Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Quinn insurance's current car insurance ad, some woman from clondalkin in a strong dublin accent

'i'll tell ya what i done, i went home and rang every insurance company in the phonebook and none of them were as cheap as quinn insurance, i have to say the people at quinn insurance are very nice'

not sure if i love it or hate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

dulpit wrote: »
    I thought Saorview was going to be free forever? :confused:

Free, sure...once you have a nice piece of paper with TV Licence printed on it, which isn't so free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,451 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Wertz wrote: »
    Free, sure...once you have a nice piece of paper with TV Licence printed on it, which isn't so free.

Oh. Not the same thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

Whilst on the subject saorview ads are a bit misleading (and PJ & Tommy are the worst pair of eejits ever)...to listen to them you'd think that the service is free forever....when it really really isn't...one for the ASAI maybe...

I also got the impression from listening to somthing on one of the tech slots on radio that if you have sky/upc/free to air box you also need to get another box for saorview. So all the uk stations on one box and then you have to switch boxes and cables to watch nationwide So its an added cost to buy another box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Not really the advert itself, but the tune played behind it.I think it was also used on an Ulster Bank advert too.I love it but its probably a made up tune but its really nice and soothing.Would love to have it as a ringtone:eek:. Its in this link on the top right.

I should be paid for the 2 companies I namechecked:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The ad for the new play at the Gaiety is going to get very annoying when its played dozens of times each day for weeks on end .....

V E R D I C T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

I think your post was somewhat misleading. Since we all have to pay TV license anyway and have done for as long as I can remember, I would consider it free. Maybe you wouldn't but you should at least explain that, saying it's not "free forever" sounds like they give you a free trial and then you have to pay an extra sub.
    neris wrote: »
    I also got the impression from listening to somthing on one of the tech slots on radio that if you have sky/upc/free to air box you also need to get another box for saorview. So all the uk stations on one box and then you have to switch boxes and cables to watch nationwide So its an added cost to buy another box

I think it won't make a difference if you have Sky or UPC but if you get the free satellite stations (with no subscription e.g. BBC, Channel 4, ITV) I believe you will need two separate boxes.

Oh and I love the Saorview ads. I think they're absolutely hilarious (whether that's the intention or not) due to the voices and animations and even the names of the animals. Also, they seem to actually change them frequently, unlike many advertisers who run the same ad over and over for months on end.

C14N wrote: »
    I think your post was somewhat misleading. Since we all have to pay TV license anyway and have done for as long as I can remember, I would consider it free. Maybe you wouldn't but you should at least explain that, saying it's not "free forever" sounds like they give you a free trial and then you have to pay an extra sub.

Fair enough, but I'm merely pointing out how the ad comes across to me and maybe others...the ad states that once you have bought the box the service is free forever. The service was never free.
    It's not a subscription based service that's fair enough...maybe it'd be better if they put it that way.
    Anyway too late for me to edit the post in question.

Oh and I love the Saorview ads. I think they're absolutely hilarious (whether that's the intention or not) due to the voices and animations and even the names of the animals. Also, they seem to actually change them frequently, unlike many advertisers who run the same ad over and over for months on end.

Strongly disagree here, personally think they're terrible. Poorly animated characters, with two of the usual RTÉ suspects from the pool of voice actors, the scripts are terrible instead of clearly explaining what saorview is for the benefit of those who need to have it explained (many old people I've talked to through work don't understand what it is), they waffle on about back to front binoculars, celebrity chefs and the like and try to make the ads humourous...this is a public information camapaign for a product that is confusing to many who will have no choice but upgrade on coming months and years...a plain english explanation without all the bells and whistles and cutesy characters would stand to everyone's benefit except for the company that came up with the costly campaign of course.

In other news that damn cork woman and her wrinkles? are back on for Zurich Insurance...kill me now. there's a few different ones, but that is head and shoulders above the rest ion terms of annoyingness

Strongly disagree here, personally think they're terrible. Poorly animated characters, with two of the usual RTÉ suspects from the pool of voice actors, the scripts are terrible instead of clearly explaining what saorview is for the benefit of those who need to have it explained (many old people I've talked to through work don't understand what it is), they waffle on about back to front binoculars, celebrity chefs and the like and try to make the ads humourous...this is a public information camapaign for a product that is confusing to many who will have no choice but upgrade on coming months and years...a plain english explanation without all the bells and whistles and cutesy characters would stand to everyone's benefit except for the company that came up with the costly campaign of course.

I agree, I've tried to explain this to my parents more than once and they're still fuzzy on it...

Well I already knew what Saorview was so that didn't bother me. I like them because every one leaves me cackling like a mad man, the only thing I have to figure out is whether I'm laughing at them or with them:o

• Registered Users Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭europa11

In other news that damn cork woman and her wrinkles? are back on for Zurich Insurance...kill me now. there's a few different ones, but that is head and shoulders above the rest ion terms of annoyingness

She's back!,:mad: and I get the feeling she's going to be bleeding ears from now right into Santa's Birthday.

A voice that can only be compared to the Thrush, i.e, an irritating cnut.

"My dad says the clock is ticking?"

timebomb.jpg

those fecking airtricity ads with the two gob****es and their trumpet and one of them getting stropy coz the other guy reads out the phone number or we address

YES! So bloody annoying, it's the guy who played Eoin McLove in Fr. Ted, his voice goes right through me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    This Viking Office supplies ad (this is the ink, that goes in the printer, that prints the paper............) is quite painful. It's obviously a UK ad that they just ran over here.
    delaad wrote: »
    As I read your post, the ad came on on newstalk. Scary. The An Post TV ad of the same genre was miles ahead of it. Is it Chris Evans voicing it?

Christ yes, a thousand times YES! My teeth are ground to dust from listening to this brain rotting crap.

It must have been played 10 times in the space of an hour and a half this morning on Newstalk. Are they sponsoring Newstalk it or what? Fook me, its a pain in the face hearing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭ttenneb

My pet hate is repeated by several different advertisers. It's when they say "forward slash". I think we have the idea now. The slash IS forward, unless it's in the context of programming. Please, enough.

ttenneb wrote: »
    My pet hate is repeated by several different advertisers. It's when they say "forward slash". I think we have the idea now. The slash IS forward, unless it's in the context of programming. Please, enough.

There's still plenty of people who don't know or understand computers at all. I often find myself explaining it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

The ad on Newstalk for Marathon Sports Travel with the Cavan man advertising "twips to the Teeter of Dweams" etc.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭stannis

Thank God I don't live in Ireland any more, so I don't have to hear all these awful ads... and that's only partial sarcasm.

the new apache pizza ad is dire and really head wrecking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,592 ✭✭✭✭L1011

ttenneb wrote: »

Or the path seperator in Windows, which most people use. I see plenty of people attempting to use backslashes in web addresses.

Who the hell types web addresses these days anyway? It's much quicker to stick compnay name or partial url in the google search box...

I hate it when people say "double you, double you, double you, dot" before web addresses on the air. Why? If people type the website minus the www. it still works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69,592 ✭✭✭✭L1011

NIMAN wrote: »
    I hate it when people say "double you, double you, double you, dot" before web addresses on the air. Why? If people type the website minus the www. it still works.

Only if the server is configured correctly to accept/redirect. Not every server is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭el diablo

MYOB wrote: »
    Only if the server is configured correctly to accept/redirect. Not every server is.

eg.

teamtalk.com

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

MYOB wrote: »
    Not every server is.

This. An awful lot of .ie sites don't seem to work without the www.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭stannis

They're all stuck in 1999. The antiquated idiots.

...or even worse, some 'aul lad who can only manage two of the "W"'s before he stumbles on to the dot.

Anyway back on topic somewhat: Global Windows...couldn't this father and daughter have saved us the pain and just texted each other about who did his triple glazing?

MONA!!!

FISHCAKES!!!

:mad::mad::mad:

Those ads for zurich with the aul fella taking the advice of his broker and is going to Zurich. Wish hed **** off to Zurich and throw himself of one of those very big mountains they have there so we dont have listen to that muck.

The Renault electric "quiz" ads. Fupin stupid ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,746 ✭✭✭squonk

and I'd add that bigger bounce add. It's so idiotic and they don't even make their point clear. I can't remember the ad right now but it was something like 'You know the sting when you high five someone', I thought they were selling some form of hand cream or something? It came across as 'You know that when something good happens, there's something ****e lurking in the background'. Then they started talking about money back on cars... WTF??? Whoever came up with this was obviously on something that impaired their ability to think clearly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

That fekcing Kildare Village ad, with the appallingly honeyed "Sex and the City" voice.

OH and Tom Crean, worlds greatest stand up is back :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭heyheyhey1982

The New easons Advert. I have to switch off straight away. The voice at the end "do you know where i can get a charger for my reader" in a horrible fake cork accent. Grinds my Gears!:mad:

This. With a cherry on top. And those Harvey Norman ads "sensational!".l :mad:

Marie Keating one is terrible...but the punchline is mildly amusing:

"Look after your girls"

Double entendre with a double meaning. Rest of the ad is terrible.

+1 on Eason's and new Renault ads.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

The new Renault Bouncebackability ad is excellent - best one on the radio right now.

Can someone please tell me why I would want to have GPS on my camera?

I have tried to think of a reason, and can't.

And I am sure you pay a hefty premium for that feature.

Can someone please tell me why I would want to have GPS on my camera?

I have tried to think of a reason, and can't.

And I am sure you pay a hefty premium for that feature.

A lot of photo management software now lets you "geotag" photos so you can look at a map or Google Earth or something and see where they were taken. It's built in on most smartphones but not many cameras have it yet. I doubt the feature costs too much though.

Ah I see, so when I am looking at that picture I took of the Trevi fountain, it will remind me where I was when I took it?;)

Sounds like a feature put into camera's to get sales from the gadget generation. Surely in a camera things like lens quality might be of more concern.

Ah I see, so when I am looking at that picture I took of the Trevi fountain, it will remind me where I was when I took it?;)

Sounds like a feature put into camera's to get sales from the gadget generation. Surely in a camera things like lens quality might be of more concern.

That sort of stuff is more important really, but only enthusiasts will care. Most people will be happy with the picture quality in any camera they find. At the same time, I would imagine that only tech heads would even know anything about this feature so it's a bit weird alright, who are they selling it to? I personally like the idea but it's nothing to kick up a fuss about.

ITs heavily advertised during the ad breaks on Today FM, think JVC sponsor the Last Word or something. End of the ad says "Fujifilm FinePix, now with GPS".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭Poochie05

I would imagine it could be useful for things such as photographing evidence, which would then give proof of the location the photo was taken, but that would be quite a specialist use!

Bring back screamy shouty harvey norman guy who was very annoying those new ads are dire and even worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Bring back screamy shouty harvey norman guy who was very annoying those new ads are dire and even worse

"Ask me bout compewters"

Last time I was in Harvey Normans the "computer" guy tried to bluff his way to selling me a **** spec PC :D The ad is awful though, they all sound hungover as well.

Poochie05 wrote: »
    I would imagine it could be useful for things such as photographing evidence, which would then give proof of the location the photo was taken, but that would be quite a specialist use!

I think it wouldn't help there, it's probably easy to change. You can geotag photos manually now if you want so I'd imagine you could do the same for this.

I do like having photos with location tags, it's kind of cool when you're looking on Google Earth and you see your own photos in various places, but that's just me. I would say its helpful for stuff like uploading public photos to Google Maps and stuff too.

• Registered Users Posts: 655 ✭✭✭splendid101

Those Vikings ads are really head wrecking. They're a stationary supply company or something. One of those ads that make me rip my earphones out as quick as I can.

Aw jaysus those new apache pizza ads are woeful (I used to actually chuckle at the old one)...the thinly disguised doob accent trying to take off native American and then How (you doin')...
    PFO.

+1 on HN ads too...audio lifted directly from TV version which is truly a sight to behold (not really)...not sure if I preferred the aussie guy shouting but at least it caught your attention...this is just bland and forgetable...if it weren't on every ad break. "So much to choose from!"

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭DuckStab

If I have to hear about "Siddy Colluj's FE1 Low Prewgrem" (City College's FE1 Law Programme) and its various luminaries in that f'ing accent one more time I'll, I'll... probably change the channel in a huff.

Fabulous Kildare village ads...I didn't think it was possible to out do the yank woman on annoying voice, but those airheads on the phone at the start with their fabukous this and fabulous that, have managed it.

Oh and that country girls play/book whatever it is and yer wan going on about me poor mudder...ah shure we've come a long way.
    Ads like this prove we really really haven't...