Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

International Poker Open - Final Thread

1171819202123»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Yeah I remember you dave.

Heard you went pretty deep yourself, well done. And well done for the team event, there was a good stack of cash for first place.

Hopefully see you at the tables again soon.
    I had 16BBs for day 2, not exactly what you can call deep, then I donked out when I lost my first coin flip of the day with KQs vs 88 for a 25BB pot, if I had won that, i'd be in a very comfortable spot, oh well! I'm guessing you won a lot of races yesterday to get 1.5M chips for the FT :p How much of your profits do you have to give your dad btw? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Helper_Monkey

DEmeant0r wrote:
    I had 16BBs for day 2, not exactly what you can call deep, then I donked out when I lost my first coin flip of the day with KQs vs 88 for a 25BB pot, if I had won that, i'd be in a very comfortable spot, oh well! I'm guessing you won a lot of races yesterday to get 1.5M chips for the FT :p How much of your profits do you have to give your dad btw? :p

To get to the 1.5 million mark i didnt have a single race. Just one call all in with ace high, and a lot of luck when i was all in AJ v AK and hit my straight. Nearly everything else was preflop. Think I saw two rivers apart from the two hands mentioned.
    Final table i pushed with 55 big blind to a 4bb raise on the button. Psycho calls with AQ, 55 holds up.

33.3%

sick

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Yip, I think i do remember you. was there a guy with a quite fitting donkey chip protector at our table??
    Yeah, that's the guy. :D
    He was the one in the hands above. You took all his chips. I wanted them back jedi scum!! :-)

Ah well, winning the team event has softened the blow. :)

Yeah, that's the guy. :D
    He was the one in the hands above. You took all his chips. I wanted them back jedi scum!! :-)

Ah well, winning the team event has softened the blow. :)

Well done with the team event. It seemed like there were 12 of you not 6!!! i think you guys had won by the time there were 50 left.

That guy was a god send. Set me up with a workable stack for the rest of the day. I just kept praying i'd get a hand agaisnt him (as everyone else clearly was), and it came just in time for the table break!

How did you do in the end?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Well done with the team event. It seemed like there were 12 of you not 6!!! i think you guys had won by the time there were 50 left.
    Darth.Aldarion mind tricks.
    That guy was a god send. Set me up with a workable stack for the rest of the day. I just kept praying i'd get a hand agaisnt him (as everyone else clearly was), and it came just in time for the table break!

How did you do in the end?
    He was a Godsend all right, and I got huge amounts off him(Was over a hundred BBs easy at 200/400) of him but he finished me in the end with the qq vs 1010 and he got a 10. Captain of the team down. Doubted we would win it with one gone then but the others lads did well. He then gave you all my chips. He had no excuse for calling that, he was at my table all day. Worst hand I showed all day was aj, second was qq. :-)

hard luck with the dad rake

He was a Godsend all right, and I got huge amounts off him(Was over a hundred BBs easy at 200/400) of him but he finished me in the end with the qq vs 1010 and he got a 10. Captain of the team down. Doubted we would win it with one gone then but the others lads did well. He then gave you all my chips. He had no excuse for calling that, he was at my table all day. Worst hand I showed all day was aj, second was qq. :-)

hard luck with the dad rake

Sorry man, you just reminded me of that hand. He was a horrible donk. He also looked

*EDIT*
    If I see you in dublin, the pints are on me.

He also looked a bit like a sex criminal.
    If I see you in dublin, the pints are on me.
    LoL. I hope he is a boards reader. Heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,405 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

6d jh qd i check to nicky who bets 1500 folded around I call Turn is 10d , Nicky bets 2k i call River is Qh Pairing the board for my set and giving me a full boat , Nicky bets 2k i min raise to 4k Nicky calls with Q-10 for a Bigger full boat .Just a Cold deck lucky i did not go broke here and really dont know if i played this hand right ?
    WHAT?! i dont think this can be good? callign with 2nd nuts?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

WHAT?! i dont think this can be good? callign with 2nd nuts?!

Nicky has a habit of helping charity cases in a game of poker. He didnt want to send Neill packing too earlier...Maybe he needed a lift home?

Flushdraw wrote:
    Nicky has a habit of making himself look like a charity case in a game of poker. ...Maybe he needed a lift home?
    FYP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭NickyOD

Helper_Monkey, you played an excellent game sir. Well done. I was on the table for the A-9 call on a J-7-5 board, and it took my breath away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Ive posted a few observations in the other thread.The hand that cost me was played about 9 or 10pm. Blinds 500-1'000, mid position player limps,(30kstack), I limp in sb(40k) with 77,BB checks.Flop Q-10-6 rainbow. Check-check-check. Turn is a 7.I lead for 2k,bb folds,mp raises to 4k,I make it 12k,he flat calls. Now this guy has been playing well up to here.I rule out QQ or 10-10 as he defo would have raised pre flop with them.When he calls my 4 bet,Ive a feeling he has 8-9. But the gin card comes for me now when a 6 arrives on the river, filling my boat.Im so sure he has the straight I want to get his chips in the middle.So I bet enough to put him all in and he oblidgingly calls and flips over 66. ughhhhhhh.

Im left with 7k and get it up to 24k by pushing like fcuk,but then I run 88 into culchies KK in the 1st hand I play after another table move,and thats all she wrote.Enjoyed the tourney though,as did my wife Patricia (224th and 420th).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,502 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

connie147 wrote:
    Blinds 500-1'000, mid position player limps,(30kstack), I limp in sb(40k) with 77,BB checks.Flop Q-10-6 rainbow. Check-check-check. Turn is a 7.I lead for 2k,bb folds,mp raises to 4k,I make it 12k,he flat calls. Now this guy has been playing well up to here.I rule out QQ or 10-10 as he defo would have raised pre flop with them.When he calls my 4 bet,Ive a feeling he has 8-9. But the gin card comes for me now when a 6 arrives on the river, filling my boat.Im so sure he has the straight I want to get his chips in the middle.So I bet enough to put him all in and he oblidgingly calls and flips over 66. ughhhhhhh.

Jaysus Connie. So sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Jaysus Connie. So sick.

Yeah LLoyd,1 outered as such.When our table broke I finished up sitting beside him on the next table.He told me(as I had guessed anyway) that I would have got his chips regardless of the river card.Wouls of had 75k with average 25k. Such is life in this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭FedFrank2

My own Tourny was not great , Had to help out and deal and play Nicky Power Sat down next to me so playing into nicky is never easy , Tryed to trap nicky and trapped myself after about 2 hours i had 12k , I look down and see 6,6 Blinds100-200 I call a small raise to see the flop flop comes 6d jh qd i check to nicky who bets 1500 folded around I call Turn is 10d , Nicky bets 2k i call River is Qh Pairing the board for my set and giving me a full boat , Nicky bets 2k i min raise to 4k Nicky calls with Q-10 for a Bigger full boat .Just a Cold deck lucky i did not go broke here and really dont know if i played this hand right ?

I got my stack back up to 7500 again after this and was moved to another table where John Magill and Nicky O Donnell are on my right , Two hands in and Steven annonunces a break at the end of the hand so i have Jc-10c Nicky O Donnell raises to 900 with blinds at 150-300 and i call Flop comes
    Kc-10h-3c Giving me middle pair with flushdraw and needing chips , Nicky bets 1200 , I instantly re raise all in Nicky calls with Qc-9c for my 6400 left . The one time u dont want a club it comes and that was it for me . Two Hands that killed me, Was a bit shocked to see Nicky call for 1/3 his stack with a Q high Flush draw but then again he was gambling and he had put me on top Pair he said . I had Nicky on A-Q or A-J and reckoned he had missed But all in all i could not get into the game from the dealer positon . He is flyin now though with my chips LOL Best of luck Nicky

Went on to play Cash tables which were very loose and coming from me that fckin loose , Was up about 1k on two 1-2 tables and cashed out for a nice days work . Went on to help Steven with Jp to break Tables for the night

All in all A Long hard day

I dealt this hand, was pretty sick to say the least. I think nicky was as shocked as the rest of us when he sucked out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭vikarama

great event apart from seat 1 uch,blinds 100 200 i raise on button with aqs 700 bb dutch dude with 25 k reraises 7200 ??? ok he has apair how high ? have 11k back .........................i folded.showed jj should have gone only real chance all day:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭vikarama

post tourney blues counted back 18 pps kk 3times qq twice jjs to 55s the rest didnt win single pot with them is this rare or what got chips with rags bluffs lost them with bloody pockets..............hey thats poker still had blast well done all

NickyOD wrote:
    Helper_Monkey, you played an excellent game sir. Well done. I was on the table for the A-9 call on a J-7-5 board, and it took my breath away.

Thanks Nicky, I destroyed a pair of pants, but sure, it was worth it in the end.

Congratulations for winning the team event and cashing top 18. At least the team event gave you some cash to celebrate; none of my friends will believe me and wont lend me any money for booze :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

NickyOD wrote:

Nicky..Did it go something like this..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQpPe_xvihA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭C4Queen

Hi guys....

Slowley one starts to breath normal.... 3 th largest live event field in the whole world someone told me, insane.

anyway,, am doing your payments later on so hang in there!

Come and play with me online tomorow in the tourney called "Afterparty IPO", i be under the nick : Xalima. All that where signed to IPO tourney will get a email today with a reminder of the password to the tourney, (if you didnt get the litle card saying it on the day)

And again... thx all for helping out.

I will need some holliday soon, get over to Ireland and play some pubgames and have some pints- hope to see you.

(there where really too little times set away for the pints this time ,, we defo need to plan better next time :D , some things are too important to let out, pints are one of em)

If anything at all, you know where to reach me:
    ac@mermaidpoker.info

There are some pics from the event, and i will get more up... take a look:
    http://www.mermaidpoker.com/?page=2749

Top 30 placement in 2007 IPO.

1 Colin King Ireland
    2 David Pook Netherland
    3 Daniel Rudd UK
    4 Martin Weber Germany
    5 Thom Conaty Ireland
    6 Steven Ritchard UK
    7 Eddie O`Reilly Ireland
    8 Michael Herron Ireland
    9 Ken Philpott Ireland
    10 Kevin Smith Ireland
    11 Nicky O Donell Ireland
    12 Houtmann Joselito ireland
    13 David Gharai Switzerland
    14 Jani Rajamäki Sweden
    15 Pribetich Sebastien France
    16 Ismael Arriibas Spain
    17 Samantha Heyes Ireland
    18 Jorn Martinson Norway
    19 David Chawke Ireland
    20 David Black UK
    21 ciaran Brady Ireland
    22 Mike Osborne America
    23 Jose Teixeira Portugal
    24 David Bolger Ireland
    25 Bruno Lage Portugal
    26 Mike Lammerts van Bueren Netherland
    27 simon Mcgechie Ireland
    28 Mark Dillon UK
    29 Simon Deedigan Ireland
    30 Ed Fogarty Ireland

Let me know if you want the whole list of ITM players.

Hey, three of us that won the team event(myself, DEmeant0r and NeoSlicerZ) play on the same IP. So we will be playing our 4 100k guaranteed tickets each, at the same time, on the same IP. Is there any problem with that?

hi

Ship me a mail with your nicks, pins, names or whatever you can provide.

Anna

I'll email you our names and mermaid nicks. Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 gerryslurry

just want to say great tourney, unreal field of quality (and donkeys) from all over came 64th blinds were 5-10k every bb was bein stole so eventually cracked reraised with 55 an walked into kk and that was the end of me!!

About the condoms, not sure whos idea that was, just know we are in all condoms machines in all denmark :D "Mermaidpoker ALL IN"

My bosses think that is hillarious.

anyway... i was STOOOOOPED in custom going back and had 100 condoms in my hand bag :) and they open them to see i dont got any drugs in them..... OMG...very funny in a crowded security area and all Mermaid crew + a lot of danish players standing 20 meters away laughing so they cant stand straight!

Well... i told the custom i had 2000 with me when i came so its been a pretty ok 4 days in Ireland. They looked at me like i was crazy or something, how come you think?

guys.. next time i am NOT bringing the condoms trough security! NOT

Anna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Hard luck to Sam - she clearly played a fantastic shortstack game and worked hard to grind her way through a huge field. Pity her AK couldn't beat A10 AIPF.

That was me - and it was an atrocious call by me. I raised utg and folded around to her. She shoved, I thought about folding for a while but called and got poxy when the 10 came on the flop.
    C4Queen wrote:
    Well,, that Irish block had a lot of luck man.. won all his coinflip chanses for rest of his life!! Ak against K5, AK against AQ, 99 and so on and on... he has pretty much more..<a<million or so..:D

Anna - I was a luckbox at times (eg Saturday evening, when I was down to 6 BB and was pushing ATC which doubled me up, then I doubled up with AK v QQ with a nice flop!), but it wasnt quite that bad tbh.

I took a heavy dent two orbits back, pushed me down to 800k from 2.5M with BB at 100k.

I shoved pf (K,5o) with the blinds in to me in two hands expecting (and hoping) to take the blinds to give me a bit of leeway, but the German fella called with AQo.

I rivered the 5 to keep me in. About an hour later we done the deal.

I never went in with AQ v AK (unless ur thinking of the hand against Nicky when I had the K and he had the Q and my AK held up:confused: )

The 99 at the final table was a pf push over Thom's raise and he folded 88 - great fold by him. The reason he gave was that he didnt want to go racing my overcards with the possibility of doubling me up again (this was soon after the jammy K5 hand above, and would have been for almost half his stack). Nice fold!!!

To get to the 1.5 million mark i didnt have a single race. Just one call all in with ace high, and a lot of luck when i was all in AJ v AK and hit my straight. Nearly everything else was preflop. Think I saw two rivers apart from the two hands mentioned.
    Final table i pushed with 55 big blind to a 4bb raise on the button. Psycho calls with AQ, 55 holds up.

33.3%

sick

What a call - lol. THe reaction of everyone at the table said it all, very loose call but he was happy with the payout he received!

WP Thom, you played some lovely poker at that last table!

It was nice to play David HU - we had a bit of history together from the Saturday having been on the the same table a few times.

Saturday evening, he had arrived to our table about 20 mins and raised UTG to 3bb (I think), 2 folds and I re-raise. Folded around to him and hethinks for a while before folding AQ face up, I throw out AK.

Later on at a diff table, down to about 150 or so players, I was sb with AQo. UTG+1 made it 4 BB folded around to David on the button and he's AI. I fold and original raiser called saying he was pot committed. He turned over AQo and David's 9s held up. After the cards were exposed, I mentioned that I had folded AQ. Apart from that, we stayed out of each others way.

6 way chop....yuck
    LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I think that was inevitable given the steepness of the payouts jumps from 6 - 1 and the structure. I would personally have been open to talk of a deal from a long way out tbh.

Just wondering what peoples thoughts are on this??

We came back from the previous break about 90 mins beforehand, and s/o mentioned a deal - but it was too early at that stage. This was just feeling out peoples thoughts on it, at that stage I felt that a lot of players were very tired and I was relatively fresh with a nice stack.

I had expected a deal to be thrown out when the 6th player went tbh, either way I'm happy coming away with 10k. Hey, I am a student after all.:)

Just want to say hats off to Stephen, Derek, Anna and all for running such a great tournament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

If Nicky sees this, I would be interested in hearing his views on my play.

I was at your table just before we finished up on Saturday, and again on Sunday.

I had a serious think about that AK hand at the end for one reason - like you said afterwards, it had to be a call, but it was difficult cos (of all the players at the table) I didnt want to double you up. I tried to put you on a hand, but found it difficult. I thought AQ-A10 was possible as was a pocket pair. A big factor in that was that you had come over the top on me a few times previously when I had raised in position, and I folded (AJ, J10).

It was a pleasure watching you play!

Flushdraw wrote:
    Nicky..Did it go something like this..http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQpPe_xvihA

GENUINE LMFAO!:D :D:D:D

Congratulations Colin!!!
    How late did you guys play??

Incredible comming back against David. When I left he had about 4 or 5 million chips. Must have been a great heads up (any details???).

Thanks for the kind words man, if the K 5 had not been 2 hands before i was all in with the 88. Phew! Easy enough laydown though, at that stage.

Hope to see you at the tables again soon,

All the best,

Thom

Colin you did great!! I was impressed on how fresh you seemed concidering the time you played and late houer.

there is no way in this world one go deep into a tounrey like this without luck, thats my strong opinion. Am sure your worth the luck you where given mate!

And your decision to give 1000 of the winings away to charity shows you where greatful for your luck ;)

Really well done, and sorry for drinking up your champange ;-)

Another thing.... seriously.....

Am doing your payouts now lads, and a few names dont exsist! :confused: :eek: soooooo time to come forward, those of you who played under some one elses name and got away with it this far......can you please mail me so we can sort this out.

And in fairness to all others who did it the right way, i will NOT accept any other payout then to an account on mermaid and its not possible to get anything out from it unless you once depsit 5 dollars or so.

So those who messed up and thought you could get away with it, witch you surley would incase you given the "freinds" name to me when being busted " instead of your own, please mail me ok?

dK1NG wrote:
    If Nicky sees this, I would be interested in hearing his views on my play.

I was at your table just before we finished up on Saturday, and again on Sunday.

I had a serious think about that AK hand at the end for one reason - like you said afterwards, it had to be a call, but it was difficult cos (of all the players at the table) I didnt want to double you up. I tried to put you on a hand, but found it difficult. I thought AQ-A10 was possible as was a pocket pair. A big factor in that was that you had come over the top on me a few times previously when I had raised in position, and I folded (AJ, J10).

It was a pleasure watching you play!

Well done Colin. You played excellent all day and thanks very much for the compliments. Likewise I found it difficult to put you on a hand.

Before the hand in question you had actually begun to raise quite a few hands when the table was five and six handed, so my pushing range from the BB with those stack sizes is probably 88-AA and AJ-AK.

When you turned over AK I was so gutted because I had ruled it out along with QQ-AA so I wasn't in anyway worried if you decided to call. I think you had over 1.5million at the beginning of the hand so you can call and lose and still have average stack for final table. When I saw AK after a five minute dwell up I was really shellshocked.

Well done again.

Nicky.

Hi Anna, There is no e in my first name. Cheers.

Also, If you want this event to be in the next issue of cardplayer you're going to need to get your press release out yesterday as the deadline for the Decemer issue is almost passed.

It would be a real shame if you didn't get it out since this was such a groundbreakeing event. i.e. largest field every in europe and worlds first 100% online registration process.

regards

Nicky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

We at www.pokerireland.ie would like to thank all those who took part in and supported the 1st International Poker Open in Dublin last weekend.

we would like to start by thanking our sponsors, Mermaid Poker and in particular Anna for her tireless contribution in getting so many players registered who had all sorts of problems from using someone elses credit card to simply not having a computer or access to one.

Mermaid Poker management were fully behind us every step of the way and they cannot be faulted for their vision, belief in us and the event and of course their financial support in hosting this historical event. It would be impossible to host a tournament of this nature and structure without a sponsor being 100% supportive.

we would also like to take this opportunity to thank other tournament organisors who gave us their support, both in additional equipment to personal time and effort on the 2 days. this list is not exhaustive and we sincerely hope we havent forgotten anyone, these names are not in any particular order, just as i thought of them;
    Nick (Vegas Nights)
    JP and Christene (JP Poker)
    Luke (Coolhand Lukes)
    Duke (Jackpot Casino)
    Nicky ( Mr. Waterford)
    Allen & Patty (Allen McLean Bookies)
    Jayo (Mr. Smooth)
    The Jackpot Casino (hosts of Day 2)
    Paul (Merrion Casino Group)
    Jack (youngest dealer of a major poker tournament)
    all the crew of table movers and transport team
    Novice dealers & full time dealers
    admin support team
    all the players that advertised the event and those drove other players to and from it.
    the raft of card clubs that allowed us to advertise the tournament in their club

It is a wonderful thing to see so many other tournament organisors giving their support, particularly in todays world where it sometimes seems everyone is only in it for what they can get out of it, our overseas visitors mentioned this to me on more than one occasion and it made us proud to have such honest support from them.

We would also like to thank the players that could see we were a bit pressurised for dealers and jumped in to deal, some were players that were knocked out, some were experienced dealers that were playing in the event, we sincerely thank you.

It would be impossible to make a tournament like this a success without the players, each and every one of you should be proud, you have just taken part in the largest ever field of players at a poker tournament in Europe, you have made history and that is definitely something to hold your head up high for, well done and thank you for your support.

We would also like to say that we appreciate players taking the time to write their opinions on the event, we are positive that no comments herein were meant to be hurtful towards either Stephen, Poker Ireland or myself.

We acknowledge and take on board all opinions and we feel certain that they are all meant to be constructive so that we may all learn from them and hopefully improve the quality of poker tournaments into the future,

Regardless of where you were placed in this event, you are to be congratulated for exemplary behavour and conduct during the tournament, well done and thank you for making our job easier.

Congratulations also to Colin King the winner of
    The 1st International Poker Open

As you can imagine, we have had approx 10 hours sleep between us over the last 3/4 days, so if we left anyone out, we thank them too.

lastly and by no means least, we would like to thank our partners and families for putting up with us on the run up to this event, its all we ever talked about or worked on. we thank them for their continued support, without which we simply couldnt have done it.

We thank all of you, and may all your flops be at the card tables.

sincerely

Derek & Stephen
    aka: Clamper & Carfax
    "Poker Ireland" home of the International Poker Open

www.pokerireland.ie

Hi

ok... does this two people read in here or does anyone know them?

Alan Commiskey
    Gerwall Cowell

i cant deposit their winnings until am 100% sure its their accounts and some of the details just dont make sense, can you if you read in here contact me pls.

ac@mermaidpoker.info

C4Queen wrote:
    Hi

ok... does this two people read in here or does anyone know them?

Alan Commiskey
    Gerwall Cowell

i cant deposit their winnings until am 100% sure its their accounts and some of the details just dont make sense, can you if you read in here contact me pls.

ac@mermaidpoker.info
    Yeah thats me. go ahead and put the money into my account.

lol

yea goodluck2you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

dont forget the €1500 added value afterparty game at 8, like in 15 mins

only a tenner entry with added value for player of the ipo, pm me for code

NickyOD wrote:
    Hi Anna, There is no e in my first name. Cheers.

Also, If you want this event to be in the next issue of cardplayer you're going to need to get your press release out yesterday as the deadline for the Decemer issue is almost passed.

It would be a real shame if you didn't get it out since this was such a groundbreakeing event. i.e. largest field every in europe and worlds first 100% online registration process.

regards

Nicky.

I am in contact with them since several days back so not sure what you mean..... Brendan Murray are doing some writting about it in the dec issue.

anna

Didnt anyone notice i DID NOT miss my plane back...:D

Seriously, its first time i manage to be on the flight on time...... am doing better!

I be back for a whole week during the EPT`s i will have more time for chat and hope to see you all and play some poker here and there.

anna panna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Did the security take the condoms off you? :D

C4Queen wrote: »
    About the condoms, not sure whos idea that was, just know we are in all condoms machines in all denmark :D "Mermaidpoker ALL IN"

My bosses think that is hillarious.

anyway... i was STOOOOOPED in custom going back and had 100 condoms in my hand bag :) and they open them to see i dont got any drugs in them..... OMG...very funny in a crowded security area and all Mermaid crew + a lot of danish players standing 20 meters away laughing so they cant stand straight!

Well... i told the custom i had 2000 with me when i came so its been a pretty ok 4 days in Ireland. They looked at me like i was crazy or something, how come you think?

guys.. next time i am NOT bringing the condoms trough security! NOT

Anna

LOL.. yes they did stop me actually!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭David Michael

We at www.pokerireland.ie would like to thank all those who took part in and supported the 1st International Poker Open in Dublin last weekend.

we would like to start by thanking our sponsors, Mermaid Poker and in particular Anna for her tireless contribution in getting so many players registered who had all sorts of problems from using someone elses credit card to simply not having a computer or access to one.

Mermaid Poker management were fully behind us every step of the way and they cannot be faulted for their vision, belief in us and the event and of course their financial support in hosting this historical event. It would be impossible to host a tournament of this nature and structure without a sponsor being 100% supportive.

we would also like to take this opportunity to thank other tournament organisors who gave us their support, both in additional equipment to personal time and effort on the 2 days. this list is not exhaustive and we sincerely hope we havent forgotten anyone, these names are not in any particular order, just as i thought of them;
    Nick (Vegas Nights)
    JP and Christene (JP Poker)
    Luke (Coolhand Lukes)
    Duke (Jackpot Casino)
    Nicky ( Mr. Waterford)
    Allen & Patty (Allen McLean Bookies)
    Jayo (Mr. Smooth)
    The Jackpot Casino (hosts of Day 2)
    Paul (Merrion Casino Group)
    Jack (youngest dealer of a major poker tournament)
    all the crew of table movers and transport team
    Novice dealers & full time dealers
    admin support team
    all the players that advertised the event and those drove other players to and from it.
    the raft of card clubs that allowed us to advertise the tournament in their club

It is a wonderful thing to see so many other tournament organisors giving their support, particularly in todays world where it sometimes seems everyone is only in it for what they can get out of it, our overseas visitors mentioned this to me on more than one occasion and it made us proud to have such honest support from them.

We would also like to thank the players that could see we were a bit pressurised for dealers and jumped in to deal, some were players that were knocked out, some were experienced dealers that were playing in the event, we sincerely thank you.

It would be impossible to make a tournament like this a success without the players, each and every one of you should be proud, you have just taken part in the largest ever field of players at a poker tournament in Europe, you have made history and that is definitely something to hold your head up high for, well done and thank you for your support.

We would also like to say that we appreciate players taking the time to write their opinions on the event, we are positive that no comments herein were meant to be hurtful towards either Stephen, Poker Ireland or myself.

We acknowledge and take on board all opinions and we feel certain that they are all meant to be constructive so that we may all learn from them and hopefully improve the quality of poker tournaments into the future,

Regardless of where you were placed in this event, you are to be congratulated for exemplary behavour and conduct during the tournament, well done and thank you for making our job easier.

Congratulations also to Colin King the winner of
    The 1st International Poker Open

As you can imagine, we have had approx 10 hours sleep between us over the last 3/4 days, so if we left anyone out, we thank them too.

lastly and by no means least, we would like to thank our partners and families for putting up with us on the run up to this event, its all we ever talked about or worked on. we thank them for their continued support, without which we simply couldnt have done it.

We thank all of you, and may all your flops be at the card tables.

sincerely

Derek & Stephen
    aka: Clamper & Carfax
    "Poker Ireland" home of the International Poker Open

www.pokerireland.ie

You Missed Someone/Thing.

Boards.ie!

:p