Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

cant remember what the add is for but its baschically the BEATLES doing the voiceover only it sounds more like the scousers from the harry enfield show of the 1980,s

awfull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Ciaran B

irish_bob wrote: »
    cant remember what the add is for but its baschically the BEATLES doing the voiceover only it sounds more like the scousers from the harry enfield show of the 1980,s

awfull

That's for Windsor Motors I think. Yeah, it's bad all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

Come back Daft Dave all is forgiven. He was nowhere near as bad as Patrick "how many times can I say Right Price Tiles in one ad" McDonnell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,037 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Indeed... he says it 3 times in a row at the end of the ad.. absolute drivel!

Good to see the least successful person in 'Naked Camera' doing well! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭paddylonglegs

Wertz wrote: »
    Do ad agencies insist on people having mild speech impediments

You mean the bird with the kind of lisp doing the rounds at the moment?God she's got her fingers in plenty of pies,o2,hibernian,3, and a few more.Can be kind of sexy sometimes in a weird way but sometimes she really has difficulty with some words.

Whats the appeal of this anyway,something different?Not gonna be different if she's doing every ad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Sailormoon

I at least smile each time I hear Adam Sandler doing the Dublin accent on the "you don't mess with the Zohan" ad...
    -"Storry, bird"...:D:p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Brennans Bread . . . sez he :mad:

God I hate that advert with a vengence, & one morning I nearly crashed the car trying to change the station in a hurry before old Mr Brennan wafted on in that sickening & unreal Dublin accent, sez he.

Such a sh*** advert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

Isn't that the one done with your man from fair city in it. He cant say quashqai in the english accent and I have to laugh everytime I hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

basquille wrote: »
    Indeed... he says it 3 times in a row at the end of the ad.. absolute drivel!

Good to see the least successful person in 'Naked Camera' doing well! :rolleyes:

Is that who that is? The accent alone is enough to make you want to boil him alive. Mix that with fake Italian (Trapatoni, I presume) crap, and you really have to want Daft Dave to return.
    Can be kind of sexy sometimes in a weird way
    Seek help. She gives Deirdre O'Kane a good run for her money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

jor el wrote: »
    She gives Deirdre O'Kane a good run for her money.

That wench is back! AAAAAAAAAGhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh my sanity :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Worst Ad EVER....for Clontarf Castle, done in the style of a D4 clown, presumably Ross O'Carroll Kelly since he mentions Sorcha once or twice :rolleyes:

OK, so heres the pitch, D4 chappy decides that the Clontarf is a little bit of D4 that has been hidden away from him on the Northside and obviously all wannabe D4 heads who can't afford to use those hotels should go to Clontarf castle, cos loike its sooooo fab.

FFS. SERIOUSLY, who comes up with this shoite? Has anybody ever been to clontarf castle? This ad would make me want to avoid it like the plague.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

I think that the Hiberian health insurance advert, (butterflys and bees) is very cleverly crafted.
    I mean crafted in the sence that it took some imagination to think of, and it does put it's point across very well, imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Big Tone

They're getting to be tiresome now but some of those TV licence ads were quite humourous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

"I love Easons... Yes Easons!"

We never said you didnt love-now will ya feck off back to getting the kids ready for school and leave us alone. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I just heard an ad for some hole in Carlow advertising special book-early rates for Xmas parties :eek: They even had some jingle bells :mad:

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

mike65 wrote: »
    I just heard an ad for some hole in Carlow advertising special book-early rates for Xmas parties :eek: They even had some jingle bells :mad:

Mike.

Good God almighty have they no shame! Xmas ads!!!

I await with trepidation the return of my favourite tea bag related xmas ad.....

*reaches for prozac* (yet again)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

That ad for super milk with the school girl bragging about her summer holiday. :mad:
    I would change that ad, "Shut up Lisa ya swot! No one likes a show off!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

"Getting life insurance is so easy, even a child could do it!"

and the urge to strangle that little arse monkey is so strong that even a pacifist could do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Kila

Sizzler wrote: »
    Worst Ad EVER....for Clontarf Castle, done in the style of a D4 clown, presumably Ross O'Carroll Kelly since he mentions Sorcha once or twice :rolleyes:

OK, so heres the pitch, D4 chappy decides that the Clontarf is a little bit of D4 that has been hidden away from him on the Northside and obviously all wannabe D4 heads who can't afford to use those hotels should go to Clontarf castle, cos loike its sooooo fab.

FFS. SERIOUSLY, who comes up with this shoite? Has anybody ever been to clontarf castle? This ad would make me want to avoid it like the plague.

Well, I typed their digits straight into the mobi immediately after hearing it, because I was so entranced. I already live on the south side, roysh, but we have, loike, a serious lack of decent venues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Sizzler wrote: »
    Has anybody ever been to clontarf castle? This ad would make me want to avoid it like the plague.
    I loved the place...until I heard that ad.

Way to go...alienate your core clientèle...I wonder what coked up little marketing bot came up with that campaign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 gezas

About 1 month ago was a popular Snickers ad on radio. I hate it. Sounds something like this: “Gets some nuts… uhhhhh, ahhhh, wohhhh… Snickers!”
    Who’s with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

That was Mr T!

How dare you diss B.A.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Sulmac

That damn ad on TV with yer one for the bank "...in Terenure!" :mad:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

Sulmac, please note this thread is for Radio ads not Television ads. I do believe there is a thread for those in the general Television forum, also located under Arts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭Tropheus

mick_irl wrote: »
    That was Mr T!

How dare you diss B.A.!

I pity the fool who disses Mr T.

I’ve a daughter hiking around Australia, a son in New York on a J1, my youngest is never off the pitch and a husband who plays off 9. I want to be able to keep tabs on them without re-mortgaging the house.

Oh do shut up you menopausal control freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Bondvillain

Ciaran B wrote: »
    I’ve a daughter hiking around Australia, a son in New York on a J1, my youngest is never off the pitch and a husband who plays off 9. I want to be able to keep tabs on them without re-mortgaging the house.

In fairness, one could understand why none of the family want to be around the interfering old cow. I mean, Jesus, can she not take a hint? 2 of her own kids went to different continents to escape her meddling. Nothing bar wall shackles could help her keep in contact with them, the clingy, whingy harridan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

In fairness, one could understand why none of the family want to be around the interfering old cow. I mean, Jesus, can she not take a hint? 2 of her own kids went to different continents to escape her meddling. Nothing bar wall shackles could help her keep in contact with them, the clingy, whingy harridan.

:) was about to post the exact same thing. Also, it niggles at me when I hear the eircom phonewatch ad - "yeah, they are good at what they do?" Ehh...by what other means are we supposed to judge them? Good at what they don't do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Loving the irish pride ad..
    where yer man walks into some guys house with a bell looking for some bread. i love the way the owner of the house mocks him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Femmy wrote: »
    where yer man walks into some guys house with a bell looking for some bread. i love the way the owner of the house mocks him.

Yeah me too ... just don't like the way he says "do you want me to call the gardai ??"

Everyone says D'Guards like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭thejuggler

Like it or hate it respect is due to what must be the longest running character in Irish radio ads. I'm speaking of course of Oul Mr Brennan. (As the risk of being pedantic the character you're listening to is not oul mr brennan but his friend/colleague who is simply repeating what oul mr brennan has told him.) Not sure how long its running for but it seems like my entire radio listening life. For the curious out there - the voiceover artist is Bill Goulding who in a previous life played a character called Rory in Wanderly Wagon in the early 70's. This is probably too retro for most people here to remember though.

Oh that fecking Red Bull ad is bad!

Why is the irritating squeaky voiced lad eating midway through the ad?

Annoying!

All of the Avonmore super milk ads - full of overly excited mothers and irritating kids. Also the Fab Four ad for Windsor motors. Its about 40 years past its sell by date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭robo

Call the AA...I hate that ad. The little sh1t who knows it all but his parents won't listyen to him about calling the AA cos they can save the day. That is one of the most annoying ads on the radio these days!

Global home Improvements ad....I forgot how bad it is. I'll never use them because the ad is so incredibly irritating.

basquille wrote: »
    Oh that fecking Red Bull ad is bad!

Why is the irritating squeaky voiced lad eating midway through the ad?

Annoying!

In the original cinema ad he's in bed and halfway through he ducks under the covers to escape the girls charms, so his voice goes a bit muffled. Of course on the radio this makes no sense.

Good work Red Bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,539 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

I have to agree with the hate for that that terrible AA ad.... awful awful stuff.

Nobody has mentioned the "No Trumpets" halifax ad yet. Absolutely terrible. I'm not even sure what he is saying in the latter part of the ad - something like "is that a safe door slamming shut?" - that doesn't even make sense.

Mr E wrote: »
    Nobody has mentioned the "No Trumpets" halifax ad yet. Absolutely terrible. I'm not even sure what he is saying in the latter part of the ad - something like "is that a safe door slamming shut?" - that doesn't even make sense.

I've been out of the country for two weeks. I get back, turn on the radio, and that fcuking ad is the first thing I hear. It's still on, and still bloody annoying. The safe door comment is to do with the background sound effect used just before that. Kind of defeats the point of sound effects if you have to go and explain what they are, and in a stupid way at that.

Anyway, the offer ends at the end of September, so hopefully that'll be the end of it, and they won't extend it like all of the Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Shite Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Shite Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Right Price Tiles, Fight Price Tales, Right Price Tiles sales, or the One Direct insurance "sale".

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭GeturGun

Femmy wrote: »

yeah, love this one.

Agree with this though - who says Gardai?!?!?!?!?
    Yeah me too ... just don't like the way he says "do you want me to call the gardai ??"

Everyone says D'Guards like....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

A couple of stinkers that had got away with it up to now:

MaybeFriends - "What's your highest score in Mario?", "I can't wait to bring you home to my mum!" and as for that bloody Perhaps music in the background :mad:

Hibernian - on every bloody ad break, what twat was responsible for that 'let the sun shine on your face' song? Oh dear, oh dear :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,509 ✭✭✭cml387

I know that accountants have their place in the great scheme of things. But that current ad about what a great contribution they've made...

...should get a job at AIG if they're so bloody good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,509 ✭✭✭cml387

...and while I'm at it.

Was there a thread about the great voiceover artists of the present and past.
    We know Alan Stanford, Don Wycherley (Moi homme dot i ee).

Does anyone remember Bart Bastable of the Irish sweep? And is there a realtion currently working in media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

Its more the song thats the problem, but that one that goes.......

Eleven (pause).......eighteleven (pause).........ifyouwantanumberandyouroutonthetown, welltextittoyounoneedtowriteitdown (pause) ............eircom (pause) eleveneighteleven

........is bad.

every sylible the sung in the same note, what kind of a jingle is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Imhof Tank wrote: »

Eleven (pause).......eighteleven (pause).........ifyouwantanumberandyouroutonthetown, welltextittoyounoneedtowriteitdown (pause) ............eircom (pause) eleveneighteleven

........is bad.

given you remembered every word, i'd say a successful one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭dh0661

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    Eleven (pause).......eighteleven (pause).........ifyouwantanumberandyouroutonthetown, welltextittoyounoneedtowriteitdown (pause) ............eircom (pause) eleveneighteleven........is bad.

I have to agree with you.
    This ad actually makes my left hand go to the radio and change the station.
    I sometimes forget to change back, and it is annoying when you have realized that you've missed the end of whatever topic was being discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

tbh wrote: »
    given you remembered every word, i'd say a successful one :)

Not at all - I would always ring the 11850 crowd

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Ozziej

All time worst ad....... National radio cabs. "Some of the drivers are really cute."

Not fit to print what it should really say about those drivers after my experience with them when my job used them for taxi account (doesn't any more).

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭Ozziej

Nightwish wrote: »
    All of the Avonmore super milk ads - full of overly excited mothers and irritating kids. Also the Fab Four ad for Windsor motors. Its about 40 years past its sell by date.

Fab four? Fab three and a Chinaman who got lost. Why not get 4 guys that can do a scouser accent? Not 3 and an oriental voiceover specialist.

The McDonald's Wispa McFlurry ad is grinding my gears, every ad break and it's on.

jor el wrote: »
    The McDonald's Wispa McFlurry ad is grinding my gears, every ad break and it's on.
    Yeah, just came here to say the same.

"Ya plank ya.."

:mad: