Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need some advice on what to plant

Options
  • 17-09-2007 2:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭

As you can see by the photo its a very narrow strip, gets sun first thing in the morning and again in the afternoon. Have bought some of the usually bulbs to plant daffs/snowdrops etc but would appreciate some advice/recommendations on plants/shrubs. Visual and scent would be important, nothing that would get much bigger than the wall(aprox 2.5feet) and if possible nice colour all year round, is there such plants/shrubs:D . I am very new to this so would it be worth while testing the soil or will plants grow in most soils

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

cubix wrote:
    As you can see by the photo its a very narrow strip, gets sun first thing in the morning and again in the afternoon. Have bought some of the usually bulbs to plant daffs/snowdrops etc but would appreciate some advice/recommendations on plants/shrubs. Visual and scent would be important, nothing that would get much bigger than the wall(aprox 2.5feet) and if possible nice colour all year round, is there such plants/shrubs:D . I am very new to this so would it be worth while testing the soil or will plants grow in most soils

Thanks

3 distinct evergreen but with good colour and also scent:
    - santolina virens or alternatively lavender hidcote
    - hebe heartbreaker or hebe champion
    - coprosma fireburst or coprosma purple splendour.
    Plant in groups of 3-5 and repeat.