Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rip off home prices in crime ridden areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Hack

I clearly hit some nerves and proved that yes it is interesting or why bother reply to the thread...Crime and how it effects property prices in estates is something I think is interesting. Isn't it part of the whole location location thing? anyway, yada,yada, yada you judgemental lot!!!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,287 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

eth0_ wrote:
    Lucky for me i've only ever rented in nice areas like Ranelagh, Milltown, Castleknock and Portobello. Except for once when i was in college and rented a room in a house in Corduff in Blanch - I lasted 3 weeks there, there was so much crime it was literally unavoidable.

Amn't I lucky.

You were just sharing with various ganglords in Castle knock,Ranelagh and even portobello, you were probably ok in corduff and miltown.

Hack wrote:
    I clearly hit some nerves and proved that yes it is interesting or why bother reply to the thread...Crime and how it effects property prices in estates is something I think is interesting. Isn't it part of the whole location location thing? anyway, yada,yada, yada you judgemental lot!!!:p

wasn't your point that crime doesn't seem to be effecting property prices or did i miss the point of the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

ntlbell you're kind of missing the point of this topic.

The title is "Rip off home prices in crime ridden areas"

We are not talking about the few individuals who oversee the importation of heroin; we are talking about crime ridden areas.

Places like Terenure or Blackrock or other upper-middle class areas could not be considered crime ridden areas whereas places like Finglas which has murders not too unoften could be considered a crime ridden area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

Don't forget, trendy rich kids who snort coke are criminals and the effect of their crime is having a far worse effect on Irish society than petty vandalism etc. They, and a lot of other people, don't give a toss though because a lot of the gun crime they are indirectly responsible for takes place far away from them

Doing cocaine recreationally is a bigger problem than petty vandalism. It's not a bigger problem than joyriding, serious assaults, stabbings and shootings though. These things all have a far worse effect on Irish society than recreational drug use.

dublindude wrote:

We are not talking about the few individuals who oversee the importation of heroin; we are talking about crime ridden areas.

Places like Terenure or Blackrock or other upper-middle class areas could not be considered crime ridden areas whereas places like Finglas which has murders not too unoften could be considered a crime ridden area.

My point is finglas is _NOT_ a crime ridden area.

a few killings here and there and your all gone flowery...

ye have to learn to chill lax man...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

dublindude wrote:

agreed, despite the fact that large numbers of young people from these areas that supposedly aren't crime ridden regularly engage in recreational drug use.

hopalong85 wrote:
    Doing cocaine recreationally is a bigger problem than petty vandalism. It's not a bigger problem than joyriding, serious assaults, stabbings and shootings though. These things all have a far worse effect on Irish society than recreational drug use.

considering the shootings are over the sale of cocaine for recreational use. recreational use of cocaine clearly is a problem....

agreed, despite the fact that large numbers of young people from these areas that supposedly aren't crime ridden regularly engage in recreational drug use.

looks like ireland is just crime ridden then....

ntlbell wrote:
    considering the shootings are over the sale of recreational use of cocaine it clearly is a problem....

nail on head.

As I said earlier because these shootings often take place a long way from the drug users own areas they couldn't care less.

dublindude wrote:

what about areas like Stilorgan where men get flung from moving cars after been shot?

crime ridden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

I think the thread would be better suited with a title

"Rip off houses prices in areas with higher volumes of council housing, immigrants and wild horses"

I hope I haven't pissed anyone off in this thread, that isn't my intention, and I apologise if I've offended anyone, but would you at least agee with this statement?

People from poorer areas, with less education and less money are more likely to commit crimes than people from wealthier areas, with more education and more money?

If the above statement is fair, then it is reasonable to say an area like Finglas is probably going to have a bit more crime than an area like Terenure.

I totally accept houses get burgled etc. in Terenure, but from a "feeling safe on the street" aspect, is my statement acceptable?

jsb wrote:
    I think the thread would be better suited with a title

"Rip off houses prices in areas with higher volumes of council housing, immigrants and wild horses"

Well I personally think Cork and Limerick are great spots.

ntlbell wrote:
    what about areas like Stilorgan where men get flung from moving cars after been shot?

crime ridden?

I grew up in Stillorgan. There is small amounts of petty crime from bored teenagers, and there are two dodgy families (gun runners) in the area, but in general, it's very safe and a very pleasant place to live.

dublindude wrote:
    I hope I haven't pissed anyone off in this thread, that isn't my intention, and I apologise if I've offended anyone, but would you at least agee with this statement?

People from poorer areas, with less education and less money are more likely to commit crimes than people from wealthier areas, with more education and more money?

If the above statement is fair, then it is reasonable to say an area like Finglas is probably going to have a bit more crime than an area like Terenure.

I totally accept houses get burgled etc. in Terenure, but from a "feeling safe on the street" aspect, is my statement acceptable?

Are you originally from Finglas?

dublindude wrote:
    but in general, it's very safe and a very pleasant place to live.

exactly can be said the same for Finglas.
    dublindude wrote:
    I grew up in Stillorgan. There is small amounts of petty crime from bored teenagers, and there are two dodgy families (gun runners) in the area,

I LOVE this way of thinking, in Stilorgan petty crime is commited by BORED TEENAGERS.

but the same BORED TEENAGERS in Finglas are dirty knacker scumbags....

because one commits the crime in his stupid looking sailing shoes and one is nike's..

i've heard it all now,.

dublindude wrote:

Conduct a survey on the street and more will agree with you than disagree, especially from a 'feeling safe' point of view.

However use of cocaine is still a crime (which has far more serious indirect repercusions that a lot of the crime that would be prevalent in areas like Finglas) and use is rampant among trendy young people who are more likely to come from from wealthier areas.

The problem with people talking about 'crime' is that its the sensational headlines re. shootings and joy riding that hog the headlines. Cocaine use seems to be socially acceptable these days and is not looked on as a criminal activity.

ntlbell wrote:
    exactly can be said the same for Finglas.

I LOVE this way of thinking, in Stilorgan petty crime is commited by BORED TEENAGERS.

but the same BORED TEENAGERS in Finglas are dirty knacker scumbags....

because one commits the crime in his stupid looking sailing shoes and one is nike's..

i've heard it all now,.

You can't compare Finglas to Stillorgan. Stillorgan is not crime free, but it has no where near the amount or severity of crime as Finglas.

Bored teenagers are not hardened criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

eth0_ wrote:
    What are you talking about?
    Those apartments have barely anyone moved in yet - a friend of mine bought one and his isn't even ready yet.
    Pish posh, I've been in there 3 months now, and most are occupied. I've never had any trouble; it's a nice quiet development. And as for the view - I've a beautiful view over the IFSC, Dublin mountains, Howth, Dublin Port, East Point office park. Beautiful city scape.
    Who committed the crimes is beside the point - I don't really care if it was my neighbour who shot someone dead outside my apartment block, i'd still be horrified and want to move.
    You'd want to move because someone was shot? - Classic "Sun" reader sensationalism.
    I didn't see people flocking out of Ranelagh a few years ago when there was a serial rapist attacking girls every weekend.

The only fact this thread has raised is that the following Boards users are snobs:
    • dublindude
    • hopalong85
    • SheroN
    • eth0_

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

ntlbell wrote:
    considering the shootings are over the sale of cocaine for recreational use. recreational use of cocaine clearly is a problem....

Yes and they all happen in disadvantaged areas, this implies that this is where the dealers are? i.e crime ridden areas?

dublindude wrote:
    There is small amounts of petty crime from bored teenagers, and there are two dodgy families (gun runners) in the area, but in general, it's very safe and a very pleasant place to live.

This would probably be my girlfriend's assessment of living in Finglas.

Zulu wrote:
    The only fact this thread has raised is that the following Boards users are snobs:
    • dublindude

I'm far from being a snob. Saying an obvious fact like "there is more crime in Finglas than Terenure" does not make someone a snob.

I just don't have a chip on my shoulder about being working class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Why am I a snob? Because I believe there's a higher crime rate in Finglas than in Ternure?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

hopalong85 wrote:
    Yes and they all happen in disadvantaged areas, this implies that this is where the dealers are? i.e crime ridden areas?

No,the clever dealers live in big houses in the 'burbs or mansions in the middle of nowhere.John Gilligan didnt live in Finglas,nor did The Dunne family or Martin Cahill.If kids are setting fire to bins in your area then there is some crime,sure..but if a major heroin importer lives two doors up from you and uses his house as a base then you live in an area with a *serious* crime problem.

hopalong85 wrote:

but the use of drugs is also a crime?

are like the blue collar stuff are we just going to ignore that?

and if taken coke is a crime and blackrock/foxrock

where the money is the people who can afford a coke habbit?

these also must be crime ridden no?

dublindude wrote:
    You can't compare Finglas to Stillorgan. Stillorgan is not crime free, but it has no where near the amount or severity of crime as Finglas.

so what's hardened then?

willing to kill?

will sell a bit of coke/dope for extra cash to pay for this outrageous mortgage?

where's the line drawn?

why are they bored kids in stilorgan and scumbags in finglas?

eh ?

sailor shoes?

snobbery?

denial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

dublindude wrote:
    I'm far from being a snob...

....You can't compare Finglas to Stillorgan. Stillorgan is not crime free, but it has no where near the amount or severity of crime as Finglas.

Priceless. You're the funniest snob I've ever come across!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Zulu: why am I a snob?

Zulu wrote:
    Priceless. You're the funniest snob I've ever come across!

O-K. I'll explain slowly.

Stillorgan is a fairly wealthy area. It has two tiny council estates, with the majority of the houses in each estate being privatly owned for many years.

There is a small bit of crime such as bored teenagers robbing wine from Tesco, and a bit of spray painting here and there. There are two dodgy families in the area. They are well known by the police and in general are unseen.

In Finglas, there are tons of council houses. There are serious crimes commited there on a weekly basis (I read the newspaper.)

How is the difference between each area so difficult to grasp? This is not about being a snob but about being able to think properly and be able contrast and compare two items, such as two different parts of Dublin.

We just happen to be talking about crime, but we could be talking about anything.