Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

The new Fiat van advert mentioning Chuck Norris a couple of times, have they ever heard of image rights and people sueing your ass for using them? Where do they think they are the 1970's?

It sounds like it was made up on the spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

The new Fiat van advert mentioning Chuck Norris a couple of times, have they ever heard of image rights and people sueing your ass for using them? Where do they think they are the 1970's?

Pretty sure image rights don't extend to mentioning someone's name...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 54 ✭✭Standing Bear

Mary and Aine are a couple again - it appears. The second last Ad referred to a long standing relationship with Liam (16 years) but the intrepid duo are back together again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,044 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Anyone mentioned the one from some coffee shop chain.

With the guy you'd think was doing a spoof, slow, posh accent about the best beans from the highest Brazilian mountains?

When I first heard it, I thought it was one of those ones about getting hit for the €1k TV licence fine...you know the ones that fade out telling you about something great to ask if you really want to get a 1k fine?

Then I heard it was real !! It is easily the most pretentious advert I have ever heard. Whats with the stupid slow spiel from yer man? And what accent is that exactly?

Jesus I hate coffee snobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

There's a female VO on some adverts at the moment and she drives me absolutely mental. Every O in a word is pronounced as a U in a sickly posh voice - first time I heard her was advertising "Shupping in the centre of shupping" for some outlet in Kildare, and now she is back advertising something for "making yuur wedding glamurrus".

heard her this morning on something - she drives me mad. Who on earth speaks like that. Its utterly contrived and pretentious! Makes me NOT want to buy whatever she is selling - reverse psychology!! :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

heard her this morning on something - she drives me mad. Who on earth speaks like that. Its utterly contrived and pretentious! Makes me NOT want to buy whatever she is selling - reverse psychology!! :mad::mad:

I just hate when theres a website involved.cue "dut eye eeeee"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Are there no other female voice-over artists apart from Orlaith Rafter?
    She's EVERYFKINGWHERE!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

fussyonion wrote: »
    Are there no other female voice-over artists apart from Orlaith Rafter?
    She's EVERYFKINGWHERE!!!!
    I don't know how she has a career. Her voice is not "pleasing to the ear". She sounds like she's got the flu all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭dogmatix

The current Toyota ads where they tell us that getting a car service used to be hard. Me – well when I want a car service I just ring my garage and book an appointment but not so for Toyota drivers apparently. Not much of an encouragement to buy and drive a Toyota. But the latest ad is trying to convince us that people prefer to visit the dentist then get a Toyota service. What is it about Toyota garages that going under a dentist’s drill is more preferable?

Makes me wonder just how bad the toyota customer experience is that they have to produce ads convincing toyota drivers to book their cars in for a service.

dogmatix wrote: »
    The current Toyota ads where they tell us that getting a car service used to be hard. Me – well when I want a car service I just ring my garage and book an appointment but not so for Toyota drivers apparently. Not much of an encouragement to buy and drive a Toyota. But the latest ad is trying to convince us that people prefer to visit the dentist then get a Toyota service. What is it about Toyota garages that going under a dentist’s drill is more preferable?

Makes me wonder just how bad the toyota customer experience is that they have to produce ads convincing toyota drivers to book their cars in for a service.

Not sure about Toyota per se but I really don’t get that line about most people preferring to go to the dentist than get their car serviced?? What does that even mean ?

Is it the price ? I hate the dentist firstly cos it’s scary, secondly I feel I have no control and thirdly it’s so expensive. Based on that is a car service actually scary ( as in causing high anxiety and palpitations ), do I feel I have no control, it is expensive ??? I can only say yes to the last point.

This means I would rather get my car serviced than go to the dentist !

Who did they survey for this statistic??

Credit Union Ad with pretentious little prick who tries to talk down to female barber who is telling him about how great CU is. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

NIMAN wrote: »
    Anyone mentioned the one from some coffee shop chain.

With the guy you'd think was doing a spoof, slow, posh accent about the best beans from the highest Brazilian mountains?

When I first heard it, I thought it was one of those ones about getting hit for the €1k TV licence fine...you know the ones that fade out telling you about something great to ask if you really want to get a 1k fine?

Then I heard it was real !! It is easily the most pretentious advert I have ever heard. Whats with the stupid slow spiel from yer man? And what accent is that exactly?

Jesus I hate coffee snobs.

Agree, this one is truly insufferable and has been on for a bit at this stage.

One aspect of the ad had me curious though when he mentions the "Barista Huggers Society". I was like, wow, imagine what a bunch of left wing SJW's that would be in such a thing. so I googled it and found absolutely nothing. Are they blatantly making it up I wonder?

Ad for Wiltshire Farm Foods – home delivery service. Obliging delivery man tells OAP (?) that her outside light is still on and actually puts food in her fridge. She goes on to tell delivery man about her Yoga classes but then asks him to deliver a bread and butter pudding as she hasn’t had one in years. We’re supposed to believe that an old dear who can attend Yoga classes is incapable of making the simplest of food dishes?

The more I hear it, the more weird it is to me.

"Ah sure, you're human". What a strange line.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Ad for Wiltshire Farm Foods – home delivery service. Obliging delivery man tells OAP (?) that her outside light is still on and actually puts food in her fridge.
    Yeah that ad is ridiculous, the guy is just waaaay too familiar. He sounds like a confidence trickster, I bet they will be talking about him on Liveline next week.

"Joe, he came with a bread and butter pudding, and he left with my purse".

"I, I, I’m not in that mindset, keep going, keep going… Jane it would be a relief to know"… delivered in a panicky voice. A disgusting VHI Ad designed to frighten the citizen into buying their products.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,425 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

"I, I, I’m not in that mindset, keep going, keep going… Jane it would be a relief to know"… delivered in a panicky voice. A disgusting VHI Ad designed to frighten the citizen into buying their products.

Did it really frighten you? It didn't frighten me.

It didn't in the least but I'm not in the demographic that they are aiming at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

That f*cking elephant self storage add ... who says NOUGHT for 0 nowadays!!!

**** Sake!!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

There's not many ads these days that genuinely irritate me but the one for Equipet ("Please can we go to Equipet? Pleeeeeeese") will have me turning off the radio the second it comes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭phonypony

I think it's for Electric Ireland, guy keeps saying 'smarsh'. 'Smarsher living', 'now that's smarsh'. Fills me with murderous rage!

phonypony wrote: »
    I think it's for Electric Ireland, guy keeps saying 'smarsh'. 'Smarsher living', 'now that's smarsh'. Fills me with murderous rage!

Andrew Scott:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Scott_(actor)

It is horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,257 ✭✭✭✭flazio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭QueensGael

The Laya health insurance ads, where they're bouncing/running/swimming/drowning and having the most amazeballs craic :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,507 ✭✭✭cml387

Now with reliable 4G I can listen to BBC R4 on the drive to work. This thread reminds how lucky I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

QueensGael wrote: »
    The Laya health insurance ads, where they're bouncing/running/swimming/drowning and having the most amazeballs craic :rolleyes::rolleyes:

The new one on the rollercoaster is the worst one yet. I can't stand it already and I only heard it for the first time this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Not sure if it's been mentioned already.

The Hive App advert.

A woman is watching her daughter play soccer from the sidelines. The daughter scores a cracking goal in the top corner.

But Mum is more worried about her own cold toes, so she turns on the heating with her Hive App.

Maybe the child's father should attend the matches instead.... and she can concentrate on her facials or spa treatment.

It's so shallow

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

dogmatix wrote: »

i came here to post about the same add, what i will say is that one time i did go to the toyota garage, it was for a €75 service or something like that, which was grand, i asked them to inform me (call me) if they needed to do much with it, came back a few hours later, and the fee was for something like
    €220, because it needed x, and y and special oil etc. plikes never once rang me to check with me... that really left a bad taste in my mouth.

at least the dentist will say, teeth are fine, you may need x done, we can do it now, will cost €xxx or we can do it the next time your in.

i now get my car serviced by a local mechanic who hasn't let me down, and isn't trying to shaft me, unlike the toyota mechanic.

Terrible add, terrible customers service. :)

worst one of theirs to date - screaming out of the radio at you! Instant turn off in every way. Whoever is in charge of marketing at Laya should be fired pronto!

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Not sure if it's been mentioned already.

The Hive App advert.

A woman is watching her daughter play soccer from the sidelines. The daughter scores a cracking goal in the top corner.

But Mum is more worried about her own cold toes, so she turns on the heating with her Hive App.

Maybe the child's father should attend the matches instead.... and she can concentrate on her facials or spa treatment.

It's so shallow

I have many issues with that ad but the fact that she wants to go home to a warm house doesn't strike me as princess behaviour.

I have more problems with her bloody voice.

Birneybau wrote: »
    I have many issues with that ad but the fact that she wants to go home to a warm house doesn't strike me as princess behaviour.

I have more problems with her bloody voice.

Her voice drops two octaves when she says “my toes are freeeeeeezing “:eek:

There's almost a London/Dublin tinge to her voice.

So, you get out the Hive upp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,944 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I wonder how long before the first Hive-app caused house fire.

"Don't worry dear, I turned on the heating with the Hive App."

"I wonder where all these fire engines are going."

"Fark! It's our house!"
    Вашему собственному бычьему дерьму нельзя верить - V Putin

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭mimimcmc

phonypony wrote: »

THIS!! :mad: Who actually talks like that??? I think even he's putting it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Kalimah

The new one on the rollercoaster is the worst one yet. I can't stand it already and I only heard it for the first time this morning.

I came on to this thread to comment on that ad. It's just screaming - I can't stand it! The one with yer wan doing her running or whatever was bad enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭ollaetta

bot43 wrote: »
    That AXA ad is back "hey Brian, the insurance is up again", "well, bring it down again hehehe".

It makes me want to break the radio.

I don't think I have ever hated a radio ad more than this yoke. I'd happily peel that knobhead's skin off slowly and sprinkle him with salt. Lots of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭plodder

There's almost a London/Dublin tinge to her voice.

So, you get out the Hive upp

Is it not the accent change: from very genteel - the daughter's "maddy pitch" to "me toes are furr-eezin". Maybe it's deliberate and that's the demographic they are targeting. :pac:

That car ad was troubling me as well. Why do people prefer to go to the dentist than get their car serviced? Maybe because your teeth are more important than your car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

as said already that laya rollercoaster ad is bloody awful, i didnt think they could outdo themselves with anything worse then the kids on the trampoline but that ad is far worse if you can make out what shes saying

neris wrote: »
    as said already that laya rollercoaster ad is bloody awful, i didnt think they could outdo themselves with anything worse then the kids on the trampoline but that ad is far worse if you can make out what shes saying

I wonder sometimes if there is any ad quality control on the radio station side. I turn off the radio or switch over to another station when I hear those bloody ads (the rollercoaster is by far the worst), which is hardly what the stations wants :rolleyes: It's just so grating, I'm baffled as to who thought it would be a good audio experience for listeners :(

+1 That little fecker from Appliances Delivered.ie makes me switch channel immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

OOOOOOOOH IT'S GOOD TO LIVE!!!!!!!

It's seriously getting on my fúcking nerves now. An ad that is literally shouting at you.

I can't handle it at all, it's the worst ad by a country mile. I don't need screeching into my earbuds when I'm trying to work :mad:

I have radio on at work and I work in a reception area with phones and people. I constantly have to turn OFF the radio when Laya ad is on as I can't hear people on the phone, or anyone else speaking to me. Normally background radio is fine - this isn't.

Gonna make a complaint to Broadcasting Authority of Ireland - this is an assault on the ears!! They're fcuking shouting!!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

Have they changed the ad?? Heard two ads this morning for laya healthcare...both of which we're the adults now rolling down the hill (First time since since they were "teeny weeny"!!:rolleyes:) ...no sign of the rollercoaster!! Maybe they've pulled it because of complaints??

So, are there any ads that make you smile at the moment? A few that I like:

- the Renault(?) van "You've been talking to that van again ..." :) The woman is briliiant in that.

- Brady family ham. Self deprecating, or just plain weird ? I like them though. How else would you make an ad for ham stand out?

- The two "Love Irish Food" ads. The two Yank sports commentators on "hurdling" and my old favourite is back "Oh don't leave Mick" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

plodder wrote: »
    So, are there any ads that make you smile at the moment? A few that I like:

- the Renault(?) van "You've been talking to that van again ..." :) The woman is briliiant in that.

- Brady family ham. Self deprecating, or just plain weird ? I like them though. How else would you make an ad for ham stand out?

- The two "Love Irish Food" ads. The two Yank sports commentators on "hurdling" and my old favourite is back "Oh don't leave Mick" :)

Kills me to admit it, but I kinda like each of them.

And the Stockholm syndrome of the Mary & Áine ads continues. The "you seem to be wearing two coats" actually makes me laugh. I'm not even sure if it's meant to.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    And the Stockholm syndrome of the Mary & Áine ads continues. The "you seem to be wearing two coats" actually makes me laugh. I'm not even sure if it's meant to.
    Not familiar with them actually. What are they for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

plodder wrote: »
    Not familiar with them actually. What are they for?

Energlaze Low E Plus windows.

Whatever's involved in that, I don't know.

Nerdlingr wrote: »
    Have they changed the ad?? Heard two ads this morning for laya healthcare...both of which we're the adults now rolling down the hill (First time since since they were "teeny weeny"!!:rolleyes:) ...no sign of the rollercoaster!! Maybe they've pulled it because of complaints??

Well yesterday and I made an official complaint to Laya healthcare , Newstalk (who play the ad) and the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland about this ad.

I complained on the basis of it being an assault to my ears, being a distraction when driving as I constantly have to turn it down as it’s so loud and screechy, and also that I cannot hear clients or phones ringing at work when it comes on .

Maybe Newstslk listened , I got a reply from them anyway 😊😊.