Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pregnancy Chat Thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Neyite wrote: »
    I got my letter from the hospital yesterday. First antenatal appointment is on 1st Dec. I will be 16+4.

This, apparently is the HSE's idea of "monitoring me closely", due to my pre-existing high prolactin, and being off the meds since I got pregnant. Also, they still dont know I lost the twin yet, so as far as they are concerned its still a multiple pregnancy, and it was also noted by by GP on the letter that a siblings child has a severe disability that is barely survivable outside of the womb.

Maybe I was spoilt by the care I recieved in the fertility clinic by the consultants and nurses there. After my second private scan on Wed (when we got our sad news that twin 2 had not survived) in the clinc, the nurse even rang me later in the evening to check how I was and if I needed to talk.

I think I am being a brat :o. I'm no different from any other mum I guess, no matter how special I think my pregnancy is.

Ah no Neyite, that's not right. Get onto the hospital and tell them you want an earlier appointment. Explain what happened. I had a miscarriage last year and got a 9 week scan on this pregnancy to check for a heartbeat, there was no messing and I didn't have to fight for it, they completely understood. You've fallen between the cracks some how.

I'm so sorry to read about your precious twin xxx

38 weeks here...I keep going on about how I think this twinge might be it or that twinge might be it and everyone keeps telling me how early it is and I'm thinking early?! I'm ready to go NOW :D

Between this pregnancy and the miscarriage I have been pregnant 11 months out of the past 13 months and I still ain't holding a baby, I've had enough of pregnancy and want my ickle babs NOW! :o:D

Anyhow, great to see everyone's doing so well and all those babies are kicking the insides out of you all :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

dublinlady wrote: »
    Neyite - as ya know I'm in the sane situation as you, and seriously you have to phone the hospital!! I am semiprivate in holles st and the extra care I've gotten since we lost our little twin is unreal! I've been in the hospital at 11 weeks, 16 weeks, and 21 weeks and been scanned every time, I've another appt on 27th, for no apparent reason! I'm meant to be combined care but my g.p has said with me seeing the hosp so often there's little point in me seeing her too! They changed my consultant to a multiples specialist which us just reassuring. Def phone them as truly I've found them fantastic. Mind you I've never been offered anyone to talk to like you have so on the emotional side of things I could probably do with mire support but physically they couldn't be minding me better :)
    Awful emotional these past few days.. While our scan was FAB FAB FAB and we are so so so excited about having our little girl, it did set me back a bit seeing that the other little twin hasn't vanished ( as they had said it would), she found the sac and our poor little baba was still there. It's hardly rest in peace. I can't stop thinking now about how I'm carrying him/her with me until I give birth to my little girl and to be honest it's just too much for my head at the mo, hormones are challenging enough without this!! I had been able to push it all to back if mind before scan and had moved on with this single pregnancy but after the scan in just struggling a bit :(
    No doubt I'll find away to move on again, and truly having this little girl is still the biggest blessing I could ever have been giving, no matter what we had and have to go through to get her!! I bought a pink snowsuit last week.... As ye all just said I'm so so so patient to hold her kiss her and generally just freak her out by staring at her in amazement 24-7!!

DL there is nothing I can say to make you feel better but know I am thinking of you xx I can only imagine how hard this is for you.. I hope you're doing ok!
    The snowsuit sounds very cute :) we have all out babygrows & I'd love nothing more to find put if we're having a boy or girl & buy something blue or pink for them :)
    Massive hugs to you Hun xx

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

I dont feel like such a whinge now, after reading feedback from experienced mammies to be thank you! :) I will ring them tomorrow to discuss it with someone, and see what the story is with monitoring me more often.

Dublin Lady - so sorry you are finding it difficult, I think I will have plenty of moments like that to come. I feel sad when I look at the scan, but day to day I am doing ok, and still able to be happy about this pregnancy. Big hugs to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

38 weeks here...I keep going on about how I think this twinge might be it or that twinge might be it and everyone keeps telling me how early it is and I'm thinking early?! I'm ready to go NOW :D

Between this pregnancy and the miscarriage I have been pregnant 11 months out of the past 13 months and I still ain't holding a baby, I've had enough of pregnancy and want my ickle babs NOW! :o:D

Anyhow, great to see everyone's doing so well and all those babies are kicking the insides out of you all :D

Jez, pregnant for 11 months out of the last 13 months, thought I was bad, pregnant for 16 months out of the last 22 months. I think I'll just make the maternity clothes my new wardrobe and forget about all the stuff that doesnt fit.

Hope it wont be long for you now, have you worked out 10 days after you due date as the latest possible date you get got see her? Anything before this will be a bonas, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Tigeress wrote: »
    MS I really really wanna know what we're having but this baba doesn't seem to want to let us know! We decided that we'll ask on Wed (again) and if the Doc can't tell then we're not gonna ask again (we say that now lol)
    Do you wanna find out yourself? I don't think anyone wants the suprise anymore :) it's too tempting to find out :)

Definately gonna find out the sex, I've no patience. I'm 31 years of age and I still shake the Christmas presents under the tree to try and guess what they are :p

Neyite, DL I'm sorry you're having a hard time at the moment. Neyite I would definately ring the hospital I would say there may have just been an oversight on their behalf and when it's highlighted they will bring you in sooner.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭dublinlady

Neyite- def phone them- as another poster said it seems you've just fallen between the cracks - hopefully once they're aware they'll be much more proactive!

Tigeress - I hope so much you get to find the sex out!! it must be killin ya!!:eek: I know i was fit to burst with the curiosity and i was only 21 weeks!!!! I have to say its lovely to be able to imagine the baby as a girl, feel like i can make it more real in my head knowing!! Girl or boy your gonna be sooooo excited!!!!! little blue or pink clothes are just adorable!! But if you you dont get to find out at the next scan i think you might be right - maybe your baba WANTs to surprise you!! hehe!

Hannibal - only 2 weeks to go! hopefully those twinges will turn into the real deal in the next couple of weeks!!! I swear the thoughts of going over drives me mad already and i still have 18 weeks to go!!! Cant imagine how your feeling! I suppose ya just have to have faith that your little one will come when they're good and ready!!

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭Play Bunny

girls im 4 wks and feckin starving all the time where any of ye like this at the 4wks?, not complaining but im nearly dribbling when im seeing lovely food ads :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Play Bunny yes def normal I used to alternate between dire morning sickness and feelings of absolute starvation even not long after eating a meal!

Dublinlady I am so sorry to hear you're having a tough time of it with the scans. I can understand how it can a moment of utter joy & utter sadness at the same time :(

Neyite fingers & toes crossed you'll get on well with the Doc/hospital and they'll bump your appointment up a bit earlier :)

Girls I'm a bit nervous, started to get period like cramps on and off since Thursday but a bit worse today.
    I'm going to my gp tomorrow to get things checked out.
    I know I shouldn't stress too much as I'm not passing any blood & it could be stretching pains now that I've finally got my appetite back.
    Still trying to relax/not stress is easier said than done.
    Roll on tomorrow so I can get some peace of mind!

I think what has me worrying more is that my mum was down for a visit at the weekend and commented on how much weight I've lost recently (due to morning sickness/barely eating in the past 2+ months), my sister said much the same.
    I'm not good at perception of my weight/size generally but I had noticed that a lot more of my size 12 stuff was fitting and my size 14 stuff was hanging off me.
    I'd be delighted at this any other time, but not in pregnancy :(

Anyhoo whinge over, hope you all had a lovely weekend :)

I was working today so my weekend starts tomorrow :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Eoineo

Don't stress too much about the weight. When I'm pregnant I call it my "diet". I lose weight the first trimester, put none on in the second & gain about 1/2 stone in the third. I'm normally lighter leaving the hospital than I am pre pregnancy & my babies are grand.

Dreading my antenatal appointment in the hospital this week. I feel like I'm falling apart at the seams & I know there's nothing they can do for me and they're unlikely to induce me until 40 weeks.

Dublin Lady, sorry I missed your first post yesterday. To be honest, you're going to have knock backs like that....even if the sac wasn't there, you'd still be thinking about it. It's an extremely sad (and of course happy) situation and you will have things that will bring it back to you, but you will, I won't say get over it, but....become accustomed to it. Whenever you find yourself struggling, speak to your husband/partner or come on here and vent about it. You've experienced a loss, the same as every other woman that has gone through it and you're allowed to be sad about it.

Caprilicious, it's useless saying it I know, but try not to worry. The beginning of this pregnancy I had lots of cramps and even some bleeding, and everything was fine. Like you say, just take it as growing pains till you know for sure, because you'll drive yourself mad.

Could some one please tell WPMDD3, that I'm not talking to her...her with her 10 days over business :eek:....this baby is NOT going to be late...it wouldn't put me through such torture :D

Play Bunny....I bet you'd love a big chinese right now ;):D

Eoineo how many weeks are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭freudiangirl

Me too.......... only 11 days til my due date n I am feeling it so much right now- crampy crampy so annoying...... roll on meeting our little ones.

weird thing is I think I will miss being pregnant!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Play Bunny wrote: »
    girls im 4 wks and feckin starving all the time where any of ye like this at the 4wks?, not complaining but im nearly dribbling when im seeing lovely food ads :rolleyes:

it amazing how you're so hungry, I was getting up at 4am for whatever I could get my hands on in the kitchen!

Would recommend bringing up something healthy to bed so you can nibble without having to get up.

I was at the park yesterday for a family day and all I wanted to do was go on the bouncy castle and really high slide, as soon as I give birth I'm going to the amusements and I'm going on everything.

Me too.......... only 11 days til my due date n I am feeling it so much right now- crampy crampy so annoying...... roll on meeting our little ones.

weird thing is I think I will miss being pregnant!

Yep I'm getting that too....lots and lots of cramps. I've never gone 'naturally' before so I haven't a clue how it's going to start...are you feeling like a ticking time bomb too or are you nice and calm and relaxed till your due date?

It's funny you say that, I think I'll miss being pregnant too...the kicks and squirms and the being spoiled rotten...I'm starting to dread the birth a bit too :o:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    it amazing how you're so hungry, I was getting up at 4am for whatever I could get my hands on in the kitchen!

Would recommend bringing up something healthy to bed so you can nibble without having to get up.

I was at the park yesterday for a family day and all I wanted to do was go on the bouncy castle and really high slide, as soon as I give birth I'm going to the amusements and I'm going on everything.

Me too! I got a new ski outfit last year and there was not much snow and this next skiing season I'll be a bit pregnant for skiing! Looking forward to the following year when I will be able to test out the new gear!

(Also I would literally KILL for a rare steak and a few beers! :P )

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭Play Bunny

Play Bunny yes def normal I used to alternate between dire morning sickness and feelings of absolute starvation even not long after eating a meal!

Dublinlady I am so sorry to hear you're having a tough time of it with the scans. I can understand how it can a moment of utter joy & utter sadness at the same time :(

Neyite fingers & toes crossed you'll get on well with the Doc/hospital and they'll bump your appointment up a bit earlier :)

Girls I'm a bit nervous, started to get period like cramps on and off since Thursday but a bit worse today.
    I'm going to my gp tomorrow to get things checked out.
    I know I shouldn't stress too much as I'm not passing any blood & it could be stretching pains now that I've finally got my appetite back.
    Still trying to relax/not stress is easier said than done.
    Roll on tomorrow so I can get some peace of mind!

I think what has me worrying more is that my mum was down for a visit at the weekend and commented on how much weight I've lost recently (due to morning sickness/barely eating in the past 2+ months), my sister said much the same.
    I'm not good at perception of my weight/size generally but I had noticed that a lot more of my size 12 stuff was fitting and my size 14 stuff was hanging off me.
    I'd be delighted at this any other time, but not in pregnancy :(

Anyhoo whinge over, hope you all had a lovely weekend :)

I was working today so my weekend starts tomorrow :)

how did u get on at ur doc? everything ok?

Yep I'm getting that too....lots and lots of cramps. I've never gone 'naturally' before so I haven't a clue how it's going to start...are you feeling like a ticking time bomb too or are you nice and calm and relaxed till your due date?

It's funny you say that, I think I'll miss being pregnant too...the kicks and squirms and the being spoiled rotten...I'm starting to dread the birth a bit too :o:D

Yeah the thing is they are so uncomfortable, they are stopping me sleeping etc............. just genuinely uncomfortable........ also am getting shivery so hoping it will happen sooner rather than later!

I feel relaxed and am actually looking forward to the birth because it means I can meet little one and the oh can carry some of the burden literally.

I think some people look at me as if I am going to go into birth right in front of them...

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Quins5

Hi ladies

28 weeks down, 12 to go yipppeee! Feeling really good, getting kicked all day today I dont think baby even had a snooze! :eek: but im not complaining, i love it. :D:D:D

Got a letter today from the Doc recommending the flu jab... Im not too sure tho. Im usually a very healthy person just prone to the odd 24hr vomiting bug once a year ( I work with children so its hard to avoid that one!)

Going to have to give this one a bit of thought.

Hope all the bumps are behaving and kicking up a storm

x

Play Bunny wrote: »
    how did u get on at ur doc? everything ok?

I got on great thanks, lovely new GP in the surgery and he was so attentive.
    I normally get lumped with doctors that can't wait to run you out of the place but he was v thorough, checked urine/blood pressure & most important for me did the doppler so I could hear baba's heart beat!

It was amazing to hear, such a strong little hearbeat!
    I've ordered a doppler online but it's taking its time to arrive, I can't wait to have it to hand so if I need a bit of peace of mind that I'll be able to check it myself :)

Omg Eoineo, that's amazing that you ended up lighter after the pregnancy than before :eek: very reassuring to know though that all yours went so well :) I'm down half a stone but gp wasn't phased by it at all.
    When are you due? could you ask for a sweep maybe to try bring things on?

Pmsl at Hannibal not talking to Wmpdd3 for saying you might go over :)
    I'm the opposite, my due date is April 21st but I have it in my head that baby wont arrive until May 3rd.
    I went over 2 weeks with my daughter as did my mum with my sister and I so I'm convinced I'll go at least 2 weeks over!

Quin5 I don't envy you having the choice to make over the flu jab. When I was pregnant with my daughter it was during the swine flu palaver.
    It was such a hard decision whether to take it or not. I did in the end, but that's because I work with the general public who can tend to be dirty buggers and cough in your face frequently :eek::rolleyes:

Ivy I know what you mean about looking forward to the steak and beers after. I rarely ever drink (once in a blue moon) but was counting down the days to being able to drink a bottle of west coast cooler after baby arrived!

It was so nice when I finally had it :D

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Cap, where did you get your doppler? what brand is it? how much? We want to get one, but I dont know what ones are good/bad etc.

Neyite wrote: »
    Cap, where did you get your doppler? what brand is it? how much? We want to get one, but I dont know what ones are good/bad etc.

This is the one I have ordered now.....
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/220862195950?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_4339wt_1169

I went for this because it shows you baba's heartbeat as well as letting you hear it.

On my last pregnancy I had this one.....
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/FETAL-SAFETY-BABY-PRENATAL-ULTRASOUND-DOPPLER-RADIO-FDA-/330626632714?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4cfae20c0a

& found it very good, but I can't remember did I loan it out or give it to another person so didn't want to ask for it back :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Quins5 wrote: »
    Hi ladies

28 weeks down, 12 to go yipppeee! Feeling really good, getting kicked all day today I dont think baby even had a snooze! :eek: but im not complaining, i love it. :D:D:D

Got a letter today from the Doc recommending the flu jab... Im not too sure tho. Im usually a very healthy person just prone to the odd 24hr vomiting bug once a year ( I work with children so its hard to avoid that one!)

Going to have to give this one a bit of thought.

Hope all the bumps are behaving and kicking up a storm

x

I just heard an ad on the radio for the flu jab...I'm not sure what to do about this. I haven't had the flu since I was about 10, and I never really get more than the odd cold. But at the same time I don't want to take a chance. I'm going to think about it for the next two weeks til my next gyny appointment and then see what he says.

Do you ladies have any opinions on this?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

36 weeks today!!

Just back from my midwife appointment - am all sore from her poking me to find where the head was located :( She really dug the fingers in!

But baby is grand, thank God - heartbeat is strong, it's around 6lbs now and and it is lying in head down position ready for the big exit ;)

So a good day today :) Hope everyone else is doing fine

Something very strange is going on....everytime I ask about what I do if I go into labour naturally they all look at me funny and say 'well we'll just see if we get there'. What is the big secret? I think they have it planned that I'm going to have another section but no one will tell me. I dont' get what the problem is?

Firstly, if they are planning that, what's the big secret, why don't they just tell me? Secondly, so many people have had successful natural births after a section, so I don't understand what the problem is...is it something they're noticing that they're not telling me?

Getting information is like trying to get blood from a stone. Is 38 weeks too early to be asking these questions or something?:confused: And apparently they might... might... let me go 7 days over, but they'll have to discuss it with the Registrar and let him make the final decision...only for I kept at her yesterday I wouldn't have found out that nugget of information....I thought I was going the full 10-14 days or whatever it normall is.

Lol every week I go there I come out more confused than when I went in :D

Glad everything went well at the docs Caprilicious :D

Freudiangirl, apparently shivers are a good sign ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Something very strange is going on....everytime I ask about what I do if I go into labour naturally they all look at me funny and say 'well we'll just see if we get there'. What is the big secret? I think they have it planned that I'm going to have another section but no one will tell me. I dont' get what the problem is?

Firstly, if they are planning that, what's the big secret, why don't they just tell me? Secondly, so many people have had successful natural births after a section, so I don't understand what the problem is...is it something they're noticing that they're not telling me?

Getting information is like trying to get blood from a stone. Is 38 weeks too early to be asking these questions or something?:confused: And apparently they might... might... let me go 7 days over, but they'll have to discuss it with the Registrar and let him make the final decision...only for I kept at her yesterday I wouldn't have found out that nugget of information....I thought I was going the full 10-14 days or whatever it normall is.

Glad everything went well at the docs Caprilicious :D

I got the same when I went for my VBAC on number 2... truth is they can't tell you what will happen. Basically, if you go into labour naturally, depending on how you progress (if your hospital has an active management of labour policy, i.e. one centimetre dilated for every hour of labour or they want to use interventions such as syntocin, artificial rupture of membranes etc), they'll just leave you to it... usually you will be hooked up to the CTG continuously, but you can ask not to be.

If you're not "conforming" to their policies they may use interventions and there may only be a certain amount of time before they'll whisk you away for a c section for "failure to progress".

On my VBAC I was told they would not induce me under any circumstances and if I went too far over (we never did discuss how far over I would be allowed to go) it would be c section all the way. Apparently the prostin gel and syntocin give you higher chances of scar rupture.

I did get my VBAC in the end though... on my third my waters broke but I wasn't in labour, when I asked what the story would be if I didn't go into labour myself the midwife told me it would be entirely up to the consultant who seen me the next morning but I never got that far either...

I know the feeling......

good to know I have gp check up tomorrow n hospital app next tuesday............ fingers crossed I won't make cumh one

Well, I called maternity outpatients yesterday and explained that a private scan revealed that one twin stopped growing, and the receptionist suggested I contact my GP to get a referral for the early pregnancy unit. :)

This morning I went into my GP, and she was lovely – very sympathetic, and agreed to refer me, but she did warn that it may not change my scan to an earlier date, that being called at 16 weeks is early here in Galway, and that the norm for straightforward pregnancies here is around 22 weeks. :eek:

The good thing was that she offered to scan me at 12 weeks in the GP surgery – she was almost apologetic that the ultrasound is not the most modern, but I told her that I dont need fancy pictures if I can just hear everything is ok, I will be reassured.

She also told me one of her patients even tried to buy a stethescope a while back from the surgery just so she could hear the heartbeat - like all of us, 20/22 weeks was far too long to wait to see if everything is ok, what do women who cant afford private scans do? Stress for half their pregnancy?

She also mentioned that my prolactin was very high in the blood test at 8 weeks. It is naturally elevated somewhat in pregnancy, but its supposed to be monitored by an endocrinologist - supposedly I'm to get at least one appointment per trimester, so a letter has been written last week for that too. We will see how long that takes, I guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

Cap so glad to hear everything is fine & baby is doing great :)
    Hannible you're so close now I'm jealous :p
    Wow Quin you're flying through!

I had a rotten weekend :( I was in agony with pains on Sunday (never felt pain like it) so my OH rushed me to Hospital and called them on the way, got there and they were worried I was in early labour, which thankfully I wasn't so after a whole load of tests and scans and a night in a ward with 6 new Mammies and new babies crying all night it turns out my baby has kicked the crap outta me! My ribs and inside of my stomac is really badly bruised :( got a real good look at baby though which was awesome! They sent me home yest evening and I have to go back in tomorrow to see how things are.. Definatley finished work till baby comes now! Weights 3lb 11oz already :) and has really strong legs.. Said that they're gonna give me two weeks and hope that baby will turn as they're in breech position buy didn't say what will happen then?! Doc told me to keep in my mind that I may need a section (which I don't want) as my pelvis is in agony and she said I'm really bad, worst then most :( I'm not allowed drive far and have to proper rest from now on... Still very sore at the mo but hopefully baby will give the hard kicks a little break to let my bruised ribs and stomac heal..

January wrote: »
    I got the same when I went for my VBAC on number 2... truth is they can't tell you what will happen. Basically, if you go into labour naturally, depending on how you progress (if your hospital has an active management of labour policy, i.e. one centimetre dilated for every hour of labour or they want to use interventions such as syntocin, artificial rupture of membranes etc), they'll just leave you to it... usually you will be hooked up to the CTG continuously, but you can ask not to be.

If you're not "conforming" to their policies they may use interventions and there may only be a certain amount of time before they'll whisk you away for a c section for "failure to progress".

On my VBAC I was told they would not induce me under any circumstances and if I went too far over (we never did discuss how far over I would be allowed to go) it would be c section all the way. Apparently the prostin gel and syntocin give you higher chances of scar rupture.

I did get my VBAC in the end though... on my third my waters broke but I wasn't in labour, when I asked what the story would be if I didn't go into labour myself the midwife told me it would be entirely up to the consultant who seen me the next morning but I never got that far either...

Ah thanks for that. Good to know about the gel too I just thought it was the drip that was a no no. I appreciate they can't tell me what will happen, nor would I expect that...but lets face it, it's either going to go one of three ways...1. I go into labour naturally and everything goes fine, 2. I go into labour naturally and things don't progress = section, 3. I don't go into labour at all and end up with a section.

I'm sure there are more permutations that I'm not aware of, but they could at least go through all that with me, instead of this piece meal information. I think I'm pretty clear on it now, but I really shouldn't have to find this information out on a forum, surely if I ask my consultant a direct question about what happens birth/labour wise he should tell me?

Omg Tigress you poor thing :eek: Imagine being bruised from all the kicking! :eek: I hope you get a break from it....can you take baths at all? It might be soothing for your pelvic pain if nothing else?

Neyite, there must be one hell of a baby boom on at the mo! How many weeks are you now? At least you'll get the 12 week scan...could she not spark up the machine now and have a quick check for a heartbeat? Though maybe it's too early for the small machine to pick it up?

I was looking up labour sites the other night freudiangirl and early signs of labour and apparently shivering was one sign! Though it is pretty cold at the mo, so don't go on what I say :D

Neyite, there must be one hell of a baby boom on at the mo! How many weeks are you now? At least you'll get the 12 week scan...could she not spark up the machine now and have a quick check for a heartbeat? Though maybe it's too early for the small machine to pick it up?

I'm 10+2 today. I dont mind a wait until 12 weeks, which is only 2 weeks away. It was just the thought of not being seen until December that concerned me.

The surgery was fairly jammers, and I had a scan last week so I guess its better to have one at 12 weeks instead. It might well be that older or smaller equipment is best used after 10 weeks.