Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

^^^ Thanks for bringing on a serious coughing fit - twice! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Not sure if it's been mentioned yet. What about them extremely patronising anti-smoking ads.

"Used to go for a smoke with me mates. Now they've all quit. Now I'm all alone..."

"I'm broke. It's January. Life is f*cked. But hey at least I'm off the fags!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

I refuse to shop in Currys PC World until they stop with that annoying child for their ads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭bren2002

Curly pieces?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

That kid is getting more sqweeky all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,944 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I refuse to shop in Currys PC World until they stop with that annoying child for their ads.

The latest one has her pronouncing Curly Pieces in such a squeak it sounded for all the world like my dog had returned from the grave and chewed on its squeaky toy.
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

That kid is getting more sqweeky all the time.

I particularly despise that are deliberately irritating just to get your attention, and that is what this ad very obviously is. When some retailer does this, I make an agreement with myself to never buy from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

The gravelly voice on yer man in the O'Brien's Sandwich Cafe ad is like nails on a fecking chalkboard. The way he says "complex flavour" actually makes me shiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

The gravelly voice on yer man in the O'Brien's Sandwich Cafe ad is like nails on a fecking chalkboard. The way he says "complex flavour" actually makes me shiver.

I just read your post in his voice. "Nails on a feckin chalk board"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭RINO87

Mn Nagels windows and doors..... Fall in love with your home again!

FALL IN LOVE WITH DRINKING WATER AGAIN PLEASE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,029 ✭✭✭✭GBX

The greyhound night out. "Fair play to whoever organised it" - "Oh I did... yayyyyy" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Travel department with the forced excitement voices...classic cars in que ba...grrrr

The Classic Cars in Cuba are the crap old cabs they were forced to keep going on nails and shoestrings for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Dan Jaman wrote: »
    The Classic Cars in Cuba are the crap old cabs they were forced to keep going on nails and shoestrings for decades.

Yeah, lovely museum pieces for the tourists. I'm sure the Cuban people think they're really cool and retro, worth every minute of Castro's disgraceful dictatorship and the US's equally disgraceful bullying and blocading of the country.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

GBX wrote: »
    The greyhound night out. "Fair play to whoever organised it" - "Oh I did... yayyyyy" :rolleyes:
    "It had everything - the build-up to the races, and then the races!"

Whoever wrote that line should be fired.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭deisedav

Any of the bord na mona ads. 'To make love to Irish woman beside the fire is to make her fall in love' or something like that. Ridiculous at best. And the one about ' who calls a meeting at 5.30'.
    'And to hold you dangling over those sweet flames Carroll ' . Every time i hear that in work i want to lash the radio out the window. The most annoying voices you will hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

deisedav wrote: »
    Any of the bord na mona ads. 'To make love to Irish woman beside the fire is to make her fall in love' or something like that. Ridiculous at best. And the one about ' who calls a meeting at 5.30'.
    'And to hold you dangling over those sweet flames Carroll ' . Every time i hear that in work i want to lash the radio out the window. The most annoying voices you will hear

Heh, I like them. Spanish guy is a bit weird, but moany meeting lady is a good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    What's the story with yer one on the ad for turning on your heating when you're out? Y'know, she's at her kid's match, and she's freezing?

She has a perfectly normal accent, but then turns on the Miriam O'Callaghan overdrive for the words "phone" and "home". Very disconcerting

I just copped, she's the same one that won't get out of bed for her kids because herself and the husband had too much to drink last night. She's obviously lying about attending her little girl's football match.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Trebor176

That Sue Brady advert. It's the brat at the end ". . .and I think she's doing a 'lop' of honour!" It pisses me off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭endofrainbow

Trebor176 wrote: »
    That Sue Brady advert. It's the brat at the end ". . .and I think she's doing a 'lop' of honour!" It pisses me off!

yeah and why do they call it the parents' race when it's grandparents ?

That's the whole point of the ad! The product is so effective that Sue Brady can pass as a parent even though she's a granny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭plodder

cdeb wrote: »
    That's the whole point of the ad! The product is so effective that Sue Brady can pass as a parent even though she's a granny
    What's the product though? The ad is so annoying, I can't remember what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,753 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Trebor176 wrote: »

What did you 'ackpact' from a d4 laddie

plodder wrote: »
    What's the product though? The ad is so annoying, I can't remember what it is.

Something to do with joints and joint movement I think?

cdeb wrote: »
    Something to do with joints and joint movement I think?

Pass the dutchie to the left hand side, kind of thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭bot43

That AXA ad is back "hey Brian, the insurance is up again", "well, bring it down again hehehe".

It makes me want to break the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

fricatus wrote: »
    Yeah, lovely museum pieces for the tourists. I'm sure the Cuban people think they're really cool and retro, worth every minute of Castro's disgraceful dictatorship and the US's equally disgraceful bullying and blocading of the country.

They're actually both regular bog-standard cabs for everyone and tourist attractions.
    Getting rid of them would be akin to getting rid of horse drawn jaunting cars in Killarney, albeit the old cars are not just expensive tourist run-arounds.

Toyota or Nissan (I don't care), with their 'It's Madness', 'Nutty Boy' bullsh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

the boots ads at chritmas were bad enough but theyre forcing us to suffer the same crass ****e fro valentines day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

neris wrote: »
    the boots ads at chritmas were bad enough but theyre forcing us to suffer the same crass ****e fro valentines day

Ugh. Makes me f*ckin sick.

Here, I love you so much I just had to buy you any one of the mass produced crap they sell in Boots. How thoughful am I?

ad on newstalk just now for a lip botox clinic with "irelands favourtite lip queen". WTF????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

"Because nothing else FEELS like this"

They make out greyhound racing to be the most amazing, life changing thing you'll ever attend. There are so many dog & horse racing ads on TodayFM lately. I'm so sick of them.

I heard that Three ad about sending a message to a friend on whatsapp for drinks. It's so ridiculously over the top and cringey.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Apparently guys are stupid about the recycling stuff as well as everything else in the world.

Smart Woman: "But there's a bin for that, idiot"
    Idiot Guy: "You what? A bin... f**k off? Are these my feet? "

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Agrian Brian

Birneybau wrote: »
    Toyota or Nissan (I don't care), with their 'It's Madness', 'Nutty Boy' bullsh!t

This advert and its references go over my head completely and I'm in my late-thirties... surely harping back to a band from the early 80's to sell your wares in 2018 is misguided no???

Anyways, just give me my radio ads straightforward, plain and simple with no 'quirky frills' thank you very much;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

That Wilshire Farm ad is just depressing.

"My life used to be good and full of people. Now I eat crappy frozen meals-for-one while I wait to die."

It always seems to be on Radio 1 at exactly 6.45am every day as well.

Donal from the Island with his teabags and sausages :mad::mad:

article-2263980-16FDE95F000005DC-721_634x423.jpg

Apparently guys are stupid about the recycling stuff as well as everything else in the world.

Smart Woman: "But there's a bin for that, idiot"
    Idiot Guy: "You what? A bin... f**k off? Are these my feet? "

theres one of those ads with a tin of tomatoes and they must have gotten the 2 more boring voices in the country to do the ad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭burnsey1987

The ad for strictlysecret.co.uk which gets played during every ad break on Absolute and many other UK stations does my head in. “Hey! Want to have some fun?” No, fcuk off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

lawlolawl wrote: »
    That Wilshire Farm ad is just depressing.

"My life used to be good and full of people. Now I eat crappy frozen meals-for-one while I wait to die."

It always seems to be on Radio 1 at exactly 6.45am every day as well.

It's on again right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Those Air France ads with the fake accents and the 'Ooh lala' at the end FFS

On a different note, but TV related, saw Nationwide recently and at the start, when the music is playing, how creepy is that shot of the girl Irish dancing and yer man lying on the ground looking at her?

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

Trekker09 wrote: »
    Those Air France ads with the fake accents and the 'Ooh lala' at the end FFS

I actually really like that ad, love the way the last guy says air france :o
    But what I HATE about them is you might not here it for ages and then suddenly you've heard it 16 times in one hour... :mad:

"I knew she'd say that"

Go and do one, smug prick.

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

the flahavans add, where they are giving a "tour" of the factory, and just when they are going to give us the "Secret recipe" all we head is steam and industrial noise.

this is repeated through out the add??
    fupp sake, what an annoying add. why would anyone think introducing noise into a add is a good thing???

also, ITS PORRIDGE. there is no secret recipe ...!!!
    ITS FUPPING PORRIDGE!!!!!

some food delivery service with a really ****ly scripted conversation between a senile aul one and a delivery driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭QueensGael

All the "Dónal on the tropical island" lottery ads, spare me :rolleyes:

QueensGael wrote: »
    All the "Dónal on the tropical island" lottery ads, spare me :rolleyes:

Paddywhackery crap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Birneybau wrote: »
    Paddywhackery crap

The target audience is likely those you see walking around Spain or elsewhere with their county/club GAA jerseys on. For everyone else, the thought of buying an island only to fill it with those type of people is a ****ing nightmare!

Can you f**king imagine?!? Full of flights with people that applaud on arrival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,525 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The new Fiat van advert mentioning Chuck Norris a couple of times, have they ever heard of image rights and people sueing your ass for using them? Where do they think they are the 1970's?