Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Match Thread 30/10 V Dunbar Pensioners @ Columbas 21.30

• 22-10-2007 4:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭

Right lads this is a whole week away, here's hoping we can generate a proper pre-match thread with everyone chiming in

I believe Jules is away for this game and I'm away the following game. I think some friendlies are being lined up in the next while because the training sessions haven't been working, Des might have to make a call on that one shortly because ye can't train with 7 or 8.

Anyway, to get the ball rolling (pun intended)...

Carl (keeper) -

Martian -
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael -
    Geoff -
    Simon -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh -
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – away
    Art -
    Fran -

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

A little info on our opposition, they play tonight but so far they are unbeaten.
    Played 3, Won 3 and conceded only 1 goal so expect them to be a decent side.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I'll be there

Darragh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I doubt I'll be fit for this one. My injury just won't heal. So frustrating. Anyway, important we get a win to put us back in contention

Well looks like it's just me and you then Darragh. Bagsy not being in goal.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I think with my performance in goal on the weekend, I should be the first name on the team sheet!

Only goal you could get passed me was the ones that went low into the corner were the dog sh1te is :rolleyes:

I'll play sweeper keeper. With a few attacking runs to support you in attack. Sure we can't possible go wrong with that setup. 1-1-0. Solid formation.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael -
    Geoff -
    Simon -

Shay -
    Colm Larkin - doubtful, injured
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – away
    Art -
    Fran -

Have a bit of a groin strain (ho ho) that keeps coming back after playing so going to have to take a few weeks off all football.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon -

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe -
    Jules – away
    Art -
    Fran -

Yay that's 3 now, where u wanna play Micheal?

Darragh's doing nets and I've got a free role.

I'll play sweeper keeper.
    Ooh I like that :D

Dunbar beat SS Rovers 2 1 last night. Looks like they'll be challenging too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

This is starting to look too easy: 1-1-1 and a keeper (not me) :p

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon -

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave -
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Will be there
    Jules – away
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭WeAreShels

I should be there. Have some graduate presentation/wine reception thingy (don't worry I don't drink so won't be turning up locked :D) with KPMG that evening at 6 but should be able to sneak out on time. Rest of life -v- important game... not even a choice really :cool:

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon -

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave - Should be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Will be there
    Jules – away
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave - Should be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Will be there
    Jules – away
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 317 ✭✭murtagh

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal - Will be there

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave - Should be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Will be there
    Jules – away
    Art -
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

back in the pale cathal!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

LoBo wrote: »
    back in the pale cathal!?
    Yep, he was at our last match, and came to a training session last weekend too.

Nice to have him back in the squad. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭Fatmag

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darran -
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal - Will be there

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave - Should be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Will be there
    Jules – away
    Art -Will be there
    Fran -

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darren - Injured, but should be there
    Ed -
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal - Will be there

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave - Should be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Will be there
    Jules – away
    Art -Will be there
    Fran -

Any word on that injury?

yeah, its only muscle bruising thankfully. I can walk, albeit with a limp, but cant straighten the leg. I can force it straight but it buckles under my weight. Have to go to physio so i'll know more then. Been a mental week in work so will try to book in for wednesday.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Carl (keeper) -

Martian - injured
    Darren - Injured, but should be there
    Ed - wil be there
    Dan -
    Michael - Will be there
    Geoff -
    Simon - Will be there
    Cathal - Will be there

Shay -
    Gav -
    Sav - Will be there
    Larry -
    Dave - Should be there
    Darragh - Will be there
    Kenny -
    Lepo -
    Niall -

Joe - Will be there
    Jules – away
    Art -Will be there
    Fran -

Good to hear the injury isn't serious Darren

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Yeh glad to hear it's not as bad as it couldve been Darren.

Good luck on Tuesday lads, hopefully there'll be another 3 points on the board.

We haven't been far off the pace at all, defensive record is very good and we're having a lot of possession, so all I'd say is once we're in their half we should be of the mindset 'let's get it into the box to make chances for the strikers and rebounds for midfielders'. Not saying play straight balls in from the halfway, just saying we need to play the percentages more: when a winger or fullback has a chance to whip it in from 15 yards outside the box, more often than not that route will bear more fruit than the tricky task of gettng it to byline and getting it in from there. Defenders don't like balls coming in from the side or behind them as best they can do is get a glancing header on it which might drop to us - we haven't been making them feel uncomfortable by getting balls in from the side often enough.

That's not much that we need to change and I think we'll convert our posession into more goals if we do that....so here's hoping for a goal spree on Tuesday!

art and dan should be ok for this also.......

we have a good run of games coming up, so lets give this a rattle, there a good team so it will be close. im very confident in our team defensively, we have come along way since last season in terms of conceding goals and this gives us a solid base. its going to be a tight game tomorrow night.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Good to hear the injury isn't serious Darren
    Yeh glad to hear it's not as bad as it couldve been Darren.

Cheers for the concern lads. Yeah I'm delighted its not too bad. Still tender but nothing some physio shouldn't fix! Hopefully will be jogging on it end of week.

Good luck tonight lads. Still injured and wont be able to make it down as I've a mid term exam tomorrow morning and need to get some last minute cramming in

lost 3-1, another late goal settled the game, we played well against the top team in it, they have 5 wins from 5.

went 1-0 up with a great finish from sav and before this we had another chance, sav again from a header. they equalised and we shut off for 10 minutes in which they dominated and went 2-1 up. we should have cleared the ball, but it was a great finish. we owned the ball for the second half and pinned them back, keeping them to long balls and karl was a spectator. sav hit the crossbar with about 5 minutes left and then came the sucker punch with about 2 minutes left, a kickout went over everybody and their striker produced a brilliant volley into the top corner to settle it. simon forced a save from the keeper from the kick off, but we just didnt have the luck in front of goal. a good performance,just lacking a bit of composure in the final 3rd. also, first time in 10 or 11 games, that we have conceded 3 goals.

lets hope shay and joes injuries are not as bad as des said after the game.

feck it anyway. There goes any hope of pushing for the title. Hard luck lads

OK lads, we can't be too disheartened by that result at all.

We played well, and were the best team for spells.

We created a lot of chances, and their keeper took off some top notch saves to keep them in the game (Gary ye fecker:), I know you're reading this).

Once again the commitment and desire was there all night.

Five games in and it can be said that this latest game, and the first match, were games that in reality we should have won. The last minute goal last time was a killer aswell.

Fair enough, results are the be all and end all, and I can't argue with that, but we are definitely getting better as a unit. We are by no stretch of the imagination one of the worst teams in this division. The results will happen.

As was said, they got three decent goals tonight, and that was the difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

DesF wrote: »
    We created a lot of chances, and their keeper took off some top notch saves to keep them in the game (Gary ye fecker:), I know you're reading this).

Of course I'm reading, I'm one of the biggest lurkers here! Lets face it, it's either that or actually work for a living :)

To give a bit of perspective if I may (well I'm giving it anyway tbh!) you've come on leaps and bounds since the summer. I was really pi$$ed that circumstances messed up me playing with you over the summer and once I saw the amount of interest for the winter I left it alone. Both teams were missing players last night and I think it showed, there was no real shape to the game and I thought it got very congested through the middle.

So I'll start with the good, you're well organised, press hard when you don't have the ball and look to play football when you do have it. Most players in the league stand off when the ball is coming to you, but each of you harried and caused problems for our lads as soon as the ball arrived, really knocked some of the better players off their game for the first 15 minutes or so. You played some lovely football at the start of the game and were causing us all sorts of problems at the back. Fantastic strike from Sav for the goal, caught me completely flat footed, and to be honest I was thinking "this is going to be a long night"
    You played a lot of good ball down the channels for the forwards to run onto and had our defenders twisting and running back towards their own goal (which all defenders hate) and you won the majority of first balls out from clearances and kick-outs from your keeper/back line. Sav was running riot against our centre halves and they couldn't contain him at all.

Now to the, bad is the wrong word, strange or areas for some improvement maybe. For some reason Sav started dropping deep, not sure if he was moved back into midfield or what happened. I travelled home with our centre half, and his exact comment was "I'm not sure why he moved back into the middle, but I'm delighted he did" The truth is, it was only a matter of time before he scored again and it seemed strange (but welcome) to find that he had moved back into the centre of the park.

As I said you played some great build-up football, but there was a lack of composure in the final 3rd of the pitch. There were times when I looked up and you were 3 on 2 or had runners wide left or right wide open, but players couldn't pick them out or rushed their pass/shot and it came to nothing. A look up, or putting your foot on the ball could have given you 2-3 goals before half-time, I know it's hard in the heat of the game with defenders bearing down on you but that's what makes the difference. Our first two goals were well worked passing moves, with the key touches coming around and inside your box with very little space or time.

In the second half I think it all went to pot for you. Yes you had us pinned back and we weren't playing a lot of football, but you really didn't turn that into clearcut chances. A lot of balls came long over the top and we were able to deal with it fairly easily. In the first half playing the ball to your forwards feet or along the ground through the channels and wide had caused us real problems, but you didn't continue that in the 2nd half, I think it might have paid dividends for you if you had. Yes you had some half-chances, but almost everything came from outside the box as opposed to one-on-ones or the forwards/midfielders bearing down on goal with a clear shooting chance.

Best of luck for the rest of it, you're one of the better teams in the league and just need a little luck in games to start moving up the table. In the summer the DCU team had 7 points after 5 games but went on to win 12 of their last 13 to win the league by 3 points, it's still all to play for.

for the tl:dr crowd

1. Good game last night, you were unlucky not to take something from it
    2. You play good football, and a good pressure game when you don't have the ball
    3. stick to playing the ball to feet and through the channels on the ground
    4. try and have a little bit of composure in the final 3rd, makes all the difference on astro
    5. Still all to play for and you're one of the better teams in the league
    6. I'm the worlds greatest goalkeeper* :D

[size=-12]*may not actually be true[/size]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Hard luck lads.

Spent the night in A & E , have a fractured & dislocated elbow. Knew I was f%%cked the minute it happened. No football for 8 weeks apparantly so I'm rightly pissed off.

Good luck with rest of season and I'll make it out to a few games as a spectataor