Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,746 ✭✭✭squonk

Wertz wrote: »
    Fabulous Kildare village ads...I didn't think it was possible to out do the yank woman on annoying voice, but those airheads on the phone at the start with their fabukous this and fabulous that, have managed it.

Oh and that country girls play/book whatever it is and yer wan going on about me poor mudder...ah shure we've come a long way.
    Ads like this prove we really really haven't...

Yeah, the 'Fabulous' ad has a few previouses, as the gardai would say. it's been known to have assaulted listeners ears in the past also. It's a trully bloody awful ad. I couldn't imagine any self-respecting woman being swayed by such bull****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

Some sort of stuff to prevent nappy rash.

Mother: "...I used it on you, and my mother used it on me too!"

Young son: "Wow, she must have needed a lot of it! lololol!!1!"

WTF is this supposed to mean? "Yeah ma, I bet you had a terrible arse for nappy rash".

Also, I remember when I saw ads on TV a when I was about 5, every ad was advertising "prevents nappy rash". A few years later, they dropped it (presumably nappy technology had improved to the point that nappy rash had become a thing of the past). Now it's back again?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭Col200sx

C14N wrote: »
    Some sort of stuff to prevent nappy rash.

Mother: "...I used it on you, and my mother used it on me too!"

Young son: "Wow, she must have needed a lot of it! lololol!!1!"

WTF is this supposed to mean? "Yeah ma, I bet you had a terrible arse for nappy rash".

Glad someone pointed this out. I didn't have a clue what that add meant, other than the mother having a really sh1tty arse :rolleyes:

And the kids voice is crap in it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭cml387

Col200sx wrote: »
    Glad someone pointed this out. I didn't have a clue what that add meant, other than the mother having a really sh1tty arse :rolleyes:

I'm glad someone brought this one up.

"What are you doin'?"
    "I'm rewiring a plug what does it effin' look like I'm doin?"

Plus is it "changing your nappy"?

In which case why is the kid talking?

Sorry,I've got to lie down now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,746 ✭✭✭squonk

Col200sx wrote: »

I've always taken that line from the kid to mean that the mother had a fat arse! I always have images of the mother hearing that and going all Samuel L. Jackson on the kid, 'You bitch ass mother****er! I'm gonna smoke yo ass" before executing the kid in an entertaining fashion! It'd be a far better ad IMHO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

squonk wrote: »
    I've always taken that line from the kid to mean that the mother had a fat arse! I always have images of the mother hearing that and going all Samuel L. Jackson on the kid, 'You bitch ass mother****er! I'm gonna smoke yo ass" before executing the kid in an entertaining fashion! It'd be a far better ad IMHO!

Yup...needing a lot of it = mammy has a huge arse.

Forgot about the caldesene ad...the mother's voice goes through me on that too. But seriously what little sister doesn't know what a nappy changing scenario looks like?

Yup...needing a lot of it = mammy has a huge arse.

Forgot about the caldesene ad...the mother's voice goes through me on that too. But seriously what little sister doesn't know what a nappy changing scenario looks like?

I think its a boy, but I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,451 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

TK Maxx ad, stupid song and stupid voice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

7 ads that annoy(ed) the piss out of me and/or make me want to take an ax to the radio;

Tom Crean; "I made a mistake." The only mistake made was someone thinking this would be a successful ad campaign, with the single worst laugh track in history.

NRC; That f*cking rapping. It's not even funny anymore.

Jedward promoting ANYTHING; Any time I hear these two melon-heads, I die a little inside.

Kildare fcuking Village; That fake American accent does my head in. I want to find that woman, and rip out her larynx.

TV Licence; "We've heard all the excuses" No, these ads give excuses a monkey with ADHD would give.

That ****ing rotating cocktail bar: I DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR ROTATING BAR!!!! NEITHER INDIANA JONES, MARCO POLO, NOR NEIL ARMSTRONG HAS ANY RELEVANCE TO A COCKTAIL BAR, YOU PRETENTIOUS NOB ENDS.

Setanta haka; Downright patronising, and insulting to the Maori People.

I'm sorry if that post was exceptionally angry or insulting to someone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

DB21 wrote: »
    7 ads that annoy(ed) the piss out of me and/or make me want to take an ax to the radio;

Tom Crean; "I made a mistake." The only mistake made was someone thinking this would be a successful ad campaign, with the single worst laugh track in history.

Jedward promoting ANYTHING; Any time I hear these two melon-heads, I die a little inside.

Kildare fcuking Village; That fake American accent does my head in. I want to find that woman, and rip out her larynx.

TV Licence; "We've heard all the excuses" No, these ads give excuses a monkey with ADHD would give.

That ****ing rotating cocktail bar: I DON'T CARE ABOUT YOUR ROTATING BAR!!!! NEITHER INDIANA JONES, MARCO POLO, NOR NEIL ARMSTRONG HAS ANY RELEVANCE TO A COCKTAIL BAR, YOU PRETENTIOUS NOB ENDS.

what post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

DB21 wrote: »

I like the Tom Crean story, I like exploration, I like Kerry but this ****ing ad is right up there with the most annoying ads ever - if you exclude all the ****ing medical ads that appear in every ad break! What the **** - none of us is getting out of here alive! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭optogirl

Bounce-backability - I have no idea what you're on about man? Sunshine on birthdays? Excellent high-fives? What?

This is the night, we must sleep, but not yet, it's night time, let's have the night. Night. ???

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭KerranJast

The "Appies" ad. Somewhere in the ether Gay Byrne is having a fit over yer wan's inability to pronouce "ou" correctly.

Oh god the Zurich ads have become self aware and are starting to pro-create...I heard a new one earlier who's broker started yodelling in reference to a campaign for the motor insurance division during the summer...

One of these days Alice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

National Irish Bank and their partnership ****e. Slightest hint your in financial trouble and the feckers will round up on u - Where would Rolls have been without Royce? Who gives a fcuk coz a bank doesnt give a fcuk about their relationship with the customer so hardly a partnership.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

neris wrote: »
    National Irish Bank and their partnership ****e. Slightest hint your in financial trouble and the feckers will round up on u - Where would Rolls have been without Royce? Who gives a fcuk coz a bank doesnt give a fcuk about their relationship with the customer so hardly a partnership.

It really annoys me the way the guy pronounces Hanna-Barbera. It's 'Barbera' not 'Barbara' - different names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

KerranJast wrote: »
    The "Appies" ad. Somewhere in the ether Gay Byrne is having a fit over yer wan's inability to pronouce "ou" correctly.

That ad is driving me mad:D

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭blue5

The ad with the Taxi rap (I refuse to proliferate the campaign by naming the company) makes me change the station or even worse turn the radio off. Awful. Will use any other company because of this ad campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭DuckStab

neris wrote: »

A bank talking about Rolls Royce in the first place made me laugh.
    Also doesn't help that they picked someone who seems to have a Doctorate in Smug Bastardology to voice the ads either. Someone who I've just been subjected to THREE TIMES in one ad break! The aforementioned offending article, an ad for sport in The Irish Times (what would I do if there was no sport? f'ing rejoice), and some series on TG4 about Dublin. Gah.

Oh and to echo the hatred for Renault's "bouncebackability", what kind of drugs has Bill Cullen been smoking? Sounds like it was cobbled together by some deluded media grad after a night of The Mighty Boosh and some specialist funghi.

I'm glad I haven't heard any Tom Creane ads, they must be terrible...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭coup1917

Anyone hear the Bono ad on newstalk at the moment..?
    Think he was making a speech during a gig at the RDS...
    Obviously a different time in relation to employment problems but a bit freaky all the same to see we are right back to where we were 25 years ago...:eek:
    think the U2 song in the background makes it...

coup1917 wrote: »
    Obviously a different time in relation to employment problems but a bit freaky all the same to see we are right back to where we were 25 years ago...:eek:

The fact he mentions Bank of Ireland and AIB in it is it a bit weird. Maybe if Bono hadnt been preaching about helping Africa he could have been at home helping the little guy fight the banks

coup1917 wrote: »

I trust that you mentioning this ad in the 'worst' category as patronizing crap from the likes of Bono doesn't improve with the years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭coup1917

I trust that you mentioning this ad in the 'worst' category as patronizing crap from the likes of Bono doesn't improve with the years.

I struggle with the majority of Newstalk ads to be honest, they're all fairly patronising.....ad Bono to the mix and the radio goes off.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

That radio ad about flooring. Your man says what's the first thing you see when you walk into a room? THE FLOOR he answers. If you were watching where you were going you wouldn't see the floor first :rolleyes: Maybe if you were in a total state of depression and walked around with your head hitting the floor you would see the floor first but then buying the floor boards that he was advertising would be the last thing on your mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭caddy2

the ad for insurance with pat short in it, is it one direct, its 1890 22222222222, ARRGGH!!!! its like something gruesome in a horror film, i have to change the channel when it comes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Ciaran_B wrote: »
    It really annoys me the way the guy pronounces Hanna-Barbera. It's 'Barbera' not 'Barbara' - different names.

Yeah, I thought that myself, but I figured the ad-makers were right - because they would have checked a detail like that, wouldn't they? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭Genghis

About the U2 gig, think it was from 'Self-Aid', a Live Aid style concert back in the mid-80's whose cause was Irish Unemployment.

About the ad, I can't decide if the music playing behind it is from the gig, or overdubbed by newstalk - sounds a lot like the studio version.

Either way, it is not the worst ad Newstalk ever produced IMHO.

The ad series I absolutely despise are the ones for the Lotto. Those 'What I'd do' scenarios are not funny or realistic.

That ad for the Suzuki SX4 really annoys me - the one where the guy talks about his experience in the winter last year costing him three grand - accompanied by the sound of a skid and a crash.

It plays on people's fears, but fair enough - plenty of ads do that. The problem is that it implies that because the car has four-wheel drive, that it will stop better in snow and ice, which is complete and utter (not to mention dangerous) búll****.

4WD is great for getting you moving in the snow, but it can't stop you crashing into anything. The only people who can make claims about improving braking conditions in the snow are the manufacturers of winter tyres.

It's one thing if an ad is annoying, but it's another thing entirely if it misinforms people on an important road safety matter. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Getting pretty sick of those ads on Radio One...

Zurich.... stupid, stupid fkn ads... As if anybody is gonna invest in a pension anyway.. I wish the lot of them would fuk off to Zurich..

Renaults Bouncebackability.... This is just a load of nonsense, "the sting after a high five".. doesnt even make sense..

"oh Winter's back".... "no I've got Winter's back".. God what an amazingly clever play on words... I'd say some advertising junior thought he was really clever when he came up with this one :mad:

Prostate .....there I said it! Usually on when you're trying to eat your meals.

"oh Winter's back".... "no I've got Winter's back".. God what an amazingly clever play on words... I'd say some advertising junior thought he was really clever when he came up with this one :mad:

Yeah, who the fcuk ever heard of "winter's back" as the name of an ailment?

Stupid, stupid ad!

An awful lot of new ads for various government bodies/quangoes airing the past few days...

Food safety one listing raw meat and a whole series of kitchen implements that form the chain to your child...

Health & Safety Auth directing you to a new website where you can do some quiz or some such rubbish.

Various new RSA ads (drink drive limits, cannabis driving, HGV yearly certification)

Not annoying as such, but the cynic in me thinks that these ads and other like them are there merely to promote the "vital" work these bodies do and justify their existence as we approach the budget and associated cuts. "Oh look at us, where would the country be if we didn't exist?"

Genghis wrote: »
    The ad series I absolutely despise are the ones for the Lotto. Those 'What I'd do' scenarios are not funny or realistic.

I actually quite like those ads. The TV ones are better but I still get a chuckle out of the radio ones. Only part that annoys me is the "why do anything when you could just play Lotto?" because every time I hear it I think "because they're not going to win the Lotto but they would hypothetically actually get the money for doing the dumb stuff".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭Genghis

An awful lot of new ads for various government bodies/quangoes airing the past few days...

Food safety one listing raw meat and a whole series of kitchen implements that form the chain to your child...

Health & Safety Auth directing you to a new website where you can do some quiz or some such rubbish.

Various new RSA ads (drink drive limits, cannabis driving, HGV yearly certification)

Not annoying as such, but the cynic in me thinks that these ads and other like them are there merely to promote the "vital" work these bodies do and justify their existence as we approach the budget and associated cuts. "Oh look at us, where would the country be if we didn't exist?"
    I suggest its a case of protecting their budget for next year by wasting it now - 'Spend it in 2011 or lose it in 2012'.

Genghis wrote: »
    I suggest its a case of protecting their budget for next year by wasting it now - 'Spend it in 2011 or lose it in 2012'.

Undoubetdly...used to see that with the healthboards years ago too...spend it or you won't get as much next year...idiotic way to do things IMO.

Current Benecol ad...bleugh... "as Medbh will tell you, that's a fact!" *DING*
    Is Medbh suitably qualified in the relevant field of bio-nutrition to make such bold claims? I think not...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

hate that add with the lines , 6772222 , not even sure what its about but it sounds like that idiot pj gallagher has a line or two in it with his talk of being on the way to his ma,s

Its just the nanny state reminding us their watching and taking the responsibility from everyone and passing it onto employers, restaurants etc so the man in the street can be as thick as he wants and then blame someone else. I only started noticing the amount of quangos and govt agencies we have from the original post. hsa, fsa, seai, drink aware, rsa bladdy bladdy blah

The aerlingus ads where the voice over is going on about sporting trips to the uk especially the football one where he suddenly starts a dodgy mick mccarthy/manager accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Alzy

irishh_bob wrote: »
    hate that add with the lines , 6772222 , not even sure what its about but it sounds like that idiot pj gallagher has a line or two in it with his talk of being on the way to his ma,s

yeah I agree , it's for taxis I think .... 'get off the bus ride with us ' :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,451 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

An ad for Big Maggie, what's up with her voice????

dulpit wrote: »

Butch muck savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

dulpit wrote: »

strong woman of the soil

Oi'm dah bosh!

A right scary Mary she sounds like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭Patser

There's an ad on Newstalk at the moment for Citroen.

Starts off with an announcer saying 'Congratulations Citroen on winning the World Rally Championship!', then Pepe Le Phew is wheeled out speaking in the most terrible piss take French accent ever saying how everyone can win at a Citroen dealer this weekend.

Sweet Jesus, his accent even changes Citroens pronounciation to starting with an Sh.!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I love radio Nova but they have the worst ads.

Whats the taxi one? They make a "hip" remix of "Ice Ice Baby". I got a Hemorrhoid listening to it.

Also the Eurocycle eurobaby ads.:mad:

Patser wrote: »
    There's an ad on Newstalk at the moment for Citroen.

Starts off with an announcer saying 'Congratulations Citroen on winning the World Rally Championship!', then Pepe Le Phew is wheeled out speaking in the most terrible piss take French accent ever saying how everyone can win at a Citroen dealer this weekend.

Sweet Jesus, his accent even changes Citroens pronounciation to starting with an Sh.!!!!

I've not heard the ad but are you sure it's not Sebastien Loeb? His accent wouldn't be dissimilar tbh and he drives for Citroen world rally team.
    Can't see why they wouldn't use someone that they pay so muc to already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭optogirl

Does Stanley Townsend do every ad on radio? (Along with Yvonne from Fairly ****ty)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,094 ✭✭✭Patser

I've not heard the ad but are you sure it's not Sebastien Loeb? His accent wouldn't be dissimilar tbh and he drives for Citroen world rally team.
    Can't see why they wouldn't use someone that they pay so muc to already.

No, I don't think so. Listened to a Loeb interview there and he sounds pretty much how you expect a non-English speaker to sound. This ad has some-one doing an Inspector Closeau Piss-take accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Alzy wrote: »
    yeah I agree , it's for taxis I think .... 'get off the bus ride with us ' :mad:

Get off the Bus....RIDE WITH US!!!

Get off the DART...RIDE WITH US!!!

Get off the LUAS....RIDE WITH US!!!

NRC....Taxi....Taxi....Taxi...:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: