Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Here's what I saw today (Please read the rules before posting)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭ofcork

Dr Porsche didnt have to change his design a whole lot to come up with the beetle,some of the 1930s mercedes are similar to the design as well as porsche worked at mercedes for a while too.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Geoff845

http://www.wreckedexotics.com/newphotos/exotics2011may23/40murcielago_20110520_1.shtml

Must be the same one photographed outside Harrods Clamped!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Great post bijapos some interesting stuff there can you imagine those glass boxes in ireland some skanger would either try to break in to them or spray them with graffiti

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Had to post this somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 Cian1991ferrari

Saw this 2011 Panamera Turbo today, actually very nice! bt:)

41078650.jpg

278cbdcc.jpg

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Saw this 2011 Panamera Turbo today, actually very nice! bt:)
    nice pics.
    Still a few people with a few bob to spend on the personal plates!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

These are photos I took last week in Meilenwerk in Berlin. Its an old tram depot that was converted into a classic car centre about 10 years ago. The idea was to bring people with a common interest in classic cars together under one roof. They rent out workshops to established mechanics and restorers, some space is given over to car dealers who specialise in classics, to others who just wish to sell their car and to others who need a place to store cars in a protected atmosphere. The best part of it is you can just walk in and wander around for free and sometimes watch people working on the cars. Well worth a visit if you're in Berlin.

This is the area where the workshops and some shops and dealers are.

GermanyMay2011395.jpg

Nice Traction Avant and a Henri Chapron DS convertible.

GermanyMay2011390.jpg

The Ferrari and Maserati workshop, there was an MC12 there as well but I couldnt get a shot of it.

GermanyMay2011389.jpg

Fiat/Lancia/Alfa workshop with a 430 looking on.

GermanyMay2011391.jpg

The main hall, on the left cars for sale, on the right are the glass boxes where you can store the car in clean, warm and climate controlled conditions. The boxes are for rent, no idea how much they cost, there were all sorts in them, from Enzos to VW buses and Isettas.

GermanyMay2011406.jpg

Typical view of whats in there, on the top 3x 300SL Gullwing, bottom left a 280SL Pagoda, 300S "Adenauer" convertible and a Dino.

GermanyMay2011427.jpg

You never see a Stratos then 4 come along at once. Whats the plural? Stratosses? Strati?, anyway from the top left a Stratos Silhouette, a Rally car fully equipped for the Safari Rally and a standard one. Bottom left very rare Aston Martin DB7 Zagato, another Stratos and a Bugatti EB110.

GermanyMay2011429.jpg

I think this is the Bertone prototype that was at the Turin Motor Show in 1971, not sure though as no info is posted on the cars in the glass boxes. Anyone know anything about it?

GermanyMay2011383.jpg

GermanyMay2011430.jpg

GermanyMay2011431.jpg

EB110, one of the great supercars, there were another two EB110s there as well.

GermanyMay2011432.jpg

The Safari Rally version

GermanyMay2011439.jpg

GermanyMay2011440.jpg

The Group 5 Silhouette. Only two versions were ever built, one was crashed at Zellweg, one survived. There are around 4 replicas and I'm not sure if this is a replica or the real deal. There is a bit more on this car (or at least the Silhouette) here.

GermanyMay2011441.jpg

And a bog standard one, normally one of the most dramatic cars ever built its almost nondescript in this company.

GermanyMay2011442.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

^^^^ Imagine the insurance claim if some carless mechanic started a fire and gutted the place:eek:

Very nice photos bijapos!!

Some more stuff from Meilenwerk........

Riva Speedboat. Power Elegance and Timelessness rolled into one. Great craftmanship to put something like this together.

GermanyMay2011379.jpg

De Tomaso Pantera Si. The swansong version of one of the lesser known supercar builders and a car that was imo wrongly considered to be a poorer relation to its Lambo and Ferrari neighbours.

GermanyMay2011380.jpg

1968 Marcos 1600 GTR, 1.6l Cortina engine giving 145bhp (!!!), 4 speed Ford gearbox, Triumph front axle. Part of the glory days of the English car industry.

GermanyMay2011385.jpg

GermanyMay2011386.jpg

1989 Merc 190E 2.5 16v Evo1 group A car. 340 bhp. Fully hydraulic suspension. A car from the glory days of Touring Car racing. The greatest thing about these cars was that you could buy a similar enough car in the dealership. So different to the DTM cars of today that bear no relation to the real thing.

GermanyMay2011387.jpg

Lovely restored Alfa Romeo. Its a replica, but a fullly working one nonetheless.

GermanyMay2011392.jpg

NY Taxi with 8 doors, I think they were used as Hotel-Airport taxis. massive car as can be seen beside the W108 which is no small car itself.

GermanyMay2011399.jpg

W126C convertible. A car Mercedes regrettably never built. No idea who this is from but I think its probably SGS.

GermanyMay2011416.jpg

Beautiful Aston Martin V8....

GermanyMay2011420.jpg

....and beside it this one off. A Lagonda Shooting Brake, seeminly the only one in the world. Not the most elegant finish I thought. 1987 model, built by a coachbuilder in 2000.

GermanyMay2011422.jpg
    GermanyMay2011424.jpg

XJ 220, I never got a pic of the engine but its a bit lost in that body, great car all the same.

GermanyMay2011426.jpg
    GermanyMay2011428.jpg

And to finish off two examples of the EB110, the blue one is the "standard" 550bhp one, the silver/grey one is the lighter, more powerful 600bhp SS version. Parked on the roof of some blokes office. I suppose why not.

GermanyMay2011437.jpg

GermanyMay2011450.jpg

Twin-go wrote: »
    ^^^^ Imagine the insurance claim if some carless mechanic started a fire and gutted the place:eek:

Very nice photos bijapos!!

Cheers. Its the kind of place where we I think we should all chip in and send Marcinek for the day, I'd love to see what he would make out of it.

I only have a pocket 5mp camera which decided to pack up half way around. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Fantastic photos bijapos and thanks for taking the time to post them up. Germany is a place I hopefully will tour in the next few years and you've given me one place to go to!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Isn't it terrible how our first reactions are 'oh - think of the insurance' etc. (and rightly so)

This p0xy country and it's laws/taxes.

Wouldn't it be great to have the freedom to do/partake in something like that.

Not saying they don't have a few shillings but being an enthusiast is so much easier elsewhere it would appear. Our size doesn't help things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

E39MSport wrote: »
    Isn't it terrible how our first reactions are 'oh - think of the insurance' etc. (and rightly so)

This p0xy country and it's laws/taxes.

Wouldn't it be great to have the freedom to do/partake in something like that.

Not saying they don't have a few shillings but being an enthusiast is so much easier elsewhere it would appear. Our size doesn't help things.
    Not to mention the tax! Any 80s/90s cars I'd love to own would be 1566 p/a in tax, whereas in the UK for example its less than 33% of that figure.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Amazing pics bijapos thanks for sharing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

He's threatening your throne Marcinek:D

Some beautiful stuff there Bijapos,nice info too thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

kbannon wrote: »
    nice pics.
    Still a few people with a few bob to spend on the personal plates!

that's down outside esat building so some one close to Digicell\O'Brien i'd say

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,021 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Lads, I'm not a car guy at all but like browsing this forum, thought of ye on hols in Florida last month, excuse the quality, just used my phone, most are probably uninteresting to ye and the photos do not capture the sheer scale of most of them...anyhow here ye go
    image115a.jpg
    image114.jpg
    image087bz.jpg
    image083vx.jpg
    image082j.jpg
    image070d.jpg
    image069l.jpg
    image046h.jpg
    image126q.jpg
    image032fa.jpg

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭el diablo

slave1 wrote: »
    Lads, I'm not a car guy at all but like browsing this forum, thought of ye on hols in Florida last month, excuse the quality, just used my phone, most are probably uninteresting to ye and the photos do not capture the sheer scale of some of them...anyhow here ye go

Nothing there.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

I was editing the post for a while (stupid imageshack!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

ya marcinek gone very quiet lately bijapos is definitely king at present

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

KTM_1.jpg

Spotted this in Sicily during the week.

Savage roads there down the coast for the likes of this yoke

el diablo wrote: »
    Nothing there.

Give the guy a break he expressly said he went out of his way to post the pics for our benefit. I enjoyed them slave1 so thanks for posting.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

qz wrote: »
    Give the guy a break he expressly said he went out of his way to post the pics for our benefit. I enjoyed them slave1 so thanks for posting.

He literally meant they weren't there, the poster had a problem uploading them.
    Wakey Wakey:p

Yeah, imageshack went funny so had to go back in and redo them, no worries guys.
    Bonus points for the first one to spot which vehicle was in a disabled zone (with a disabled badge)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

that Lagonda estate is a weapon of a thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I <3 American pick-ups :o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

Slidey wrote: »
    [ur]http://omg.wthax.org/KTM_1.jpg[/url]

Seen one of them in pulling into Toughers Business Park just outside Newbridge/Naas about a year ago. Definitely not the kind of roads that yoke was built for

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭el diablo

Plug wrote: »

He literally meant they weren't there, the poster had a problem uploading them.
    Wakey Wakey:p

Cheers Plug, that's exactly what I meant. :)

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

Slidey wrote: »
    KTM_1.jpg

Sicily!!!!! That yoke is registered in Rosenheim near Munich, thats about 1800km one way. I pity the state of the drivers back, but what a way to travel. Beats Ryanair anyday.

el diablo wrote: »
    Cheers Plug, that's exactly what I meant. :)

Apologies! They showed up for me. :o