Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Best coffee in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Slaphead07

I wonder where I got that idea.
    The creation of Fixx coffee is the collaboration of Coffee specialist Café de Cuba, Ireland's premium coffee supplier and acclaimed New Zealand coffee barista Buzz Fendall "The Bald Barista".
    anyway... enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

do you notice the small little word collaboration

just one more thing quoting the back of a bag doesn't mean squat when you don't have all the facts

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

Folks, take it to PM if you want to flesh it out further please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Ladies, please. This is a family friendly forum... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 anbanan

I am interested to see how the two big chains get on, positioned next to each other on Dame Street..................

Starbucks and who? While since I was on Dame St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Costa Coffee have moved in Right next door to Starbucks. Fair play to them IMO, it's a bold move. But I often see Costa relatively empty while SB is packed. SB has its regulars, it also has a pretty good atmosphere and the emo/scene kids seem to love it. Costa will have to do something eyecatching to grab some of that business, simply being there isn't enough. So hopefully we can expect some good deals from Costa soon.

Of course, none of this reflects on the quality of their coffee really. Though I think Costa is pretty nice.

Last time I tried Costa it was about on par with Insomnia. Not the worst when you've limited options. Is probably be more in favour of them than Star****s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Capt Ahab

FIXX blend and brand is,according to Cafe de Cuba's website, owned by them. Buzz's coffee is great but FIXX COFFEEHOUSE is on a whole nuther level.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Well i made it to 3FE this morning for the 1st time and wow it was just amazing. Just watching them making the filtered coffee was an experienced when you normally go to starbucks and the like.

The i had my coffee black with no sugar and i have never tasted anything so good in my life. I'm going to try and make it down there once a week at least to try and get a coffee.

Big thumbs up to the lads down there, great coffee, great service and at the end i was shown the coffee i was given and a little bit of info on it !

well done 3FE !

Is this the place in the twisted pepper or is it only above it? Went into the the twisted pepper to see what the hullaballoo was about and tbh it was a massive disappointment.

Yer wan serving made the assumption i wanted an americano to go :confused: so i got it in a paper cup that tasted of ... paper. Coffee itself was fairly gank, It's only a small cup but I was close to throwing it away halfway through. I'll stick to fixx and cafe di napoli I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 tallpaul83

I've never had a better coffee in the world than Coffee Angel. It is amazing and always consistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Daffs

Went to Cafe di Napoli for a latte the other day. Was €3.50 and took one sip and had to chuck the rest. Was so disappointed, you wait in line pay of the odds and then...yuck.

Fallon and Byrne and Coffee Angel stand out as fab offerings...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Batiste

INSOMNIA

I don't normally post about the various multiple cafe chains. They don't interest me for a vast number of reasons and to get into that would warrant a separate thread. If you're fond of them then fair enough, just enjoy, do try and make the effort to check out some of the partisan outlets that have been mention so frequently in this thread as the coffee that you'll normally be presented with will be incomparable to the major chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 sourgrapes

3FE is no where near closed down, it's positively thriving. If you accomplish one thing this week, pay it a visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

And the dog, Bosley, the laziest dog you'll ever see, but also the coolest.

My parent live next door to Bosley, and he's a different character at home - aloof, snobbish, and quick to criticise. Don't fall for his spin.

3FE are missing a trick here though - what they need is a resident monkey - everyone loves a coffee nerd monkey. He could sit up beside the the uber boiler and point and screech if anyone asked for sugar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Lornen

Has anyone tried the place across from Carluccio's on Dawson St?
    It's called Fixx or something like that? Was recommended to go and I'm heading up Monday.
    Wanted to know if anyone has been yet and what are they like :)

(I think that's the street. Not from Dublin so I do get them mixed up :o )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Lornen wrote: »
    Has anyone tried the place across from Carluccio's on Dawson St?
    It's called Fixx or something like that? Was recommended to go and I'm heading up Monday.
    Wanted to know if anyone has been yet and what are they like :)

(I think that's the street. Not from Dublin so I do get them mixed up :o )

It's my favourite coffee in Dublin, strong stuff. Nice vibe. Food is usually good but overpriced. Seating is good...some of the main section is a bit packed together though

Bambi wrote: »
    It's my favourite coffee in Dublin, strong stuff. Nice vibe. Food is usually good but overpriced. Seating is good...some of the main section is a bit packed together though

I saw a site online and I think it's the same place."Fixx Coffee Couture"
    Strong is good! As long as it's good quality I don't mind paying the money for it, but I'm not looking to buy any food there. What is with coffee shops charging out the yack for average quality food? Costa have a slice of carrot cake for 5 something.. A single slice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,382 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

alastair wrote: »
    3FE are missing a trick here though - what they need is a resident monkey - everyone loves a coffee nerd monkey.
    One of those palm civets would be better :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

My parent live next door to Bosley, and he's a different character at home - aloof, snobbish, and quick to criticise. Don't fall for his spin.

Just a sad update on a (cue Vincent Browne style remorsefulness) stupid jokey comment. I've just learned from my Da that Bosley passed away at Christmas. He was obviously a nice personable dog and will be missed.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

First visit to this forum so be gentle!
    Had never drank coffee (in any form) before last week, just a tea kind of guy, but I had an inclination for a while to try 3FE after hearing some great things about it.

Anyway, went in last week with the missus (also a coffee virgin) and have to say, thoroughly enjoyed it. Didn't want to make a tit of myself, so started with a cappuccino, and it was amazing. Then got an espresso, and though it was bitter, was also enjoyable. I probably likened it to a non alcohol drinker taking their first drink of 50 year old Jameson with no mixer or summat!

Went back in today and had a brownie and cappa, and again, thoroughly enjoyed it. Great value too for 4.50 for the two, price of a pint of generic lager!

One thing I would say is that it could be made a little easier for newbies to learn about. Menu doesn't give much to go on, and I wouldn't feel confident going in and asking to be taught a bit about coffee!

Nice review. A couple of leaflets might be an idea but I'm sure they'd welcome your interest, however much of a novice you may be :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Nice one on the 3FE everyone, dying to try it.

Question for the people who reckon their home is the best, what type of coffee and milk do you buy? What roasting, grinding etc machinery do you use? V

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

The guys in 3FE are only too delighted to talk about coffee, and even more delighted to hear of someone who's dipping their toe into the world of coffee for the first time. Don't be afraid to chat to them, they're a world of knowledge. :)

wixfjord wrote: »
    First visit to this forum so be gentle!
    Had never drank coffee (in any form) before last week, just a tea kind of guy, but I had an inclination for a while to try 3FE after hearing some great things about it.

Anyway, went in last week with the missus (also a coffee virgin) and have to say, thoroughly enjoyed it. Didn't want to make a tit of myself, so started with a cappuccino, and it was amazing. Then got an espresso, and though it was bitter, was also enjoyable. I probably likened it to a non alcohol drinker taking their first drink of 50 year old Jameson with no mixer or summat!

Went back in today and had a brownie and cappa, and again, thoroughly enjoyed it. Great value too for 4.50 for the two, price of a pint of generic lager!

One thing I would say is that it could be made a little easier for newbies to learn about. Menu doesn't give much to go on, and I wouldn't feel confident going in and asking to be taught a bit about coffee!

There's a really helpful picture on the first post of this thread also found in the coffee and tea forum here!

It'll give you a fair idea as to what coffee is what when you have another visit to a coffee shop. :)

Here's the link to the thread :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055610027

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Cheers for that pic, it's great, never new about most of that!
    Fajitas! wrote: »
    The guys in 3FE are only too delighted to talk about coffee, and even more delighted to hear of someone who's dipping their toe into the world of coffee for the first time. Don't be afraid to chat to them, they're a world of knowledge. :)

Oh I don't doubt that, but it's generally packed, and difficult to strike up a conversation with anyone at the counter.
    Agree, perhaps a leaflet would be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Starbucks Westend Blanch:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Just a sad update on a (cue Vincent Browne style remorsefulness) stupid jokey comment. I've just learned from my Da that Bosley passed away at Christmas. He was obviously a nice personable dog and will be missed.

I went in today for the first time since xmas, and heard this... :( i dont think i can bring myself to go in there anymore.

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

Love a birrofa 3FE myself! Delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hazymat

Hi

I know this thread is years old, but I'm visiting Dublin for a week today from London.

I'll be completely upfront now and say I am a huge coffee snob.

Naturally I'm excited to visit 3fe having heard about it for years and knowing a number of people who know the baristas there, as well as the fact I've been buying my greens and beans from HasBean for quite some time. It's going to be my lifeline as the longest I have gone without my own grinder and a woodneck is about two days in the last year!

Anyway. My question is this:

My work is on St Stephen's Green North and therefore sadly I won't be able to grab coffee throughout the day as 3fe isn't just around the corner from there.

Is there anything that would similarly satisfy a coffee snob right near where I'm going to be based - St Stephen's?

Please say there is!

Mat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Dahtac

Fallon and Byrne of Wicklow Street do a pretty good cup. They're using Has Bean as well and their coffee has been improving steadily over the last 6 months. Usually my port of call when I'm up that direction. Pretty close ties with 3fe as well from training

It only takes about 10 minutes to down as far as 3FE from Stephens Green if you're on the north side of it. Nearest, closest alternative is Fallon & Byrne, who've been trained by the guys in 3FE (Unfortunately Tom isn't there any more) and use HasBean beans.

3FE is open until 7 most days though, so you can always pop in after work!

Is Tom gone? Haven't seen the guy in a while.

He's away for the summer :)

Ah! Make more sense :)

• Registered Users Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Cionn

On Grafton Street try Butlers or better still try the Cigar Emporium (upstairs) great coffee there.

C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Cionn wrote: »
    On Grafton Street try Butlers or better still try the Cigar Emporium (upstairs) great coffee there.

C

I wouldn't rate Butlers so highly myself for the coffee. Never heard about the cigar emporium doing coffee, is it really that good?

No, not really. They're really nice guys in there, and great for a chat, even moreso if you like cigars, but it's a bean-to-cup machine they use. It's a good place to go to escape Grafton St, but I wouldn't be going just for the coffee.

I wouldn't be a big fan of Butlers either.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 overcaesar

The Bald Barista on Aungier St is close by and they make pretty great coffees

http://www.thebaldbarista.com/

I'm not so sure on the Bald Barista - Not a fan of the Fixx blend.

Just another note, I think hazymat's looking for good filter coffee, the only places that have good filter coffee (to my knowledge) is Fallon & Byrne and 3FE (I think Murphy's Ice Cream stores are getting it in too, but I don't know when).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 hazymat

Just checked into my hotel this minute and your responses have been invaluable, can't wait to try out these places.

Thanks again,

Mat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 thegspot

Absolutely love the Bald Barista, Coffee is amazing. Too many places in Dublin near burn the milk in a capaccino to the point that you nearly burn your tongue.... So god dam annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Have been to 3FE three times now and the coffee has been cold each time. They need to invest in some cup warmers! Went back for the first time since they expanded the size of the place and found the service to be exceptionally slow and the staff to be fairly dis-interested in the customers.

Did you mention this to them, because if you are unhappy it is probably the one place in the city where they will go out of the way to fix the problem.

That said I drink there at least 3 times a week, I always have to wait several minutes before my coffee is cool enough to drink. And bar rush times, when I am content to wait and sit because they really get hammered, service is prompt and friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,170 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

zuutroy wrote: »
    Have been to 3FE three times now and the coffee has been cold each time. They need to invest in some cup warmers! Went back for the first time since they expanded the size of the place and found the service to be exceptionally slow and the staff to be fairly dis-interested in the customers.

I've been there once and found the staff to be very enthusiastic, friendly, helpful and seemingly very knowledgeable and passionate about coffee .

I might say, I'm not convinced by the whole filter coffee revolution!
    I'll be sticking to my espresso!

I spent a bloody fortune there in a short space of time (2 cups of their more expensive filter coffee - I was warned of the price before purchase - and a bag of beans to go) but it was an enjoyable experience, if a little OTT coffee geeky for my taste. I also got to try an espresso shot of the beans I was thinking of buying for free!

I might say, I'm not convinced by the whole filter coffee revolution!
    I'll be sticking to my espresso!
    Nor me. It tends to be cold by the time it gets to the table. I think it's the glass jugs. I've had it made at a friends house, but she uses a preheated ceramic jug to hold the heat in.

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭ch2008

Hi All,

My name is Colin and I'm the owner of 3FE so I thought I'd jump in and answer a few of the problems raised here. I'm not sure if the mods allow this sort of thing but if there's any issues I understand if my post gets cleared. In a previous life I was a regular boards poster on C&T but feel slightly compromised since I now own a shop....

There are a few issues raised a number of time so I'll just deal with them in general points if thats ok. I'll probably refer to the other points raised here too just to keep it all in one place.

Cold Coffee; The coffee should never be cold but I would expect them not to be piping hot. All our drinks, black or milk based (caps etc.), are served intentionally at a drinking temperature as we find most of the sweetness and flavours are at their best. Drinking piping hot coffee is definitely the norm in this city but its hard to taste anything but heat when its too hot. In saying that, lots of customers of ours want extra hot drinks and thats no problem at all. Our brewing temperatures are tightly controlled but there is definitely something we can do to get the drink to you hotter. Just ask and we'll make it happen. (p.s. we also do cold brews which will definitely be cold!)

Staff; This is an odd one. If anything, the guys at 3FE spend too much time chatting to customers so I was surprised to see someone experience otherwise. We take this really seriously though so we've all had a chat about this and we're doing our best to make sure nobody slips through the cracks when it comes to service.

Early opening hours; We constantly get people telling us that we need to open early but no matter how hard we try it never takes off. We tried it for a really long time but it was always dead. The place is always busiest between 10-7 so for obvious reasons thats when we open. I'd love to open 7am to 10pm but unfortunately it isn't sustainable.

Dark roasts; This is very odd as we definitely roast on the very light end of the scale. We would be recognised as having the lightest roasts of any cafe in the country so I'm a little confused really?

Kintarō Hattori Latte disappointment; If you pop me a pm I will arrange for you and your girlfriend to come in and do a tasting. Most of the problems with milk drinks are related to milk:espresso ratio. If we cant find a drink you like I'll do you lunch on the house. Deal?

I hope these points answer a few of your queries. I understand that it is impossible to please everybody and that there will always be people who don't like what you do but its really good to get feedback so I appreciate that.

The thing I'm most disappointed about though is that those who had a bad experience never said anything to us when they were there. Its really easy to get good feedback from people but bad feedback is the most valuable information but really difficult to get. We really take every complaint very seriously, our jobs depend on it. If you have any problem with 3FE please do drop me a mail at hello@3fe.com or just talk to any of the baristas on the bar.

Hope this helps,
    Col

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,013 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Hi Colin,

That's certainly some level of service and I sincerely appreciate it. I'll certainly drop you a pm but there's no way I'd let you give us lunch on the house if we don't find a nice coffee. Simply helping us find a nice coffee is enough. :)

Take the free lunch :) Pete's Sandwiches are amazing!