Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

conversion degrees

• 27-10-2007 9:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭

If I have a degree in philosophy but decide that I want to become an archaeologist, do you think it's possible to take a one year conversion degree? If so, how can I learn the amount in one year that others have learnt in 3?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

It depends on the subject but there are a lot of conversion courses out there alright. Usually they are in the form of one year graduate diplomas that then qualify you to go on and do a masters in the subject, but there are a few conversion masterses out there too. As far as I can tell the graduate diplomas usually consist of a selection of modules from the last year or two of the undergraduate course.

As for how you can learn the same amount -- by working like a demon ;) I'm doing a conversion masters at the moment and I'm up to my neck in work. Seriously though, I guess you don't cover as much ground as you can in a three year course, but it's intensive enough that you in theory come out the end with a good enough grounding in the subject. In the case of archaeology you might want to do a masters on top of the graduate diploma to learn that bit more. That'd be two years though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

There used to be a conversion Higher Diploma in Archaeology in UCC ... not sure if they still do it. AFAIR, though, it was available to people with reasonably relevant degrees, e.g. History, Geography. Not sure that Philosophy would count? :D