Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Romani?

• 30-10-2007 5:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone here have the language of the Roma beggars?

I have them calling to the door all the time and want to put up a sign saying "No begging" in their own language.

Would a sign in Hungarian, English, Czech and Punjabi do? This to cover the areas they come from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭trevorku

I guess no you say "Ne cerşetor", however its a bad translation and means 'No beggar'.

Its better to say 'nici cerşetor'.

I have a Romanian friend who can translate it better if you want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

I think he wanted it in Romani ?sp , spoken by the Roma lads you get at the door. Maybe Romania is where your friend is from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭trevorku

oops thought it was the same place, sorry :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,302 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It's Rroma.
    I'll ask a couple of the kids at school tomorrow and get back to you.

A sign is hoping they can read though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thanks spurious! Hopefully this will be enough to keep them off.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,302 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

He said to put this on a notice:

Rughisarastume
    Nai voia
    Te mangăn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Thanks a million for your help!
    Do you have a rough idea what it says?

It says (I hope) 'Please do not beg'.

I had to be a bit diplomatic since the young lad I asked is himself Roma, but he had no problem with it, as his family have been in work for generations and it hurts him to think the beggars represent what most people think of as Roma.

He's in 5th Year and hoping to join the guards. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4 petra62

spurious wrote: »
    He said to put this on a notice:

Rughisarastume
    Nai voia
    Te mangăn

I'm romanian and i dont understand nothing what you wrote here.
    so in romanian language : '' nu cersetori '' it mean no beggers.
    but if they are gypsy it is possible to dont know to read
    or '' va rugam nu cersiti'' it means ''please do not beg''
    I just saw I answered after 4 years lol