Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Retr0gamers top 100 games EVAH!

• 22-10-2007 12:52am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Was a little bored tonight so decided to start putting together my top 100 games ever. I'll post all 100 games I've come up with in the post below. They aren't in order at the moment apart from the top 15 or so. I need people to tell me if there are any obvious gems that I have missed out on that should be in the list. I can't put on any games I haven't played yet so there is no System Shock 2, Deus Ex or lucas arts adventure games besides Monkey Island 1.

When I'm finished ordering them I'll post them up in the first post of this thread.

Feel free to tell me how brilliant my top 100 is. I am however more interested in people telling me how crap it is and why. Fire away people.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

1 panzer dragoon Saga
    2 Suikoden 2
    3 Super Metroid
    4 The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past
    5 Gradius V
    6 Super Mario Bros. 3
    7 Gunstar Heroes
    8 Final Fantasy VI
    9 Street Fighter 2 Turbo
    10 R-type
    11 MEtroid Prime
    12 Doom 2
    13 Half-Life

14 Sonic the Hedgehog 2
    15 Rocket Knight Adventures
    16 Xenogears
    17 Half-Life
    18 Final Fantasy VII
    19 Final Fantasy X
    20 Final Fantasy Tactics
    21 Grandia
    22 Soukyugurentia
    23 R-type Delta
    24 Radiant Silvergun
    25 Samurai Showdown 2
    26 Metal Slug 1
    27 Metal Slug 2
    28 Tie Fighter
    29 Starcraft
    30 Super Mario 64
    31 Tetris
    32 The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
    33 Super Mario World
    34 Super Mario Bros.
    33 Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
    34 Castlevania 3: Draculas Curse
    35 Metal Gear Solid
    36 Ico
    37 Chrono Trigger
    38 F-zero GX
    39 GTA Vice City
    40 Dragon Quest VIII
    41 Prince of Persia: Sands of Time
    42 Pokemon (original)
    43 Mechwarrior 2
    44 Advance WArs
    45 Fire Emblem
    46 Monkey Island
    47 Super Smash Bros. Melee
    48 Secret of Mana
    49 Odin Sphere
    50 Yoshi's ISland
    51 Osu! Tatake! Ouendan!
    52 Soul Calibur 2
    53 Virtua Fighter 5
    54 Resident Evil 4
    55 Resident Evil 2
    56 Devil May Cry 3
    57 God of War 2
    58 Ninja Gaiden
    59 Panzer Dragoon Orta
    60 Bubble Bobble
    61 Warcraft 2
    62 Tales of Symphonia
    63 The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons/Ages
    64 The Legend of Zelda: Minish Cap
    65 Contra: Hard Corps
    66 The Legend of Zelda: MAjoras Mask
    67 Bomberman (Saturn)
    68 Dodonpachi
    69 Parodius Forever with ME
    70 Shadow of the Colossus
    71 Einhander
    72 Megaman 2
    73 Lumines
    74 The Legend of Zedla: Twilight Princess
    75 Zone of the Enders: The Second Runner
    76 Final Fantasy IX
    77 Silent Hill 2
    78 Salamander
    79 Ikaruga
    80 Axelay
    81 Wipeout 2097
    82 Sega Rally
    83 Rez
    84 Outrun 2006 Coast 2 Coast
    85 Ghouls n' Ghosts
    86 Megaman 3
    87 Tomb Raider
    88 G Darius
    89 Streets of Rage 2
    90 Nights into Dreams
    91 Skies of Arcadia
    92 Robotron 2084
    93 Thunderforce 3
    94 Lemmings
    95 We Love Katamari
    96 Puzzle Bobble
    97 Puyo Puyo
    98 Super Mario Kart
    99 Revenge of Shinobi
    100 Vagrant Story

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Lads in the house here going mad about your choices.

"FFVI over VII? The lads a queer"
    "Have you ever played FFVI?"
    "I don't ****in want to play it!"

"Super Metroid is ****e"

etc...

Personally I'd put Super Mario World nearer or even above SMB3.

My Top 5 in no particular order would be...

Metroid Prime
    Zelda : OOT
    Zelda : LTOP
    Goldeneye
    Half Life

Thats with a much more limited play range than yourself.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

good list. good compendium of stuff i've played in the past too. not necessarily in the same order (i'm also assuming half life 2 is your #10, just because it'd be in my top 10).

would have put the first streets of rage in there and definitely moved super mario kart into the top 20. maybe have MGS2 or 3 somewhere too (but not above the original PS1 game).

major browny points for Ico, Colossus and Tetris :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I would've put Resi4, Vice City, Ouendan! and Ninja Gaiden a hell of a lot higher up the list, but each to their own I guess...
    No Wind Waker or Twilight Princess???

Can't argue with having 2 Metroid games in your top 20, though...
    I'd post my own list, but fecking Gamerankings seem to have disabled logins and I can't be arsed starting from scratch...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,410 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

The list isn't in any order at the moment only the top 13 are in any sort of order and thats subject to change. I'm just throwing it out there so people can tell me if I've missed any classics that really should be in there. Feel free to mention anything since there's a few that are borderliners. I'll put up the games in order during the week.

@Jimeatsmenu: Tell your mates that FFVI is much better than FFVII. In fact FFX might even get in ahead of FFVII. Who ever said Super Metroid is ****e needs to be checked for a pulse. Also don't worry Super Mario World won't be far behind Mario 3 in the final list. I feel Goldeneye has dated to much to make the grade. I'm really only including old games if they are still as good now as they were when they were released. Goldeneye feels archaic now and is nigh on unplayable while something like Megaman 2 or Bubble Bobble are still amazing games.

@Project Mayhem: I think SoR 1 has dated a bit and there are far better side scrollers out there. It's still great but I'd take Alien vs. Predator or Turtles in Time over it. You mentioned MGS 3 and I was wondering if I should include it. I think I will now. MGS 2 doesn't deserve to be there. The story was cock and Rose and the rest of the codec buddies needed to learn to shut up. I'm not sure about including Half-Life 2. I loved it but I'm not sure it makes the grade. I feel Half-Life 1 is still the better game, the setting hasn't been beaten for originality, the weapons were amazing and the deathmatch still gets played by me and my mates. I'll consider if but if it makes it in it will be quite low.

@tman: Resi 4 Ouendan and Ninja Gaiden will be very to quite high on the list. I'm not a massive fan of the GTA games like some people who think they are the best games ever made, far too many flaws for me and a terrible combat and AI system but it's in no fear of being left off the list.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I'm not sure about including Half-Life 2. I loved it but I'm not sure it makes the grade. I feel Half-Life 1 is still the better game, the setting hasn't been beaten for originality, the weapons were amazing and the deathmatch still gets played by me and my mates. I'll consider if but if it makes it in it will be quite low.

well if HL2 isn't there at all you've included HL twice at #13 and #17

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

well if HL2 isn't there at all you've included HL twice at #13 and #17

its that good :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

F ZERO X , N64!

was addicted to that.

commandos for the pc, the original

and ugggh

monty mole, thing on a spring and spy vs spy....

(you said retro, LOL)

I think Theme Park should be on that list and a build engine game. Duke Nukem 3D fizzled out after the shareware levels so I'm going to have to go for Shadow Warrior since it was consistently brilliant from start to finish.

Will sort out the Half-Life duplicate as well :)

As for F-zero X, it would make the grade if F-zero GX wasn't so much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭great unwashed

Sounds like 'retro' is anything just over 3 years old or something! Any of you get into the really really retro stuff like spectrum or atari emulators? The recent Ps2 games I liked were a few of the Medal of Honour ones and Vice City. There was also something nice about The Getaway and Ratchet and Clank. Never played Timesplitters, Mist or anything. Network Duke Nukem and Quake used to be favourites around and after the office. And, sigh, on Windows95 there was the classic, 'Atomic Gorillas'.

I started playing computer games in 1981 (and am still not very good now). I'd say I'm old enough to be your granddas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

Well some things I'm surprised are not included if you've played them are Fallout / Planescape / any Bioware games. Also no Civ games. I think those particular games would make just about anyones list, regardless of what genres you're particularly fond of, the quality of some games shine through.

Some others I'd instantly include would be Super Monkey Ball, Gran Turismo, Broken Sword, Syndicate, Micro Machines and Little Big Adventure, but they'd be more niche games so each to their own.

Oh and have you played Portal yet? That will definitely earn a place on the list when you do.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭Ivan

Mech Warrior 2 Mercenaries is far superior to Mech Warrior 2, in my opinion...

Starcraft and Ikaruga are a bit low too :(

Still, great list otherwise ;)
    I always knew you had a serious thing for Panzer Dragoon :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Streets of Rage 2 at 89?????!!! That should at least be in the top 10, if not the top 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

Body Harvest.....

Good list - although I must say you play way too many games :)!!!

Must have a good think about it later

• Registered Users Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Main issue I have is with Super Mario Kart...

• Registered Users Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Sounds like 'retro' is anything just over 3 years old or something! Any of you get into the really really retro stuff like spectrum or atari emulators? The recent Ps2 games I liked were a few of the Medal of Honour ones and Vice City. There was also something nice about The Getaway and Ratchet and Clank. Never played Timesplitters, Mist or anything. Network Duke Nukem and Quake used to be favourites around and after the office. And, sigh, on Windows95 there was the classic, 'Atomic Gorillas'.

I started playing computer games in 1981 (and am still not very good now). I'd say I'm old enough to be your granddas.

There not the top 100 "retro" games, they're the user Retr0gamer's top 100 GAMES.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

I had respect for your list until I seen Outrun 2006 in there. That game might as well be made by pop cap its that rubbish.

How can Outrun 2006 beat the original Tomb Raider and lemmings ffs??? The mind boggles.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Bombuzal on the c64. Seriously addictive puzzle.

If it was me the top 13 would all be Street Fighter games :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Damnit retr0, you know you'd love those games you didn't play (SS2, Deus Ex, classic Lucasarts), get on it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭TheAlmightyArse

L31mr0d wrote: »
    I had respect for your list until I seen Outrun 2006 in there. That game might as well be made by pop cap its that rubbish.

How can Outrun 2006 beat the original Tomb Raider and lemmings ffs??? The mind boggles.

Tomb Raider, Lemmnigs and Outrun 2 are all so different there's little point comparing them. Except to say Outrun 2 is much more fun. "Look at the sky!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 AOF86

no civ2 or command and conquer red alert?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

I think I'd have to find some room in my top 100 for C&C Red Alert. I spent soooooo many hours...

And I'd def have goldeneye. It was the defining moment in FPS after Doom and paved the way for the genre imo.

Also I think I'd give an honourable mention to Fifa 95 - still play it to this day :)

Quite surprised that OOT was so low - I'd have to fit that in closer to the top 10.

The thing about these lists is that they'll always change - try sorting it all out again in a months time nad it'll be a different list.

We should have some sort of vote on the official Boards top 100 games of all time EVER!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,393 ✭✭✭jonski

My favourite games would probably centre around the games that I have had the most craic with as opposed to which ones I thought were actually the best . They are the ones that I have the best memories of , and most of them then would be multiplayer ...either having a laugh over at the mates house or on teamspeak . Colin McRea 2 & Toca 2 over a the friends house...every Friday night...for a few years . Tac-ops on TS for countless years .

But for games that I played on my own the ones that stand out , in no particular order are HL & HL2 . TMNT , Castlevania , Silent Service 2 on the NES , Driver ..loved that one so much I still have it on the shelf and ditto Crimson Skies . The first call of duty . Grand Prix 3 .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Rastan - best game ever

• Registered Users Posts: 10,599 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

I find it criminal that there is no love for any of the Wonder Boy series on that list.
    And you call yourself Retrogamer... sheesh! ;)

VR!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,605 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Outrun 2 is so great, breaking down our expectations of what a racing game should be, its stunning on every system, I love my PS2 edition.
    Don't agree with Super Metroid going in ahead of Metroid Prime, I'd switch them around, but then it's be "Cidermans top 100 games EVAH!" and a different thread entirely. Be grateful too, I'd have far more pornographic japanese Qix variants.

I never understood the attraction of Gunstar Heroes, I've got it and rarely play it, when I do, I just turn it off again, wondering why I played it.
    Zelda OoT is surely a far better game than Links A Link to the Past, no?
    And there's an awful lot of Jap RPGs in there, plenty of 2D sprites, turn based action and folk with not enough vowels in there names, not to mention effeminate heroes with really really big swords.
    Super Mario 3? Ahead of Super Mario World? Ahead of Mario 64? Ahead of Mario is Learning, wait... scratch the last one.
    Hurrah!!!! Mechwarrior 2, that game kicked ass!

You seem to have forgotten Quake, pity, HP Lovecraft in motion, sweet!

No sign of MSR on the DC or the 3DO Need for Speed either, ah well, no one's perfect.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

was shenmue there?

For me i'd add choo choo rocket, wonderboy 3, silent bomber and TFC at least

• Registered Users Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭L31mr0d

Tomb Raider, Lemmnigs and Outrun 2 are all so different there's little point comparing them. Except to say Outrun 2 is much more fun. "Look at the sky!"

I'm not weighting them on gameplay, i'm weighting them on calibre, and Outrun 2006 is WAY below lemmings and Tomb Raider in calibre. Outrun is fun, like throwing paper caps at the ground is fun, but there is no learning curve or skill in the slightest to play this game. Its like while designing the game they fired the guy looking after the physics engine and just decided to leave it out. Don't get me wrong, I don't want Uber realism in a racing game, but drifting for 4 miles at 120MPH is taking it a step to far imo.

First let me re-iterate: THIS LIST ISN'T IN ANY ORDER YET. I'll put it in order maybe on wednesday. On with the question answering:

@steviec: Haven't played Fallout, Planetscape or any Bioware games other than Knights of the Old Republic which I gave up on since it bored me to tears. I'll go back and finish KotOR becuase my mate keeps harassing me about it and I'm probably the only person I know that didn't like it. Fallout and Planetscape have been on my to do list for ages. The Civ games just aren't my thing but I can understand why some people rate them so highly.

Super Monkey Ball was fun but I don't think it makes the grade. Gran Turismo for me is the most boring game ever made. Give me a proper arcade racer which is fun rather than pedantic any day. Syndicate I feel has aged a little and been surpassed by GTA. Broken Sword is a good one and I'll consider it, loved that game, micro machines will be considered as well and Little Big Adventure is another game I never got round to playing.

Haven't played Portal yet. I have Orange Box but my idiot brother has completely riddled my PC with spyware and viruses so needs a good clean out during the weekend.

@Ivan: Haven't played MW: Mercenaries and don't worry Starcraft will be higher on the list.

@Sprinkles: Body Harvest is good and all but GTA out does it.

@L31mr0d: You sure are and idiot. Outrun 2006 is brilliant. It's not complicated but is a game constructed out of pure fun.

@SDooM: Haven't played Bombuzal

@koneko: The system shock games have been on my must play list for ages. Thanks to the wonders of Dosbox I'm currently going through System Shock 1 and SS2 will be next. I really have to play Deus EX as well. I've had all the monkey Islands, Sam and Max and Day of the Tentacle for ages now but just haven't played them. Really don't spend enough time playing PC games. I always miss out on a lot of classics because my PC usually goes through long periods without an upgrade and I can't play any new games then.

@AOF86: Cn'C is totally outclassed by the Blizzard RTS games that it's not worth considering.

@Sprinkles (again): Goldeney I feel was an amazing and innovative game but is no longer much fun to play. Sice it's aged so badly I just can't put it on my list. Doom on the other hand is still and absolute blast and always will be

No Fifa's or Pro Evo's, I'm just not a big sports game fan.

OoT will be higher but for me LttP is the better game.

I think with public top 100 lists you get a lot of new games that don't deserve to be on the list and many obscure classics don't get on but deserve to be there. I'd say if you did a list now Gears of War would be placing quite highly but in a few years time most people will have forgotten about them.

@jonski: The 2 castlevanias I included are unarguably the best in the franchise other than Rondo of Blood which I haven't played enough of, never played silent service or GP3. Didn't like Driver. The original Call of Duty will be considered and will probably make it on the list, thanks for the ideas.

@empirix: Rastan is a bit archaic

@validreasoning!: Haven't played any wonderboys but do own the two on the VC so will get around to playing them some day

@CiDeRmAn: For me Gunstar Heroes is my favourite game on the MD and I got so many hours out of it and still do.

I'm a huge fan of Japanese RPGs so is it any wonder that I've included so many on the list :)

I do like Quake but Half-Life deathmatch was always the better game. If there's any space I'll through it Quake 3 on the list.

Never played MSR or Need for Speed 3DO.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I think you'd dig Grim Fandango if you haven't played that already, it's kickass, I re-bought it a while ago and I'm pretty sure the version I have works on XP.