Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

In the money - huge pay hikes for all!

• 25-10-2007 4:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1025/politics.html
    e Taoiseach is set to receive a pay rise of €38,000 a year, which will bring his annual salary to €310,000.

The Taoiseach gets a 14% pay rise, while the Tanaiste's pay packet increases by 15.5% to €270,000.

Ministers salaries are up 12% to €240,000 and Junior ministers also rise by 12% to €165,000.

These earnings include their TD salaries

Judges got the highest average increase at 18 because the review factored in high barrister salaries, which may influence suitable people in joining the judiciary.

A number of people are earning more than the new going rate for the job.

HSE Chief Executive Brendan Drumm is earning around €360,000 plus bonuses of up to 25%.

The Review Body says the going rate for his job should be €303,000.

However, it is understood that the Prof Drumm has additional duties in setting up the new body from scratch.

Also earning more than the recommended rate is the Commissioner for Aviation Regulation who is currently on €203,379.

The recommended salary in future will be €185,000.

Other recipients of large pay increases: the Dublin City Manager will receive an increase of 36.2%, the head of the IDA will get a 22% rise, the head of Teagasc's pay packet will jump by 29%, the DPPs annual wage is to go up by 27%, and both the Garda Ombudsmen and Garda Commissioner's annual salaries will rise by 15%.

What can one say? They deserve it? Nope!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

mike65 wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1025/politics.html

What can one say? They deserve it? Nope!

Mike.

and they wonder why the country is skint.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

What can one say?

I'm pretty speechless!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Sickened but not surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Bertie is on 310k, Gordon Brown is on 268k.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Bertie has received more than 22 pay increases since 1997 when his salary was €133,000!!! Unbelieveable!!!

This article is from 2005...
    http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2005/07/17/story6527.asp
    ...The Taoiseach's salary has increased from €133,000 in 1997 to just under €250,000 today – a rise of almost 88 per cent. In the same period, the average industrial wage has risen from €19,300 to just under €30,000, an increase of about 53 per cent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Bertie is on 310k, Gordon Brown is on 268k.

Mike.
    That's crazy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

and I did convert Browns salary into euro!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Bertie now earns more than Bush himself!
    http://www.iht.com/articles/2007/04/09/asia/singbox.php

Bertie $443,000 (at todays exchange rate)
    Bush $440,000
    Brown $370,000
    Shinzo Abe $360,000
    Merkel $350,000

Ah come on, there must be a single FF supporter somewhere who can support this?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭impr0v

Not support as such, and I am surprised at the comparison to the other leader's salaries, but when compared to a CEO of a mid to large company it's still fairly small. I should probably know this, but how do these increases get proposed and approved? Does the dail vote on them? The rate of increase in his salary since 97 is surprising, to say the least.

For clarity, I'm not an FF supporter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sovtek

Wasn't whats his face, the minister for finance ****in on about cutbacks because of a budget deficit recently?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sovtek

impr0v wrote: »
    Not support as such, and I am surprised at the comparison to the other leader's salaries, but when compared to a CEO of a mid to large company it's still fairly small. I should probably know this, but how do these increases get proposed and approved? Does the dail vote on them? The rate of increase in his salary since 97 is surprising, to say the least.

I know most FF'ers consider themselves like businessmen although most have never touched one...that doesn't mean that CEO's are any more deserving. Most have assistants out the hole that do most of their work anyway. They might show up to a board meeting or two every once in a while in the company helicopter.
    I believe the term is "non functioning CEO".

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Ah come on lads, Bertie will be struggling when the new taxes get hiked up in December. :rolleyes:

sovtek wrote: »
    that doesn't mean that CEO's are any more deserving. Most have assistants out the hole that do most of their work anyway. They might show up to a board meeting or two every once in a while in the company helicopter.
    I believe the term is "non functioning CEO".
    The only 2 comments I'll make on that is what it deserves probably and that is lol.
    What a complete and utter example of a sweeping statement with very little if none at all basis in fact.

Regarding the topic,I think it's ridiculous that apparently the Prime minister of Ireland gets paid more than most of the rest of his counterparts in the known world including some of the biggest.
    Off ye go lads to the audience of questions and answers and ask for that one to be justified.
    I note how this was announced on the eve of a bank holiday weekend when that programme won't air untill the following week.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭Stark

We're not the ones paying those CEOs' salaries. The company board of directors can demand value for their CEO's salary, are we able to say the same when it comes to Bertie's?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Well, should we start a petition to revoke the pay rises?

They are an embarassment to Ireland. They should be proud to represent us but they go ahead and shaft us.
    They were already overpaid. I mean look at the size of the nations we are comparing ourselves, to US and UK are funking huge compared to our paltry 4 million.

They are going to keep taking your money until you tell them NO.
    Why would they stop? A sense of morality? Shame? Why?
    It's like a kid with a bag of chewy sweets ..... chomp chomp omph omph .. droool down side of jaw.

Remember - for the most part it's negative selection in politics - the WORST people get into it.

I read that increases announced today will cost EUR16m a year*. In times when talks of cutbacks and curbing spending this is absolutely disgusting and completely unjustifiable.

If I was just after finishing college I'd be giving serious consideration to jumping ship and getting out of this bloody country.

*I also assume this means the final value of pensions will increase, don't know if this is the case or if the 16m includes this but am open to correction

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭texas star

Good to see Bertie got his nice big pay rise.As he works so hard for the Irish people :rolleyes:.keep up the good work Bertie :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 569 ✭✭✭texas star

Ah sure he works hard and he has a tough job......He needs a big pay packet.All them nice posh dinners and pints have to come from somewhere.....:rolleyes:

Why are you comparing him to a CEO? Who told you to do that? A politician methinks. I work in a technical role, but I don't get paid as much as a brain surgeon.

Compare him to his peers. How much does PM of Latvia (pop 2.3mill), Lithuania (pop 3.6 mill) or even Norway, (pop 4.8mill) get paid? Now we are in the ball park.

It's all irrelevant anyway, they will get paid, you, and maybe I will just shut up. (or?)

And anyway if you REALLY want to compare him to a CEO, if he was a CEO of ANY company he would be fired purely based on the doubts of his character / claims against him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

But remember that Bertie's giving half his earnings to the Socialist Party...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭great unwashed

I read that increases announced today will cost EUR16m a year*. In times when talks of cutbacks and curbing spending this is absolutely disgusting and completely unjustifiable.

If I was just after finishing college I'd be giving serious consideration to jumping ship and getting out of this bloody country.

*I also assume this means the final value of pensions will increase, don't know if this is the case or if the 16m includes this but am open to correction

You wouldn't be the first. Did you see the driving licence fiasco?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

I've always considered it a fact that the majority of those in government would not survive a day in the private sector. That's why they are where they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Scruff

Congrats to all FF voters for voting the arrogant money grabbing shower back in.
    At least with this wage he shouldnt have to accept any more money from private individuals for any future "loans".

/aside listening to Gerry Ryan at the moment. he unsurprisingly is glossing over it while reading out the headlines considering the amount he gets paid. tosser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

Scruff wrote: »
    Congrats to all FF voters for voting the arrogant money grabbing shower back in.
    At least with this wage he shouldnt have to accept any more money from private individuals for any future "loans".

/aside listening to Gerry Ryan at the moment. he unsurprisingly is glossing over it while reading out the headlines considering the amount he gets paid. tosser.

Yeah perhaps bertie and his 'gubberment' won't accept anymore bribes. What are you doin' listening to Gerry Ryan ? You won't get an unbiased opinion there.

FFS Gerry Ryan is probably on twice what the Taoiseach gets and it's the Taoiseach who ultimately can set his wage via a crack down on the use of the licence fee etc.
    So I'd not expect a comment there.

The lesser much paid news readers and journalists though were not shy about asking harder questions of the likes of Noel Dempsey on morning Ireland.

On the other side of the coing,theres been 10 years of boom with so much money and lcd screens and 07 cars sloshing about,they will make the point that they have been doing their job reasonably but not perfectly.
    They still should only have got the "inflation rise" imho and not 14%.

I'd cap the increases to what ordinary people get-Then Lets see how many of them actually opt to go to the private sector and what we are left with... I'd imagine most of them would stay put.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

why do we continue to take this from our government, again and again they fail us, again and again we re-elect them. What is wrong with us? how far are we going to take it up the behind from these civil SERVANTS
    im not a keen follower of politics and cannot claim any great understanding of how governments work but my god, they make my blood boil. All i see are a pathetic bunch of failures led by a man who can barely string a cogent or even logical sentence together.

how can he justify this insane salary based on per hed tax income against any other country, i mean based purely in population count we dont even acount for a single state in the US.

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

when is enough going to be enough with this government.

ZygOte wrote: »
    when is enough going to be enough with this government.

It could have been last May but they got in again. You get the government you deserve (i.e. the government that the people vote in). Didn't think it was possible for me to hate FF anymore than I already do but this has done the trick nicely.

• Registered Users Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

It could have been last May but they got in again. You get the government you deserve (i.e. the government that the people vote in). Didn't think it was possible for me to hate FF anymore than I already do but this has done the trick nicely.

i certainly agree, but what i fail to understand it why so many people voted for them and also seem to think they are doing their job. is there just a mentality of "better the devil you know" ?

the eternal question mate. I've no idea.

No, it's the slave mentality awash in Ireland.
    He is betther dan us 'cos he can ste-al and get away with it, so he is a guy not to be messed with / best of luck ta hiem I hope he can ste-al more he is grate

What a country of funkwits!
    WE ARE THE LAUGHING STOCK OF THE WORLD!!!!!

Now, who here can setup on online petition to "begrudge" Bertie his raise?

NEWSFLASH:
    IF YOU ARE YOUNG ENOUGH - LEAVE NOW THE SH!TBOX COUNTRY IS GOING TO IMPLODE.