Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Charleville Castle Weekend November 3rd & 4th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

Directions please! I'll get to Tullamore ok, but would appreciate help from there. (Mind you, I have Bovril as co-pilot so might be ok)

Also, is there a fridge? Thought I might bring sossidges...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

The lonely planet has directions and I think it says take Limerick road out of Tullamore past a few BIFFOs and it's not far. Can't remember if it says right or left. Will check tonight.

By all accounts the room is actually like a fridge it's so cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

There's a fridge there alright!

Erm, it can be a bit odd to find...you'll survive though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Just follow the N52 through Tullamore and the castle entrance is on the right. Its surrounded by a forest. Be careful as the road is not the best there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭Sebzy

DarrenG wrote: »
    Just follow the N52 through Tullamore and the castle entrance is on the right. Its surrounded by a forest. Be careful as the road is not the best there.

Was there over the weekend and the road's just fine well if my car survived it anyone's can.

Just watch out for the giant pot hole just past the gate.

Bring whatever food yees want and bring extra and share ;)

As regards food (must get priorities right, ye know) what did you guys do the last time for dinner? Did you all cook something different, or did everyone share one big meal?

I must be gettin a hankerin for leaner times, I keep thinking of spag bol...

(Oh, and mustn't forget the camera.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

Pretty sure last time it was mostly sausages. Burnt ones...

Munchies are a good idea I'd say. nachos & dips, that sort of thing. Must remember to bring marshmallows for the fire :D

Does fajitas' plus one have a name? Very mysterious!

Sinead, boooooo. Now I have to go to the scary toilet on my own, too :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭Roen

From which direction do you mean when you say through Tullamore? I'm coming from the south and will be hitting the N52, but I'm not sure on which side of Tullamore I'll be hitting it.
    Sebzy wrote: »
    - If you want to camp outside feel free to do so after singing a disclaimer provided by the castle.

Woo! Be happy to sign anything.

Roen wrote: »
    From which direction do you mean when you say through Tullamore? I'm coming from the south and will be hitting the N52, but I'm not sure on which side of Tullamore I'll be hitting it.
    Woo! Be happy to sign anything.

That would be East 2 west if your coming via birr it's just before tullamore on left

Beware the WareBunnys the roam those forests at night.
    http://www.rightblueeye.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/zombie_bunny.jpg

elven wrote: »
    Pretty sure last time it was mostly sausages. Burnt ones...
    Well that just wont do Al you banned from cooking anyone know how to cook bangers then.. I'm useless I went to make a curry last week and ended up with curly fries and frickadelins.... Hmmm frickadelins
    Does fajitas' plus one have a name? Very mysterious!

Hmmm yes Was not a privy to that classified information plus it was a maybe too. I bet it's some ravishing young model. Al you dog.:D:D

Right so I think that was a call for escorts anyone anyone anyone???

Seb, do they have a microwave there?

yes yes they do indeed but thats cheating.

a) I did not burn any sausages. I have never burnt sausages.

b) Yes, there's a plus one, it's not a ravishing young model though. I'm sorry. :p

c) If I remember correctly, MostlyCircles is a lovely looking young lass, that is going to have to put up with guys sho... erm... that can go to the ladies with Elven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Fionn

ok my memories of the last trip there was:
    that cat!! very photogenic
    the walk climb up that stairwell thing (not great with heights) it went on and on!!
    Noah! good guy
    Danny good fryup fella
    the scare at the door!! you know who you are!!
    the rain and cold!! brrr
    Mantel for doing a lot of arranging it
    and Seb for putting it all together good job
    fair play lads
    and the singing/snoring

oh my god!!

i'm bringing three safari beds, had them the last time they were pretty ok - so anyone suffering any debilitating excuse can avail of same!!!

no excuses right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

none for me, anyway

looking forward to this.. could use a good time :D

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Seb, I'm terrible sorry but I have to bail on this weekend. I have the charity game in the EPT to play and since my company is involved and I committed to it 6 months ago, I really should go. I'm gutted but (yet again!) I have to miss a Photo forum outing :(

Not to mention, the camera will be in action for the day too :(

DeV.
    ps: if I've incurred any cost for you, let me know and I'll cover it.

Boooo Dev!

Is it just on in the morning, or an all day event?
    Fionn wrote: »
    the scare at the door!! you know who you are!!

I'll take a safari bed as forgivness for scaring the **** outta me the last time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

Last time I looked I was a girl :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭helios

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Boooo Dev!

Boo indeed... sometimes I question your commitment to Sparkle Mo, I mean, our happy form...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,319 ✭✭✭sineadw

Sorry I wasn't on yesterday.. Count me out for now and if by some miracle I can make it then I'll call someone and see if its still possible. But take my place. That ok?

And yes Julie I'm sure you'll find someone willing to escort you to the toilet. Big scary monsters and all that..

I'm soooooooooo pissed off. I really REALLY wanted to go :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭elven

bovril wrote: »
    Last time I looked I was a girl :o

I missed your name in the list! Woo! Yay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Hmm, em, i might need to pester someone for a lift, as a road trip on my bike seems a little ambitious since i've only been on it a month, (and already fell off)
    Anyone passing through lucan on the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭Fionn

i was considering going up on my bike but i have too much stuff to bring!!
    oh and if anyone is coming from the south east i can provide a lift

I'll be passing through....Waterford-->Mullinavat-->Stoneyford-->Kilkenny-->Durrow-->Abbeyleix-->Portlaoise-->Mountmellick-->Tullamore-->Castle.

If anyone will be on that road on Sat morning early doors let me know and they can have a lift.

Actually Seb, looking at the OS map, it looks like there's two roads into the castle, which one do we take? The one nearest Tullamore?

Got to stuff

castle-dir.jpg

First one so :)

Will have my magic laptop and 200GiG of stuff with me this weekend is anyone wants stuff bring blank CD/DVD's

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Will have my magic laptop and 200GiG of stuff with me this weekend is anyone wants stuff bring blank CD/DVD's

what might be on this laptop... usuallythat sort of message impliesmaterialnot talked about in public :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

Have fun folks, I will be in Kerry with the kitesurfing community.

what might be on this laptop... usuallythat sort of message impliesmaterialnot talked about in public :eek:

Well it's a magic laptop because people say "Where the hell did you get that" and I reply "nobody knows it just appeared on my hard drive like magic"...

And as we all know boards is not magic friendly so best left unsaid what type of magic it is right ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

this all booked up eh?

mloc wrote: »
    this all booked up eh?

Yep unless someone pulls out were already over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

boo. my bad, got in a bit late!

im interested if theres a quitter.

mloc wrote: »
    boo. my bad, got in a bit late!

im interested if theres a quitter.

Sineadw has quit, non?

And any replies to that possible lift?

well, was in leap castle lastnight.. nothing really interesting happened.. so who's up for pissing off some ghosts this weekend?

Ghosts aren't real, but watch out for those zombies, man they'll eat yo ass before ya can yell "chuck!"

Xios wrote: »
    Ghosts aren't real, but watch out for those zombies, man they'll eat yo ass before ya can yell "chuck!"

uh huh.. would you like to prove that to me, Xios ? :p

If any of you piss off the girl on the stairs, I'll be very unhappy with you.

awh, but I want to piss off harriet!! :D:p

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

just a recheck...
    whos going on this
    lift situation
    etc
    etc

/am heading with Elven +1 in the morning.

I'm giving Bovril a lift.

Lifting Smiley and Terri early

Me and Helios leaving early in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭helios

Me and Helios leaving early in the morning.

I hope you have a comfortable car!

So is everyone sorted for lifts now.????

Nope :(
    Tis my fault though, but just to add, i can hop on n4 near the spa hotel.

Ok, i think i'll risk it on the bike, but if anyone is passin though lucan, give me a ring, on O830090121

Xios wrote: »
    Ok, i think i'll risk it on the bike, but if anyone is passin though lucan, give me a ring, on O830090121

All full up here. The roads are quite good allthe way so you should be fine.
    See ya there