Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where to buy?

Options
  • 07-10-2007 10:45pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25

Hi,
    Just about to start a huge self renovation on my new home and obvosly working to a strict budget. Any recommendations about where i should shop? Woodies, B&Q, local stores?

I have never done anything on this scale before?
    I have heard good and bad things about the likes of b&q, what experiences has anyone else had?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭northdublin

in the middle of a live in renovation and i get some of the stuff i need in b&q and woddies. the likes of building materials like timber, plasterboard, cement and other sundries i would usually go to the local builders providers. but for paint and brushes and tiling equipment and finishing equipment i go to woddies and such places. b&q and woddies dont deliver but builders merchants do so its worth a trip to yer local providers to see what they have.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,778 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

OP - If you are on a strict budget you really need to get out there & cost the materials yourself instead of relying on "[Insert name of outlet here] is cheaper/dearer than [Insert name of other outlet here]" from someone on boards.

Your can check the prices of some stuff online, but when it comes to dealing with builders providers - you can't bargain/haggle with them over the interweb.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,165 ✭✭✭10-10-20

You should price around your local suppliers yourself! Often you will find a builders suppliers in some backstreet who can beat the big names on almost all building items!