Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to have a user specify file to be opened?

Options
  • 19-10-2007 5:36am
    Registered Users Posts: 31,730 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads, I have a query for yee!

Im building, and nearly finished a website that will allow users to upload videos and attach them to other videos.

Im a bit new to this so muddling my through it so far.
    One of the important features is that a user will upload an mpeg and a text file of the same name describing what their movie is about.
    Obviously before joining movies, one would like to view the parts, and read the description, so i Embedded a media player on the page which will play whatever path is in it, say;
    C:\Program Files\ApacheSoftwareFoundation\Apache2.2\htdocs\pcsvids\movie.mpg

this path is in the code for the media player and thus inaccessible to change for the average user coming in. What I want is for the user to just be able to type the name of the file they want to view into a text box like "movie3.mpg"
    and that when they click a button, it would attach this movie name to the path
    C:\Program Files\Apache Software Foundation\Apache2.2\htdocs\pcsvids\
    so it would play that clip.

For the description im doing the same thing. im using PHP fopen() and fread() so that the contents of a specified text file are presented on the page. Same deal here, want the user to be able to type the "name.txt" into a textbox and have that name attached to the prefix in the code.

Any help or suggestions anyone could offer would be fantastic!

Thanks
    -Paul

P.S
    Was thinking of something like this, but, well, working..