Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Holy f*ck.

That sickening "It's not too late to order for Christmas!" M&S ad is on already.

It's not too late!

TOO F*CKIN LATE! FOR CHRISTMAS!!!!

Go f*ck yourselves.

Now, listen up everybody. Don't panic. If you can at all manage to not panic about being late ordering from M&S, don't panic.

Relax. I remember this from last year. It'll be not too late till the week before Christmas, or thereabouts. B*llocks.

Just came on to post something similar. It's October the 6th ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

"Where Ideas Become Impacts"

.......runs screaming from the room! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Radio5

All those insurance break up ads. Dire.

Also there seems to be a trend for owners/staff/managers to do the voiceovers now, particularly on local stations

"I'm John Murphy, wedding manager at the award winning Lovely Lakeside Hotel and Luxury Sulshinnie * Spa. We'll treat your wedding as if it's the most important day in our lives..... book now for 2019" Blah, blah...

* made up word

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Please don't tell me that...that feckin Billy Joel concert ad is going to on be on ad nauseam till june next year :( .....hopefully it will sell out soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭fire_man

What about the Charles Tyrwhitt shirt ad.He said ,I said !Painful.

its Oct flipin tober ffs, enough with the xmas ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Trying to listen to the build up for the soccer match - and then "Men, we don't talk about it - over active bladder" ffs. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,713 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

What is the story with that f*ckin KFC ad where she says eveything twice? What in God's name is that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    What is the story with that f*ckin KFC ad where she says eveything twice? What in God's mame is that??

Repetition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭mmg0305

Nooooo! Don't tell me it's back. Ad recycling seems to be really A Thing these days

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Angiebaby1

Well what about the guy having to describe his
    fancy dress dry cleaning - that's trotted out every year - tho have to say it's very funny - the guy does agonised embarrassment brilliantly. While I'm on is anyone getting as bored as I am with Aine and smug Mary and her flipping heat- retaining glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,370 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

What is the story with that f*ckin KFC ad where she says eveything twice? What in God's name is that??

Birneybau wrote: »

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

The ad on Nova for James Bond themed Christmas parties at some hotel. Bond 'accent' and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

woke up to that this morning

not suitable for an Irish audience:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

WTF is it with companies using UK voiceovers for Irish ads? It's one thing British companies (like Boots etc.) doing it and just not getting it, but Irish companies like Smyth's Toys doing it? Talk about an inferiority complex.

If they're trying to save a few quid and run the same ad in the UK and Ireland that's a false economy IMO - it would cost a few hundred quid in VO fees to get an Irish child to voice that ad. They'll lose a multiple of that in lost badwill by pissing people off with this laziness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

WTF is it with companies using UK voiceovers for Irish ads? It's one thing British companies (like Boots etc.) doing it and just not getting it, but Irish companies like Smyth's Toys doing it? Talk about an inferiority complex.

If they're trying to save a few quid and run the same ad in the UK and Ireland that's a false economy IMO - it would cost a few hundred quid in VO fees to get an Irish child to voice that ad. They'll lose a multiple of that in lost badwill by pissing people off with this laziness.

Depends on the product; if it's something sold in the UK also, Ireland might be the ad test site. Easy enough to get the child to slot in a few market-specific phrases as he/she's paid by the day, I suppose.
    I know for sure that Scotland was used as ad testing ground for some things, but in my recollection many of the ads were voiced by Scottish actors who probably worked cheaper, being out of the Big Smoke, as it were.
    That's when the ad makers discovered that a few quid could be saved by leaving the Scottish voice on for the UK market, especially for financial products funnily enough. Mind you, that was before that well known model of financial probity, Gordon Brown, led the country by the nose into the second greatest recession it had ever been in, so I don't know how well it goes down now.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    Depends on the product; if it's something sold in the UK also, Ireland might be the ad test site. Easy enough to get the child to slot in a few market-specific phrases as he/she's paid by the day, I suppose.
    I know for sure that Scotland was used as ad testing ground for some things, but in my recollection many of the ads were voiced by Scottish actors who probably worked cheaper, being out of the Big Smoke, as it were.
    That's when the ad makers discovered that a few quid could be saved by leaving the Scottish voice on for the UK market, especially for financial products funnily enough. Mind you, that was before that well known model of financial probity, Gordon Brown, led the country by the nose into the second greatest recession it had ever been in, so I don't know how well it goes down now.

Welllllll......yes and no. I would totally understand them trying a say North of England accent for an ad that is destined for all of England or indeed the UK; but testing a very English accent in Ireland is a no-no for a host of reasons (historical, political etc. - I'm sure I don't need to expand on that? If this were Boots for example or a UK company doing it and not getting the cultural differences I'd get that, but Smyths are Irish and HQ'ed in Galway!

I've made/been involved in dozens of radio ads over the years through work. The costs of voice overs for radio advertising unless you're using a megastar is literally a few hundred euro. Voice over artists are very inexpensive to hire. For a child it would be less again. A good VOA would record a 30second ad in 10minutes - and that's giving you many takes, many phrases, lines etc. Longest I think it ever took to get the VO part right was an hour. It takes a bit longer to do some post-editing and add in music etc. but it's a quick process. The heavy-lifting is in getting the script right/multiple drafts of same etc., the recording by comparison is usually a breeze.

If you want to be technical about it it's standardisation v localisation in advertising terms. But a basic rule of thumb is that you don't test in an area where an accent may cause some degree of discomfort or at worst, offence.

i can understand and personally dont mind a british company like boots using a british VO for their ads here but Smyths toys is an odd one and smacks of either being tight arsed or letting a uk agency run their advertising and not managing it properly

I note that the sickening, pornographic Ad for laundr.ie has returned and aired on Newstalk this morning at about 8.20am - just in time for the school run. Explaining what a ball gag is to inquisitive kids must be hilarious. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

I particularly hate the shirt ad that also featured on newstalk....."nice shirt" i said, "30 quid, normally 80" he said..........i have no idea who it was an ad for, but cant imagine they were ever 80 quid.

i have no idea who it was an ad for
    "Charles Tyrwhitt", I said.
    "Charles Tyrwhitt?" he said

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

i have no idea who it was an ad for
    "Charles Tyrwhitt", I said.
    "Charles Tyrwhitt?" he said

That one is the pits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,931 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Smyth's have more stores in the UK than Ireland at this stage

There's an ad on with some plank advertising shoes, she introduces herself as if we know who she is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,874 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

neris wrote: »
    There's an ad on with some plank advertising shoes, she introduces herself as if we know who she is

Yer wan from DID Electric must have branched out.

"meanwhile at the bottom of a mine shaft" another pile of advertising poos is released to confuse the radio listeners of ireland

L1011 wrote: »
    Smyth's have more stores in the UK than Ireland at this stage

I know that, but that's hardly the point. They're an Irish company and we're talking about an ad being broadcast in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭ArthurG

Heard some awful rubbish for the Mater Private (I think it was that one) this morning:

Himself: That was a lovely picnic. Oh jaysus me knee is gone, help me up till I get a look at the view
    Herself: What view?
    Voiceover: Mater private, there when you need us etc etc

WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

The ad for Sinnott Autos, Wicklow Town.
    ALL the staff seem to be featured and they all talk like robots, especially yer one who says "Our reputation is your guarantee".

I also despise the ad for the matchmaking service with the oul fella from Cork. It's just so cheesy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

That KFC double down ad is painful. Have to change the channel when it comes on

Relationship break-ups are obviously hilarious to the cretins that come up with the various Ads for Supervalu and other insurance companies - my radio nearly went out the window this evening. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

The break-up one from s/v is incredibly annoying.

'I think we should break-up'. (Full stop, end of statement. I'm finished. I have nothing more to say)

'But, but I just got your name tattooed on my left testicle.'

'Nooooo, you cabbage, I mean with our insurance company' (was that not totally obvious from the statement 'I think we should break-up') ?

'No it f**kin wasn't. Just another reason to despise you'.

I always thought knobs and knockers was a shop opposite trinity college. Nope, seems its a new sleazy hook up site with some dodgy puns on the radio at 530 in the evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Poochie05

What the hell is a moveable yoga mat, and why would I need to win the lotto to have one?!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,656 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Poochie05 wrote: »
    What the hell is a moveable yoga mat, and why would I need to win the lotto to have one?!!:confused:

There's some woman doing the voiceover for, bizarrely, a range of different bathroom/tiling companies and her voice just makes me want to kill.

Just 5 minutes from the Walkinstown Royndaboush. Yuck.

There's some woman doing the voiceover for, bizarrely, a range of different bathroom/tiling companies and her voice just makes me want to kill.

Just 5 minutes from the Walkinstown Royndaboush. Yuck.

What makes that bizarre?

Same products, different companies. Maybe she gives good 'aspirational'.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

That ad for some recruitment website, with the testimonial from a HR woman who signed up and had "emails coming into my inbox".

Where the funk else would you get emails?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

That ad for some recruitment website, with the testimonial from a HR woman who signed up and had "emails coming into my inbox".

Where the funk else would you get emails?

Reminds me of that recruitment company one that annoys me, where their recruiters "have deep sectoral knowledge and are highly networked".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Spudman_20000

Reminds me of that recruitment company one that annoys me, where their recruiters "have deep sectoral knowledge and are highly networked".

All I hear in that ad is "deep sexual knowledge".

A bit like the one for 'Hunt' Office.ie ....just my over sexualised male brain.

I once met an Englishman who changed his family name from Burke because it sounded like berk, meanwhile down in the Sunny South East we have Hore's Stores; and there's the Horan Airport at Knock....:D

Now that is bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Del.Monte wrote: »
    A bit like the one for 'Hunt' Office.ie ....just my over sexualised male brain.

I once met an Englishman who changed his family name from Burke because it sounded like berk, meanwhile down in the Sunny South East we have Hore's Stores; and there's the Horan Airport at Knock....:D

Not forgetting Bastardstown.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

The ad for the shirts on Newstalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭plodder

Me too. Good to know I'm not the only one with a filthy mind.

The ad for the flu vaccine with the two pensioners joking about the remote makes me think the flu vaccine might cause brain damage.

1."My son Ross" does not sound like "your boss".

2. Nobody stores their son Ross on their phone as "my son Ross". They store it as "Ross" because they know he's their son.

3. Nobody stores their boss as "your boss". They might store it as "my boss", but would probably just use his/her name.

4. Calling a wrong number doesn't mean life's complicated. It means you made as black and white a mistake as possible. Right or wrong. Yes or no. There aren't levels of complication here.

5. All phone companies are the same. If any one was better than the others, everybody would use that provider.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,753 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

6. No one sane uses voice commands anyway.