Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What annoys you about Modern Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,849 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Transport system still isn't up to scratch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 chucks

cruibin wrote:
    [*]Metro and Herald Am feckers

I love those feckers!

The Metro and Herald AM ease the pain of spending 2 hours a day on buses. I dont know what id do without them, especially seeing as my mp3 was robbed

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

skangers

the price of beer

not being able to get a taxi

vomit on o'connell street in the morning

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭ian_m

I work some nightshifts in Dublin and I hate the sight of people getting completely trashed to the stage they cannot control themselves.

Some Irish girls are a disgrace. Spend two hours getting made up only to end up in a jock four hours later.

I hate to imagine what some tourists think of us. Its embarassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

also would like to add.

the smell of that bin beside the hearld stand on grafton street.

the smell on the dart from seapoint to booterstown.

Cremo wrote:
    also would like to add.

the smell of that bin beside the hearld stand on grafton street.

the smell on the dart from seapoint to booterstown.

lol
    whatever about booterstown... where on earth does that smell on grafton street come from?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

lightening wrote:
    Ireland of the welcomes.

Eh, you didn't actually fall for that one did you?:D

Not you - can't be bothered to check who wrote this:
    And there are plenty of quiet places if you look.

Where?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Blessington Basin is a nice, quiet place that I don't think many people know of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Jack Vegas

cruibin wrote:
    Apart from the traffic....

Whats a Chugger you ask... its is a Charity Mugger.. ... you know those mentally challenged, hippy like, jobless , gormless (probably drugged up on prozac) feckers.
    Why do they feel the need to jump into your way and nearly hit you with their clipboards? I'm not giving any freak in the street money for a charity. If I am giving to a charity and I do regularly - why would I give my credit card or bank details to someone who looks one step above homeless?
    And.... what they are doing is apart from being a nuisance... its actually illegal... so if one stops you... see if theres a policeman nearby and complain that they are actually breaking one of the money laundering acts and should be subjected to some good old police brutality.
    If ya dont believe me... walk by Clerys on O'Connell street some day and see if u can walk the full 20-30 meters without telling one of these feckers to F off."

Oh and thats just one thing that annoys me!!!

I worked in the Hanley centre for a few weeks over the summer, so I suppose I was a "Charity Mugger". I'm only a student and I got paid a nice 300 euro a week (450 after commision added) and got a load of girl's phone numbers out of it...was pretty sweet basically, and If I had to annoy people like you in the process, I was more than happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭cruibin

Exit wrote:
    Blessington Basin is a nice, quiet place that I don't think many people know of.

Its amazing, a great spot to just relax and read, its amazing how few people know about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Wow, I was looking at photos of Blessington Basin today.
    I knew there was a resevoir but I thought it was likely to be a collection of smelly, dirty tanks.

Cool find!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Secondly, Dublin can be very dangerous at nightime. This was the case 20 years ago also, but it is unfortunately worse now.
    I walk through O'Connoll street, Marlborough street, Talbot street, Sheriff Street, Pearse street and a lot of other streets in the city alone regularly at all hours and never once had a problem. Sometimes you'd get annoying drunk people trying to talk to you but that's about it. Dublin is nowhere near as dangerous as a lot of other cities in Europe. There aren't many streets in this city I wouldn't walk down alone at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

has to be the crime

seems to be alot of crime in dublin on youtube

if you owe money to dublins drug dealers just pay up....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kF8MTC2oHlw

young thug giving abuse to gardai...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQzsAXRdpAQ

another cop getting abused....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YbWgM9NvTik

scumbag pissing on cop car....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lD2sbN7wlCI

girls fighting.....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtKK3rU9RdU

news reporter attacked....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iroLg-M1AQ

joyriders (seems to be alot of these)....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8S33XdW9YI

dublin football hooligans....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKd9Ai_n_KQ

drunken brawl(lots of these posted too)....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vt8nPX0ZPOI

assortment of knackers vandalising the city.....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gs4t7p1Y2mI

so has dublin become one big crime infested ghetto or what? I know the videos i posted are not life threaning for the most part but it seems everytime i go to rte.ie somebody else has been shot, or stabbed........ just looked at rte now and sounds like 3 more people have been shot in walkinstown. what crime have you personally experienced in dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 nyc-dublin

Dublin has one of the lowest crime rates - in the world
    Dublin is one of the safest cities - in the world

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭cruibin

There has always been crime in dublin- like any city.

But I think Dublin is a much safer place than it was 20-30 years ago. and yes I'm getting old - over 20 years drinking and partying and working here. So I have seen the changes, improvements in policing and reductions in robbed cars etc.

With more people having the ability to make and post video, it would seem that crime vandalism and drunken brawls are more prevalent but in my opinion they are not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

1. Scumbags

That's it for me. Those dirty little knackers are the source of everything bad in Dublin (mostly :D). Litter, Junkies, Muggers, Homeless (mostly), Graffitti, The Destruction Of Everything Public...

The list goes on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

utick wrote: »
    has to be the crime

seems to be alot of crime in dublin on youtube

if you owe money to dublins drug dealers just pay up....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kF8MTC2oHlw

young thug giving abuse to gardai...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQzsAXRdpAQ

another cop getting abused....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YbWgM9NvTik

scumbag pissing on cop car....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lD2sbN7wlCI

girls fighting.....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtKK3rU9RdU

news reporter attacked....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iroLg-M1AQ

joyriders (seems to be alot of these)....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8S33XdW9YI

dublin football hooligans....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKd9Ai_n_KQ

drunken brawl(lots of these posted too)....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vt8nPX0ZPOI

assortment of knackers vandalising the city.....http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gs4t7p1Y2mI

so has dublin become one big crime infested ghetto or what? I know the videos i posted are not life threaning for the most part but it seems everytime i go to rte.ie somebody else has been shot, or stabbed........ just looked at rte now and sounds like 3 more people have been shot in walkinstown. what crime have you personally experienced in dublin.

Well we all know that youtube is the yardstick for crime levels in Dublin. Come on, just because you see criminal acts on a few vids you immediately believe its rampant? Of course news will broadcast crime. No one cares if something didnt happen. For example i typed in "philadelphia news" into google to see what i could find:

# Officer Accused Of Sexual Assault Fired
    # Penn State RB Austin Scott Charged With Rape
    # Mother Arrested After Son's Alleged 'Plot To Kill'
    # Man Eyed In Prostitute Murders Appears In Court
    # Moms Unite Against Gun Violence
    # Violent Night Leaves 2 Dead In Chester
    * Two bodies found in western Pa. after apparent murder-suicide

That doesnt mean the place is a hell hole. I always find Dublin safe and have never been the victim of a physical assault.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

utick wrote: »
    so has dublin become one big crime infested ghetto or what? I know the videos i posted are not life threaning for the most part but it seems everytime i go to rte.ie somebody else has been shot

I don't think Youtube is a good for crime stats. Its a big city, lots of camera phones and cameras. I went on to RTE and did a screen grab.

Picture1.jpg

Then I went on to breakingnews.ie

Picture2-1.jpg

All country wide murders, none in Dublin at that particular time. I spend a lot of time in and around Dublin City, I have spent a lot of time in and around other European and Asian capital. To say Dublin is a crime infested ghetto judging by what you see on youtube is gas.

Guys,
    If you go looking for bad news you will find it and its very easy to find. (IN ANY CITY)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

ian_m wrote: »
    Guys,
    If you go looking for bad news you will find it and its very easy to find. (IN ANY CITY)

So true. A brother kills his sister in Ennistymon. Does that make the place any worse, no, it makes sad sad new.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

I drive a taxi in Dublin. Like everywhere there is scum, but 99.9% of the people I've met in 6 years at the job are genuine nice people. I spent 2 weeks in Rome last year, 1 mile from vatican city, and looked down on drunks and junkies from my hotel room every night. Judging a whole city by a few unsaviouries is plain stupid.Dublin has come visually nicer in the last few years, it looks better. the amount of tourists that ooh and ahh when they arrive into O'connell st, especially when it's lit up, is nice to hear. Less tourists ask me is there anywhere they should avoid, my answer would be, in the city center,no,go where you like. That wasn't the case 5 years ago. My only gripe is the state of the roads, and I'm talking city center and immediate suberbs,like ballsbridge, they are embarressingly medieval in places.Apart from that, the fact that so many tourists are still coming to Dublin, and loving it, and keep coming back,says a lot about how the city has developed. Not so long ago, fleet st, the main st in temple bar, was a bus terminus, where you'd be ankle deep in oil, the only pup was an IRA one and you couldn't safely walk the street at night,even though it's not a 30 second walk from o'connell bridge, look at it now.