Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Woman found dead near Lakeshore Drive

• Registered Users Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭wet-paint

Regarding the suggestions of cameras, or patrols out on the line, I seriously doubt these would ever even be considered. It's private property. Iarnród Eireann would just close it up rather than have to put in cameras.
    And the gardai definitely* won't do it. Think about it. Two cops walking the line at five in the morning? It'd be too risky for them, they'd be too far from any kind of back up should anything go wrong, and they won't put themselves in a position where shít like that could happen, I know that from experience.
    That said, I would still walk the line alone in the middle of the night, and advise against women doing it without an escort.

*probably

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

wet-paint wrote: »
    Regarding the suggestions of cameras, or patrols out on the line, I seriously doubt these would ever even be considered. It's private property. Iarnród Eireann would just close it up rather than have to put in cameras.

Isn't that whole area going to be redeveloped with the CEannnt station thing. Or is this particular area being left out

• Registered Users Posts: 9,030 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Even a bit of street lighting and the odd CCTV would help immensely.

It's too isolated and poorly lit as it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Fey! wrote: »

I've re-read your original statement several times, as has my partner. I'm Galwegian, she's Polish. We both read it as you saying "it's a foreigner done it, start the lynchings". I reckon that Finmla has read it the same way.

We "derived that inference" by reading what looks like the post of yet another bigot.

And for someone who, according to your sig, has immigrated, perhaps, if you are innocent of bigotry, you should learn to phrase things better.

And for someone who, according to your post, finds racism abhorrent but, according to your sig, has no problem with taking the mick out of the disabled, you should learn the story of the pot and the kettle.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    And for someone who, according to your post, finds racism abhorrent but, according to your sig, has no problem with taking the mick out of the disabled, you should learn the story of the pot and the kettle.

Pwned.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Black-Hispanic mongoloid women in wheelchairs who had an abortion are the funniest imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Pwned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

As for the number of murders locally, I think that the last was the Freezer Man. In the last number of years there was, Malcolm O'Shaughnessy stabbed by an American on Dominic Street;

Malcolms case was found not to be murder, but self defense.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

Tha Gopher wrote: »

I'd take you on on this, along with Jammy Boy and YOUNG Cleary, but then I'd have to refer to my own sig.

By the way, my sig says you're RETARDED, not disabled.

Jammy Boy

Your wit puts me to shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I'd take you on on this, along with Jammy Boy and YOUNG Cleary, but then I'd have to refer to my own sig.

By the way, my sig says you're RETARDED, not disabled.

Well, Ive been told. So its only the guys whos heads are a bit mushed that you like to rip on. Intelligent coherent people in wheelchairs are A OK :)

Im sort of the same with the racism. The Chinese are a grand bunch of lads. Its those gayness inventing Greeks Ive got the problem with.

Do you really have a Polish bird or did you make it up to have your post seem to have more weight to it? :D

Maybe i should give up, Ill only end up in a situation described in the first half of your sig ;)

Your wit puts me to shame.

Sorry, could only remember the Jam part of your name.

Anyway, this is dragging way off topic.

Sorry, could only remember the Jam part of your name.

Anyway, this is dragging way off topic.

I COULD mention that you could scroll slightly to see my name in full. But I'm a lazy **** myself so I can't complain.
    BUt I agree that this thread has gone on too much into arguing.

It's pretty sad that Galway's reputation as a safe place might be hurt in the slightest. There is a lot of foreign/Erasmus students here. A lot of french for some reason.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

OMG Fey called me young, he sure told me, i'd better shut up now

When that old cnut (he must be a whole 3-4 years older than me) is using the bus with his OAP pass, i'll be jogging past, knowing that my bones are plenty strong :rolleyes:

Infact, i'd better quit the Internet altogether

It's pretty sad that Galway's reputation as a safe place might be hurt in the slightest. There is a lot of foreign/Erasmus students here. A lot of french for some reason.

It was said in the papers that all of the other students in the group were now brought together to stay under one roof, and that the Swiss embassy was arranging to get them brought home. Hardly surprising.

The same article said that the organisation she came over with had been bringing students to Galway for several years. It will be interesting to see whether they, and other groups like them, will trust Galway to bring their youth back here again.

Personally, I think that the Garda investigation is going to have a lot of international scrutiny, and its speed and conclusion could have a big effect on Galways image and future tourism. At least it has a lot of support from people, as everyone seems equally outraged by what has happened.

I'm sure I'm gonna get a lot of flak here, but these things happen.
    Murders are no rare occurence, it's the fact it occurred here in quiet Galway that people have gotten so worried about it.

I still intend using the Line, the chances of a serial killer choosing to stalk there are minimal, the worst thing we can do is fundamentally change and live in fear.

that said, it does give the public a quickstart on security and taking precautions, it's a shame a foreign student died before we realized.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭forbairt

I'm sure I'm gonna get a lot of flak here, but these things happen.
    Murders are no rare occurence, it's the fact it occurred here in quiet Galway that people have gotten so worried about it.

I still intend using the Line, the chances of a serial killer choosing to stalk there are minimal, the worst thing we can do is fundamentally change and live in fear.

that said, it does give the public a quickstart on security and taking precautions, it's a shame a foreign student died before we realized.

Murders are a pretty rare occurance in galway though ... I think the fact that its a kid ... (I believe it was Fey who mentioned that fact) ... that shocks us so much ... I've made friends with about 3 swiss students who were over studying and staying in renmore ... and I can't help but feeling in shock .. (to me it sounds weird to say it but I am) ... these really are kids, over here for possibley their first time away from home and to have this happen I think is going to be devastating (maybe too extreme a word but I'll stand by it for the moment) to galway. I believe there are 3 language schools here ? (numbers could and probably are wrong but there are three that I know of) and I think it'll mean that parents are going to be reluctant to send their kids over here ... I know I would feel that way about a place where a 17year old was murdered.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

i wonder if it was the same attacker as the one behind the huntsman? i might be way off but wasnt it someone wearing greyhound gloves and foreign? not sure though. still very scary stuff

forbairt wrote: »
    Murders are a pretty rare occurance in galway though

I meant no rare occurence in the world at large. I did say Galway was a quiet place.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

please leave Malcom out of this thread. He was a good friend of mine . I was drinkin with him that night in gpo, before he left to go home.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Traditio

To sort the Crime problem in Galway and Ireland you need:
    To deport foreign criminals and let them serve their sentences abroad.
    Prisons should be more austere and criminals should serve their full sentences.
    Use of a 'chain gang' to provide labour projects on our streets.
    Automatic prison sentence for all repeat offenders.
    Give judges the option of the death penalty for premeditated murder where guilt is incontrovertible (DNA evidence).
    More Gardai on the streets and remove the political correctness that blights them.
    Allow victims of crime the freedom to defend themselves and their property.
    The Gardai must serve the public, not the state.
    Prison is often more agreeable to prisoners than home, with tv,sports rooms and other comforts. This should stop.

Keep it up traditio, you are solving important problems, you should go to the middle east, where your skills can be better used. Go, I bid thee!
    i wonder if it was the same attacker as the one behind the huntsman? i might be way off but wasnt it someone wearing greyhound gloves and foreign? not sure though. still very scary stuff

What are greyhound gloves?

Hell yeah Traditio.

And we should ban all showers and toilet paper.

What do they think they're at? A holiday camp?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

please leave Malcom out of this thread. He was a good friend of mine . I was drinkin with him that night in gpo, before he left to go home.:(

Was just going to post the same responce, i knew Malcom also and imo his murder should have nothing to do with this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭fish fingers

nice one hairy fairy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Was just going to post the same responce, i knew Malcom also and imo his murder should have nothing to do with this thread.
    I knew him pretty well too,sound guy, very very popular,terrible loss.I agree there was no need to bring it up or even mention it in this thread, after all it was NOT found to be murder, so people should NOT be calling it that.

To Fish Fingers, HairyFairy00 and Padi89; apologies for offending you; I was trying to make the point that violent death, while not a new thing to Galway, is a relatively rare occurence here.

Kickoutthejams; you are absolutely right, murders will happen. It's the age of the person involved that is, IMO, the most shocking factor here. She wasn't even old enough to legally go out and enjoy a drink with her friends, yet some twisted bastard decided that she would never get to that age.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

greyhound gloves was what they called them on crime line. gloves used at the nearby track to work with the dogs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭Morbid.Angel

nice post Morbid.
    greyhound gloves was what they called them on crime line. gloves used at the nearby track to work with the dogs?

No such thing. I work there, and if anyone uses gloves to work with the dogs, which they don't, they'd be just regular garden gloves.

Where did you hear this curious reference?