Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭Alicano

davef1000 wrote: »
    What's up with a bunch of different car manufacturers saying "This is a genuine offer" in their ads?
    Haha.. Also, what's with them telling you that "you've always dreamed of owning xxxx car".."You've always told yourself you's drive" etc etc.
    Eh, No I didn't thanks. Kinda always dreamed of being mortgage free or backing vocalist for Luther Vandross :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Alicano wrote: »
    Haha.. Also, what's with them telling you that "you've always dreamed of owning xxxx car".."You've always told yourself you's drive" etc etc.
    Eh, No I didn't thanks. Kinda always dreamed of being mortgage free or backing vocalist for Luther Vandross :D

LOL :D

So true... "you always said you'd drive a Mercedes-Benz one day", and yes, I'll be down to the dealership for a test drive to get that particular one out of my system. Once I'm done though, I'll buy a second-hand Toyota and stash the difference in my pension fund!

Another ad (IIRC, only heard it once) praises you for being an "Audi person". God give me strength...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Haha well said.

I haven't actually always dreamed of giving away a significant portion of my income for a production line automobile because I hope people will incorrectly believe I am wealthy and interesting.

I'd prefer use that cash for a second hand Toyota and to do things that actually are interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

NASlad wrote: »
    Lets hope we never have to hear the gaiety THEATOR advertisement ever again.

You mean the gaiety tee-oh-tah?

That and that fecking goat would put you off the radio for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭woejus

"I've been regifted!!" - some ad for something (can't remember as it sent me into a rage)

The use of the noun "gift" as a verb, while acceptable in a purely linguistic sense, will be punishable by death when I am Queen of the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Blame Shakespeare, a very gifted man.

The verb neologisms in the plays are some of Shakespeare's most powerful linguistic creations – and it is worth noting that large numbers of them started out in life as nouns. Indeed, this method of coining new verbs is so frequent, it's almost as if he saw every noun as having a potential verb lurking inside it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Ah yeah, but in that dream are you not also rocking up to the gig beforehand in a pink A4?

• Registered Users Posts: 19 halfstack

fussyonion wrote: »
    The Currys/PCWorld ad with the irritating child calling it "curly pieces".
    Ugh.

I wondered what that was all about. I thought it was a kid's TV character or something. Daft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭lolie

madmaggie wrote: »
    The Laya ad with the woman huffing and puffing, I thought she was in labour.

The boxercise one?
    Sounds very like stefanie preissner.
    Can't stand the ad where the mother is telling the daughter to use the eircode.
    Right stroppy little shît.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

Jesus wept - it's full on goat on RTE1 at the moment. Thank god for the preset radio button. Whoever thought of that feature - well their place in heaven is surely assured for all eternity.

On the other hand the actor playing goat and all those in bothar who approved this ad - a very special place in hell should be reserved for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

The Cork aimed My Taxi ads holy sweet mother of Devine Jesus Mary and Joseph.

What the actual ****!!!!
    Myself and a work colleague 100% thought it was a piss take about a taxi driver taking you the long way round and screwing you but it's an actual advertisment for My Taxi!!!

I don't think I've been this annoyed in a very long time it's atrocious and the passenger doesn't even talk back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Tom Dunne, and I'm guessing, Kermit the Frog doing the ad for Cloney Audio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Egg and spoon race Sue Brady; Three legged race Sue Brady.....really how many Irish schools even have these sort of Sports Days?
    Worst part of that ad for me anyway is the kid say “lap of honour” in the most mid-Atlantic D4 Dorsh accent heard outside of a Ross O’Carroll-Kelly play.
    ziggy wrote: »

OK!

Birneybau wrote: »
    Tom Dunne, and I'm guessing, Kermit the Frog doing the ad for Cloney Audio.

Heard that beauty late last night. Cloney Audio is a very fine shop and they know their stuff, but I'd bet my life that was one of those ads created by a radio station as opposed to an advertising agency. The former is much cheaper - you can see why!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,974 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Heard that beauty late last night. Cloney Audio is a very fine shop and they know their stuff, but I'd bet my life that was one of those ads created by a radio station as opposed to an advertising agency. The former is much cheaper - you can see why!

Not sure how cheap Tom Dunne would be for voice overs. He only seems to do fairly high profile campaigns (such as Luas) if I'm not mistaking.

Maybe he got a good deal on some stereo equipment over the years and has utilised the practice of bartering. :D

He has a good voice for that work to be fair.

Not sure how cheap Tom Dunne would be for voice overs. He only seems to do fairly high profile campaigns (such as Luas) if I'm not mistaking.

Maybe he got a good deal on some stereo equipment over the years and has utilised the practice of bartering. :D

He has a good voice for that work to be fair.

He’s mentioned the store on his show(s) a few times over the years. I’d imagine he knows them very well, is a customer etc. so I’d imagine you’re correct on the bartering assumption. No big deal really I guess if all parties are happy?

It’s a very good store, but specialist and high-end and not a Harvey Norman/Currys type affair.

Speaking of his voice, I’d love if he revived Dr. Bill. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,532 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ads like the Air France ones...don't bother with an actual French person, just hire an Irish voiceover to do a shyte French accent straight out of 'Allo 'Allo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Never Say Never Again

Have any of yez heard the ad for harvey norman with the kids with aussie or american accents counting down the days till sanna ?

Only 10 days til Sintaaaaaa

The breathy bubbleheaded voiceover for the Liffey Valley sc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

There's an ad for Boots.

Something along the lines of:

"Dear sis, you have so many plus and minus points, but really I love you so much I decided to get you some 3 for 2 box of cheap chemicals to put on your face.You know the ones people get for, maybe, a step sister they see only at Christmas, the work Kris Kindle yoke, and a spare in case one of the neighbours whose name you know drops in with some chocolates? Happy Christmas!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

The Ad for Euro millions - I want to buy an Island - when both 'actors' change their accents completely within about 10 seconds. Is it supposed to be funny or can advertising firms really be that ****ing sloppy. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭plodder

The Ad for Euro millions - I want to buy an Island - when both 'actors' change their accents completely within about 10 seconds. Is it supposed to be funny or can advertising firms really be that ****ing sloppy. :mad:
    The lottery ads used to be smart and entertaining, but they have nose-dived since the new crowd took over. The only good ones left are the old ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭inna981

Heard the ad for The Grand Tour yesterday on Newstalk.

The fact Jeremy and Richard both mentioned they nearly died really irritated me. Why do they need to advertise their near deaths? I get that they are trying to make it seem more exciting and that series 2 is back but they could not think of anything else. Anyone who was interested it Top Gear/TGT would have had already known and those who didn’t won’t have cared.

I immediately switched back to a podcast I was listing too.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Heard a comical one on Mid-West Radio with a fella singing "All I want for Christmas is shoes" :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

The new Hugo Boss advert.

Loving daughter Laura buys a Hugo Boss Christmas present for her embarrassing, yet loving, father.

It's a monologue of all the kooky and annoying things he does for his little princess.

From the advert, I can picture Laura as playing hockey for Alexandra College. Her father is likely to be a company director or accountant that works 80 hours a week and they all live in Foxrock.

She also likes how he smells. Thankfully she elaborates.... he smells like Hugo Boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

I love the posh, sultry sounding female ad for the Ice House hotel in "Mayo" (funny how the ad mentions Mayo only as the hotels location and it does not mention that it's in the town centre of Ballina, in case that puts punters off).

For those who don't know, lets just say Ballina is not the greatest town in Connacht.

By the way, why are events and places with "Ice" in the name meant to be something exclusive and special. !!

Wahaayyy! It's post xmas 2017 and no more "goat" for another year! My blood pressure is at near normal levels and i'm feeling relaxed and happy. Even the irritating "meadows and byrne" have been noticable for their absence this winter. Perhaps 2018 will see an improvement in the execrable standards provided by the irish advertising agencies? One can but hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

^
    Dunno about that. The two idiots that were rolling down the hill last year are jumping up and down on a trampoline this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

^
    Dunno about that. The two idiots that were rolling down the hill last year are jumping up and down on a trampoline this year.

I like those ads. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,947 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

dogmatix wrote: »
    Even the irritating "meadows and byrne" have been noticable for their absence this winter.

I'm still not sure what they sell; whether it's Tiger tanks or coffemakers, rocks or suitcases.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

^

How in God's name is it acceptable that the person who reads out the legally obligated disclaimer is also "falling down a hill". That's what really gets me. I mean the statement is either important and should be read and such or just dont bother with it. There seem to be no standards at all in relation to this.

Well I spoke too soon about a happier brighter 2018 for radio ads. Two sh*ite ads on the radio this am – Opel cars, in which a bloke with a strange American accent is apparently talking to a baby – but surprise, surpise it’s his opel car he is really talking to. It's the sort of irritatingly stupid ads VW used to make - I wonder if the same ad agency is now making equally bad sh*te for opel now?

And the one for irish jobs – jeeze that one is so bad I have to wonder if it was produced by a lazy and talentless ad executive who came home from work one day and asked his 8 year old kid to spend 5 minutes thinking up a story as daddy was a bit tired and wanted to watch the big match on the telly. Jeeze, but it is really dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,558 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

How in God's name is it acceptable that the person who reads out the legally obligated disclaimer is also "falling down a hill". That's what really gets me. I mean the statement is either important and should be read and such or just dont bother with it. There seem to be no standards at all in relation to this.
    I agree, but don't think it's much worse than the ads (ie most of them) where the reader takes in a HUUUUUUUGE big breath and spits the lines out so fast you'd need to slow down the recording to have any chance of hearing what they're saying.

Always struck me as a shocking waste of advertising time as you couldn't understand a word even if you wanted to.

dogmatix wrote: »
    Well I spoke too soon about a happier brighter 2018 for radio ads. Two sh*ite ads on the radio this am – Opel cars, in which a bloke with a strange American accent is apparently talking to a baby – but surprise, surpise it’s his opel car he is really talking to. It's the sort of irritatingly stupid ads VW used to make - I wonder if the same ad agency is now making equally bad sh*te for opel now?

And the one for irish jobs – jeeze that one is so bad I have to wonder if it was produced by a lazy and talentless ad executive who came home from work one day and asked his 8 year old kid to spend 5 minutes thinking up a story as daddy was a bit tired and wanted to watch the big match on the telly. Jeeze, but it is really dire.

Beat me to it. "Mommy and Daddy". F.O.A.D.

That ad with Emily Logan really gets on my wick.

Where the receptionist says smugly "Oh, I'm sorry, we wont be able to take that booking", as if she is part of some sort of white supremacist group, taking enjoyment out of refusing someone of an inferior race.

I think this ad just goes to show how little they understand about why people are refused bookings. The reason that bookings are refused are because the establishment are afraid of having their premises trashed. Maybe Emily Logan should be handed the keys to one of these offending premises, come down from her ivory tower, and see what it's like on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That ad with Emily Logan really gets on my wick.

Where the receptionist says smugly "Oh, I'm sorry, we wont be able to take that booking", as if she is part of some sort of white supremacist group, taking enjoyment out of refusing someone of an inferior race.

I think this ad just goes to show how little they understand about why people are refused bookings. The reason that bookings are refused are because the establishment are afraid of having their premises trashed. Maybe Emily Logan should be handed the keys to one of these offending premises, come down from her ivory tower, and see what it's like on the ground.

I agree, its terrible that some people can't get bookings accepted by establishments, its also terrible when you get your farm robbed, or your local church roof stripped of lead.

NIMAN wrote: »
    I agree, its terrible that some people can't get bookings accepted by establishments, its also terrible when you get your farm robbed, or your local church roof stripped of lead.

Or your gates rammed and central heating oil drained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

'Geodys: we logistic your business'.

Ad copywriters: us butchery you language.

Mary & Aine are back with a new Ad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The new ad for the tv licence

"so if you're watching boxsets at home or at work....."

People watch boxsets at work!

I'm in the wrong job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,774 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

That stupid right price tiles ad where your man tells his wife that he's so big he must do some thing about it, she thinks he's going to the gym but he says he's changing the bathroom. Maybe he's thinking of making the bathroom bigger for his extra big carcass.

Mary & Aine are back with a new Ad!

But they no longer seem to be an item and at least one of them has a different voice. At last the name of one of the husbands has been revealed - Liam - and he is alive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Keith barry and his 'magic mad house ', He says it about twenty times in his annoying accent -- feckin nut job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

NIMAN wrote: »
    The new ad for the tv licence

"so if you're watching boxsets at home or at work....."

People watch boxsets at work!

I'm in the wrong job.
    The staff in RTE do , and we're paying for it with the licence fee !!

Amanda Byram has that unique talent of being able to read from a script like.............................. like she's reading from a script. She's so unbelievably wooden whether she's on the TV or the radio.

The 'Henry Ford once said' Ads - not even remotely clever the first time -
    are sometimes repeated twice in the same Ad break on Newstalk. Absolutely cringeworthy stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Once again there's an ad with someone doing an impression of a french accent. Whyyyy??!! Dont know what its for...maybe one of the ferry companies I think? Cant stand it. Just get a french person to read the script instead of doing a sh*t accent. one of my bugbears.

new Eircode ad where the son rings 911 for ambulance because his mother had a fall and he calls in and finds her on the floor ...... he doesn't know his mother's address but he knows her Eircode! As if!