Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are your funniest Irish sayings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

She had a belly on her like a poisoned pup!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

An old favourite of mine that my grand pappy used to say:

"jasus, them brits are an awful shower of cnuts"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,096 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

But, I don't want to bend over, Father!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭lizzyd66

After a night on the town...

.....You look like a boiled ****e!

....Here's the wreck of the hesperis (sp!)

...the dead arose and appeared to many

On a well built woman ....

...She is beefed to the heels like a mulligar heifer!
    ....Her arse was smiling at me

Some one being a bit above themselves

...A neck like a jockeys arse!

Heavily disguised compliment ....

You're not as green as you're are cabbage looking

Most of the above came from my mum or her family . The boiled ****e one was the most used during our teens /early twenties and the last thing you wanted to hear after a night on the lash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

"Will you be coming out tonight?"

"I will in my arse."

Can also use, "I will in my hole".

When someone arises after a nights boozing.

"Ah, The cracken awakes!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭skinner2x

"As mane (mean) as ditchwater"
    " As tight as a ducks arse" (explain 'arse' to the yanks)

Lucky: If he fell into a river, he come out with fish in his pockets!

Are ye goin on the beer? ..I am in the back springs of me bo**ix...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭DonalN

I'm so hungry I'd ate the balls off a low-flyin duck!!!.....

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭Bald? er, dash!

A few from my ould fella:

"Up she flew & the cock flattened her!" - no idea?????
    "Livin' away like a small farmer" - in response to "How're things?" or similar
    "Neck like a jockey's bollix"
    "... said the actress to the bishop..." - usually replying to someone saying "F**k me!"
    "F**k me said the duchess, more in hope than in anger" - probably not irish in origin
    "There he/it/they was, gone"
    "A hoor's bastard"
    "Quare(queer) wan" - the wife
    "That's her... said the Kerryman to the bull"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭monaghanbiffo

Nearly never bucked the goat

head on ya like the price of spuds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

'Better than a bang in the sh**e'

'Well fu(k me pink'

'As dumb as a box of hammers' + 'As daft as a brush'

'Look at the head on him and the price of turnips'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Trojan911 wrote:
    She could suck a golf ball through a garden hose.
    i don't think thats irish because its in full metal jacket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

You're bleedin wreckin me tits man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I just remembered a favourite of my Dad's - "He was tighter than a camel's arse in a sandstorm."

And my mum - I've only heard her say it in extreme circumstances (for example, tripping over the hoover) - "Fu*k me Aunt Fanny!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I just remembered a favourite of my Dad's - "He was tighter than a camel's arse in a sandstorm."
    Tighter than a nun's cúnt on Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

''yera tis i suppose''

or yera on its own, it can be used for practicaly anything, how old are you? yera you know yourself...
    are you going out tonight? yera you know yourself
    do you have aids? yera you know yourself hai!
    kerry people are funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭whatshername!!

Some tipperary sayings that no one seems to understand.

Well - Hi
    Hows she cuttin? - how are you?
    Any sca? - Any news?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

How are they hanging?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭redtom

One from Donegal - "He's wile funny!" (He's very funny) -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

From Belfast - "He's wired to the moon" ie stone mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Ones my Dad says.

I was standing there like a slice of sh1te.

A face like the back of a bus.

Your some man for one man.

As daft as a brush.

Hows she cuttin.

Did you see the hoop on her.

Ya made a right balls of that.

Any sca? - Any news?
    Ah, I know this one.

More like schka though.

A real Irish thing is saying 'yer man'.

You know

'Who gave you that money'
    'Ah, yer man, Farelly'
    'That gowlbag, he's only a langball'

'Who's giving you a lift this evening?'
    'Yer man, Joe'
    'Yeah, he's a decent skin'

I said 'yer man' in this type of context to an Australian bloke one time, he thought I was commenting on his sexuality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Things I've been told are funny by foridners is:

yer man
    that yoke (outside Ireland this makes no sense)
    and come here to me for when you want to tell someone something. My other half used to say I'm still in the room I haven't gone anywhere, what are you talking about!

Apparently, and I had to ask numerous people to make sure this is true the phrase "giving out" is not used outside Ireland.(I asked kiwis and aussies, they'd never heard of it before they came here) Madness!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

i don't think thats irish because its in full metal jacket

The actor was Irish/American, he had to be, most Americans claim to be Irish..... :D

TJ911...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭lezizi

Americans always find the phrase ' Im goin smokin a fag' funny. My friend said it in work in America and they were like ' your going shooting queers??'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭whatshername!!

lezizi wrote:
    Americans always find the phrase ' Im goin smokin a fag' funny. My friend said it in work in America and they were like ' your going shooting queers??'

LOL
    Another one is
    Im goin to see a man about a dog - when someon asks you where your goin in other words mind your own fu(kin business where im goin

lezizi wrote:

Can I bum a fag?

Another one.

'Doing the messages' for going to the shops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

What qualities can you bring to our company?
    I can bring sweet fuck all. :)

I only wish I had the guts to say it in that context!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,124 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Nearly never bulled a cow.

Fcuk me pink and call me Rosy

And maybe the word "Aaarraah"

ie. Aaarraah for the love of Jesus
    or Aaarah fer fcuk's sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

DesF wrote:
    Can I bum a fag?

Another one.

'Doing the messages' for going to the shops.

that reminds me..."slip"

as in the classic irish parent saying of of "slip down to the shops for us"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

you'l be some pup when yer tail grows