Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wafer Cup ties

• 04-10-2007 4:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭

Spurs currently 0-0 with 40 mins gone away to Famagusta. Defoe missed a sitter...:(

Other fixtures:

Dnipro v Aberdeen (0-0), 1800 BST
    Blackburn v Larissa (0-2), 2000 BST
    Bolton v Rabotnicki Kometa (1-1), 2000 BST
    Metalist Kharkiv v Everton (1-1), 1945 BST

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Defoe's hit the post after great work by Steed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

You watching this therecklessone? Following it on the BBC match tracker thingy and they're saying Boateng is having a great game. The player rating thing has him at 9.33. Whats the story with him, why hasn't he played much of this season?

1-0 to Famagusta, striker virtually caught the ball before hammering home.

Shocking decision by the ref.

Pighead wrote:
    You watching this therecklessone? Following it on the BBC match tracker thingy and they're saying Boateng is having a great game. The player rating thing has him at 9.33. Whats the story with him, why hasn't he played much of this season?

Watching on Spurs online TV station.

Boateng looks lively but I wouldn't be having him anywhere near 9.33. Had no pre-season, so has been playing for the reserves rather than the first team. I believe he was bought with a view to bringing him on for future seasons. Lot of money for potential if you ask me, can't be worse than some of the donkeys we've seen in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

Sweet Jebus! Everton better win tonight!!! :eek:

1-0 to Famagusta, striker virtually caught the ball before hammering home.

Shocking decision by the ref.

Sorry, meant to read "striker virtually caught the ball before laying off to his strike partner to hammer home"

Big guns on (well, Bale and Keane) now 1-1, Bale cross Bent stepover Keane finish.

Keane gets on the end of a superb move and ends up nearly putting the ball out for a throw...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

0-1 Aberdeen. Mackie header. Dnipro need 2 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Henrik Larrson still scoring goals in europe with Helsinborg:D They winning 5-0

eirebhoy wrote:
    0-1 Aberdeen. Mackie header. Dnipro need 2 now.
    Dnipro are actually a point ahead of Dinamo Kiev in the league. What a result this would be for Aberdeen but there's still another 45 minutes to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Setanta are showing a game tonight. I presume it's the Everton one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

And Aberdeen go through. Fair play to them.
    All hail Scotland, the latest super power of World Soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Badabing wrote:
    Henrik Larrson still scoring goals in europe with Helsinborg:D They winning 5-0
    Yep, a lot of Irish people went to see him and his team playing against an Irish side recently. In the UEFA Cup. Cheered for his team too.

Nah, it might have worked for the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, maybe 4th time but it's getting old now... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Jees, bolton could have had a pen there, is still 0-0 as it stands. (Setanta game BTW)

And joy of joys blackburn are losing, need four now to go through (concentrating on the league maybe ??)
    DesF wrote:
    Yep, a lot of Irish people went to see him and his team playing against an Irish side recently. In the UEFA Cup. Cheered for his team too.

Fair play to them Des, they are fans of the player and support him. They are entitled to support whoever they want against whatever team they chose (or is there some kind of new restriction in place ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,432 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I hope not, I would love them to do well in the uefa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

J

Fair play to them Des, they are fans of the player and support him. They are entitled to support whoever they want against whatever team they chose (or is there some kind of new restriction in place ?

I think the thing is: (bear with me here)

Irish people went to a UEFA cup game with an irish side playing a swedish side who had a swedish player who played for a scottish team who all the irish fans supported, they cheered the swedish player on vs the irish team. :eek: :confused:

Something like that.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

I think another factor of the argument is if you told most of these same people you were a Catholic Rangers fan they'd look at you like you had 2 heads.

Odense game gone to penos vs Sparta prague, hope they win :o

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Everton behind again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

KdjaCL wrote:
    I think the thing is: (bear with me here)

Irish people went to a UEFA cup game with an irish side playing a swedish side who had a swedish player who played for a scottish team who all the irish fans supported, they cheered the swedish player on vs the irish team. :eek: :confused:

Something like that.

kdjac

Unbelievably, I understood that, and still could not give a carp. Does that mean then that if for example Kev Doyle came back against any team in Dublin for a waffa cup game and some cork lads came along and started cheering for him against said Dublin team that they're not as good a supporter as Des because they are cheering for any other team against an Irish one ?

Arrah makes bugger all difference anyhow. Blackburn need two goals in ten minutes to stay in the comp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

DesF wrote:

Boo, down with your sef loathing.

I didnt appreciate being psychologically raped in my own home last night either. Lets not start kickign people when their down or I'll have to bring up the position your team finds themsleves in. :D

Woohoo! Everton through! Thank Jebus.... At least that'll be a few more games in Europe this season...

In the other ties:

Ajax went out to Zagreb
    Lens went out to Copenhagen
    Real Zaragoza went out to Aris Thessaloniki
    Rapid Bucharest lost to Nuremburg
    Dinamo Bucharest went out to Elfsborg
    Sampdoria went out to Aalborg
    Empoli went out to FC Zurich

In the other ties:

Ajax went out to Zagreb
    Lens went out to Copenhagen
    Real Zaragoza went out to Aris Thessaloniki
    Rapid Bucharest lost to Nuremburg
    Dinamo Bucharest went out to Elfsborg
    Sampdoria went out to Aalborg
    Empoli went out to FC Zurich

A lot of big times getting dumped out there... Zaragoza sticks out like a sore thumb... Ajax as well!

Palermo also out on penos, only Fiorentina through from Italy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Stekelly wrote:
    I didnt appreciate being psychologically raped in my own home last night either. Lets not start kickign people when their down or I'll have to bring up the position your team finds themsleves in. :D

You're the only staunchly scouse fan I have in my phone.

Expect more.

Pots for the draw which takes place 12 CET on Tues:

POT 1

1. villareal (spain)
    2. bayern munich (germany)
    3. az alkmaar (holland)
    4. panathinaikos (greece)
    5. fc basel (switz)
    6. bordeaux (france)
    7. bayer leverkusen (germany)
    8. Anderlecht (belgium)

POT 2

9. Tottenham (england)
    10. lokomotiv moscow (russia)
    11. zenit st petersburg (russia)
    12. sparta prague (czech)
    13. aek athens (greece)
    14. hamburg (germany)
    15. bolton (england)
    16. austria vienna (austria)

POT 3

17. spartak moscow (russia)
    18. sporting braga (portugal)
    19. galatasaray (turkey)
    20. getafe (spain)
    21. athletico madrid (spain)
    22. everton (england)
    23. fiorentina (italy)
    24. stade rennais (france)

POT 4

25. hapoel tel aviv (israel)
    26. red star belgrade (serbia)
    27. fc copenhagen (denmark)
    28. toulouse (france)
    29. dinamo zagreb (croatia)
    30. panionios (greece)
    31. nuremburg (germany)
    32. Mlada Boleslav

POT 5

33. aris thessaloniki (greece)
    34. aberdeen (scotland)
    35. fc zurich (switz)
    36. ae larissa (greece)
    37. aab aalborg (denmark)
    38. brann bergen (norway)
    39. elfsborg (sweden)
    40. Helsingborg (sweden)

POT 5

33. aris thessaloniki (greece)
    34. aberdeen (scotland)
    35. fc zurich (switz)
    36. ae larissa (greece)
    37. aab aalborg (denmark)
    38. brann bergen (norway)
    39. elfsborg (sweden)
    40. Helsingborg (sweden)

The holy grail for EL clubs. :)

kdjac

Some quality sides in the first 3 pots there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

I presume Bayern Munich are the favourites for this competition, they really look quite formidable this year.

Palermo also out on penos, only Fiorentina through from Italy.
    Italian clubs never take this cup seriously. Palermo rested 5 or 6 players.

eirebhoy wrote:
    Italian clubs never take this cup seriously.

they did in the 90s!

88/89 Napoli bt Stuttgart
    89/90 Juve bt Fiorentina
    90/91 Inter bt Roma
    91/92 Ajax bt Torino
    92/93 Juve bt Dortmund
    93/94 Inter bt Salzburg
    94/95 Parma bt Juve
    96/97 Schalke bt Inter
    97/98 Inter bt Lazio
    98/99 Parma bt Marseille

Although no Italian side has made the final since!

kinaldo wrote:
    I presume Bayern Munich are the favourites for this competition, they really look quite formidable this year.

have been since pats were in it way back in the summer see no reason for that to change.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

It was a decent competition then. The cup winners cup was the dregs and really good teams were in the UEFA cup because only the winners and later the runners up in the domestic leagues were in the CL/EC . Its the "best of the rest" comp now that the CL has been reformatted and the cwc is gone.

kinaldo wrote:
    they did in the 90s!
    There's no money in it now though. In fact, Italian clubs would probably make a loss from playing in it.

Stekelly wrote:
    It was a decent competition then. The cup winners cup was the dregs and really good teams were in the UEFA cup because only the winners and later the runners up in the domestic leagues were in the CL/EC . Its the "best of the rest" comp now that the CL has been reformatted and the cwc is gone.
    Yeah I know, I just thought it was a funny stat and wanted to put it up there!