Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Reporting posts to mods.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,317 ✭✭✭✭Esel

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Betcha the OP replies to this thread at some stage........
    No I won't!

Oops! :eek:

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

tCN, take over AH?? Never...........................

edit: gotta love the random craziness in both though

This next one is great because it's in german.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Teh cats!

(is it me or is feedback getting crazy too?)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

Sorry if my "I won't be replying" seemed childish. That was not my intention, rather, I knew I was going to bed shortly after a long day, and that I would be too busy to post on what is now yesterday. I assumed that the thread might be a page down by the time I got the chance and didn't feel like bumping it.

As for what the mods should do about AH:

1. Take down the charter if it's not going to be upheld. I'm an old hand at the internet, I read the charter before I post. To that end, I was expecting something a bit different when the replies started coming in.

2. If the charter is to stay, enforce it. It's not fair for those who come in, read it, post and then when they get replies like "your husband is a pussy who should have beat the crap out of them" take issue, only to be ridiculed for not knowing that AH is known for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,317 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Agree on AH - it's gone to the dogs. I think the charter rules should be enforced or changed. Too many total muppets bumping their postcount.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Every 3 weeks or so, there's a thread about how AH has become a cesspit. So the AH mods change their tac. And three weeks later, "What has happened to AH recently, it's become crap!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

seamus wrote: »
    Every 3 weeks or so, there's a thread about how AH has become a cesspit. So the AH mods change their tac. And three weeks later, "What has happened to AH recently, it's become crap!".

Perhaps the AH charter should have a warning like food packaging.

Warning: may contain nuts

• Registered Users Posts: 27,645 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Xiney wrote: »
    It's not fair for those who come in, read it, post and then when they get replies like "your husband is a pussy who should have beat the crap out of them" take issue, only to be ridiculed for not knowing that AH is known for that.

It's a valid opinion though. You might not like it or agree with it, but it is a common enough way of looking at the world tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Even an idiot is entitled to an opinion.

The charter is more of a guidebook than a rulebook.

Although, I am curious: what 'rules' were broken exactly?

nesf wrote: »
    It's a valid opinion though. You might not like it or agree with it, but it is a common enough way of looking at the world tbh.

I was not aware that name calling fell under the description of "valid opinion".

It's more inarticulate describing than name-calling (Context considered)

I was not aware that name calling fell under the description of "valid opinion".

If I said your husband/partner failed their duty and should be ashamed of themselves for not having defended your honour or person, I'd be expressing the same opinion pretty much. I'd just get slated by all the feminists. :p

Name calling and ad hominem attacks take away from a statement, but the point can be valid nonetheless. We stop it going too far but if you're too sensitive to deal with your partner being called a pussy there are other forums that you most likely will prefer, like Humanities.

Humanities is for pussies. Fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

DeVore wrote: »
    I like where tCN and AH have gone. Why people think they are similar is beyond me. tCN is for surreality and silliness and Amp mods it excellently in all fairness. Probably because he's fairly surreal and silly himself at the best of times :)

AH is as real as it gets, where Boards and the great unwashed public crash into contact with each other.

Stop and think a moment about what you want us to actually DO.

These people exist, we're not making up accounts to go around having a go an unsuspecting people like the OP. Those people believe those opinions. I'm very sorry if they offend but consider what you are requesting:

Are you asking us to change the Irish public so there are less rude people in it?

or

Are you asking us to shield you from the truth (that there are a lot of yobs and rude people out there) and create an unreal coccoon?

Will stopping these people's ability to post alter their opinions and beliefs?

AH runs the gauntlet of allowing unvarnished, unfettered communication while attempting to keep the place from turning into a charnal house of bad taste. Its a tight rope walk which is why they are hearing cries of "Moderate more" along with "You are fascist bastards!". People are falling off both sides of the tightrope but it would seem like the 80% I have spoken about before are more or less happy.

As I have pointed out, Humanities might be more you style OP.

DeV.
    Nail on the head.

We try to give the majority of people what they want.

Membership of boards.ie has risen by tens of thousands in the past three years and quite a lot of those members end up in AH.
    Higher broadband availibility in Ireland has also lead to increased usage.

Most of the people who regularly post in AH follow the rules and are quite happy to abide by them. Sometimes people cross the line, but they are dealt with.

AH may not be the same as it was three years ago, but times change.
    The Celtic tiger is on his way out and this is leading to more and more people being frustrated with how the country is changing.
    Roughly 10% of the population are immigrants and for some people this is not a good thing. These people fear change.
    These things lead to more and more aggressive posting, but like DeVore said, you cannot change the views of other people.
    Because of things like this, we get threads with people ranting about everyone and everything.

They don't like the government.
    They don't like [insert nationality here] and their customs.
    They pretty much don't like anything and they use AH to vent their frustrations about these things.

It's all good, so long as they obey the rules.
    Karoma wrote:
    Speak for yourself; I register alternative accounts to abuse people on an hourly basis. It gets me through the day.
    I'll stop though; you may lock the Terry account now.
    Back to thought-control duties...
    Stop talking to yourself.
    DeVore wrote:
    Terry banned.

I thought it was an Alisa script? Learn something new every day...

DeV.
    Wait. What?

I googled "Alisa Script". It led me to what I believe to be a dodgy site. :(
    Karoma wrote:
    They will not win.
    My great grandmother didn't die in Flanders so that these people can invade our domain.
    Xiney wrote:
    As for what the mods should do about AH:

1. Take down the charter if it's not going to be upheld. I'm an old hand at the internet, I read the charter before I post. To that end, I was expecting something a bit different when the replies started coming in.
    The charter is being upheld.
    You reported the offending post and the user in question recieved a warning under the new infraction system.
    The charter needs to be updated to include details of this, but we are still working out the kinks and trying to decide how many warnings or infractions will constitute a ban. There are other things to be worked out in regards to this system, but it shouldn't take more than a few days.

As it stands, only mods can see that a person has been given a warning or infraction, so pointing out in that thread that the person has been warned is the only option available to us to show others that action has been taken.

If there are any specific rules you feel are not being upheld, please point them out and we will take action.
    2. If the charter is to stay, enforce it. It's not fair for those who come in, read it, post and then when they get replies like "your husband is a pussy who should have beat the crap out of them" take issue, only to be ridiculed for not knowing that AH is known for that.
    As an old hand at the internet, you should already know that there will always be someone who things they are being funny by trying to ridicule others for not knowing how a particular forum is run. You will then get someone else trying to out-funny them and so on and so forth.

This is a regular occurance in AH.
    We try our best to put a stop to it, but most of the time (as in your thread) it's mostly just harmless ribbing.

AH also goes through phases.
    One week we get threads about bodily functions. The next week it's threads about Roma gypsies and the week after that it's inaccuracies in movies and tv.

It is constantly changing as more and more people find their way there and we try to keep up with these changes by changing certain rules in the charter or adding more to it.
    esel wrote:
    Agree on AH - it's gone to the dogs. I think the charter rules should be enforced or changed. Too many total muppets bumping their postcount.
    Again, feel free to point out any flaws in how we moderate and we will be happy to address them.
    Marksie wrote:
    Perhaps the AH charter should have a warning like food packaging.

Warning: may contain nuts
    Says the PI mod. :D

Not a bad idea, but it would probably just encourage more trolling.
    Xiney wrote:
    Is your husband a member of boards.ie?
    If so, we will take to task the user who called him a pussy.

Damn. That was a long reply.
    I'll be back as soon as I free myself of this Couric and get some more cigarettes.

Karoma wrote: »
    It's more inarticulate describing than name-calling (Context considered)
    If I said your husband/partner failed their duty and should be ashamed of themselves for not having defended your honour or person, I'd be expressing the same opinion pretty much. I'd just get slated by all the feminists. :p

Name calling and ad hominem attacks take away from a statement, but the point can be valid nonetheless. We stop it going too far but if you're too sensitive to deal with your partner being called a pussy there are other forums that you most likely will prefer, like Humanities.

See, this is diversity at its best.

Three of us replied with differing views.
    This is one of the good things about AH. That is, it's a melting pot with people of different backgrounds with different views on how it is and should be run.

Giblet, Tar, WWM and Monty would also give completely different answers, but in the end the place runs fine for most of the time.

Earlier today we had some porn spam.
    Two people reported it straight away and the thread was deleted.
    That's user interaction and mods being there when they are needed.

Re: Diversity
    Uh...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,169 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Diversity is great, as long as everyone is white.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Bollixs to that tbh, partners defend each other's honour and then there is the honour of the couple to be considered as well and that is far from a new concept in this country.

Karoma wrote: »
    Re: Diversity
    Uh...
    Leave me alone. It was the best word I could think of at the time.
    I was up drinking until 6am.
    Thaedydal wrote: »
    Bollixs to that tbh, partners defend each other's honour and then there is the honour of the couple to be considered as well and that is far from a new concept in this country.

nesf, run while you still can. :)

Thaedydal wrote: »

See what I mean. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Terry wrote: »
    Says the PI mod. :D

Not a bad idea, but it would probably just encourage more trolling.

:D. Ours are of one variety.

IN the interest of diversity. AH should say
    Warning: contains mixed nuts

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

tbh, i think the OP got a bit of a raw deal in in thir post on the sligo guards, but then, seeing the type of posts that have gone on in AH, and this is based on my own observations, its not always the best place for serious discusion, lookng at my own post count i'm still relativly new to boards.ie, i'm still geting used to the diferent posters personalites, still getting used and learning to where differnet posts, you may get more exposure on your subject in AH, but then you have to take maybe understand that your not going to get like minded replys

as for reporting said posts, alot of the issues that i have experienced with different forums, that words dont paint a full picture of peoples emotions and the point they are trying to make, and it can be very easy to misinturbite something

the week end was propbably the first time i have every had to report a member or a post, on all the forums i use, i have in the past have discussuins re other memebers with mods on other forums, and totaling probably close to 4000 posts, in all the forums i use, this is a statistic i'm quite happy with

its not that i dont like reporting posts, its just that i would rather ignore them, becuase unless flaming or being personaly abuseive, its just words on a screen

:cool:

Is your husband a member of boards.ie?

Why should it matter if he's registered here or not? I didn't make known his username but a member of boards.ie or not the name calling was inappropriate.

This is really what I'm talking about, here: be consistent. If it's not ok to call my husband a name, it should not be ok whether or not he's got an internet handle.

I hate how complaining about anything just causes others to try to make it look like you become outraged at the littlest thing.

irish-stew wrote: »
    tbh, i think the OP got a bit of a raw deal in in thir post on the sligo guards, but then, seeing the type of posts that have gone on in AH, and this is based on my own observations

There is a general acceptance that AH is not the place to post threads where you're looking for serious discussion. A cursory glance at the forum would tell you as much. Where the tension exists is this, an internet forum is not a blog, in a blog entry you can delete comments and generally control the discussion, when you post a thread on a forum you automatically lose any control over its direction and future content.

The OP is annoyed because instead of becoming a thread praising the gardaí it became a thread where people mocked her boyfriend for not standing up for her. The thing is, the thread will develop pretty much independently of her preferences and all we as moderators should be doing (in my opinion) is just keeping it within the very broad boundaries that apply within AH. Outside of exceptional circumstances (i.e. times like where there's a thread mocking someone who died recently on AH and someone related to them want it removed) I don't think I should ever intervene in a thread simply because the original poster doesn't like the direction it's gone in.

One of the better things about this site (in my opinion) is the broad selection of forums that cater to different needs and expectations. If all forums were moderated exactly the same way the site would be more bland.
    I hate how complaining about anything just causes others to try to make it look like you become outraged at the littlest thing.

Within the context of the specific forum in question you are becoming outraged at the littlest thing. In the context of the Humanities forum your complaint would be valid since posters are held to a different standard there. What you don't seem to appreciate is that different forums on here do play by different rules and by different interpretations of the rules. The AH charter is there as a set of general guidelines but they are not hard and fast rules for the most part and the context of the situation plays a big role in how they are enforced.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Firstly, I dont think you are over reacting. I dont think you are entirely right, or looking at it in the correct light but I for one welcome this kind of feedback. Also you have garnered reasonable (and diverse) responses from three mods and one admin. So, you are being taken seriously.

Secondly you posted the OP for responses and opinions (thats the only reason I can think of to do that!). You got them, though they were not entirely of the kind you were expecting/wanting.

You DID get quite a number of supportive responses and also quite a number of people posting chiding the "you're husband is a pussy" rubbish.
    There has been an ebb and flow from a wide spectrum of opinion. Apart from the "pussy" comment, which I think probably should have been cut (its a borderline case imho though), you stirred up genuine comment and response. AH can be quite juvenile at times so some of those responses were juvenile but all the same the topic was discussed and produced some interesting responses. Perhaps not as widely supportive of your position but one sided discussions are bland and boring imho.

Two outcomes:
    1. I think you would find Humanities a better spot in future.
    2. You are now more aware of the general make up of the Irish public and the breadth of their opinions on such topics.

Its all good. For the record, I think your husband was mature and sensible. Its also good to hear the cops are still interested in doing their jobs, at least in Sligo. If that were Dublin they would still be laughing at the request...

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

Wait. What?

I googled "Alisa Script". It led me to what I believe to be a dodgy site. :(
    I think he meant ELIZA.

Talliesin wrote: »
    I think he meant ELIZA.
    Why would he compare me to that?