Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So im considering getting a tattoo..

• 19-09-2007 9:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 38

Just after my birthday

But I dont know what and where..

I want something pretty, not all gangster like, and somewhere that can be seen if i want it to be, but also hidden if i want it to be, ie, not my wrist or like, bum.

Im thinking hip or chest, but im not sure...

Ideas please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭porn_star

Get a fringe if you havent one already, and get the tattoo on your forehead, that way you can hide it by wearing your fringe down and pin in back when you want it seen. And as for something pretty get a butterfly or a flower or a love heart or one of those girly things. tada. how does it feel to have a stranger make up your mind

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

You kind of have to have an idea of what sort of design you won't get sick of within a week. Only you know your tastes and what's appealing to you. Bear in mind this is permanent. The placement was the only thing I hadn't been sure about until I got it done. Well getting it as a tattoo was done on a whim as was the placement but I knew I wouldn't tire of the picture itself. Shoulder's good because you can show it off in a tank top but hide it under a tshirt.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

would probably sugest get something like a henna tatoo or other similar temp techneque, using the design and location your thinking, and see how it looks before getting it done for real

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

Prob a stupid question but if I have a tattoo design that I want done but I dont have it on paper will a tattoo artist take the time to sit down and draw it out with me or would I have to have the design ready to bring in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

porn_star wrote:
    Get a fringe if you havent one already, and get the tattoo on your forehead, that way you can hide it by wearing your fringe down and pin in back when you want it seen. And as for something pretty get a butterfly or a flower or a love heart or one of those girly things. tada. how does it feel to have a stranger make up your mind

Post of the month :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

BOHS wrote:
    Prob a stupid question but if I have a tattoo design that I want done but I dont have it on paper will a tattoo artist take the time to sit down and draw it out with me or would I have to have the design ready to bring in.

it usually helps to have *something* visual to show the artist. i had a pretty rough, sketchy drawing of mine that i brought in, showed it to the artist, and he came up with a few ideas of how to enhance the pic, and drew it himself.

ive heard of others who dont/wont. i think go into a few places, tell/show them what you want, and, as i did, judge by who seems most enthusiastic about your piece - the person who seems to put most interest and value into actually doing it and having it come out at its best potential.

*edit* w00t! 666th post! \m/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,698 ✭✭✭garthv

This is the kind of decision you will regret.
    If you haven't put ANY thought behind your tattoo and are depending on random strangers from the internet to decide for you, you really shouldnt be allowed in a tattoo parlour.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

GaRtH_V wrote:
    This is the kind of decision you will regret.
    If you haven't put ANY thought behind your tattoo and are depending on random strangers from the internet to decide for you, you really shouldnt be allowed in a tattoo parlour.

Quoted for truth.

You want a tattoo for the sake of having a tattoo.

Go searching the internet, find several designs that you like, put them on your wall and keep them for ages. (Months at least)

If you find yourself going off some of the designs, take them down, and put up any new designs that you like.

You'll find you'll end up changing your mind about some of them a bunch of times, but will ffinally be able to say what one you want.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Fantasy_Suicide

Ah sure pick a butterfly. That's what most people who don't know what they want get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Nah, butterflies are too obvious. Get some Kanji. Kanji is awesome because no one will have any idea what it says! Mystery = cool.

• Registered Users Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

Its all good I found a kindhearted artist to draw it for me......O and incase anyone was wondering its a butterfly ;)

Woah. My psychic powers prevail yet again!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

Woah. My psychic powers prevail yet again!! :D
    :eek: *Is scared*

:eek: No way am I going to a T&P beers now, who knows what your mental mindbending will make me drink/do!!! Could wake up god knows where, beside god knows what. :p

Ah ya have to go!!!!! I'm awesome. I don't make people drink jagerbombs [rolls eyes] :) It's gonna be a mega night. Us modded geeks, sittin round havin beers!!!

...waht about vagerbombs?

i havent had one of them since the night i lost my glasses :D

Ah ya have to go!!!!! I'm awesome. I don't make people drink jagerbombs [rolls eyes] :) It's gonna be a mega night. Us modded geeks, sittin round havin beers!!!
    Nah, sure I don't drink and I'd make the wallflowers look like the life of the party, so not really my place to attend such. Hope the rest of you have a great time though.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

I don't drink either, but I act the eejit and I don't really care :D

Come along, it'll be good craic! :)

farohar wrote:
    Nah, sure I don't drink and I'd make the wallflowers look like the life of the party, so not really my place to attend such. Hope the rest of you have a great time though.:)

awwww...come on! pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease?????????!!!!!

even just for an hour or two til the booze gets rollin, then make your mind up?

twould be great to see ya, c'moooooooon :D

*begins to suspect cult style brainwashing was on the agenda for the last one...*:p

Besides, as a knock-on of not drinking, being anti-social, etc... I've never even heard of the Foggy Dew, let alone know where it is. :o

And as a secondary besides, seeing me in men's clothes might confuse some of you since you thought I was a girl, you might think you're already drunk and head home early all because of me. :p

well, if i saw you in person, it would be (presumably) easier to remember that you were in fact, a guy, not a girl.

it's in temple bar. id never heard of it til this beers was suggested, tis easy to find (just down the road from colour works :D ) .

come onnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn?

... I'll kinda think about considering it....:p

Ah I can't drink either, but I'm still going. It's gonna be so much fun!!!! If anyone wants my number to text me before we get there, gimme a PM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 kissies1

BOHS wrote:

they should be able to do that for you. sometimes its better to do this then you get an original design and the artist is more inclined to help you because they get to be creative.