Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Place to eat in Maynooth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭I_luv_2_ski!

SQ2 wrote: »
    the menu now has a small print at the bottom of the page each person muct spend 18 euros each- always did and more but thought that cheeky

whats really bad? what if you only wanted one course or in many cases when me and my friends go out were going drinking after so as little money as possible is spent on drink...although I'm sure the drink tab would bring it up!!! thats just wrong!! Maynooth is a STUDENT town!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Tilt Gone

The Stone Haven without doubt is the best. When booking just ask for a table at the back as there is more space. Fried brie for starters and Ostrich for the main. Can't go wrong there.

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Mmmm_Lemony

Actualy saw a flyer from La Banca in Lucan the other day...they have a special for two people mid week...main course and starter OR desert and a bottle of Wine €50! not 2bad for a meal for two...altho its no Mc Donalds at 4in the morning...its a bit of a walk but so worth it!!! haha

Tried their early bird offer last week, 20 starter, mains and desert. Absolutely top drawer service and the food was delicious too. Probably the best service from a reasonably priced restaurant in ireland I've seen.

They know how to cook a medium steak too, which is (pardon the pun) rare! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭I_luv_2_ski!

Tried their early bird offer last week, 20 starter, mains and desert. Absolutely top drawer service and the food was delicious too. Probably the best service from a reasonably priced restaurant in ireland I've seen.

They know how to cook a medium steak too, which is (pardon the pun) rare! :p

must try it so...but i'll be needin my steak medium well so...not too much pink does it for me!!! lol

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Would throw half an oar in for Donatello's in Maynooth as the beloved fillet and mash with pepper sauce has always been perfectly to my liking but a couple of things surfaces that annoyed the s*** out of me...

1, the menu now has a small print at the bottom of the page each person muct spend 18 euros each- always did and more but thought that cheeky

2, When you get a glass of coke etc it's poured from a 2 litre bottle rather than a fresh "split" bottle or a can. So you pay your 2.50-3.00 for a manky glass of flatness! I asked to be served my next drink by the neck so I could pour myself and the waiter was forced to admit the above. I think it's a bit rich to be practicing this in a restaurant looking for a reputation of high standards the way.

My experience with Donatellos

-Messed up a booking I had made and didn't have a table for me at all when I arrived
    -Minimum order policy is not to my liking
    -Tables are too close together
    -Wasn't overly impressed with menu or service

I won't be in a hurry to go back.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭SQ2

I don't mind the close tables, and the service has always been ok for me, but the other 2 things really grind my gears!

On a positive note I tried out Twist for their new evening meals the other evening and was very impressed indeed... highly reccommended.. BYOB too

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

On a positive note I tried out Twist for their new evening meals the other evening and was very impressed indeed... highly reccommended.. BYOB too
    What is the menu like-doesn't seem to be on their website.

Is there any charge ('corkage') for BYOB?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭missmyler

O'Neills for Pub food is one of my favourites. Come here quite regularly just to get their starters. Usually order 2 of them and they do the job nicely. Their prawns and mozarella crostini are delish. Lasagne and burgers for mains are great too, homemade and big portions.

Nice cosy atmosphere and very polite staff. Great for rainy days. Cant fault the place (and i dont even live in Maynooth)

missmyler wrote: »
    Lasagne and burgers for mains are great too, homemade and big portions.

I'd have to disagree.

Had a homemade burger and chips one day with a mate before heading into town, and was looking for something quick. Took 30/40 minutes, the chips were from next door, looked dry and tasted re-heated and the burger was only ok, considering it was a homemade burger.

I had a soup and sandwich combo previously and thought they were ok, and this is why I went for the burger, so I was a little dissapointed.

It would be ok for a spot of lunch but would not recommend for an evening meal. With the recession busting menu's about you can get something alot nicer and better presented and served for around the same price range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

I'm really surprised by the negative comments about the Avenue. I have nothing to do with this place and I don't know anyone that has. For me, its got everything that I look for. Everything except the price but I'm willing to pay an extra few euro for a meal if its good quality. It has a good atmosphere, the staff are good/friendly and the food is excellent. Wines are good too.

I'd choose this place over the stone haven any day but I'd be happy to go to either. Pity nothing like these are in Celbridge. I agree that Dehli Bardar is good (not exactly top class) but if you are not in the mood for Indian and you want to eat in Celbridge........taxi to Maynooth.

• Moderators Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

Agree with misty. I've been to avenue quiet a few times and no complaints. Was actually there last night and the place was hopping off it and the staff were able to manage everything perfectly well and the food was lovely.service/staff were great too!! no complaints. .. so i'm going back tomorrow! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 424 ✭✭meganj

agree with both posts above.

I love avenue! My OH is a very fussy eater and so it's great for us because he can have a burger (which are goregous in avenue) and I can have something yummy, but I must admit I really like their chicken wings.. mmm. I think the food is very reasonably priced, but only if your not ordering the fish which someone mentioned above.

As for the staff, I think they're grand, except when you ask for a plain burger and instead of coming without lettuce, it comes without a bun... but maybe that's just my fault for not explaining it.

Tried the stone haven recently, and thought the food for the most part was very nice, had the steak with peppered sauce and it was delicious and cooked to perfection. GF had the roast duck, which was very nice too. Side veg and salad was good. Ordered a side of fries, as they were 3.95 and figured they must be something special. Appalled to find they were the likes you can but 2lb bags of in dunnes stores for 1.50. Terrible.

The bill came and I was disgusted to find that for myself and gf, 1 shared starter, 1 shared dessert and 2 mains came to €80+. Christ its expensive! Also, to have a salad as a mains you add 8.50 which is what it costs as a starter, and can't imagine it beign twice the size!

2 Waiters were on, the bloke was very good, professional, attentative, the girl was terrible. Snappy and bad-mannered. When I asked for the bill she said ok, and then proceeded to have a 15 minute conversation with her colleague, came back and dropped it on the table. Then when passing literally snapped it out of my hand! I'm sure it wasn't myself or gf that upset her, but she was certainly taking it out on us. But she's just an employee and you can get a bad one on a bad day anywhere. The bill is what really made my mind up on the place.

I don't understand how people can call L'Avenue expensive and not to a high standard, when this place is in my opinion, extremely overpriced!

The food was for the most part very nice and well presented, and its a nice enough cosy little place, but I won't be back again unfortunately, unless of course they do a complete overhaul of the menu prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

MayMay wrote: »
    Bringing a friend out from town tomorrow and looking for somewhere nice we could get a bite to eat around 9/10pm? And not Supermacs please ;) Thanks.

probably too late, but a place called "Stone Haven" is brilliant. Try the ostrich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Massive Muscles

Avenue: Overpriced mediocre ****e for a town desperate for food.

Donatello's: Overpiced ****ty Italian, the longstanding success of which is a sad indictment of Maynooth's foodie credentials

Stone Haven: Consumer disorientated place. Stick to pizza M.

There is only one place in Maynooth listed in Georgina Campbell's guide and that is Carton House. If you actually like nice food at reasonable prices then head to Zest in Clane or the Leixlip House Hotel.

Av

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 hairy cake

Avenue: Overpriced mediocre ****e for a town desperate for food.

Donatello's: Overpiced ****ty Italian, the longstanding success of which is a sad indictment of Maynooth's foodie credentials

Stone Haven: Consumer disorientated place. Stick to pizza M.

There is only one place in Maynooth listed in Georgina Campbell's guide and that is Carton House. If you actually like nice food at reasonable prices then head to Zest in Clane or the Leixlip House Hotel.

Would pass on Leixlip HH - very average. I have heard bad reports from Carton House (seemingly change of staff there recently).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 sekhon_boy

hairy cake wrote: »
    Would pass on Leixlip HH - very average. I have heard bad reports from Carton House (seemingly change of staff there recently).

I am going to Donatello's for past Five years or even more and i have tried all others in the town.All of them good, cannot stand Stone heaven in Maynooth, Smell like old pub !!!!!!

Donatello's food standard always has been the best, why the hell people go to a Restaurant to taste a glass of coke , that sound like person need to go to Chip SHop get a bag of chips and a Fizzzy !!!! can of Coke. to get the best taste you need to pay the price, Remember you cannot buy a Lobster for the price of Salmon. I pay that price because i can see what am eating and i can taste the freshness.

Stonehaven- food lovely, staff lovely, the seating is sh!te though... seriously thats the only word for it, your either at the back of the restaurant and ignored and frozen for the whole night (like the 1st time i was there) or we were right beside the kitchen which I read somewhere else is great for the buzz.... You couldnt have a conversation for the noise of that cappuchino machine and you couldnt get out until the end of the meal because everyone around you would make a face for having to pull in chairs etc (I'm a smoker but aside from that it was so warm beside the kitchen both of us were gasping for a bit of cool air!) But the food is seriously amazing, its almost very nearly worth it!:rolleyes:

I just went there once and cam back from the door, it smells like old pub ............ Horrible smell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 thedrunkleader

I'm really surprised by the negative comments about the Avenue. I have nothing to do with this place and I don't know anyone that has. For me, its got everything that I look for. Everything except the price but I'm willing to pay an extra few euro for a meal if its good quality. It has a good atmosphere, the staff are good/friendly and the food is excellent. Wines are good too.

I'd choose this place over the stone haven any day but I'd be happy to go to either. Pity nothing like these are in Celbridge. I agree that Dehli Bardar is good (not exactly top class) but if you are not in the mood for Indian and you want to eat in Celbridge........taxi to Maynooth.

Dunno about any of this mate;

The Castletown Inn won dining pub of the year a few years back, you're guaranteed a nice bite there or in Green's restaurant upstairs.

Michaelangelo's is a far nicer, and from the comments here, better run restaurant than Donatello's. The Medallions in Cafe de Pris butter are amazing.

The Village Inn offer an 8oz Sizzling Steak with pepper sauce and chips for only 10 euro Monday to Saturday.

Save yourself the taxi fare next time mate!

Would throw half an oar in for Donatello's in Maynooth as the beloved fillet and mash with pepper sauce has always been perfectly to my liking but a couple of things surfaces that annoyed the s*** out of me...

1, the menu now has a small print at the bottom of the page each person muct spend 18 euros each- always did and more but thought that cheeky

2, When you get a glass of coke etc it's poured from a 2 litre bottle rather than a fresh "split" bottle or a can. So you pay your 2.50-3.00 for a manky glass of flatness! I asked to be served my next drink by the neck so I could pour myself and the waiter was forced to admit the above. I think it's a bit rich to be practicing this in a restaurant looking for a reputation of high standards

I've been told by many that the steak in O'Neills is the overall winner now by the way.. makes sense I suppose given that the owner used to be a butcher!

I think you need to go to chip shop beside O neils, there you get a Fizzy Can of Coke.
    O neil Menu is Disgusting, I like the Roost upstairs best place for Pub food.
    At least you could see what you are getting, many pubs are giving different vodka at the name of Smiran off. By the way next time try some wine with your Steak, and keep Coke for chip shop when you come out of the O Neil. It sounds like your are stingy Freak looking at the corners of a menu, you need to look at what you want to eat. may be there is special offer for a Pint at O neils. What is your reputation of high standard looking for Coke and then sneaking at how somebody poring it and then stressing the waiter.
    Buy a Fizzy coke from New Londis and bring it with you , when you go to dinner.

Can't believe no one said Stone Haven. God, the garlic potatoes alone sell this place. MMMMMMM.

I'd love to go to Donatellos some time but I can't find the door to get in.

Stone Haven smell like old pub, i just came back from the door. try new Chinese, ok for lunch, but very expensive for dinner

sekhon_boy wrote: »
    I think you need to go to chip shop beside O neils, there you get a Fizzy Can of Coke.
    O neil Menu is Disgusting, I like the Roost upstairs best place for Pub food.
    At least you could see what you are getting, many pubs are giving different vodka at the name of Smiran off. By the way next time try some wine with your Steak, and keep Coke for chip shop when you come out of the O Neil. It sounds like your are stingy Freak looking at the corners of a menu, you need to look at what you want to eat. may be there is special offer for a Pint at O neils. What is your reputation of high standard looking for Coke and then sneaking at how somebody poring it and then stressing the waiter.
    Buy a Fizzy coke from New Londis and bring it with you , when you go to dinner.

What about people who don't drink alcohol, or people who drive to the restaurant and can't drink? What about people who don't like the wine available at the restaurant? If a restaurant sells coke, you are entitled to drink it.

Anyway, can someone give me directions to greens? Can't find it on the web and want to try it tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭ytareh

Green(e?)s is on the very far end of Main Street right beside the old College entrance gates .It is more or less next to the Castle .Should get a parking space up near the old college gates .If you were coming from the Lucan/Leixlip /Tesco direction you would have to go straight on and NOT turn right as if going to Kilcock.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Giuseppe90

My wife and I were in Greenes just after Christmas and it was very cold in there - even the walls were cold to the touch. I know we were in the middle of the worst cold snap in a while but there was no excuse for it, the least people want is to be warm while in a restaurant.

Saying that I have always found the food good in there and tbh only for the last visit I would recommend it highly.

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭jerryg

Bringing a group (15)out for dinner on a budget of 25 euro per person next week in Maynooth where can we eat close to the college accomodation?
    Jer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Le_Dieux

jerryg wrote: »
    Bringing a group (15)out for dinner on a budget of 25 euro per person next week in Maynooth where can we eat close to the college accomodation?
    Jer

Hi Ger

I'm not from Maynooth ( being from Newbridge ), so cannot assist You in which restaurants are near to where You want to be, but I think the link below might be of help for You:

http://www.menupages.ie/Kildare/north_kildare/maynooth.aspx

Hope this helps?

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭jerryg

Thanks Le Dieux,I have choosen The Roost and Greens.
    Thanks for your help.
    Jer.

• Registered Users Posts: 63 ✭✭Lambchops65

Right, I am originally from Leixlip, socialise in Maynooth and live in Kilcock so here is my take on the local restaurants (and by the way I am VERY fussy and eat out few times a week, every week!);)

Maynooth:

Avenue - Can get very busy/noisy and very warm. Have never had any problem with food or service. In fact service is good and staff are very friendly. They have a good choice and do a special on a Tuesday night (Ladies night) Its €21 for 2 courses and glass of wine or €23/24 for 3 courses and glass of wine. Have been there with several people on numerous occasions and no complaints (great fish pie and chicken wings)

Greenes - Was there when it first opened and I nearly had a heart attack when I got the bill. Have been there since and they do a few different early bird menus - all great and good value. Seating is cramped and after sitting at a booth for a few hours, the pain in my back was so bad I could hardly stand up afterwards. Quiter that Avenue (great baked potatoes and fish)

Mohana Indian (over Caufields) - great Indian and not too expensive. Lovely interior and lots of space between tables. Can be v quiet at times though...think theres more of an atmosphere when its busier..but overall great place.

Stonehaven - Different. Nice cellar/basement look restaurant. Love the menu and food. Toilets are dreadful (small & dingy)and very warm at back of restaurant, very uncomfortable last time I was there. They do a good early bird now too. That said food was nice (although when we paid at till on way out the girl pocketed our waitreses tip for herself - bad form!)

Lan Tania (Glenroyal) - Same interior and similar to Lemongrass (which used to be located in the same place) Was there on a date and we were the only ones in the restaurant, for the 2 hrs we were there so lacking in atmosphere. Nice food but expensive enough for what we got.

Donatellos - Cosy (cramped) atmosphere. Nice food, very expensive for what you get. tried to bring a visitor there for dinner but they refused to go in as they thought the place looked very run down and needed cleaning and painting!

Leixlip:

Leixlip House hotel - GREAT bar food !! nice comfy couches, open fire, linen tablecloths. Good choice and food is always good. They run various specials (depending on day of the week) look up their website.

Miss Wongs - Used to be a great Chinese but has gone downhill in recent years. Standard of sit in and take away has dropped. Nice interior and staff.

Alannadale - Used to be the Amber Regent. Great take away (dont think they deliver anymore?) and good sit in Chinese. Decor is lovely and staff great.

Da Vincis - Cheap and cheerful pizza/pasta place. Food has defo gone down hill over the last 10 years, that said you get what you paid for and it fills the gap. Good for kids - they give them dough and crayons, paper etc..

Alvitos - owned by Da Vincis - More upmarket Italian. Food is nice but expensive and place lacks atmosphere. Rudest Italian waitress I have ever encountered. Would never go back.

Becketts Hotel - Excellent decor, food and service. A bit like the Leixlip House hotel (always good). Expensive but the early bird menu is excellent value and lots of choice.

Taste of Indus - Small little Indian restaurant. Food is good but place is tiny. You basically sit on top of next table but place is never v busy so that's fine. Reasonable for an Indian.

Kilcock:

Dragon Boat - Chinese. Small restaurant but you have some elbow room ! Went last mothers day and they treated my mum like royality and gave her a little pressie when she was leaving (which was lovely!) Good Chinese food and lovely staff. They do karakoe some nights - great craic..lol

Saffron - Indian. Not long established but have heard great reports. I got a take away from there one night and they couldn't have been any nicer. Sat me down at a table whilst I waited and brought me a free glass of oj and a free dessert whilst I waited!! Now thats good customer service. Place has been done up (it used to be Il Vesuvios Italian) and is much warmer and cosier now...lovely.

More Asian - I haven't tried this yet as its been taken over by new owner. Meant to be nice and has good value menus.

Rye river cafe - Have been here on numerous occasions and every time I arrive, tables are full of dirty dishes and looks untidy. That said - I wanted a salad and didnt see anythng at the counter so they made me a salad to my exact spec and it was the best ever. The make you WHATEVER you want and food is yummy. I have never been for evening meal but people in Kilcock rave about the food and the service in the evening and its BYOB (no corkage) so good value too.

Hope this helps