always create a seperate sub-account and play using that and start from scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭agentgreen

Can anybody tell me how many gigs warhawk is before I download it.

agentgreen wrote: »
    Can anybody tell me how many gigs warhawk is before I download it.

its less then one gig, 765mb or sumthing like that. less than one anyway. excellent game thou. U have made a wise choice :D

how much do you regular players play, and how long did it take yis to start getting decent and moving up ranks?

as it stands im horribly awful at the game and barely get an hour a week in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Vorrtexx

how much do you regular players play, and how long did it take yis to start getting decent and moving up ranks?

as it stands im horribly awful at the game and barely get an hour a week in

I still suck too but I've moved up to Airman 1st Class. I haven't played it much the last couple of days between work, metroid and COD4.

A Couple of us should get together online some eve though for a few games. If we all suck then it should be good craic :)

yeah good point actually, get a load of not so great players to have a game

would definitely beat being hammered constantly lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭hollywoodhoppy

anyone up for a game and to use me as target practice add me :p My ID is hollwoodhoppy

Gonna add some of you guys here if ye dont mind. I'm online a few times a week!

Cheers

i think ill have a game of this tonight if theres anyone around whos not bleedin great at it fancies a bash

say 9 o clock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

Hi Lads, been missing for a while, sorry.

I have sent clan invites to hollywoodhoppy, vorrtexx and H3lx. I tried to send one to sonicdoom but got a 'user does not exist' message.

Anyway, as I am finding it hard to dedicate any time to the clan I was wondering if someone else would like to take over??
    Plus when I do get on to play I am pretty much always booted, which sucks!! I don't mind doing the admin of the clan, but if it is stopping people from meeting up on-line I would like to hand it over to someone who could facilitate that.

hi MAJOR!!!

I would'nt have time to look after it either, im only on line about 3 times per week.

is anybody up for a game tonight say around 9 or 9.30 ?
    ill be playing CTF or Zones.

id: gokuneo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 455 ✭✭eggplantman

my modem speed is 1mb will it still work fine online?

hi eggplantman

it will work perfect. i have eircom 1mb with no problems.

add me to ur friends list: gokuneo

hi eggplantman

it will work perfect. i have eircom 1mb with no problems.

add me to ur friends list: gokuneo
    just got the game the other day ill add you my name is benjany

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Are you guys still faffing around with this malarky?:D

If there is still a clan, I'd be up to get killed every 8 seconds.....
    PSN is whiterebel imaginatively enough.

That vibe666 looks awfully familiar, probably due to having kiled me repeatedly....

im whoring my time out exclusively to cod4 at the moment, completely forgotten all about warhawk

this weekend for sure tho ill give it a solid bash

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,109 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

im whoring my time out exclusively to cod4 at the moment, completely forgotten all about warhawk

this weekend for sure tho ill give it a solid bash

By the time I get around to CoD4 you'll all be playing bloody Unreal Touranment....:(

whiterebel wrote: »
    By the time I get around to CoD4 you'll all be playing bloody Unreal Touranment....:(

Haven't played Warhawk since I got COD4 either. It just plays really well online (when you can get connected!!). I must play Warhawk again over the next few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

aye i also havent played this in a while but fired it up tonight and want some matches soon

vibe666 wrote: »

before or after the 1.1 patch?

how many points do you have, overall?
    after it,177 total points,39 combat,171 team,34 negative,1 bonus,35 kills and embarrasingly 156 deaths6 badges and one ribbon, no medals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

3 new maps and a troop carrier is out next week! Must start playin Warhawk again.

same as, im planning on getting an hour or 2 in this weekend

i had a geat 5hr session last night.

the american servers are so much more fun than the euro ones.
    nobody uses mic on the euros.

i ranked up to wingman last night and got the master offence .:D

man i love this game!!

just got to wingman my self but still need a few thousand points to go up to next rank

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    3 new maps and a troop carrier is out next week! Must start playin Warhawk again.
    yeah, just been back on again after a bit of a break in anticipation of Omega Dawn arriving in a few days time, it's going to be pretty awesome. has anyone seen the gameplay vids on youtube with the dropship in them? pretty fancy looking.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Hi people im seriously considering a ps3 soon and warhawk is grabbing my attention.
    Im just wondering how smooth and easy it is to get online and in game.
    I hear warhawk has dedicated servers,coming from pc gaming i see this as a must.

Dcully wrote: »
    Hi people im seriously considering a ps3 soon and warhawk is grabbing my attention.
    Im just wondering how smooth and easy it is to get online and in game.
    I hear warhawk has dedicated servers,coming from pc gaming i see this as a must.

Warhawk's online setup is very like a PC game. It gives you a server listing of all live hosts including ping response times. You can choose what server you want to join and the dedicated servers are colour coded afaik. Any time I played it online I was connected in a matter of seconds....unlike COD4 right now :(

ditto to what Vorrtexx said. there were some problems with connections before the first patch came out, but they're long gone these days.

you're joining at a great time too, the omega dawn add-on is out on Thursday and it's looking awesome. :D

that said, graphics aren't up to COD4 standards, but the great gameplay more than makes up for that imho.

played a game last night, killed 18 times and only got 1 kill

thats what i get for not playing it for months i suppose lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭jackal

Just got it going there yesterday - brilliant game, but im getting my ass handed to me the whole time. At most I last a minute as soon as I set foot in a warhawk. Sometimes < 5 seconds. Still keep coming back for more!

my username: karlos_jackal.

omega dawn is wicked.

the dropship is very slow but packs a punch.
    the depth in the new map is unreal. it is a savage size.
    it takes some serious team work to capture the flag back to your base.

did anybody else notice when you have the enemy flag and you are killed as soon as the other team touch the flag it is reset to there base.:mad:
    it is **** had to get the flag captures now. - it could just be the setting on the map i was playing.

pitty about the flag recapture is now only 3 points.

overall i good update.

omega dawn is wicked.

the dropship is very slow but packs a punch.
    the depth in the new map is unreal. it is a savage size.
    it takes some serious team work to capture the flag back to your base.

did anybody else notice when you have the enemy flag and you are killed as soon as the other team touch the flag it is reset to there base.:mad:
    it is **** had to get the flag captures now. - it could just be the setting on the map i was playing.

pitty about the flag recapture is now only 3 points.

overall i good update.
    the new update makes saving a flag easier because the longer the enemy has the flag he longer it takes to save

thanks man,

i played on a non ranked server last night - and as soon as the flag was touched it reset.

it is gonna make for some good team skills need work now.

when you grab a flag you will notice a meter at the bottom of the screen,as it gets bigger the longer it takes for the other team to save it,so if the other team grabs the flag and you kill them straigh away the flag will be saved on touch:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

i suggest everyone buys omega dawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

Havent seen many people on lately. Maybe I'm just off when other people are on.We should organise a day when we all play :D

hi dr.

im on most day around 9.30 to 11.30pm.
    i should be on line tonight for a while .

suggest a day and time and ill try and get online. ( can be difficult sometims with a 2yr old daugther and wife :D)

id: gokuneo

eggplantman is online quite a bit as well.

Dr.Poca wrote: »
    Havent seen many people on lately. Maybe I'm just off when other people are on.We should organise a day when we all play :D
    if you want to add me my id is benjany