Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Robbie Keane on the Late Late show

• 19-10-2007 9:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭

A lad on foot.ie said this earlier. It's just been confirmed by Pay Kenny that he'll be on to "defend his team after Wednesday". It would be interesting if it wasn't Pat Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Unearthly

How can you possibly defend that?

Hope they allow the audience to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Ok, somebodies gotta keep me updated, as I don't have RTE over here and want to see this :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Is he gonna be the first guest?

I have to go out and get smokes as soon as the Drogs Cork match is over, but I'll watch Robbie on the LL and post minute by minute updates for you PHB :)

He's on now

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

says the fans who booed were influenced by the media and that both the booing and media recently affected the team.

young players felt like they had a huge weight on their shoulders.

DesF wrote: »
    I'll watch Robbie on the LL and post minute by minute updates for you PHB :)

Great :) I never realised how much I missed RTE until I moved to this feckin city

Where do you live?

He says he doesn't miss chances for the craic.

A young lad says he doesn't enjoy playing for Ireland.

Robbie won't name him.

Robbie: one of the young lads in the dressing room said to him he no longer enjoys coming over from england for internationals

"we havent seen enough of bobby"

now they are taking questions

I'm in London for a year doing a masters. Ha, I love Robbie :) You always think when you see him on TV that he might be saying, 'sell ya a car? got one around the corner'

We need to stick together as a unit, as a nation.

At the end of the day it's the players fault, we support Stan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

boo hoo people are mean to us :*( we play like rubbish but you should always support us no matter how much of an embarasment we are :*( you should all be happy to spend 70euro to see this tripe :*( stan is teh awesome!

etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭Illkillya

Robbie Keane completely misses the point, very disappointing.

Audience asking Qs now.

Bearded man. Managers are hard done by. Stan bad decision

Older woman. The media said we'd be lucky to finish third. Seemingly she played for Ireland. No-one goes out to play badly.

Ask Robbie what he thought of the RTE panel. He said he didn't see it.

Pat tells him they all said Stan should go.

Pat asks the audience who thinks Stan should go. Majority say he should go.

People want Stan to stay :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Ah, ya gotta respect that loyalty to Stan. At least he hasn't lost the dressing room.

Media criticism isn't good for younger players.

Stick together as a nation, get behind players.Stan and people asscoiated with football.

End of interview.

Music from Wee Daniel.

OOOh, I'm not going to the pub.

Wow, that was a bit of a waste wasn't it :) cheers for the updates anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Pat should of had the balls to ask if Stan goes, would Robbie go too, or perhaps he could coax your man Robbie Keane who plays for Spurs in England to play for us, he's half decent so he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,082 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I dunno, its not like the captain can come out and actually say "yeah, he sucks balls, he's awful. Hate him."

Im sure if Robbie could have a say in secret, he'd prefer to work with a professional with experience, as id imagine any football man would.

We need to stick together as a unit, as a nation.

At the end of the day it's the players fault, we support Stan.

thats pretty much how he finished it.

dont think many people will agree with what he said although it is worrying cos he did ention how young Irish players are not enjoying playing for Ireland right now and that they are easily affected by the media / public reaction to them, wether that will change with the management i dont know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Even just going by the posts above and having not watched it my toes are curling.

Sack Eddie O'Sullivan

zabbo wrote: »
    Pat should of had the balls.
    :eek::eek::eek::D:D:D

Pat Kenny? Balls?

WTF?

anyone else really cringing at Daniel and that bird?

Great, Richard Hammond on now.

PHB wrote: »
    Wow, that was a bit of a waste wasn't it :) cheers for the updates anyway :)

Wee Daniel wore a nice grey suit, his ladyfriend a blue dress...

Oh...can I stop now?

The Hamster is on now.

At least it's not that other twit from Top Gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    anyone else really cringing at Daniel and that bird?

Why are you still watching?? :D

Daniel for manager maybe?
    He'd do the half time entertainment on the cheap.... flasks of tea instead of bottles of water on the sidelines... not sure about the motivational halftime talk though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Unearthly wrote: »
    People want Stan to stay :D:D:D:D:D:D:D
    All the women I think.

Crap interview. His intention was to go on and slate the media but didn't do a very good job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Well I dunno, maybe I'm being overly cynical but.... Bobbie being wheeled out after the first Cyprus debacle, and then Robbie after the second.
    And no sign of the Gaffer or Oscar Wilde??? Hmmm...

PHB wrote: »
    I'm in London for a year doing a masters.
    You must feel right at home among all the ManYoo fans in London, yeah ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Summarised as follows:

1) Flash suit.
    2) A watch the size of a dinner plate.
    3) He's an Ireland fan.
    4) Its all the media's fault.
    5) Players have broad shoulders but they are intimidated by the media, contradiction :confused:
    6) The younger players dont want to play for Ireland.
    7) Irish fans are sheep like following the media.

FFS ! He looked angry all the way thru but couldnt get the words out :p Don't know why he bothered doing it to be perfectly honest. If he thinks all is well then hes thicker than I have ever given him credit for or he's a grade A spoofer ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

"I don't miss chances for a laugh" - Very relevant quote. Keane tries 100% for Ireland, he puts in as much effort as anyone. The one thing I can't stand is people abusing a player for playing badly. The anger towards Keane at games is disgraceful. There's no anger towards Stan. What's the difference?

You must feel right at home among all the ManYoo fans in London, yeah ;)

Actually, it's pretty funny. I'm like two tube stops away from Arsenal (I'm in Holborn, dead center) and everytime I've gone out to watch a match, United has always been the primary team, and everybody else the second team. Even when Arsenal are playing, United were first, Arsenal second.

Lads, ever think he might be doing it because he actually believes what he is saying?

I know. to think we need the media leading us to be angry!

Im perfectly capable of getting angry at those performances all by myself thank you very much!

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    I know. to think we need the media leading us to be angry!

Im perfectly capable of getting angry at those performances all by myself thank you very much!

EXACTLY ! He was basically suggesting we're all clowns that just boo because the media had written negatively about the team and their performances ! Wouldnt have anything to do with the fact that the FAI stinks from the core, they instilled a lad who didnt have a breeze and that lack of experience manifested itself into pi** poor performances on the pitch over the last 2 years.

Robbie Keane is another FAI Yesman.

He'll probably be manager in a few years.

Robbie Keane is another FAI Yesman.

He'll probably be manager in a few years.

He'll also prob act surprised when Stan is announced as being off the payroll on Monday morning
    "The players didnt see it coming "
    "We were behind Stan from day 1"
    [Insert random insincere bullshoite statement here]

how i would have loved to be in that audience. they never would have let me speak though im sure i would have looked far too eager

The people who ask the questions on the LLS are plants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Whereas the host is a plank!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭irishpartyboy

Kenny is the most incompetent talk show host I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

To get an idea of the dynamic within the squad -

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/ireland-a-squad-divided-1199750.html
    All you have to do is watch the demeanour of Staunton and Keane at their frequently embarrassing pre-match press conferences. Watch as they sit side by side, with their arms folded, defensively poised. Sniggering at their own jokes, or the struggles of interpreters and questions from foreign sounding journalists. Not like manager and captain but as colleagues, as team-mates.

Mike.

When he was saying this is how we repay Stan for 100 caps for Ireland, I wanted to vommit.

Interview was sooooo false

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Kanney

Damn, just missed it. I like Robbie and Stan, but I feel sorry for Stan that he will be remembered for his management, and not his playing days fully.
    My opinion is he should go, and I've given him the benfit of the doubt until the last game. He should stay through till the end of the qualifiers anyway.

The people who ask the questions on the LLS are plants.

BIG TIME ! Did ya see the aul one who asked the question ? "Well Pat I play sports ...."

WTF? I've put a bandage on my leg love but I'm no doctor !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭d22ontour

It would take , no satellite/terrestrial tv , radio ,dvds , cds and almost an esb blackout for me to endure the late late show, i cringed when Gaybo hosted it because he always came across as a plank.Kenny makes me feel the same.Whens the toy show on ?

Dunno, but Kerry Katona is on now.

The size of her baps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

So reckon, the young player who doesn't like playing for Ireland, is Mr Steven Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Dunno, but Kerry Katona is on now.

The size of her baps.

Now you've got my attention.