Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was your first car?

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭macco66

1990 Opel Corsa, complete with clothes hanger aerial. S?*t box, but loved it all the same!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

'93 Fiat Tipo 1.4, grey (bought in 2000). Surprisingly nice to drive. £800 to buy, almost £4,000 to insure:rolleyes: - those were the days. I'd love some of that money back.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

JoeySully wrote:
    After that was the exact opposite - a 1975 Fiat 133
    lovely little car 750cc engine rear wheel drive and the engine in the back
    133.jpg
    oh and no im not 40

Never seen/heard of a 133 before, looks like a cross between a 127 and a 126. Maybe I did see them and assumed they were 126/7s.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

learned to drive in a 98 1400cc escort

my first car was a 01 1.25zetec fiesta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,974 ✭✭✭mick.fr

PauloMN wrote:
    Engine was so lacking in power that the air con had to be turned off before attempting an overtake.

WOA looooooooooooool funcking good.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

PauloMN wrote:
    Never seen/heard of a 133 before, looks like a cross between a 127 and a 126. Maybe I did see them and assumed they were 126/7s.
    It was imported from holland - dont htink it was sopd in ireland

car was bought by someone a few years ago for retoration i think - hopefully its back to its former glory

fiat 133 history http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiat_133

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭endplate

bought my first car in '95 an '89 1.3L toyota corolla h/b. I imported it myself from the north. It was a better speced car then it's southern buddies also the exchange rate was in my favour with the punt almost equal to the sterling made a great saving too. I kept it for 1.5 years and moved up to a '95 civic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

1985 Civic 1.3, with electric nothing, and spots of primer everywhere that looked like polyfilla. Never gave an ounce of trouble, and was going strong 17 years later in the care of my brother when it was stolen and never seen again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

A '92 Nissan Micra van (in 1995) I was in a band at the time and I drove all over the place you wouldn't believe the amount of crap I could fit in the back of it! I had two seats in the back as well lol you wouldn't get away with that these days. I remember getting stopped by a Gard one night driving through Salthill on the way to a gig - car full of gear arse hitting the ground - two lads in the front seat and another squashed under the gear in the back - he nearly wet himself laughing and just waved us on.. ah those were the days :o
    I put about 100k up on her in two years and the only thing that went was the gearbox (and I can't blame it for that!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 -avey-

96 astra, really comfortable car n passed my test in it after failin in my instructors car :eek: have a megane now but prefer d astra :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭Gatster

Long story, but at 17 I bought a Black E21 BMW 320i with an OEM Alpina bodykit/wheels and Factory Recaros, must dig out a picture. Wish I still had it, and had somewhere to put it. Had to sell it when I couldn't afford the insurance renewal...:( :(:(

In a way it scarred me for life, I can't ever buy a 'normal' car and be happy :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Churchy wrote:
    '88 Nissan Bluebird 2.0D

Legend of a car! There's still have an '86 one at home which will be refurbished sometime.

My first car was a '91 Toyota Corolla van, 1.8 Diesel. Made lots of noise (there was a hole in the exhaust) but didnt really move that fast...

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Punto Sporting

Fastest new car I could insure at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭Barr

Renault 5 , roadholding was so good as I was driving round a sharp bend it turned 180 degrees so i finished up facing the wrong direction

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭tyney

Anan1 wrote:
    Unfortunately so, the crazy neighbour ended up setting fire to it. I do still have a load of brand new spare parts for it, maybe one day i'll buy another and fit them to that.

Ahem,,,,, what sort of parts? I could find a good home for them.

Sorry, off topic..............1st car-mk 2 ford capri cringe cringe. was cool at the time, then it wasn't, now it's sort of cool again

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭sc4rf4ce

mine was a 92 honda civic ferio. looked like a banger, but drove like a dream.
    as it was a jap import so had all the works.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭skibum

Mine was a bright yellow MK1 Golf, bought for £400, my insurance was over £800. Great little car, I knew it was a little rusty but after just over a year of abuse the front suspension collapsed while going over a level crossing :o , lucky for me I had enough momentum to clear the crossing in a shower of sparks :D
    Looking back I don't think it would have passed an nct :p

• Registered Users Posts: 22,284 ✭✭✭✭Esel

tyney wrote:
    1st car-mk 2 ford capri cringe cringe. was cool at the time, then it wasn't, now it's sort of cool again
    Capri was never cool, imo! :D

W115 Mercedes-Benz 200 (manual)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Speedway

well i got my licence when i was 17 and I always drove my dads cars. Then I lived in boston for 6 months and bought a 1993 chevy lumina for $1500 with some friends.That car broke our hearts, nearly killed us when the front left suspension collapsed coming off the highway!!

Then last year I bought my first proper car of my own - a 2004 fiat stilo coupe. LOVED it, then it broke my heart too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

Learned to drive in a late 80's Nissan Cherry. First car was a early 90's Rover 214 (with no power steering). The Rover was a lovely comfy car to drive - when it was working.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,863 ✭✭✭omega man

First car i owned was a 95 1L polo. Good safe little car and deffo saved my now wifes life when she had an accident driving it. Recently got a 1L car as a replacement car while mine was been serviced and i brought it back after 2 minutes as i thought there was a problem with the accelerator, the lads just laughed!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Mine was a 94 Peugeot 205 Van 1.8 Diesel had it from 2000 to 2004
    My God that yoke would run on fumes I reckon it was doin over 60 miles per gallon
    A scumbag once broke the back window on it and it was cheaper to buy a whole new back door from a scrapyard for €30 what a deal
    Got me through college with little trouble or expense and my Uncle has it now and it's still goin a bomb, great little van I will never forget it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

tyney wrote:
    Ahem,,,,, what sort of parts? I could find a good home for them.
    All sorts, new windscreen, seats, tubular manifold, badges, etc. I'm afraid I won't be parting with any of them, though. Why, do you have a Fulvia Sport?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭richie_rvf

My first car was a white (with silver bumpers) 1985 Honda Civic 1.5i (GT) - hand me down, was my mothers, absolutely loved it!!

It was red-lined every single time I sat in it and engine never complained!

Had it for almost 2 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭Weaselator

99 Renault Megane Coupe... broke my heart it did, still loved it tho! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

PauloMN wrote: »
    Well if we're talking about what we learned to drive in:

'81 Datsun Cherry, 1171cc. Absolute rust bucket. :o:o:o

datsun_tn.jpg

Me too. Rust galore. So long ago.....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

cjt156 wrote:
    On the Renault 4 above; was in France last month & saw a few. Remarked that you never see them at home. Remember all the orange P+T vans. Since we came home I've seen 2 on the road - oddness in the extreme.

I remember one being used as the DJ box when the GPO nightclub opened in Galway in 1994!!!

I had a 1989 Peugeot 405GLD Estate (1.9 non-turbo diesel). Like this one:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Peugeot-405-GLX-Turbo-Diesel_W0QQitemZ320166836952QQihZ011QQcategoryZ9859QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem, except it had roof bars and "twister" alloys (look like melted venoms!). Was wine/red.

First car I drove on the road was a 1984 Austin Maestro, 1.3 manual petrol. Like this one:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1989-AUSTIN-MAESTRO-AUTOMATIC-ONE-OWNER-41000-MILES_W0QQitemZ230180716864QQihZ013QQcategoryZ29753QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem, in brown.

Followed by a 1984 Nissan Cherry, 1.3 manual petrol. Like this one:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/1985-NISSAN-CHERRY-GS-1-3-AUTO-BLUE-14000-miles-L-K_W0QQitemZ300158275093QQihZ020QQcategoryZ2192QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem, same colour and all!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

Mine was a 96 polo 4 yrs ago and now after afew different cars got myself a beautiful 07 gti golf.There mean machines :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭Joeface

A '91 Mitsubishi Mirage (Import )1.3 , All electrics , Power steering , Aircon , and so on and it was ****E , Drive away the finest but was terrible on petrol . Got it for IRL£780, and the insurance was irl£2500 shocking. i drove it for 3years till i broke the rear shocks and have had integra's since.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,501 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

A Daihatsu Charade, 94. was a good little run around but its nice having a car with electrics that work now:)