Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Operation AEGs across the border - 30 Sept 2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Dont know if the war wagon can keep up with your little punto thing, we may be there but may be left behind.

my little punto thing? you haven't seen my car in a while have you young man?

2.0L Turbo Diesel Mondeo now :D

ps yes, i will gloat about it

pps it was a 106, not a punto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

kdouglas wrote:
    my little punto thing? you haven't seen my car in a while have you young man?

2.0L Turbo Diesel Mondeo now :D

ps yes, i will gloat about it

pps it was a 106, not a punto
    All I know was that it was a womans car!

This one?
    screen1.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

No no, its the one at the start of Swords Village,actually in the Village.

EDIT: They do a nice breakfast in there, its where all the Statoil employees train!

Is 7:00 ok then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭H.O.T.A.S.

The Co-Ords on Google World is 53 27' 12.52" N, 6 13' 28.56" W

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

So Kdouglas, meeting in town at 6:30am? should get to swords for 7am given there will be no traffic on the roads.

H.O.T.A.S. wrote:
    The Co-Ords on Google World is 53 27' 12.52" N, 6 13' 28.56" W
    Perfect i see it and GPS will bring us there anyway.

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Seen as you have GPS, incase we get split up, Predator is...it wont show me the coordinates!

EDIT:
    There they are!!

Waypoint: lat ="54.358611" lon ="-5.859167"
    Had to actually open its file in Notepad to get that!

That'll bring you to the Predator Car-park.

Boston, that's grand

Harekin: bring the gps with you, cant be bothered printing out directions :)

cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I'll bring my SatNav as well. I already had the coords from the last trip.

BTW, has anyone told the Predator staff that we are invading, eh, I mean visting?

Lemming afaik

i hope so, just of curiousity (sp?), what kind of numbers can we expect? will we outnumber locals? will they outnumber us by 2 or 3 times?

kdouglas wrote:
    i hope so, just of curiousity (sp?), what kind of numbers can we expect? will we outnumber locals? will they outnumber us by 2 or 3 times?

There was over 140 people there the last time I visited...a record number (that included us)

I'd guess we are looking at about 80 people or more.

coola-boola

right, im off out for a few pints (i know, bad idea, ill be home early, i promise)

see you all in the morning

Doh! Posted in wrong thread by mistake

Harekin wrote:
    Seen as you have GPS, incase we get split up, Predator is...it wont show me the coordinates!

EDIT:
    There they are!!

Waypoint: lat ="54.358611" lon ="-5.859167"
    Had to actually open its file in Notepad to get that!

That'll bring you to the Predator Car-park.
    Been there 3 times, dad should know the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

kdouglas wrote:
    just go to a bank machine when we get up there?

add eric from the ghosts coming in my car aswell, so my car is now full

Harekin,Evolute,Boston: try not to bring any unnecessary kit, my boot is reasonably large, but we are talking about enough for 5 people :)

Kit bag that will hold nearly all of my stuff and then a jansports bag for any stuff i want in the car which can sit in front of me in the car. So i think my body will take up the most of it.

Ps: Sorry bout that unnessicary pm there yesterday hadnt spoken to my bro felt like a right mong when he said he had already sorted it out with ya haha. See ya all tomorrow bright and early:p

UPDATE: LEATHAL + 2. Noob aint coming.

Dad says the Rendevous will be a pain in the ass so we're going straight through. So....

APO:
    White Fiat/Euromobile Campervan
    REG 00D107417
    8mx3m
    3.5T

Wave/Beep when you catch us up.:D

Evolute wrote:
    Kit bag that will hold nearly all of my stuff and then a jansports bag for any stuff i want in the car which can sit in front of me in the car. So i think my body will take up the most of it.

Ps: Sorry bout that unnessicary pm there yesterday hadnt spoken to my bro felt like a right mong when he said he had already sorted it out with ya haha. See ya all tomorrow bright and early:p

no worries, see you in a few hours :)

Lethal: RV @ Statoil could be messy alright, but ill pull in there before 7 and wait a few mins anyway and see if anyone else turns up

anyone happen to know if that statoil will be open at that hour of the morning?

Edit: found this, 24hr apparently
    Name: Statoil Westview
    Address: Lissenhall , Swords ,
    Brand: Statoil Service Station
    HGV: HGV
    Petrol: Yes
    Shop: Yes
    Opening Hours: 24 HR
    Other: n/a
    Pin Number Required: No
    Station Group: Company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Have a good one lads. I envy ye!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Just leaving now, see ya there lads.

Can't believe you all dragged me out of bed this early in the morning. It's unatural....unatural I tell ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Lucky gits. Ye' are all on your way by now.

Pictures damnit, I DEMAND pictures!! Satisfy my Airsofty voyeurism!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

The Hawks are back. Took us 2.5 hours to get home, although it did take a good 4 to get there!! (thnx lemming u n00b with the maps). Great day out but seriously draining. They need more scenarios up there.

Lemming promised to put up his awesomeness pics tonight so i look forward to seeing those.

Poor Hive... i feel for you hombre

NOT

There were 2 guys taking pics so check ASI in the next few days.

RATING FOR DAY: 7/10

Just one game all day, dragged out, repeditive and over all not up to their usual standard. At one point 2 marshals were telling both teams to spawn at the same point!!! Bit of a mess. Also, they ran out of BB nades at the very start so most only got to use smokes:mad:

Dr_Pepper wrote:
    Took us 2.5 hours to get home, although it did take a good 4 to get there!! (thnx lemming u n00b with the maps). .

ROFL.
    Dr_Pepper wrote:
    Poor Hive... i feel for you hombre
    NOT

Your sympathy has truly touched my heart and I wish to return the favor by wishing you get run over by a bus. ;)

sorry Hive, didn't get a chance to take pictures, actually had my camera in the car, but forgot to bring it up with me....

'twas a good day though, and also, news from micháel on the vcra stuff, we can apply for membership cards through them and should be able to skirmish up there once we have them, but don't get too excited yet, there's still a few of the finer points to work out, and we may still need the sites down here to get on the UKARA database, or at least liase with predator regarding who is genuinely a regular airsofter in the south

kdouglas wrote:
    sorry Hive, didn't get a chance to take pictures, actually had my camera in the car, but forgot to bring it up with me....

'twas a good day though, and also, news from micháel on the vcra stuff, we can apply for membership cards through them and should be able to skirmish up there once we have them, but don't get too excited yet, there's still a few of the finer points to work out, and we may still need the sites down here to get on the UKARA database, or at least liase with predator regarding who is genuinely a regular airsofter in the south

Certainly something to be looked at in more depth. I sent you a PM a couple of days ago that is tangentially related to this. Get back to me when you have the time.

The "you have to play 6 times every 2 months" rule is kinda going to make valid membership impossible.

Hive: just sent you a pm about it too, dont remember getting your pm? resend?

Boston: it was 3 times every 2 months, and basically what he was saying that our attendance at sites in the south could possibly count towards this

kdouglas wrote:
    Hive: just sent you a pm about it too, dont remember getting your pm? resend?

Boston: it was 3 times every 2 months, and basically what he was saying that our attendance at sites in the south could possibly count towards this

Miss heard him then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭du beton

hi guys just been thru this mths ASI it says that to "become" a member of an airsoft UKARA approved club in Eng, and thus continue to be able to acquire new aegs etc you have to visit an Skirmish sit at least three times in the space of two mths b4 you will be considered membership material.Then if you just have to skirmish once a year to stay on the system. Dunno where this 6 times in 2 mths came from:confused:

du beton wrote:
    hi guys just been thru this mths ASI it says that to "become" a member of an airsoft UKARA approved club in Eng, and thus continue to be able to acquire new aegs etc you have to visit an Skirmish sit at least three times in the space of two mths b4 you will be considered membership material.Then if you just have to skirmish once a year to stay on the system. Dunno where this 6 times in 2 mths came from:confused:

Unfortunately the implementation of the VCRA is about as clear as mud mixed with guinness in a dark room.

Clubs and sites seem to be free to implement their own standards for what constitutes a "regular skirmisher".

p.s. my typing sucks hence my input ages after ye've finished:D

i agree a bit wishy washy but a step in the right direction though we could learn alot from them !

du beton wrote:
    i agree a bit wishy washy but a step in the right direction though we could learn alot from them !

I would personally rather have things continue the way they are if it could be assured that incidents like that idiot on sky news a couple of weeks back could be avoided. Unfortunately, there are always one or two bad apples to spoil it for everyone.

I've been w8in my whole life for airsoft to come along.I nearly wet myself while reading asi on my lunch break and my boss told me it was now legal here. I had a go in France years ago andnever dreamed it'd come here. I'd sell my soul (almost), to be able to do it here on a regular basis.Besides, I'd prefer a few rules rather than see it banned 'cos of a few low life's !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Dr_Pepper wrote:
    The Hawks are back. Took us 2.5 hours to get home, although it did take a good 4 to get there!! (thnx lemming u n00b with the maps).

STFU :p You even said "I kind of planning to follow you". It all went pear-shaped in Newry. The way back was grand - we took the route we originally meant to take and it took us about two hours including heavy traffic on the M1/M50.

The other Hawk was delivered home safe and sound, and I am now home and feeling utterly drained, and nursing a very sore left arm. I strained some left chest/shoulder area muscles, and I'm feeling it all the way along my left arm. I have owies. And knuckle bruises from all the BBs I took to the knuckles for some reason today :confused:
    Lemming promised to put up his awesomeness pics tonight so i look forward to seeing those.

The pictures are off my phone and just need sorted, so up shortly.

One of the lads got a couple of shots of me hammering the area outside camp predator with the '60, both in fixed bipod position, and having a "McBane" moment.

RATING FOR DAY: 7/10

Just one game all day, dragged out, repeditive and over all not up to their usual standard. At one point 2 marshals were telling both teams to spawn at the same point!!! Bit of a mess. Also, they ran out of BB nades at the very start so most only got to use smokes:mad:

I'd agree with that.

Also, there was quite a few very grumpy individuals there today and they all seemed to have forgotten what the bang rule is. Some p***k emptied quite a few rounds into my back from 6 feet while I was sitting down reloading. My gun was lying on the ground beside me within his sight, so he had no excuse. Little fecker didn't even say sorry, just shrugged his shoulders and walked away. Thankfully, he was shot by two others about 5 seconds later after they seen him shoot me.

That and the fact that about 80% of the shots I took were to the head :mad: . Definitely not the best day ever at Predator, but still pretty decent. It just needed more marshals & better organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭cherubaul

would I be right in saying that today was a battlefield style day encompassing the whole site? As they usually tend to bring out the grumps and the faux mil simmers. Predator has no qualms about head shots what so ever for many its just part and parcelof the day and the bang rule gererally seems to be avoided as many people who use the site decide to ignore the courtesy and fire a 10 second burst at your chest. Also was Miceal there? Hope he's colping after the passing of Donal.

yup, full battlefield style day, which i quite enjoyed, it's a more relaxed pace to our usual games :D

there was a few grumps but not too many, i did get quite pissed off at one stage though and just decided to go back to the safezone and chill out for a bit

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

I have a neat scar on my cheek from some very close range rifle fire from my first airsoft experience ;) (first time getting hit that badly, and the last time). Just a bit annoying because the opponent was very close and I was quite exposed, didn't need to shoot at my face.

Lots of cool people, had fun, but it was awfully confusing. I had no idea who the opposing team were a lot of the time; hit players were wandering all over the place, and active combatants were strolling around with them sometimes. The opposing team were supposed to be wearing arm bands, but these were often not visible at all.

As I understand it, HRTA is nothing like this, so I'll be looking forward to something a little more organized and a little less frenetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

kdouglas wrote:

that's great news for all of us.
    and eveyone had a great day good to hear.

There where a few too many muppets at predator which really put a bad slant on the day. The site is fantastic though. I think I'd go again with a load of southern players, but wouldn't be keen on playing against what seem to be predator regulars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Very surprised at hearing about people opening up at point blank when they could bang kill. I was under the impression that they were extremely strict up North about these. If Paul saw something like that happening at HRTA then there would be a severe bollocking administered at least.

Lemming wrote:
    One of the lads got a couple of shots of me hammering the area outside camp predator with the '60, both in fixed bipod position, and having a "McBane" moment.

MENDOZA!!! :D Aye Lemming really was the belle of the ball with the '60 alright! have to say it was great fun using smoke and having nades thrown at you. Shame about the lack of organisation in the game heard a few of the regulars even complaining about it. But still it was worth the trip, great site up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Well personally I had a very "mixed" day.
    It was great to finally go there and see what it was about; the sheer number of people at the site was very cool. However I did have some "issues" with the day out.

The first half of the day was satisfying as I was mainly hidden in a bush hitting anyone who came near our flag, however the second half was not fun.

In total we played 1 I repeat 1 scenario, this was retarded.
    There was never a real sense of team play and no feeling of achievement.
    Games need goals and objectives that can be achieved in a reasonable amount of time. The game took the whole day and nobody knew who won.

Towards the end of the day people were not calling their hits, EVER.
    Also there was a severe amount of friendly fire over this huge terrain.
    Nothing was co-ordinated and people were using armband as a challenge...
    It was chaos.

There were 2 teams covering this "vast" space and with very little idea of what the game objective was. Liamo and I moved in on the “Helicopter” and destroyed the objective which was cool.

Then the entire team moved on the village we completely wiped them out. However the "marshals" in all of their wisdom told the other team to go regen at the base behind us and as such we were completely flanked.
    Much to my (and others) vocal disapproval. I too fell victim to getting pissed off a number of times and sat just beside a marshal or in a regen zone and had a smoke.

As I said it was good to see the place and to get some ideas for the new HRTA but to be honest I’m looking forward to playing on home soil again.

DrPepper out

Agree with Dr Pepper, playing one scenario for the whole day really started to suck near the end, think the problems is we are used to playing short fast paced games in HRTA and the Battlefield scenario just felt a bit drawn out seeing as our team (non-Armbands) had control of the three bases for most of the day. Also what was up with the Armband team being declared winners :confused: I'm not trying to be petty or anything but we had control of the majority of the bases for the whole day as well as completing the bonus objectives? Seems like the Marshals wern't paying attention to game.