Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Boards PW podcast?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

pingu_girl wrote: »
    Minto Sir please take your job back!

I like Minto but I'm 2 minutes in and you've already disagreed with VR more times than Minto has in any of the bits I've listened to. So thats a good start!

I listened to most of the show. I liked it till the end. The whole bashing of Bret Hart by VR for talking about death at the end of his book in wrestling is really unfair regardless of whether you like him or not.

His brother died, then his mam died and then his dad died all in a very small amount of time towards the end of his career. As well as that alot of people who were close to him in wrestling have died quite recently too. Unfortunately death is a big part of his story and I think the book wouldn't be what everyone was expecting if he didn't talk about some of the horrible tragedies that have occurred to him and his family over the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Wow I found myself agreeing with VR in a lot of that. Scary! Except of course for the Undertaker bashing. Is this a regular occurrence now, VR?

He is right about Heenan's commentary at the '92 Rumble in particular. It's top class.

I also must admit that I laughed out loud at VR's comment that he sits looking at WWE.com hoping for a message to appear wishing Hornswoggle "all the best in his future endeavours". That's some funny sh*t right there. :D

By the way Pingu Girl, Luger sucks! How dare you diss Cena and then praise that monstrosity!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Minto

I'm gonna have to wait a few days before I can listen though. Its gonna be weird not hearing my voice, lol. I see Vince already likes Pingu girl more, lol.

VR if your up for doing another one soon. Gimme a shout. I should be free for a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

It's been too f*cking long since December when the last one was done with myself and Pingu Girl, and the one with Minto just didn't take place in January for a lot of serious (and personal on my part) reasons (those who know, and who needed to know, know and we'll leave that at that).

Close to six months have passed, and to my surprise, this topic is still sticky'd! After been listening to some recent podcasts on other forums i visit, i got the itch to do another one. I contacted Minto and he's up for another one in the next week or so.

The question is, is anyone else? Were we missed? Are we wasting our time?
    I guess on behalf of myself and Mr Minto, i'm asking, should we return for 2008?

Let the interest (or lack of) begin.
    VR!

If you did another one I'd check it out. Just some other random thoughts:

- I think you should keep it 30 to 40 minutes and do them more regularly than doing a show that just goes on and on.

- Fair play to Minto for doing it but he needs to remember it's ok to disagree with you. He needs to MAN up (in a nice way!).

-Pingu girl was good the last time. Bring her on too.

- If it's not too technilogicaly difficult, maybe try adding a classic promo here or there at the end or beginning of the podcast.

Anyway those are some of my random thoughts.

If you did another one I'd check it out. Just some other random thoughts:

- I think you should keep it 30 to 40 minutes and do them more regularly than doing a show that just goes on and on.

- Fair play to Minto for doing it but he needs to remember it's ok to disagree with you. He needs to MAN up (in a nice way!).

-Pingu girl was good the last time. Bring her on too.

- If it's not too technilogicaly difficult, maybe try adding a classic promo here or there at the end or beginning of the podcast.

Anyway those are some of my random thoughts.

Cheers for the feedback.
    We agreed on 1hr mainly because we don't know how regular we can do them unfortunately. We have lives outside the keyboard, he also studies and as good as our intentions are, we have tried several times in the past to arrange, had the run sheet sorted, and because neither of us have a swarm of people on standby to replace us if one pulls out, by the time we get around to it, the run sheet is out of date.

I do see what you mean about length, i just sifted through a 1.40min podcast, the last 20 minutes had bugger all to do with Wrestling, thankfully i don't feel we've ever done that, even with our 1hr 25minute broadcast we did on our second show (i believe it was).

I'm all on for people disagreeing with me, i tried for months to get MNG on board, but like most of us, we do have lives outside of boards. ;)

I'd love to do another one with Pingu Girl, i thought she did f*cking brilliant considering she agreed to do it at about 10 minutes notice and we just shot from the hip.

I'll leave the promos to Minto, i personally hate people who think they're in a fantasy league on podcasts. That's just me though :)

VR!

Fair play to Minto for doing it but he needs to remember it's ok to disagree with you. He needs to MAN up (in a nice way!).

I know what ya mean, but we've had problems with the 'classic' content as I've watched very little besides when I saw maybe an hour a month back when I was 5. To me, classic is either 98/99 or any of the Ric Flair stuff I've seen in the last 2 years. Hopefully, with my conversion to Alvarezism and my hatred for TNA along with VR's dislike for Alvarez and his passion for TNA, we'll see a lot more heated debate.

Also, regarding the promos, I do a fairly decent Kennedy (...Kennedy) and have been itching to try it out for a while, so I might give it a go to. Maybe I'll even try my hand at a Buffer "Let's get ready to ruuuuuummmmmble! And as much as I love to type 'fantasy' promos (just ask triple h, wherever he is these days), I love doing 'mic' or 'real' promos. So, we'll see how it turns out.

Minto wrote: »
    Hopefully, with my conversion to Alvarezism and my hatred for TNA along with VR's dislike for Alvarez and his passion for TNA, we'll see a lot more heated debate.

You so don't want to go there! I have about five million mexican jokes ready to f*cking roll.

Nah f*ck it, not worth the waste of my breath anymore. I won't be the one kicking myself for the amount of money i spent on Alvarez. Eh Gil?

VR!

Its one less take away each month and if I do say so myself, it wouldn't hurt me to miss out on a take away or two. Plus it keeps me occupied on my commute to college.

Also, I think we should start referring to you as "Minto's friend VR"! ;)

You must be easily amused, have a long trip to college or be totally mindless.
    Or all of the above!

And to quote South Park "I'm not your fwiend, budday!"
    VR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

He's not you budday, guy

"I'm not you guy, fwiend!"
    VR!

Also, regarding the promos, I do a fairly decent Kennedy (...Kennedy) and have been itching to try it out for a while, so I might give it a go to. Maybe I'll even try my hand at a Buffer "Let's get ready to ruuuuuummmmmble! And as much as I love to type 'fantasy' promos (just ask triple h, wherever he is these days), I love doing 'mic' or 'real' promos. So, we'll see how it turns out.

When I mentioned including classic promos, I didn't mean for either of you to do 1...althoough go ahead if you want to, it's your show.

I meant getting some classic Ric Flair, Roddy Piper, The Rock etc... off youtube and sticking it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Or some of Adamle's gems....

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Or some of Adamle's gems....

For sure, that retard will be getting ripped more than Benoit and ECW did in one of the last one of these we did!

VR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Oh christ more podasts? You guys might as well start them off without me because I dont have a working computer at the moment so im not online much but I'll do one once I get it fixed :D

Weeee're baaaaack!
    After a six month absence from myself on these things, and an eight month absence from Minto. The original gruesome twosome of the PW forum broadcasting are back. We proudly present to you, Podcast V

http://rapidshare.com/files/116370772/bpw-podcast_5.mp3.html
    All (constructive) feedback appreciated. :)

VR!

I haven't listened to it, nor do I plan to. I hate hearing my own voice played back to me. I'm not sure if it's my best effort, but it isn't my worst. I hope ye enjoy and we might have another show next week or the week after!

EDIT: I just checked out some of it and I really think this is our best ever effort. Also, I'm gonna break kayfabe here (sorry VR), and tell you all that this was the first show we've done on the fly and it was also the first show that didn't require editing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭brick tamland

I enjoyed it, despite all the Taker dissing:p

If you scroll back through the thread, you'll find some of the older podcasts. The Taker bashing is a long running joke in the BPW podcasts now, i think it's become an obligatory guest segment ;)

Cheers for checking it out.
    VR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

Well done lads I enjoyed it, was a bit lost durring the MMA part but the podcast was really good and sounded much better this time with what ever ye recorded it with .

I think there should be a sepecial segment for VR's undertaker bashing every month! Not that I agree with him AT ALL but its pretty funny how much he hates the guy.

Minto you were much better as in more outspoken this time too.

pingu_girl wrote: »
    Well done lads I enjoyed it, was a bit lost durring the MMA part but the podcast was really good and sounded much better this time with what ever ye recorded it with .

I think there should be a sepecial segment for VR's undertaker bashing every month! Not that I agree with him AT ALL but its pretty funny how much he hates the guy.

Minto you were much better as in more outspoken this time too.

I don't hate him as such, i just intensly dislike him! Hate is too strong to be honest. I enjoyed the MMA discussion although it most definitely wouldn't be my specialist subject as i've only been watching it for about 18 months. But given how some people here watch it as well, i think throwing a few minutes to MMA wouldn't be a bad thing. Especially as Minto plans on watching more of it during the summer. (or so he says!)

Speaking of Minto, he was on top form. Which surprised me a little as he'd been gone for so long (we both were), but it was actually his suggestion to start one off yesterday, i'm in the process of fixing up my laptop and just as i'd got it running, he suggested it. But more podcasts like that would go down well as far as i'm concerned.

I do want to apologise again for the intermittant sound problems. Sadly when working with skype, this can happen. I also think my soundcard may be on it's way out, which might have caused the occasional choppiness. Hopefully it didn't get on too many peoples nerves though.

VR!

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭Dickmcsavage

Well I have to say fair play lads. No offense but I would normally would find these sort of things quite cringy to listen to but I think you did a pretty good job.

The BPW Podcast! Changing minds - one boardsie at a time!
    No offence taken, hope ya catch the next one, which should be either next week or the following week. :)

VR!

I'm just finished litening to the whole show there and the one suggestion that I would have is that you're a tad bit too negative VR! Fair enough they are your opinions and of course you are entitled to them but it just seemed that on almost every topic you had a little rant.

Probably because i'm very anti WWE at the minute. I hate the state it had declined in the past few years. And i hadn't watched enough TNA before we recorded that podcast to discuss it. So that may answer your question there. You'll find i was very pro MMA, and wasn't really all that negative about it.

And before you ask, "Why am i still watching it?", the answer is. Force of habit, and in the hope that it will be watchable again, like it was for the few months Cena wasn't getting on my nerves every Monday night. :)

VR!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

I only stumbled upon this thread I didnt know you guys made a new show. You should advertise it in your sigs or something, if possible. Ill give this a listen,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Just heard it there and it was a good listen and just for the record, Morrison got a pretty good match out of Botchtista. Thought the bits when VR was going on about something that happened in 92 were very funny. Minto's reaction"........yeah....."

Very good show, lads. Sound quality wasnt an isssue beyond when you mention it and it was SO much better other Irish Wrestling Podcasts Ive heard.

validreasoning! I wouldnt take pride in your inability not to change your opinion.

Good call on the Jumping Bomb Angels they had a match on one Survivor Series which left the commentators almost speechless.

Undertaker delivers in high profiles matches but I can live without see his entrance for the millionth time.

Dont leave it so long until your next podcast!

Yeah you were quite pro MMA I must say. Maybe I didn't pay too much attention to that seeing as I'm not exactly the biggest MMA fan in the world although I do like it. I must admit that even though I said you were tad bit too negative on the show I pretty much share your opinions on a lot of the topics brought and I also still watch wrestling through force of habit although that habit has pretty much been restircted to RAW in the last year or so. I just think the show would benefit from a little more balanced disscussion.

EDIT: I just wanna stress that I'm not trying to put the show down nor I am targeting you, VR, or Minto. The reason that I said those things is because I liked the show and I can see a lot of potential for it to be even better and that is why I gave the constructive criticism.

rovert wrote: »
    Very good show, lads. Sound quality wasnt an isssue beyond when you mention it and it was SO much better other Irish Wrestling Podcasts Ive heard.

Thanks for the positive feedback. I know we don't see eye to eye on a lot of issues and all, but all feedback means a lot, to both myself and Minto. Regarding the sound, i'm a bit of a techie, so if even the slightest thing goes wrong, it does my head in. In my game, there's nothing worse than a techie who's equipment doesn't work properly! ;)
    validreasoning! I wouldnt take pride in your inability not to change your opinion.

I never actually said that. My opinion does change (and i did mention that especially about Ric Flair and how be bored me for years until 2005 when my opinion of him changed.)
    Good call on the Jumping Bomb Angels they had a match on one Survivor Series which left the commentators almost speechless.

Yeah, the survivor series match didn't take much to make the Angels shine though given the rest of the talent other than maybe Leilani Kai and Sherri Martel were just basically a bunch of scrubs (Velvet McIntyre, anyone?)
    Undertaker delivers in high profiles matches but I can live without see his entrance for the millionth time.

I am so sick of his entrance, i'm also sick of hearing fanboys saying that it has to be seen to be believed. I saw it in 2005, it was pretty "meh"
    Dont leave it so long until your next podcast!

I don't plan to, the problem is I'm in Dublin, Minto is in Waterford, i work days, he tends to work nights at times and he also studies. So finding time is bloody terrible. I also had a lot to deal with this year, between career changes and family and other personal sh*t, so that delayed it a lot further.

But summertime is coming around! So there should be a good few more. :D
    VR!

EDIT: I just wanna stress that I'm not trying to put the show down nor I am targeting you, VR, or Minto. The reason that I said those things is because I liked the show and I can see a lot of potential for it to be even better and that is why I gave the constructive criticism.

No offence taken, i'm one for taking criticism when it's constructive. The thing people do have to realise though is neither myself or Minto take the podcasts all that seriously. They're done for fun, they're done because we enjoy it and because we both feel we're doing better with each one. We've only done five of them since when was it, September of last year? We also don't talk on skype other than the podcasts, so it does sometimes surprise me when we get feedback, regardless if it's compliments, a slate, or just suggestions. But it's just something that just works.

But just because i don't take up suggestions, doesn't mean i don't read them. In fact we usually end up giving most suggestions a go, just to see how it goes. So again, thanks again to all who left feedback. I think we got very little feedback on Podcast III to the point where myself and Minto were gonna throw in the towel, We've no way of monitoring who listened or how many people do. I'm happy if at least one person listens to them, that way we know our time wasn't totally wasted. But because it's not a phone-in jobby, it's nice to hear what other people think on what was discussed. It makes for interesting reading/debate and also gives us a chance to touch on it again for the next one.

It also gives us incentive to do future ones too. ;)
    VR!

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Thought the bits when VR was going on about something that happened in 92 were very funny. Minto's reaction"........yeah....."

LMAO....I do tend to say that a lot when we discuss pre-attitude era stuff. It's not that I am bored with it, the problem is really that VR loves it and I am not a big fan of it. They only old school stuff I tend to watch is anything Ric Flair and the Four Horseman.

To the lad that said we're the best Irish podcast he's listened to (I think I might have paraphrased that a little too much in our favor, lol), THANK YOU! As VR said, it means a lot to us and hopefully, we'll continue this regularly in the future. Also, thanks to everyone who left feedback, again it means a lot to all of us!

Actually, i'm gonna pitch an idea out there, and see if we can get a good reaction on this. How about an hour entirely to vintage stuff? I can waffle on about stuff from about 86-96, Minto can then do 97 onwards where he'd be more comfortable with the attitude era stuff. I know we did this for about 20 minutes onwards, but that sort of thing could easily be done for an hour.

Minto could kick it off, then i could bring the timeframe further, and back and then forth.
    Thoughts anyone?
    VR!

To the lad that said we're the best Irish podcast he's listened to (I think I might have paraphrased that a little too much in our favor, lol), THANK YOU!

I’m surprised you didn’t take it as a back handed complement, Minto. ;)
    Yeah, the survivor series match didn't take much to make the Angels shine though given the rest of the talent other than maybe Leilani Kai and Sherri Martel were just basically a bunch of scrubs (Velvet McIntyre, anyone?)

But having those menopausal dykey American wrestlers provided an effective contrast to showcase the young, talented Angels.

Actually, i'm gonna pitch an idea out there, and see if we can get a good reaction on this. How about an hour entirely to vintage stuff? I can waffle on about stuff from about 86-96, Minto can then do 97 onwards where he'd be more comfortable with the attitude era stuff. I know we did this for about 20 minutes onwards, but that sort of thing could easily be done for an hour.

Minto could kick it off, then i could bring the timeframe further, and back and then forth.
    Thoughts anyone?
    VR!

Tbh, it'd be 20 mins of us having a conversation about the attitude era and then about 40 minutes of you talking about the attitude era and me going...yea...yea...yea, lol! So I'm against it, sorry. Maybe Pingu Girl could do it?

rovert wrote:
    But having those menopausal dykey American wrestlers provided an effective contrast to showcase the young, talented Angels.

For all the good it did though, as Vince shelved the womens tag division a couple of months later, focusing back on singles. And to be honest, Sherri Martel had nothing to work with in the form of Judy Martin and Rockin' Robin (Smith).

VR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

I gave this a listen earlier, it was good. I didn't agree with everything but I can't remember what it was now... I should write it down when I'm listening. Interesting anyway and I'll be listening to the next ones

VR, I asked Bryan Alvarez about you belief that he would give up F4W for TNA his anwser:
    You have to be joking.

VR, I asked Bryan Alvarez about you belief that he would give up F4W for TNA his anwser:

I just saw the thread on F4W and now it's hear, lol! This is legit!

Here's the link if anyone is a subscriber! LINK[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I just gave it a listen and enjoyed it. On Jim Ross, I agree he is prone to errors but I think he's a bit like John Motson. Not in his prime but too much of a legend to ignore. As Minto said I don't think he can be replaced. Michael Cole, Styles, Adamle, no one is up to it.

I also think Shane McMahon got a bit of unfair stick from VR. I take his point about him being a part-timer but I don't think I've ever watched a match of his that has disappointed me and he is willing to make himself look like a doofus for entertainment.

I pretty much agree with that, I can't remember if thats how I came off on the podcast, but that is pretty much what I wanted to say, lol!

I'll still stand by what i said, although i will agree with MNG. He is willing to look like a complete dick for fans on tv and live, worldwide. But i just feel it's pretty much the same match over and over again. It was like watching Hogan v Savage matches from 1989-1990. It was spectacular, but when you saw the rematches, you realised it was just Wrestlemania V with different tights and different arenas.

VR!

My apologies for the delay on responding to this, i was at Joe Satriani last night and am only waking up now (great guitarist and great gig btw).

But that post did get a big laugh out of me. He can say what he wants, but at the end of the day, in the wrestling world, like in any part of the entertainment industry. Money talks, even if it is from a promotion that bleeds money on a yearly basis.

VR!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

My apologies for the delay on responding to this, i was at Joe Satriani last night and am only waking up now (great guitarist and great gig btw).

But that post did get a big laugh out of me. He can say what he wants, but at the end of the day, in the wrestling world, like in any part of the entertainment industry. Money talks, even if it is from a promotion that bleeds money on a yearly basis.

VR!

I wouldn't be so sure, WWE offered him a job on the creative team before and he turned it down. I'm fairly sure that he would've been making a good bit more money with WWE

VR!

Bryan posted this before you posted the above
    AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

I will say this. People have done all sorts of wacky mathematics to determine how rich I am based off goofy things like the number of people who are registered for the BOARD. Most of these suggestions are so high it's comical. However, with that said, I know what most of the generic guys in TNA make per show, and there is no ****ing way in HELL I'd give this up for that kind of money. Especially that kind of money to work in TNA.

Also he doesnt have to travel or take any bumps in a sole destroying environment. If you know Bryan aint that materialistic, does like bumps or being away from home for long.

In other words you are very wrong here.

I love how he opens that statement up, we'll see who has the last laugh, Bryan. :)
    Not that i particularly give a sh*t, if he feels he's doing well on F4W, then more power to him, but in wrestling, i always say never say never.

I just get more fun watching his disciples proverbally blowing his knob. :D

VR!

I just get more fun watching his disciples proverbally blowing his knob. :D

VR!

You clearly never visited the message board there or have seen my arguments with him over there.

And you clearly didn't listen to the last podcast, where i said i took subscribed for a month, and it didn't do it for me. In that time i did visit the message board, which for all intents and purposes bored me to tears with a bunch of in-jokes that i obviously wasn't supposed to get, much like their show. I think it was May or June last year at someone's recommendation, it was just before Benoit's death. Waste of money.

But it's all horses for courses really. I listen to very few podcasts as it is, if i want other peoples opinions, i just read them, after all, the internet is full of them.

VR!

The board is NEVER boring and the in jokes are very quick picked up if you pay attention.