Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

fantasy champions league game

• 13-09-2007 2:48pm
    Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭

hey going set up league on the uefa website for the champions league,
    its similar game to the fantasy prem game.just wondering if many of yee
    fancy joining up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,082 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

ill be in again anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

ive signed up aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

This really separates the men from the boys. It certainly showed up my lack of footballing knowledge outside the Premiership, La Liga and Serie A.

A bit like most Irish and English pundits...

I set up a league called Boards and the code is 52153-10015

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭antod

Trippie wrote:
    I set up a league called Boards and the code is 52153-10015
    that grand so i join your 1 since you have
    it set up already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

i signed up. watch me set record lows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Im in....and no, despite what Uefa seems to think, im not israeli!

So whats everyone's team looking like?

I have

casillas/akinfeev

Nesta heinze albiol

kaka (c) ronaldinho castillo pizarro

wagner love torres totti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭evil_seed

any link to where to set up the leagues. i'm not doin good on the looking for stuff today. cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

i'll join when i get home too, definately do ****e in it though i reckon, damn my sky/PL loving ways!!!! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

Done and done.

I'm overdosing on Dream Teams this year. I've got 12 on the go now. My productivity in work has dropped to zero I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

Joined, but just auto-completed for the time being.

Just a reminder that this kicks off tomorrow for anyone who hasnt gotten their team sorted yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Just joined... just realised how little I knew about some european teams!

Cech

Oddo
    Agger
    Nesta
    Miguel, my only sub of note

C.Ronaldo
    Essien
    Castillo
    Fabregas

Van Nistelrooy
    Kanoute
    Kerzhakov

Edit: Made a couple of changes. I wanted Kanoute instead of Kone, but then I couldn't afford Mancini so I put in Kerzhakov. I'm not 100% sure what Seville's first choice two are, but Kerzhakov is pretty cheap and he's been amongst the goals lately in La Liga. I also swapped Abidal and Silva for Miguel and Fabregas.

i must have changed my team about 25 times since the last time i posted it anyway here is the new one, subject to change over the next day.

Iv gone for a 3-4-3 but im still not 100% about a few of the people on the team, I happy enough with my strikers and my midfield although i may change castillo

Van der sar
    cernea

Arbeloa
    metzelder
    evra
    ghionea
    El kaddouri

kaka
    aquilani
    Castillo
    Fabregas
    Yussef

totti
    ibrahimovic
    Kanoute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 678 ✭✭✭iloveireland

BEAT THIS TEAM :D

Starting Line up:

Pallop (seville)

Beletti (chelsea)
    Finnan (Liverpool)
    Dragotinovic (Seville)
    Charagher (Liverpool)

Deco (Barcalona)
    Rosicky (Arsenal)
    Robben (Real Madrid)

Drogba (Chelsea)
    Van Nistelrooy (Real Madrid)
    Henry (Barcalona)

Subs:
    Dudu
    Yussef
    Marin
    Zapata

Only Spanish and English based players in starting line up :p

WHAT A TEAM!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

1: Casillas
    2: Miguel
    3: Carragher
    4: Agger

5: Maresca
    6: Scholes
    7: Cristiano Ronaldo
    8: Gourcuff
    9: Diaby

10: Van Nistelrooy (C)
    11: Messi

12: Boruc
    13: Kanouté
    14: A. Berezutski
    15: O'Dea

Not a bad team main players should be in it to the death.

kdjac

BEAT THIS TEAM :D

Starting Line up:

Pallop (seville)

Beletti (chelsea)
    Finnan (Liverpool)
    Dragotinovic (Seville)
    Charagher (Liverpool)

Deco (Barcalona)
    Rosicky (Arsenal)
    Robben (Real Madrid)

Drogba (Chelsea)
    Van Nistelrooy (Real Madrid)
    Henry (Barcalona)

Subs:
    Dudu
    Yussef
    Marin
    Zapata

Only Spanish and English based players in starting line up :p

WHAT A TEAM!!!!!!

was this a tactical choice or down to only watchin sky sports?

Trippie wrote:
    was this a tactical choice or down to only watchin sky sports?

Champions league is on sky sports, whats your point?

Thats not a bad team considering all the teams will be expecting to get to the knockouts.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Right joined!

My team (not bothered bout the subs!)
    Boruc
    D. Alves Albiol Fucile
    Adriano C. Ronaldo Gerrard (c) Quaresma Nakamura
    Van Nistelrooy Morientes

Alves hopefully will get some nice assists, Fucile always looks handy when I see him play. And my midfield should rake me in a nice amount of points. Was gonna buy Kaka as I had him last year and he was great but at 12 I couldn't get him :(

EDIT: Feck it, C. Ronaldo out, some random 6.5 guy out, some random 5mil in and Mr. Kaka now graces my midfield!

I decided to go with the old 4-3-3

Reina
    Zanetti--Nesta--Albiol--Abidal
    Jesus Navas--Kaka--Malouda
    ---Torres--RVN--Kanoute

Plus the cheapest subs money could buy. Slavia's keeper cernea or something, and Yussuf. The other 2 are randomers who may or may not even play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Skittlebrau

4-4-2 for me.

Canizares
    Cannavaro
    Carragher----Finnan----Vidic
    Kaka
    Essien
    Gattuso
    Sneijder
    Morientes
    Messi

Subs - Zapata (Gk), Konstantinou, Yussuf, Caldwell

Subs are cheap as chips but at least they should play.

anyone that fancy to join the predictions league
    log onto uefa.com the boards league is 21956-1482.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭weemcd

Starting 11 for todays games:
    1: Reina
    2: Míchel Salgado
    3: Faty
    4: Terry
    5: Kaká (C)
    6: Nakamura
    7: Yussuf
    8: Sissoko
    9: Van Nistelrooy
    10: Van Persie
    11: Messi

Subs:
    12: McGovern
    13: Vidić
    14: Ferrari
    15: Sektioui

1: Gomes
    2: Salcido
    3: Albiol
    4: Júlio César
    5: Fabregas
    6: Sneijder
    7: Gerrard
    8: Pirlo
    9: Villa
    10: Van Nistelrooy(C)
    11: Totti

Subs:
    12: Lund Hansen
    13: Yussuf
    14: Marin
    15: O'Dea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Phew, registered just in time :)

A 4-4-2 for me this week:

Reina
    Toure - Ignashevich - Zanetti - Jankulovski
    Gerrard - Xavi - Sneijder - Nakamura
    V. Nistelrooy (C) - V Persie

That Targets tab looks interesting - I bet I can hit 5 of 'em !!

SofaKing wrote:
    That Targets tab looks interesting - I bet I can hit 5 of 'em !!
    Just noticed that! Is the celebrity manager just someone picked at random?

Looks like the celeb manager is the legendary Lomana Lua-Lua of Olympi*kos. I'm sure that it gets rotated each matchday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

41 points for me after the 1st day :D Second in the league.

But for a poor capt choice (Snjider) Id be well above the 50 already.

poor day for me only 9 points, but 7 people to play today and most of them should score some decent points so hopefully i should move up the rankings

31 points with 4 to play tonight, my gamble on Castillo didn't work out, I thought he'd start after all the money spent on him :(

I eh forgot to join the league and its saying i cant now :(

67 points so far.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭Angus MacGyver

KdjaCL wrote:
    I eh forgot to join the league and its saying i cant now :(

Yea whats the deal with that,

Ok so ive missed out on this weeks points cause i didnt register in time but I reckon i can still win!!!!!

It's odd, I'm sure there were late arrivals last season.

55 so far, but they have Fabregas down for 1 assist and I heard he got 2, so have to see if that changes.

Got 8 out of 10 targets, I really like that feature.

Ireland is 6th in the world rankings!

yeah anyone should be still able to join the league, tripple set
    up the league so its up to him close the league or open it
    again for more to join.

its set to allow new entries anyway a half decent day for me getting over 35 points however im still not happy with my team and since changes to your team only cost 2 points it is a lot more forgiving than the premier league one so i may a few changes

Terrible Day 1 for me anyway, a grand total of 30 points over the 2 match days!

Woeful stuff. As Trippie said changes are cheap so i made 3! Sneijder out for Fabregas, Morientes out for RVN and Zanetti out for Sagna! Hoping the 2 arsenal lads can really pick up the points now with 3 easy games ahead (as easy as they get in Europe anyway with Steaua and Slavia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

ah crap. i completely forgot to update my starting lineup for injuries that emerged since i made the team. oh well.... got in the low 30s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

How many targets did everyone get. I got 7/10.:)

pd101 wrote:
    Well played!

Myself, I met 6 of the targets. I fell down on "Be creative", "Goals", "Clean Sheets" and "Star Players".

I reckon its mostly my midfield that let me down there - a couple of them are set-piece takers, so assists and goals were expected. Alas :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

My 2 strikers saved me. Totti is a fantasy football must.

pd101 wrote:
    8/10
    Joint top too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Stupid liverpool with their stupid defending and stupid Puyol for not playing :/
    49 points though, ain't too shabby. I've decided to take out Kaka for Ronaldinho. Kaka will perform when it's needed for Milan, but I think he won't do so great in the group stages. Ronaldinho I think could do very well this CL.

I got 6

Transfers only cost 2?? Excellent, I kinda need to make one or two. Agger out for 6 bloody weeks, as well as Castillo looking like a poor purchase, wish I'd been more informed before buying him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

3rd place not to bad a start

My gamble of changing a few players paid off as i have 53 points already this week still with 5 to play. up to third and hoping for another few points tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Sweet Jebus Benayoun got 25 points! Anyone have him as captain?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I can't begin to express how pissed off I am at Finnan not playing or Carragher not getting anything but a clean sheet.
    Also Cech doesn't get a clean sheet cause he came off at the 46th minute. That's bs