Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joining the irish defence forces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Flying

another thing i was wondering was, during the training, when do they get out for the weekend (if they are allowed out that weekend)
    Do they get out on a friday evening, or is it on a saturday morning,
    and when do they have to be back at the training camp, is it sunday night or monday morning. Just really wondering.

Thanks for all the helpful info Flying.

In the navy you wont get off the base for at least 6 weeks and in the army you are not gurantee'd to get out at the weekend, if you are it is generally after lunch on a sat and you have to be back by 2059hrs on Sunday night.

If your Pln f*cks up you might not get out at all and never come back with drink on you as you will get a deserved and nasty surprise.

The army it not a normal job and it is not 9 to 5, you will have to endure hardship from time to time and it is not for the timid either.

didnt think i needed a suit, i went down last year with me mate for his interview and he just wore a nice tracksuit. i dont want to look like a plank going into it over-dressed :D

Was he a skanger or something wear a suit or at least slacks and a shirt and tie, it is a job interview.

I did my interview in a three piece suit and a long overcoat and was shaved and well turned out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭BloodSugarSex

Flying wrote: »
    Was he a skanger or something wear a suit or at least slacks and a shirt and tie, it is a job interview.

I did my interview in a three piece suit and a long overcoat and was shaved and well turned out.

thats very well for you with your overcoat and shave :rolleyes:
    piss off insulting him he got in ffs so drop it. i got a suit for it lads thanks for letting me know

thats very well for you with your overcoat and shave :rolleyes:
    piss off insulting him he got in ffs so drop it. i got a suit for it lads thanks for letting me know

it not an insult it is a fact, you dont go for any interview weither it be a binman or solider, looking like Anto the local drug dealer in his bling and chav track suit.

He was lucky to get in, it is a job interview not a chat with you Career advisor..

Anyhow, dress to impress and sell yourself, obviously he had pull as joe soap of the street would not have had a chance.

Even a cheap suit is around 100 quid or a dunnes slacks,shirt and tie would'nt have taken to much out of the auld drinking money or john player blues ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Sean/Telnor

Now comes the waiting game. Done my interview. it went Brill. now i have to just wait to see if I got it. The medical and Fitness are no problem. hopefully anyway.... They asked basic questions, to really just get an idea of your personality, hobbies and what you know about the army.... leadership and team work questions and all.

There were LOADS of people without suits...even shirts!! i couldn't belive it. people wearing t shirts and tracksuits, some even baseball caps....tut...tut...tut. but in fairness, most were wet behind the ears (so to speak) fresh out of school and prob first interview they ever done.

Had a great day in the barracks, went in at 9 and had interview at 2:30pm hahaha still a good day.

Thanks for all your help :)

Now comes the waiting game. Done my interview. it went Brill. now i have to just wait to see if I got it. The medical and Fitness are no problem. hopefully anyway.... They asked basic questions, to really just get an idea of your personality, hobbies and what you know about the army.... leadership and team work questions and all.

There were LOADS of people without suits...even shirts!! i couldn't belive it. people wearing t shirts and tracksuits, some even baseball caps....tut...tut...tut. but in fairness, most were wet behind the ears (so to speak) fresh out of school and prob first interview they ever done.

Had a great day in the barracks, went in at 9 and had interview at 2:30pm hahaha still a good day.

Give it between 2 and 4 weeks and start training now A LOT !

If your for the eastern brigade, start running in the Phoenix park, where the PT is held it is a flat and annoying 1.5 miles.

probably saw you today, i was one of the suits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭DILLIGAF

yeah a suit is of the utmost importance. The idea that the army will take anyone who turns up is absurd, and just like above, it's a job interview,and not the kind of job interview that involves part time dish washing in some ****ty seafood restaurant.I have a lovely suit but it's pin strip so I'm not sure.Dads been in the Navy like 15 years but refuses to comment :P IO have some well swank John White shoes that you can nearly see your face in. I usually dress pretty clean cut as it is,so I see no reason why I shouldn't step it up a bit for what is the first rung in the career ladder of my life.Best of luck to anyone who's applying.

probably saw you today, i was one of the suits

hey man, prob not :) i done my intervie on monday. were there many there in suits apart from you.

I reckon they have 600 people going for it. thats a bit over 100 a day from monday to friday. there is aprox 120 new recruits to be placed. so there ill be about 500 disapointed people going for it. so try to make the best impression you can.

I have been running the 5 laps of gaa pitch. can get it in 9 minutes so thats cool. train everyday.

only the best of the best (600) will get it... crap so im out lol. :D

best of luck everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

only the best of the best (600) will get it... crap so im out lol. :D

youd think that but wait till ya see the state of some of the people who wind up in your platoon, youd swear they thought the army was a video game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Blazher

king-stew wrote: »
    youd think that but wait till ya see the state of some of the people who wind up in your platoon, youd swear they thought the army was a video game!

Its funny how true this is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Cato

damn i dident realise that many were goning to it and such a smal quota on top of that! **** cork probably has a smaller quota i was confident i would make it in... now looking at those numbers, im not so sure... :(

I really dont want to stick with my day job

Cato wrote: »
    damn i dident realise that many were goning to it and such a smal quota on top of that! **** cork probably has a smaller quota i was confident i would make it in... now looking at those numbers, im not so sure... :(

I really dont want to stick with my day job

Me neither buddy, im workin at a boring office job at the moment dreaming about this. training hard for it. but keep positive. im sure you'll make it. I'm 24now so its the last year i have to try get in. so i got alot riding on it :)

....Really, god an unfit platoon. i hope my platoon will be ok, i want to try get home for at least one weekend lol. im sure fitness levels ill pick up after a while

Any tips for the training would be great, got a few army people giving me tips for when i get in. if anyone has any tips that would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

I envy you! 24 myself but 25 in a few weeks so its too late,doing the office thing myself. Very dull,will have to see about the navy! Sometimes I regret going to college.

Just wondering whats the average age of people starting in either army/navy? Would it be mainly 17/18 year olds or perhaps older?

Me neither buddy, im workin at a boring office job at the moment dreaming about this. training hard for it. but keep positive. im sure you'll make it. I'm 24now so its the last year i have to try get in. so i got alot riding on it :)

....Really, god an unfit platoon. i hope my platoon will be ok, i want to try get home for at least one weekend lol. im sure fitness levels ill pick up after a while

Any tips for the training would be great, got a few army people giving me tips for when i get in. if anyone has any tips that would be great.

yea tell me about it im 22 but i want a few years general service expirience before i reach the limit for the cadets, doing a poor supermarket job got it to keep me going until i get called up, never worked in this type of job before but god its boring! never thought i would be packing shelves after i finished colledge, kinda wishing i skipped college though... well at least i have something to fall back on :(

i think i made a good enough impression but il just have to wait and see, the fitness wont be a problem but the getting in part is

Remember is you dont get in the first time, apply again immediately it is simply down to intakes if you pass the rest you wont have to do the PT or Medical again.

so even if i didnt pass the interview il be doing the fitness and medical? oh yeah i was going to ask this, if i dont get accepted and apply again straight away will i get another interview in the next few weeks or will i have to wait until they are recruiting again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭-aurora

i just got a letter back with my birth cert in it and a form to fill to say that i have recieved my birth cert back is this normal?

if anyone needs to know more about the interview and what sort of questions that they will ask. i can go over a few points... havent done mine yet but ive a letter here of them stating what the main questions they will be asking..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Hey there,
    Im very keen to join the PDF and have done some reasearch into requirments and roles and so on, my only concern is this, Im 23, qualified carpenter earning good money but i dont wanna spend the rest of my life on a building site, I own my own house which i bought at the age of 19 with my girlfriend (now fiancee), i dont mind a drop in salary do fulfill my goal of joining the Defence force and working my way up the ranks.
    PDF Really appeals to me in a sence that i love the outdoors, physical sports, travelling, challenging myself, favorite sport is shooting and hunting.
    What would you do if im my position? any input would be greatly appricated.

Hey there,
    Im very keen to join the PDF and have done some reasearch into requirments and roles and so on, my only concern is this, Im 23, qualified carpenter earning good money but i dont wanna spend the rest of my life on a building site, I own my own house which i bought at the age of 19 with my girlfriend (now fiancee), i dont mind a drop in salary do fulfill my goal of joining the Defence force and working my way up the ranks.
    PDF Really appeals to me in a sence that i love the outdoors, physical sports, travelling, challenging myself, favorite sport is shooting and hunting.
    What would you do if im my position? any input would be greatly appricated.

Hi Man,
    You would want to apply now, I was in your shoes last year (being 23) and applied in Sep last year and went for my interview just last week (Which I passed Yeeehaaa!! still medical and fitness to go though.... no probs. :) )
    As long as you start your training before you are 25 you have nothing to worry about, that means apply now anyway.

"PDF Really appeals to me in a sence that i love the outdoors, physical sports, travelling, challenging myself, favorite sport is <shooting and hunting> (use claypigon shooting instesd). "

This is what they want to hear at the interview alright, just be yourself though.

The Pay is one of the best in the world (army wise) not alot of people know that. your talking about 30K + but thats prob Chump Change to someone in your perfession lol.

one more tip is, when you send your forms in, use An Post Tracking Post, It costs 3 Euro, but you know the form 100% got to them, they said to me that so many people dont get in cause of forms lost in post :D

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Hi Man,
    You would want to apply now, I was in your shoes last year (being 23) and applied in Sep last year and went for my interview just last week (Which I passed Yeeehaaa!! still medical and fitness to go though.... no probs. :) )
    As long as you start your training before you are 25 you have nothing to worry about, that means apply now anyway.

"PDF Really appeals to me in a sence that i love the outdoors, physical sports, travelling, challenging myself, favorite sport is <shooting and hunting> (use claypigon shooting instesd). "

This is what they want to hear at the interview alright, just be yourself though.

The Pay is one of the best in the world (army wise) not alot of people know that. your talking about 30K + but thats prob Chump Change to someone in your perfession lol.

one more tip is, when you send your forms in, use An Post Tracking Post, It costs 3 Euro, but you know the form 100% got to them, they said to me that so many people dont get in cause of forms lost in post :D

Best of luck

Cheers for the reply Sean, im heading down to manpower today and see if i can get me a career in the PDF(With luck)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

does anyone know if joining the rdf gives an extension to the upper age limit?

preparing for the interview in a week... do they tell you wether you have past or failed on that day/ during the interview? how does it work?

Cheers

zig wrote: »
    does anyone know if joining the rdf gives an extension to the upper age limit?

It does'nt anymore

Army - 25 years Max
    Navy - 27 Years Max
    Cadets - 28 Years Max

A lot of guys I know are joining the Navy and blagging their way to the army via a transfer but it is exceptionally hard and can take up to 4 years to get a transfer.

alright lads i got me letter for the medical this morning, so does this mean im in or does everyone have to do a medical regardless of passing or failing the interview?

Hey man. Congrats. I got mine too. As far as i know, only people who pass the interview get the medical.

One important thing to check on the lette, mine said its on Monday 13th of Feb.... the 13th of feb is a Wednesday and that monday is actually the 11th.

I phoned Manpower up and he laughed and said its a typeo, he wasn't 100% sure of the exact date, but he said i should go by the date on the letter... the 14th of Feb, im going to ring up again and ask in a week to confirm, but im thinking of going on the monday and Wednesday if they still not 100% sure because i want this and if i miss it im too old to go again.

Its only medical and fitness now, if your drug free you will pass medical and if you KNOW you can do the run and push yourself, you've gotten it.

Well done again man, we could be brothers in arms soon :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Its only medical and fitness now, if your drug free you will pass medical and if you KNOW you can do the run and push yourself, you've gotten it.

Weldone lads, and I really do wish you all the very best.

But its not ''only medical'', the army's medical a pretty good one and you won't just breeze it if there's anything wrong with you.

My advice, go to your family GP and get a quick check up so that any underlying issues can be resolved for the army's checkup, ie high blood presure etc. Tell your GP what its for.

Guys this one sounds silly, but heed my word.

The hearing check is very easy to fail, and the army just won't take a chance on this one. So DON'T use your iPods or listen to loud music the morning or even night before the medical.

peircings, tattoo's etc.. lads if your asked, these are all YEARS old!.

Have you had any operations or broken bones or any other medical issues in the last two years, OF COURSE YOU HAVEN'T!.. OK?.. DON'T BE STUPID!.

KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID (K.I.S.S.).. Lads, simple answer's are your friend.

Stay off the gargle for a few days before the test, get the family GP to give you a once over, don't use the iPod... HAVE A SHOWER & SHAVE!.

Best of luck once again.

Mairt wrote: »
    Weldone lads, and I really do wish you all the very best.

KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID (K.I.S.S.).. Lads, simple answer's are your friend.

Best of luck once again.

Thanks a million man, thats some great advice. :)

If you need any other advice feel free to PM me.

thanks man i hope so, i wish you the best of luck with the medical and fitness, and thanks mairt for the advice ;)

do they check your blood?? and do you have to do a breathing test?

Remember your not in until you get the letter telling you to report at such and such a barracks, generally @ 0830hrs on a Mon morning.

Oh and keep your hands out of your pockets when you get there no matter how cold it is ;)

-aurora wrote: »
    do they check your blood?? and do you have to do a breathing test?

yes and yes, brathing test is just blowing into a toilet roll type machine thing, ya know the 1!!

have you any idea what the requirements are in relation to the breathing one? also what are they checking for in your blood?

-aurora wrote: »
    have you any idea what the requirements are in relation to the breathing one? also what are they checking for in your blood?

The ''I'm a killer'' gene :mad:

Mairt wrote: »
    The ''I'm a killer'' gene :mad:
    i thought thats what they'd be looking for

not too sure what exactly they look for but i had asthma when i was a kid and blew into it and passed! i would assume they are looking for drugs and maybe more in the blood!

thats what i was worried about because i has athsma too when i was younger.
    thanks for the info, have my forms in now just waiting for an interview

honest to god dont mention the asthma thing to them, if its gone now and you dont use an inhaler anymore like i didnt joining dont say a word.

i stupidly mentioned it during training and they made me go to brickins,run a couple of laps of the hospital, run up the stairs into the test room and take the breathing test quickly!!!! :eek::eek:

if your like me and its not physical activity that affects your breathing you will have no trouble once you keep hush about it!

honest to god dont mention the asthma thing to them, if its gone now and you dont use an inhaler anymore like i didnt joining dont say a word.

!

Lads, little white lie's.. And thats all I'll say on the matter!..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

they're crazily strict on it,,, but if you know that you're fit then don't mention it, just keep a reliever in your inside smock pocket or somthing. Besides, lots of people grow out of stuff but sometimes they can't accept that people grow out of things so.. I've seen a few people fail the medical because they mentioned it.

My Best mate was a chronic asmathic but he took ventolin pills before his medical and PT and all was well.

he did not mention it and to boot he also smoked.

My Best mate was a chronic asmathic but he took ventolin pills before his medical and PT and all was well.

he did not mention it and to boot he also smoked.

ya should be careful if the asthma affects you in that way though, as we all know theres always the odd "surprise" run during training!

if affects you while doing physical training then youd be fcuked in the army to be honest...at the start anyways!

i havnt taken my inhaler in years and i can run grand i just ran 5k the other day as part of my pt training and i was well able for it.

ya should be careful if the asthma affects you in that way though, as we all know theres always the odd "surprise" run during training!

if affects you while doing physical training then youd be fcuked in the army to be honest...at the start anyways!

I carried him a few times but at the end of the day I know what you are saying is correct but there is ways and means...

Like Water rationing or deprevation on selection for the wing (not sure if its still done) but I know a few people who used to sneak out at night and drink out of puddles of water with a filter straw :p cheating yes but also using the auld bulb !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 business monkey

hey everyone.
    ok so I want to join the army but my partner for three years is really really worried about me joining. can any one reasure her that it is not dangers and that i will be grand, and tell me a little more about life in the irish army.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 phil_w2@hotmail

there is a danger that you might get really fit if you dont go to the mess and drink cheap beer all the time like 60% of the lads there.

you wont get shot.

you wont get blown up... (well... in theory)

everything that they put you through cannot for legal reasons be actually life threatening so think of that if you get scared doing anything.

it is hard. one guy in my platoon (63rd 5th bat) left after 6 hours and that included the 2 hour trip to gormanstown on the back of a truck
    we started with something like 63 and finished up with 32.

if you have girls on your platoon you'll have a bit of an easier time. no insult intended but it is a FACT - as they will bring charges easier than a bloke and generally.... cry more!! so pray for girls... that and there is something about army birds... they seem to have very loose morals if any... thats just my experience and maybe its not true for every girl but from what i've seen/heard/done its about 80% true.

but as far as danger is concerned we are a neutral country so we wont be going to any wars or any cool sht like that... which is why I left :D

there is a danger that you might get really fit if you dont go to the mess and drink cheap beer all the time like 60% of the lads there.

you wont get shot.

you wont get blown up... (well... in theory)

everything that they put you through cannot for legal reasons be actually life threatening so think of that if you get scared doing anything.

it is hard. one guy in my platoon (63rd 5th bat) left after 6 hours and that included the 2 hour trip to gormanstown on the back of a truck
    we started with something like 63 and finished up with 32.

if you have girls on your platoon you'll have a bit of an easier time. no insult intended but it is a FACT - as they will bring charges easier than a bloke and generally.... cry more!! so pray for girls... that and there is something about army birds... they seem to have very loose morals if any... thats just my experience and maybe its not true for every girl but from what i've seen/heard/done its about 80% true.

but as far as danger is concerned we are a neutral country so we wont be going to any wars or any cool sht like that... which is why I left :D

could you go into detail why people feel the need to leave after only a few hours? surely it cant get that hard after a few hours? what are peoples reaqsons for leaving so soon?