Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PSNI at it again!

• 16-10-2007 4:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 45

45 cops quit to dodge probes

Photo: Hugh Orde

PSNI Chief Constable Hugh Orde has been challenged by Sinn Féin to explain why 45 PSNI officers have been allowed to escape punishment for a range of criminal offences - including downloading child pornography - by taking early retirement.
    The Policing Board has been told that 11 PSNI officers have been sacked in the past 12 months for various offences. But another 45 have got away with their pensions by taking early retirement.
    Offences include assault, unauthorised discharging of weapons, loss of a firearm, theft, drink-driving and fraud.
    Sinn Féin Policing Board member Martina Anderson said officers have been allowed to evade investigation or prosecution. She added:
    “It also a concern that, by taking early retirement, these officers are not obliged to co-operate with any Police Ombudsman investigation.”
    Articles may not be reproduced without the consent of An Phoblacht. For further information, please contact editor@anphoblacht.com

Article taken from www.anphoblacht.com

I think this is another example of the corruption that is rotting the core of this island.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭Jackie laughlin

For once I agree with SF/IRA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

shocking. this sort of thing should be the sole privilage of high court judges only:rolleyes:

Serioulsy, If people break the law, they shold face the consequences, moreso if they are an official who is meant to uphold the law.

I can't help feeling though, if it gets rid of the dross in the PSNI then it can't be all bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

cranmore and you're opinion on this is what? Its in the charter for this forum that you don't quote or link to articles without adding some of your own opinion. I will close this discussion later if you do not add your opinion.

Changed the thread title as it was inaccurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Mick86

Simply leaving the PSNI would not get them off the hook surely. They are still subject to prosecution. I would be inclined to take the allegations more seriously if the source wasn't An Phoblacht.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

Mick86 wrote: »
    Simply leaving the PSNI would not get them off the hook surely. They are still subject to prosecution.

I was thinking the same thing.

I'm not sure how they would escape a criminal charge by simply retiring. I can understand how someone can escape an internal discipline hearing, but not a criminal charge.

Where is the original article?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Wicknight wrote: »
    Where is the original article?

editorials

http://www.anphoblacht.com/news/detail/21062

I hate this type of crap. if they broke the law they should be convicted, what kind of message does this send out?

then again, this is being reported on anphoblacht... hmmm....

• Registered Users Posts: 78,423 ✭✭✭✭Victor

cranmore wrote: »
    PSNI Chief Constable Hugh Orde has been challenged by Sinn Féin to explain why 45 PSNI officers have been allowed to escape punishment for a range of criminal offences - including downloading child pornography - by taking early retirement.
    The wording is slightly selective. They are escaping internal disciplinary punishment, but are still subject to prosecution.

OP added their opinion, thread reopened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Mick86 wrote: »
    Simply leaving the PSNI would not get them off the hook surely. They are still subject to prosecution. I would be inclined to take the allegations more seriously if the source wasn't An Phoblacht.
    I think the reality is that nothing will be followed up on in a court of law. The PSNI are not reknowned for washing their dirty linen in public. No charges will ever be brought. Who is going to investigate them? Their comrades? I don't think so.

If there are no investigations then the incidents never took place did they? There's a lot of vested interests, both North and South, intent on making the PSNI an acceptable police force and anything that puts them in a bad light is going to get a quick coat of whitewash.

As for the source, isn't it a pity none of the major newspapers picked up on the story. It would make you wonder why? Political pressure perhaps? There must be truth in the story or legal action would be pending against An Phoblacht. I'm sure there are many who would welcome such an action as a legal way to shut up the voice of the Nationalist community in N.Ireland.

Hagar wrote: »
    I think the reality is that nothing will be followed up on in a court of law. The PSNI are not reknowned for washing their dirty linen in public. No charges will ever be brought. Who is going to investigate them? Their comrades? I don't think so.

I think that will depend on how this is spun. There is an eagerness to show that things have changed and the PSNI are not the RUC, so if it is the PSNI washing the RUC's dirty laundry in public then i think it may well happen.

There's alot of spin all right. I think there is an eagerness to make it appear that things have changed even if they haven't. I suppose there is a genuine hope that change is coming but a lot of people doubt that there has been any real change as yet. By and large they are still the same people with the same personal beliefs that served them well as members of the RUC. Only the trappings of power have changed. On the ground it's business as usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 838 ✭✭✭purple'n'gold

Help me out here, and please correct me if I’m wrong. Policemen in northern Ireland caught downloading child pornography can escape prosecution by resigning from the force?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭McArmalite

Serioulsy, If people break the law, they shold face the consequences, moreso if they are an official who is meant to uphold the law.

Will that include the hundreds of murders carried out by the brits during the troubles, and the God knows how many attrocities they are carrying out in Iraq and Afghanistan at the moment ?

Or will it be like what they did during the 25 years of the troubles when after almost every single murder we had a british secretary of state or army spokesperson coming on TV to say something like - " This is an internal matter for the army.......a full investigation has been carried out and the army sees no point in further investigation or discussion".

Still, we know who gave the unoffical justice to the brits ;)

So have any reliable sources reported this or is it just the Chuckie News Network?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

McArmalite wrote: »
    Or will it be like what they did during the 25 years of the troubles when after almost every single murder we had a british secretary of state or army spokesperson coming on TV to say something like - " This is an internal matter for the army.......a full investigation has been carried out and the army sees no point in further investigation or discussion". "Republicans cannot commit crimes. Casualties are to be expected."
    Changed that a bit for you.

gandalf wrote: »
    Chuckie News Network?
    So that's what CNN stands for, I might use that again. :D

The test facing the PSNI is to establish itself as an independent, non-political police force which will tolerate no interference in the enforcement of the law and the prosecution of all offenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Mick86

Hagar wrote: »

If the victims report the incidents to the PSNI then they will have to be investigated. Between the Ombudsman, the PSNI authorities and the Policing boards it should be possible to ensure that the allegations are investigated properly. The PSNI must be the most supervised police force in the world. Quite frankily I don't see how this sort of thing can be brushed under the carpet.

Will that include the hundreds of murders carried out by the brits during the troubles,
    yes it does and I believe the process has already started. I also believe there are a significant number of "Loyalist" murderers who have done their time in prison.
    and the God knows how many attrocities they are carrying out in Iraq and Afghanistan at the moment ?
    They aren't. Unless you have some enlightening news for us. With a link to back up your claims and an explanation as to why you raise that on a thread about the PSNI, or are they in Iraq and Afghanistan and therefore relevant to this thread.
    Still, we know who gave the unoffical justice to the brits ;)
    and we all know who made themselves Judge and Jury:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 cranmore

gandalf wrote: »
    cranmore and you're opinion on this is what? Its in the charter for this forum that you don't quote or link to articles without adding some of your own opinion. I will close this discussion later if you do not add your opinion.

Changed the thread title as it was inaccurate.

sorry mate, i know its no excuse 2 say i'm new, but i'll know 4 the next time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 cranmore

The test facing the PSNI is to establish itself as an independent, non-political police force which will tolerate no interference in the enforcement of the law and the prosecution of all offenders.

That'll be the day!:rolleyes:

The structures under which the PNSI now operate are a test for other police forces including our own. Those structures are impressively democratic. I hope they work and I hope we copy them.

Ibid wrote: »
    Changed that a bit for you.

"Republicans cannot commit crimes. Casualties are to be expected."

Well firstly SF or the IRA weren't allowed on TV or radio for most of the conflict to state anything under Section 31, unlike the british forces and their political wings - the Tory and british Labour Party etc. Though I support them, I label myself as an independent Republican, I define my support as " Critical support". I have stated in other postings that the IRA did some terrible, horrible, unjustified crimes. I cannot blame anyone for been angry with cliches of regretful civilain causualities etc. But ofcourse with peace lovers and apologists for british murder, anger with cliches wouldn't be applied to british atrocity's will it ???

As usual an apologist has to try and sideline any criticism of britain with - the IRA [ I presume that's the 'baddie IRA' (1922- ) and not the 'goodie' IRA (1916 - 1921 ], did this, the IRA did that, the IRA did the other. There you have folks, even though the birtish have and will carry out vastly greater atrocity's throughout the world, even just since WW2, it can be excused with - ' the did this, the IRA did that, the IRA did the other.' As my signature states " And then the British govt. and their apologists, pontificate about International Terrorism ???? "

McA,
    You have argued with me in the past and accused me time and again of being soft on British crimes. You seem to assume that everyone who condemns SF/IRA murder, condones British murder. That's simply not true.

Moreover, I and many others do not distinguish between the "old" IRA and the provos. The "good, old IRA" is a state created myth, which turned bloody mayhem into heroics and may have motivated to violence young people who were encouraged to admire the likes of Pearse, Collins etc.

McA,
    You have argued with me in the past and accused me time and again of being soft on British crimes. You seem to assume that everyone who condemns SF/IRA murder, condones British murder. That's simply not true.

Moreover, I and many others do not distinguish between the "old" IRA and the provos. The "good, old IRA" is a state created myth, which turned bloody mayhem into heroics and may have motivated to violence young people who were encouraged to admire the likes of Pearse, Collins etc.

So, is there any circunstances that people, not just in Ireland, anywhere, have a legitimate right to take up arms against a foreign oppressor ? I'm not trying to 'catch you out' or be argumentative, but do you just not believe in armed resistance ?

Well,the cirumstances in the North after the late 70's didn't merit it anyway as most of the people in the island were dead set against it.
    There may have been some support at the early stages of the troubles especially when the stormont government were acting the maggot with voting and housing and combined with bloody sunday etc.

In my own logic,I have a rule of thumb-if the vast majority are against taking up arms,then you don't take up arms.

As for 2007,the question is moot as there is no likelyhood at all of any circumstances arising that would lead to a repeat of the troubles and I am certain of that.
    Most people want to get on with their lives now and up North vote for parties that support a united Ireland if thats what they want.

As for this talk of "armed resistance" and "foreign oppressors"-the simple fact of the matter today is that probably 95%+ of the people of this island don't think of Britain that way anymore[otherwise they'd be voting for parties that do rather than parties that are implacably opposed to that viewpoint eg FG/FF/and labour who between them get 90% of the 26 county vote] so I'd suggest that the other 5% get on with life and accept that fact.

I don't think I'd have much of a problem with an armed rising in Burma,that would be understandable since there you have a brutal dictatorship-something we don't have on these islands.

Tristrame wrote: »
    Well,the cirumstances in the North after the late 70's didn't merit it anyway as most of the people in the island were dead set against it.
    There may have been some support at the early stages of the troubles especially when the stormont government were acting the maggot with voting and housing and combined with bloody sunday etc.

In my own logic,I have a rule of thumb-if the vast majority are against taking up arms,then you don't take up arms.

As for 2007,the question is moot as there is no likelyhood at all of any circumstances arising that would lead to a repeat of the troubles and I am certain of that.
    Most people want to get on with their lives now and up North vote for parties that support a united Ireland if thats what they want.

As for this talk of "armed resistance" and "foreign oppressors"-the simple fact of the matter today is that probably 95%+ of the people of this island don't think of Britain that way anymore[otherwise they'd be voting for parties that do rather than parties that are implacably opposed to that viewpoint eg FG/FF/and labour who between them get 90% of the 26 county vote] so I'd suggest that the other 5% get on with life and accept that fact.

I don't think I'd have much of a problem with an armed rising in Burma,that would be understandable since there you have a brutal dictatorship-something we don't have on these islands.

Well, you've made some good points, I'm just wondering Jackie's perspective on armed resistance. But " I have a rule of thumb-if the vast majority are against taking up arms,then you don't take up arms. ". 1916, the Fenians, 1803, 1798, - vast majority weren't taking up arms. Same in Nazi occupied Europe, Cuba, Nicuragua, Vietnam etc despite the propaganda of the resistance fighters against the Nazi's, whither it be France, Holland, Czechsolavkia etc, the vast majority of the people however they may personally have resented occupation, just got on with life. And how does a clandestine revolutionary movement gauge it's possible support, going around asking door to door ?

With the six counties, the nationalist birth rate will bring that to an end. True people don't wake up in the morning and say first thing to themselves - "Oh my God, part of the country is still occupied" ( nor neither did the vast majority in Nazi occupied Europe evidently).

By Godwins law you have just lost the arguement.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,022 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

So, is there any circunstances that people, not just in Ireland, anywhere, have a legitimate right to take up arms against a foreign oppressor ? I'm not trying to 'catch you out' or be argumentative, but do you just not believe in armed resistance ?
    SF only started to "do well" electorally once the campaign of violence ended. On both sides of the border. The people spoke by voting for republican parties who followed a policy of non-violent opposition to british rule in Ireland. The IRA didn't listen to what the people were saying and carried on regardless.

It was all 'militarily' pointless anyway. Northern Ireland is still part of the United Kingdom and indeed, SF sit in a UK regional assembly.

The PSNI are not perfect but I'd rather them than the Gardai to be honest. It strikes me as a much more professional outfit. There are many professional individuals in the guards, but the organisation as a whole needs serious reform. The PSNI are a radically changed outfit.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,201 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

murphaph wrote: »
    SF only started to "do well" electorally once the campaign of violence ended.

I would say it was after the 1981 hunger strikes. Do you think getting somebody elected to a parliament is failing to 'do well'?
    On both sides of the border. The people spoke by voting for republican parties who followed a policy of non-violent opposition to british rule in Ireland. The IRA didn't listen to what the people were saying and carried on regardless.

If the IRA listened to the non-violent opposition, it is doubtful there would have been an independent Ireland