Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Ferries no longer allowing firearms on board

• 20-09-2007 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭

According to a CA email I've just received, Irish Ferries have changed their policy on carrying firearms on board their vessels.

I've checked the Irish Ferries website and here it states:
    Guns, firearms & weapons, any object capable or appearing capable of discharging a project or causing injury are not allowed on any Irish Ferries vessel.
    A marked departure from their previous policy and cuts down the avenues by which legitimate sportspeople can go about their business at international competition.

A boycott of Irish Ferries seems to be on the cards. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LB6

This isn't good news. What about Stenna or Brittany Ferries? Anything on them?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Unless they search your car they won't know. In Portsmouth they take knives off foot passengers even though they are on sale on the ferry and can be brought onboard in their dozens if you're in a car..

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

parsi wrote:
    Unless they search your car they won't know. In Portsmouth they take knives off foot passengers even though they are on sale on the ferry and can be brought onboard in their dozens if you're in a car..

That's a wee bit silly is it not??
    It's all well and good untils your coming back and they decide to search your car, what happens then? Confiscation? Arrest?
    Is that worth the risk?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Why is it silly ?

The ferry company have no interest in searching your car - that slows up boarding. So that leaves Port Security - who cannot confiscate it as its legally held (the ferry rule is only Irish Ferries not the law) - or Customs who cannot confiscate it either as its legally held.

If you look at the quote above that also includes tools and cutlery - as they are capable of causing an injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

For many years I travelled over to Bisley with a number of other shooters by car (we got fed up with overweight baggage charges) and never said boo to anyone about the fact that we were carrying firearms.

The rifles were fully licenced (Ireland and UK) and after a couple of fruitless attempts to declare them at customs (nobody home - ever) we gave up until......

One year coming into Holyhead (not my idea btw) we were stopped by Special Branch. Usual produce identification stuff except the chap driving the van carrying most of the rifles happened to have his firearms cert in with his driving licence....

"I see you have a firearms cert sir, do you have the firearm with you?"

"Eh... Yes.."

Many kittens were given birth to when the officer realised how many firearms he was carrying, I (driving the other car) get a tap on the window "I believe you are carrying a firearm sir.."

Anyhoo, after all firearms have been inspected and agreed to be licensed and much unloading and reloading of vehicles and a short lecture, we were whisked (hazards flashing) down a special lane right onto the Ferry (the Jonathan Swift) whereupon we were met by the Captain and escorted to the bridge complete with rifles.

Best Ferry journey we ever had, got to see all the gadgets and sit in the Captains seat and play with the instruments.

So that's the downside of not declaring firearms. These days, we would have been left on the dock watching her sail away.

Methinks a protracted letter writing campaign to Irish Ferries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Who is left that will carry firearms? Stena line? P&O?

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

P&O good, Stena need forms filled in advance. Have droped Irish Ferries a line asking them to clarify. customersupport@irishferries.com

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Anyone familiar with Greek law ? The yellowpackers are flagged in Cyprus....

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

The IAAA (the archery version of the NTSA) is affected by this as well (nope, no bows and arrows on Irish Ferries either). Maybe a formal letter from both (and the ICPSA) might be something to try?

Just noticed this misspelling:
    capable of discharging a project

Well that's just about everyone barred then. :D

And yes Sparks, I think I see an item for the agenda here. New secretary has his first job.

*hehehe*
    Well, you know me rrpc, always happy to make work ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 78,423 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Do you leave the weapon(s) in the vehicle alone or take them to the passenger area?
    parsi wrote:
    In Dover, port security told me not to brandish my pen-knife on the hydrofoil. .... as if I had intentions "TAKE THIS HYDROFOIL TO CUBA!!!".
    Anyone familiar with Greek law ? The yellowpackers are flagged in Cyprus....
    Manic Moran might have an idea. PM sent. PM not sent, outbox full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Banjax

They do respond, so perhaps a quick email is in order.
    They replied to me within 24 hours:

"Dear

Thank you for your enquiry.

Unfortunately this restriction will be in place for the foreseeable
    future. I have forwarded your comments to the Health and Safety Manager
    for his information.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us. If you have any
    further enquiries please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Thanks and Regards

Amanda Travers
    Irish Ferries Customer Support. "

Sparks wrote:
    *hehehe*
    Well, you know me rrpc, always happy to make work ;)

Actually Sparks, you can answer one question for me: Did the Junior team's air rifles travel by Stena or by Irish Ferries?

Got something similar.

Thank you for your enquiry.

"Unfortunately we no longer allow any type of firearms to be transported on any of our routes. I have forwarded your comments to the Health and Safety Manager for his information.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us. If you have any further enquiries please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Thanks and Regards"

rrpc wrote:
    Actually Sparks, you can answer one question for me: Did the Junior team's air rifles travel by Stena or by Irish Ferries?
    Stenna, rrpc.

How about asking them something along the lines of "I'm going on a kayaking trip and I saw your rules on sports gear, can you inform me if its OK to carry a kayak and oars on my roof rack"?

(B) Blunt instruments, any blunt instrument capable of causing injury including:
    Kayak and Canoe paddles

Of course it is really badly written.
    Tradesman's tools that have the potential to be used as a pointed or edged weapon e.g. drill and drill bits, box cutters, utility knives, all saws, crowbars, hammers, spanners, blow torches, however, screwdrivers, wrenches, pliers and other tools.

Fecking hell. At that rate, you can't bring your shoes onboard, lest you kick someone...

Just in case anyone in any of the three camps hadn't heard about the other two...

Thread in Shooting
    Thread in Archery
    Thread in Airsoft/Paintball

Sparks wrote:
    Fecking hell. At that rate, you can't bring your shoes onboard, lest you kick someone...
    Or you try to sink a 50,000 tonne ship with 200g of homemade explosive.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Now those are just patently rediculous conditions, Most if not all tradesmen travelling will not be able to carry any tools.
    I can't help thinking that this was just dreamed up one morning by some idiot in an office and just dictated to a secretary to transcribe straight onto the website.
    It makes little sense, fishing rods? surely they are the most dangerous of the lot :D

Here's the full list of items that can't leave cars! Anyone who is travelling without a car are basically off the ferry!

Kilt pins
    Axes & Hatches
    Arrows & Darts
    Crampons (grappling iron, hooked bar of iron, or plate with iron spikes used in mountaineering)
    Harpoons & Spears
    Ice axes & ice picks
    Ice skates
    Lockable or flick knives with blades of any length.
    Knives, including ceremonial, religious and hunting knives, made of metal or any other material strong enough to be used as a potential weapon.
    Meat cleavers
    Machetes
    Open razors and blades (excluding safety or disposable razors with blades enclosed in cartridges)
    Sabres, swords & swordsticks
    Scalpels
    Scissors with blades of any length
    Ski and walking/hiking poles
    Throwing stars
    Tradesman's tools that have the potential to be used as a pointed or edged weapon e.g. drill and drill bits, box cutters, utility knives, all saws, crowbars, hammers, spanners, blow torches, however, screwdrivers, wrenches, pliers and other tools.

(B) Blunt instruments, any blunt instrument capable of causing injury including:

Baseball and softball bats
    Clubs or batons - rigid or flexible - e.g. Billy clubs, blackjacks (truncheon of leather covered lead with flexible shaft), night sticks & batons.
    Cricket Bats
    Golf clubs
    Hockey and Hurley sticks
    Lacrosse sticks
    Kayak and Canoe paddles
    Skateboards
    Billiard, snooker and pool cues.
    Fishing rods
    Martial arts equipment e.g. knuckle dusters, clubs, coshes, rice flails, num-chucks, cubatons, kubasaunts.

rrpc wrote:
    Here's the full list of items that can't leave cars!
    Is the vehicle decka public area?

Sports on boards.ie:
    Airsoft & Paintball - no
    American Football
    Angling - no
    Archery - no
    Athletics - no
    Baseball - no
    Basketball - meh!
    Bowling - no
    Boxing - meh!
    Cricket - no
    Cycling - meh!
    Darts - no
    Extreme Sports - no
    Frisbee - no
    GAA - no, players not allowed either ;)
    Golf - no
    Greyhound Racing - can you throw a vicious hunting dog at someone?
    Hockey - no
    Horse Racing - can you throw a horse?
    Marathon / Triathlon - meh!
    Motorsport - yes
    Outdoor Pursuits - no
    Parkour & Free Running - yes
    Pro Wrestling - meh!
    Racket Sports - no
    Rugby - meh!
    Rugby League - meh!
    Sailing & Boating - no
    Scuba Diving - no
    Self Defence & Martial Arts - no
    Shooting- no
    Snooker & Pool- no
    Soccer - yes
    Sports - eh?
    Surfing - meh!
    Swimming - meh!
    Winter Sports - no

That leaves:

American Football - meh!
    Basketball - meh!
    Boxing - meh!
    Cycling - meh!
    Greyhound Racing - can you throw a vicious hunting dog at someone?
    Horse Racing - can you throw a horse?
    Marathon / Triathlon - meh!
    Motorsport - yes
    Parkour & Free Running - yes
    Pro Wrestling - meh!
    Rugby - meh!
    Rugby League - meh!
    Soccer - yes
    Sports - eh?
    Surfing - meh!
    Swimming - meh!

Oddly enough thats the list of sports where people get killed.

From the Airsoft forum:
    Lemming wrote:
    Off the phone with both Stena Line and P&0

Summary: Stena Line

Give them advance notice, and declare upon presenting yourself. If you're a foot passenger, your equipment will be taken off you for storage and handed back once arrived.

They came across as being both reasonable and sensible.

Summary: P&0

Give them advance notice and deeclare upon presenting yourself. No foot passengers with weapons allowed, which is I suppose fair enough as we'd travelling by car/mini-bus/coach in all probability.

Again, they came across as being reasonable and sensible.

So, Irish Ferries can go fvck themselves in my opinion.

Have to agree with last point:)

The funny thing about that list of items not allowed on board (as opposed to the car deck) is that quite a few of them were on sale in their shop the last time I travelled with them.

Hurleys, penknives, darts and scissors come to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭Rosahane

I see that Kilt pins head the list:confused:

What about the committed Greens with their terry nappies for the baby. From what I remember (although I mostly avoided that duty at the time) nappy pins are huge lethal bloody things:D

I'm tempted to ask the question;)

Indeed! Without the kilt pin there could be problems, what if the kilt were to fall down and we all know that you wear nothing underneath:D

"I'll have to take that sir"

"Och, ye dinnae wantae do that!"

:eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Alright lads and lassies, back to the good old illicid days of the cargo lines and tramp steamers. :D

Cause and effect.
    Indeed! Without the kilt pin there could be problems, what if the kilt were to fall down and we all know that you wear nothing underneath

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

If i cant leave it in the car must i carry it on board?