Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pregnancy Chat Thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Hi all

well I am 10 days overdue and had my hospital appointment this morning.
    I will give an overview here, just for anyone who might be interested in what happens at these 'overdue' appointments ( bear in mind I am liuving in Denmark though - not sure if it will be the same in Ireland)..

Basically they monitored the baby on a CTG machine for around 20 mins. It was all fine - maybe it has it too good in there, because there is no sign of it coming out!

For the second time, they offered to do a sweep, but once again that was not possible because I am totally closed still. No sign of any dialation - so annoying given the fact that I have been plagued with braxton hicks contractions the last 3 days - was sure I must be at least a few centimetres but nope!

So now I have opted for a hormone pill, which is in the form of a capsule that you swallow (the midwife told me that the capsules are brand new - this time last month they had to insert a tablet up near the cervix - thank god for modern medicine!). The capsules apparantly activate some nerve receptors which cause the cervix to dialate.

I have 6 hours to see if my contractions come on. If not, then it's back to the hospital at 2.00 this afternoon for another capsule (thankfully only a 15 min drive). If still nothing stirring by tomorrow morning, then it's back again for a double dose, and the same the next day.

So that's where I am ladies. Still a waiting game. I am hoping that next time I post on here, it will be to announce the arrival of my baby:)

Hope everyone is doing OK and good luck to everyone else waiting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Hi all

well I am 10 days overdue and had my hospital appointment this morning.
    I will give an overview here, just for anyone who might be interested in what happens at these 'overdue' appointments ( bear in mind I am liuving in Denmark though - not sure if it will be the same in Ireland)..

Basically they monitored the baby on a CTG machine for around 20 mins. It was all fine - maybe it has it too good in there, because there is no sign of it coming out!

For the second time, they offered to do a sweep, but once again that was not possible because I am totally closed still. No sign of any dialation - so annoying given the fact that I have been plagued with braxton hicks contractions the last 3 days - was sure I must be at least a few centimetres but nope!

So now I have opted for a hormone pill, which is in the form of a capsule that you swallow (the midwife told me that the capsules are brand new - this time last month they had to insert a tablet up near the cervix - thank god for modern medicine!). The capsules apparantly activate some nerve receptors which cause the cervix to dialate.

I have 6 hours to see if my contractions come on. If not, then it's back to the hospital at 2.00 this afternoon for another capsule (thankfully only a 15 min drive). If still nothing stirring by tomorrow morning, then it's back again for a double dose, and the same the next day.

So that's where I am ladies. Still a waiting game. I am hoping that next time I post on here, it will be to announce the arrival of my baby:)

Hope everyone is doing OK and good luck to everyone else waiting

Oh best of luck and I hope the tablet works!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭dublinlady

Best of luck cunning! Bet your properly fed up now! Try and get some rest and fingers crossed you'll be holding your baba in no time!

28+5 today. Yesterday I finally got up the courage to get the flu jab (yeah I know, if I'm afraid of needles how the hell will I have a baby??!!). No major side effects, bit sore at the injection site but that's it.

Today I had my first prenatal class with my midwife. It was a sort of "getting to know you" session, I really warmed to the midwife and I'm looking forward to the 7 more classes I get with her. She also told me that after the birth, they meet you once a week to help with the perineal healing and stuff, and to monitor the baby (cos in France you only meet the pediatrician after 1 month), which sounds like a good idea, and is in addition to the mother and baby groups they run too.

Otherwise, I'm feeling very big and heavy today for some reason. It was hard walking in town! Going to have a little lie down now! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Cunning - good luck, hope you'll have your baby soon and all goes well! They let you go over by a lot over there, it seems!

Had my 'consultant' appointment today as well - not that I have ever met my 'actual' consultant, ever. Got an induction date for next Friday - at least we know that we have a baby by next Saturday. Wohoooo. Doctor did a sweep (well, an internal exam, dunno if he did an actual sweep - he didnt say anything about dilation etc). Fingers crossed this works!

I actually asked the midwife why there are no internal exams in this country ('back home', you'd get an internal exam every time you see the doctor, not that it's fun, mind, but it would be nice to know if anything is dilating, effacing, etc) - and she said they onyl do them when clinically indicated. But how do you know that you have a clinical indication if they don't check even once??? weird...

have a nice weekend everyone! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

galah wrote: »
    Cunning - good luck, hope you'll have your baby soon and all goes well! They let you go over by a lot over there, it seems!

Had my 'consultant' appointment today as well - not that I have ever met my 'actual' consultant, ever. Got an induction date for next Friday - at least we know that we have a baby by next Saturday. Wohoooo. Doctor did a sweep (well, an internal exam, dunno if he did an actual sweep - he didnt say anything about dilation etc). Fingers crossed this works!

I actually asked the midwife why there are no internal exams in this country ('back home', you'd get an internal exam every time you see the doctor, not that it's fun, mind, but it would be nice to know if anything is dilating, effacing, etc) - and she said they onyl do them when clinically indicated. But how do you know that you have a clinical indication if they don't check even once??? weird...

have a nice weekend everyone! :D

I only had one internal at 37 wks THANKFULLY as I apparently have an inverted cervix and it hurt like hell! :)

All best of luck to all of you due little babies in the near future! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Tigeress

Best of luck Cunning!! Looking forward to Hearing about your new bundle :-)

Best of luck to you too Galah! How exciting for both you and Cunning to know you'll have your babies by next weekend :-)

There must be something in the air with all these Braxton Hicks ladies! I've been getting them on & off for roughly a week now & they do hurt unlike what the books say! I went to a Breastfeeding support group today & have to say I learned loads! My OH came along with me and he thought it was excellent too! The specialised midwife went through everything good & bad with Breastfeeding! Very imformative! My Mum bottle feed me as my sister did on all her kids but my 2 best friends breastfeed & I really wanna do it as it's best for baby, they told me Alot but some stuff they left out that I have to say I'm glad I found out about in advance! Like cluster feeding! Never heard of it before but now I can try be prepared (as much as I can be) the class has made me feel Alot more confident on doing the Breastfeeding :-)

This date next month is my due date & Xmas Day hehe!! I'm so excited!

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Hey Tigeress - I got your PM. Tried to reply but you have your PMs switched off. :)

Neyite wrote: »
    Hey Tigeress - I got your PM. Tried to reply but you have your PMs switched off. :)

Do you know how to unblock them by any chance?

Chatting to my boyfriend this morning, he announces that we shouldn't wait too long before trying for a second baby!!!! :eek:

Now, I love kids, and I would love 2 or 3 kids. But I said I would think about it after I get this one out! :) He said, well, sure while we are at it (having a baby) we might as well continue!

I couldn't stop laughing!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Be warned that the 'happy hormones' I had after giving birth made me obsessed about getting pregnant immediatly. It was like I could feel the hormones leaving my body and the only way according to me to keep levels up was to get pregnant again!!

So dont aggree to anything for atleast 3 months after, when your mind is pretty much back to normal.

This coming from me, the girl who will have 16 months between her 2 babies!!

• Administrators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,947 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Neyite

Tigeress wrote: »
    Do you know how to unblock them by any chance?

Click on your Username
    Go to User CP
    Go to Edit Options
    Scroll down to tick box that says enable Private Messaging & tick.
    Save.

wmpdd3 wrote: »
    Be warned that the 'happy hormones' I had after giving birth made me obsessed about getting pregnant immediatly. It was like I could feel the hormones leaving my body and the only way according to me to keep levels up was to get pregnant again!!

So dont aggree to anything for atleast 3 months after, when your mind is pretty much back to normal.

This coming from me, the girl who will have 16 months between her 2 babies!!

Yeah I know it's dangerous cos I feel so great (way better than before I was pregnant) so I can see how I would like that to last! Have to wait til I'm thinking rationally!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

Yeah...... maybe 3 months is a bit of a stretch to think you'll be thinking rationally!!

I really am getting ratty, I can feel myself throwing filthy looks at people when they say things I dont want to hear. Its involuntary, I just cant help it.

Still have a dull ache in the front of the bump since the pretend contractions the other night, odd.

2 weeks left in work from tomorrow. Thank flip.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Hiya!

I am 15+4 today. I have an is-she-or-is'nt-she type of bump still. In the evenings it looks like a proper baby bump but during the day, only if I am already maybe bloated and its pushing baby out to the front (nobody puts baby in the corner lol!) Since I am kinda showing, I am pretty much "out" of the pregnancy closet.

I told my supervisor at work today and she was really really happy for me. So now I can let it all hang out.

Does anyone else find their belly really rubbable? I love rubbing mine and OH loves it too.

I'm only 5 weeks so not "showing" but I already have a little pot belly from bloating & general layer of fat on my tummy :o and I'm already rubbing. OH keeps catching me doing it & laughs.

Even before I got preg if I had a chinese or other big meal, I literally look 4-5 months pregnant, seriously it's unreal. I don't think I'm every going to be sure if I have a baby bump rather than a food-baby until I'm like 8 months gone.

I'll be around 3 months when get back to work after Christmas/ New Years break and I'm sure everyone's going to be thinking "jaysus are you sure you had enough pudding & mince pies?"

• Registered Users Posts: 862 ✭✭✭red fraggle

I really am getting ratty, I can feel myself throwing filthy looks at people when they say things I dont want to hear. Its involuntary, I just cant help it.

i am the very same but ppl dont even have to say anything. it can be the way they look at me or someone else or just how they look themselves. i almost feel like giving out to them even though they havnt done anything. its very wierd! im never like this or judgemental but ive ben really bad the last few weeks!!

2 weeks left in work from tomorrow. Thank flip.[/QUOTE]

ive 3 weeks left in work from last fri then a month off to relax before baby arrives. cant wait!:D

i am the very same but ppl dont even have to say anything. it can be the way they look at me or someone else or just how they look themselves. i almost feel like giving out to them even though they havnt done anything. its very wierd! im never like this or judgemental but ive ben really bad the last few weeks!!

2 weeks left in work from tomorrow. Thank flip.

ive 3 weeks left in work from last fri then a month off to relax before baby arrives. cant wait!:D[/QUOTE]

this didnt really post right for me?:confused:

dublinlady wrote: »
    Belly rubbing is becoming such a habit!! I used to wonder why pregnant women did it so much! I can totally see why now! Sometimes i just notice my hand there as it seems rude not to respond to the kicks!! I kind of rub to say - yes baba its ok - i know your in there!!!:D:D
    I still get total bump envy...im 27&1/2 weeks and see my self as small for so far along - i think i always thought id be huge by this stage and im really just not! I have a very definite and unmistakable bump but i dont think the size of it justifies the waddling im having to do to get around and how hard it is to get off the couch!! :D:D
    I do lovemy tum..... i cant wait to meet her! Cant wait for the cuddles :)

im the same love rubbing my bump and its like i have to when there is movement. i def have a bump but think i should be bigger. im into my 34th week now :eek:. still get the oh but ur so tidy/small!! :mad: ppl who know me think im hugwe tho which makes me happy!! cant wait to meet this little baby who has been sticking all sorts of body parts out out through my belly!!!:D

Click on your Username
    Go to User CP
    Go to Edit Options
    Scroll down to tick box that says enable Private Messaging & tick.
    Save.

Thanks Neyite, I have fixed this now :-)

36 weeks today ladies :-D cant believe I'm on the final 4 week countdown already eek! I haven't been sleeping for months now but its getting worse by the day.. I usually could get anything from an hour to 2 hours before waking up in some sort of agony or needing to pee but now I'm lucky to get a half an hour.. To say I'm wrecked is a complete understatement... It seems my bump is growing by the day :) I love it!
    Anyone else burning up at the mo? Honestly I feel so warm all the time its crazy! I can't sleep under a duvet & my OH wakes up during the night & keeps putting covers over me cause he thinks I'm cold & then I end up awake for aggeessss cause I'm over heated.. I'm usually a cold person so this warmth is really weird lol, I'm gonna be an iceikle when this baby comes out lol!

Does anyone know what the best week to go get measured and buy Nursing Bra's is? I got a big growth spurth weeks ago and had to get measured and buy bra's then & they still fit perfect so I'm not sure if I should buy some in the size I am now or wait another week or 2? But then if I go early I don't want to not have any :o any advise?

Welcome to the pregnancy form Mink! Congratulations :) wishing you a happy & healthy pregnancy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Tigeress wrote: »
    36 weeks today ladies :-D cant believe I'm on the final 4 week countdown already eek! I haven't been sleeping for months now but its getting worse by the day.. I usually could get anything from an hour to 2 hours before waking up in some sort of agony or needing to pee but now I'm lucky to get a half an hour.. To say I'm wrecked is a complete understatement... It seems my bump is growing by the day :) I love it!
    Anyone else burning up at the mo? Honestly I feel so warm all the time its crazy! I can't sleep under a duvet & my OH wakes up during the night & keeps putting covers over me cause he thinks I'm cold & then I end up awake for aggeessss cause I'm over heated.. I'm usually a cold person so this warmth is really weird lol, I'm gonna be an iceikle when this baby comes out lol!

Does anyone know what the best week to go get measured and buy Nursing Bra's is? I got a big growth spurth weeks ago and had to get measured and buy bra's then & they still fit perfect so I'm not sure if I should buy some in the size I am now or wait another week or 2? But then if I go early I don't want to not have any :o any advise?

Welcome to the pregnancy form Mink! Congratulations :) wishing you a happy & healthy pregnancy!

Hee hee bringing back memories, I BOILED all throughout my pregnancy. even in the freezing Jan we had last year I was on FIRE!

You will freeze when the baby arrives, I was freezing all Summer ;)

Thanks Singing! Makes me feel better about turning into an icicle in a few weeks :-p

• Registered Users Posts: 135 ✭✭Quins5

Hi ladies,

well Im with you tigeress, the heat is unreal! My poor husband is being frozen out of it, iv the window open in the bedroom and I cant bring myself to wear a coat!

Room is almost ready and Ive the bag packed......

Starting week 35 this week Yay!

x

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Thank god, the heat thing is not just me!
    I'm about 7 weeks and for the last couple of weeks I've been the one turning the heating off, not wanting to light the fire at night. Which is the complete opposite of me normally.
    I even woke up in the middle of the night, last night, sweating.

This is the first time in about 24 hours that my tummy actually feels settled. It's gonna be a long week in work again, but have a couple of days off then so I'm looking forward to chilling out and relaxing!

Quins5 wrote: »
    Hi ladies,

well Im with you tigeress, the heat is unreal! My poor husband is being frozen out of it, iv the window open in the bedroom and I cant bring myself to wear a coat!

x

Yey for week 35 Quin! It's flying through ;-)
    My OH does be freezing but I can't handle the heating on! Were you saying you were measuring ahead of your dates recently?! Have your dates been changed?

Welcome aboard Kildareash! Congratulations :-)

Quins5 wrote: »
    Hi ladies,

x

Yey for week 35 Quin! It's flying through ;-)
    My OH does be freezing but I can't handle the heating on! Were you saying you were measuring ahead of your dates recently?! Have your dates been changed?

Welcome aboard Kildareash! Congratulations :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

any news from anyone?

40+4 here, and I really, really don't want to anymore. So sick of waiting for something to happen! ;-( (I should post in the moan thread, maybe...;-))

It's boiling hot, I'm the size of a beached whale, everything hurts, and it seems that the little blighter is WAY too comfy in his/her current lodgings, interfering with my carefully planned schedule (grandparents coming over, hubby's holidays, etcetc). meh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Galah sending your baby eviction vibes, hopefully he/she will get the hint and get out soon :)

Any word on Cunning? Hopefully she's had her baby by now!

I wish I was feeling the heat like some of you ladies, I was absolutely freezing today!

Congrats Kildareash, hopefully your morning sickness wont last too long.

Mink great to see you join us too :) I'm sporting that 'who ate all the pies' look already :D
    If I wear something tight (doesn't happen!) its obvious its a preggie bump, but in my usual clothes/work uniform I just look like a chunky monkey :o

Red fraggle, you lucky thing finishing up soon, wouldn't mind a week or two off myself :)

Tigeress at least you're used to the lack of sleep so the first few weeks will be a piece of cake for you!

I definitely agree with ye about those 'happy hormones' after you have baby. I was desperate to get pregnant again the minute I had my daughter!
    You'd think after going through 40+ weeks, the labour & lack of sleep the first few weeks that having another baby would be the last thing on your mind!

I'm looking forward to feeling 'proper' kicks and don't think they're too far off. Up til now baba has been staying down very low and only fluttering around at bed time.
    However now my tum is expanding I'm starting to feel kicks up higher.
    I love those tummy rumbling kicks where it looks like baby is going to go all 'Alien' and bust out :D used to freak out my sister when I showed her!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

it's not good news I'm afraid.
    I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl on Saturday morning, but it was a difficult labour near the end and she was stuck and stressed.
    She didn't live long after they got her out. Doctors are baffled as to why she left us, and we have to wait for examination results - but personally we both think the birth was just too stressful for her.
    We will always remember the minute or so where she was alive on my chest. She will be with us forever.

I want you all to know what happened in my case was rare. I wish you all the best with your pregnancies. You will all be fine!

Cunning xx

• Registered Users Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Cunning I am so terribly sorry for your loss, wish I could give you a hug right now.
    No woman should ever have to go through what you did.
    I hope you and your partner get through this difficult time.

My sincere condolences x