Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Las Vegas

• 01-11-2007 12:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Heading to Las Vegas in December?
    Would appreciate a few do's and dont's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

omg where to start, here is a good website which outlines the best attractions in each of the hotels in vegas http://www.vegas.com/attractions

top 5 imo are
    *Bellagio fountains (free, as seen in oceans 11)
    *Star trek experience/borg at the hilton (half price tickets for this can be got at various ticket booths such as ticket4tonite, scattered throughout the strip) get a warp core breach in quarks bar afterward, if you can handle it..
    *High octane rides on top of the stratosphere, MENTAL and i have been on all the top rollercoasters in the world but insanity and x-scream take the biscuit.
    *Sirens of Treasure Island free show
    *Wynn lake of dreams (inside hotel on the hour every hour from 6pm till 12am)

i would recommend fremont street experience which plays on the hour every hour from 5pm till 12am

the gun store where you can fire live weapons such as Ak47 for $20 a round,

helicopter trip over the strip

a day in red rock canyon and valley of fire (both very close to vegas and much much closer than grand canyon).

best bars include http://www.vegas.com/nightlife/bars/

bar at time square in New York New York hotel
    Mix at the top of Mandalay Bay hotel
    Carnaval Court in Harrahs
    Voodoo Lounge at the top of Rio hotel (best bar/nightclub in vegas imo, the trip up is an experience in itself)
    Ghostbar at the Palms

nightclubs can be a pain especially on friday and saturday nights, i like body english at hard rock and light at bellagio but its a bit hit and miss with all the hollywood celebs there such as paris hilton, if you are a group of lads forget it unless you pay for VIP http://www.vegas.com/nightclubs/ most of the bars i mentioned such as voodoo are nightclubs in themselves anyway after 10pm.

stay away from Coyote Ugly at NYNY. buffets at Circus Circus, excalibur, imperial palace, riveria are nothing short of terrible. the best buffets are to be had at golden nugget, rio, gold coast, orleans, harrahs or if you can afford $20+ for a buffet then head to planet hollywood, paris, bellagio, mirage or wynn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 zantine

That is excellent thank you, when have you been there last sounds like you are a regular
    I am really looking foreward to it it should be unreal!

Spending money how much do you think, taking in the fact that I plan on having a super time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 dublincityvic

Was there a few months back did none of the above apart from the stratosphere. due to being inebriated most of the time and gambling!Highly recomend the rides on top of the stratosphere though..i have been to alot of theme parks, done sky dives etc. have done nothing and never will do anything which comes close to insanity and x scream - do them at night..

if you only have a few days walk around and visit all the hotels and casinos - one better than the other - the luxar was the most impressive imo.. and the magic mile - a mile long street with designer shops ..

zantine wrote: »
    That is excellent thank you, when have you been there last sounds like you are a regular
    I am really looking foreward to it it should be unreal!

been to vegas 5 times; 1998, 1999, 2000, 2005 and for my 30th birthday in January this year, best city in the world imo, streets ahead of the big american cities like new york, chicago, los angeles.

I forgot to mention the shows:
    *Big Elvis plays a free hourly show twice daily at 3pm and 5pm each day in the bar Bills Gambling Hall and Saloon hotel across from Caesars Palace (get there about half an hour before hand and order a cocktail or something).

*MacKing is a magician/comedian in Harrahs and is probably the best show in town. You can get two tickets for $18 plus 2 free drinks if you sign up to Harrahs casino club near the front entrance (do not miss this guy, he has two shows daily at 1pm and 3pm, show lasts for about 80 minutes).

*Penn and Teller play the Rio, excellent show but expensive at $70 a pop, but you do get to meet both guys at the end.

*Lance Burton plays the Monte Carlo

*Cirque du Soleil play all over the place, if you are bringing your girlfriend/wife they will love "O" at Bellagio, Mystère at Treasure Island or "Beatles Love" at Mirage. Again tickets for these shows are expensive, expect to pay at least $90 a pop.
    Spending money how much do you think, taking in the fact that I plan on having a super time

money wise it depends, if you are going to be gambling alot i really cannot help you because i doubt i have spent more than $50 in total in 5 trips gambling :D

you can have a great time in vegas with very little money. Bottles of beer are $1 in O'Sheas and Casino Royale. You can get a 3 course steak dinner in Ellis Island for $4.95 or a prime rib dinner in California hotel for $6.99 (which is excellent and far better than a prime rib i paid $20 for in the hilton)

However if you plan to go clubbing beware it can become very expensive in vegas as most of the top clubs are now geared towards the mega rich so vodka will set up back at least $10 in clubs, same with beers :mad:

Anthony Curtis has an excellent website with all the offers http://www.lasvegasadvisor.com/topten.cfm?IssueDate=11-1-07 and http://www.lasvegasadvisor.com/

where do you plan to stay (strip, downtown, off strip), what is your budget for hotels???

we are staying in Imperial Palace Hotel & Casino
    First time in Vegas so all this advice is top dollar thanks
    Budgeting for maximum €2,000
    May or maynot spend that much, what is the story on buying clother over there hear its dirt cheap for nice stuff
    I expect we will be doing alot of boozing, those fun rides sound good definetly doing them
    You know anything about the hotel, its on the strip as far as I know

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

You have to go to the Grand Canyon. Absolutely excellent experience. Also go out on the Skywalk. A bit of a rip-off but at the same time worth it (if that makes sense).

Also I went to a Gun Range. It was the first time I've ever used a firearm. Quite cool shooting an Uzi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Rossie has it pretty much all covered.

I'd just throw in some more reccomendations for;
    The Gun Store.
    Cirque Du Soleil; Personally I went to see Ka and was completly in awe, astonishing.
    Grand Canyon day trip at least.
    Rides atop the Strat are great fun alright, although wouldn't say they are the scariest or most exhilarating I've done.

we are staying in Imperial Palace Hotel & Casino
    First time in Vegas so all this advice is top dollar thanks
    Budgeting for maximum €2,000
    May or maynot spend that much, what is the story on buying clother over there hear its dirt cheap for nice stuff
    I expect we will be doing alot of boozing, those fun rides sound good definetly doing them
    You know anything about the hotel, its on the strip as far as I know

here is a video of one of the thrill rides http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JHpyPOxveBA

as far a clothes go there is a shopping centre in all the big hotels, bellagio, wynn, caesars, venetian, planet hollywood. For me the cheapest is the Las Vegas Outlet Center a mile or two south of the airport (last big hotel on the Strip which is mandalay Bay), plenty of good bargins to be got there http://www.premiumoutlets.com/outlets/outlet.asp?id=61

Imperial Palace hotel is in a fantastic location right in the middle of the strip so you are next door to the Venetian, Flamingo and across the road from Mirage, Caesars and Bellagio. The quality is nowhere near those hotels mentioned but then again you won't get any of them under $200 a night :D Its a decent hotel, very very large with 2,700 rooms. you are also next door to the O'Sheas and Casino Royale so no problems with the cheap beer :p

There is not alot happening in the Imperial Palace itself but no worries you only need a bed for a few hours anyway and you can walk to most of the giant hotels from there.

The deuce bus runs 24 hours on the strip if you want to go the the Stratosphere or further to downtown and the Fremont Street Experience or south to the sign, Mandalay Bay or the Outlet Mall

• Registered Users Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭ErnieBert

rossie1977 wrote: »
    been to vegas 5 times; 1998, 1999, 2000, 2005 and for my 30th birthday in January this year, best city in the world imo, streets ahead of the big american cities like new york, chicago, los angeles.
    You hit the nail on the head there rossie1977. I was there in 2001 and loved it. Went to a few shows and a few gigs in the Hard Rock, and only spent about a hundred bucks gambling... which was gone in a few minutes.

Thanks guys you've all been a great help. I cant wait!

So is there any "negatives" that I should watch out for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 dublincityvic

Thanks guys you've all been a great help. I cant wait!

So is there any "negatives" that I should watch out for

Outrageous Humidity..worse than NY in the summer!

i mentioned a few on my first post

stay away from Coyote Ugly at NYNY. buffets at Circus Circus, excalibur, imperial palace, riveria are nothing short of terrible.

*Do not walk between the Stratosphere tower and downtown (its about 2 miles or so but it is junkland city and very dangerous
    *Do not walk more than 1/4 mile north, south, east or west or the Fremont Street Experience. Fremont itself is very very safe though.

http://www.vegastodayandtomorrow.com/condomap.htm
    http://www.all-lasvegas.com/images/stripmap.gif
    Outrageous Humidity..worse than NY in the summer

actually there is no humidity in vegas, its dry heat but it does get up close to 50C at times in July/August. Hit 48C this summer.

oh yeah watch out for annoying porn slappers and timeshare people. With you staying in Imperial Palace those timeshare people will be asking you to go on a 2 hour meeting for a free helicopter trip etc, ignore them.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

Thanks Rossie,
    I'm heading for a week on Tuesday, i've printed off all that advice. Apart from the obvious we're planning on skydiving and quadbiking.
    I'm going for a stag and a wedding so it should be legendary! :D

blah wrote: »
    Thanks Rossie,
    I'm heading for a week on Tuesday, i've printed off all that advice. Apart from the obvious we're planning on skydiving and quadbiking.
    I'm going for a stag and a wedding so it should be legendary! :D

the las vegas valley is an outdoor enthusiasts dream, dont forget to check out lake mead about 20 miles east of vegas, amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭patto_chan

Vegas is great. I was there for a few days over Christmas last year. It was the final stopover on my way home from a month long trip. The overall objective of my trip was to fulfill long-held ambitions by scuba diving at certain pacific locations but when I arrived home all I could talk about was Vegas...

I concur with the advice given already.
    Highlights of my trip were:
    • Driving up to the Hoover Dam
    • Seeing a few shows. 'O' at the Bellagio was a little long but very interesting. Was also lucky to get scalped tickets to a Jerry Seinfeld comedy gig.
    • Amusement rides on top of the Stratosphere Tower
    • The Fremont Street experience
    • The free shows, spectacles at most of the Casinos - Bellagio fountains, Treasure Island Pirate show etc, etc
    • Visiting the different casinos for a 'gawk' if nothing else. The Venetian and Bellagio are very plush.
    • The Bellagio Buffet - worth the money (but long queues).
    • Eating and drinking.
    • I barely had time to gamble. I was fortunate to have a Vegas vet friend to guide me around. If new to gambling it's cheaper to hone your blackjack skills at the casinos off the strip (Fremont St etc) where the table minimum bets are cheaper ($5). On the strip in the newer, larger and more expensive casinos the minimum bet can be $20 and rise during the evening. So if you don't know what you're doing it can get expensive.

Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

dont forget to check out lake mead about 20 miles east of vegas, amazing.

Better yet, skydive over Lake Mead, the offer is available, not sure if you have your crew picked yet or not though.

That bus that goes up and down the strip is handy and cheap ($3 or 4 for the whole day I think) but it is DESPERATLY slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

I'd recommend asking this in the poker forum too...half the users go there every year..

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭arcade1

was in vegas about 2 months ago, fantastic, like everyone here says it the greatest place on earth.
    dont try and plan to much,just walk around and soke stuff in,
    and dont bother with the rides on the top of the Stratosphere Tower, they are pure crap!!! a complete waste of money. dont get me wrong the view from the top is class but the rides are rubbish, much more of a thrill playing blackjack.

you dont even need to go to a nightclub, sit down at a blackjack table with some strangers, and talk to them and the dealers, most of them are good fun, dont forget to tip the dealers if your on a wining streak or when your leaving the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm surprised DeVore hasn't posted in here yet:D

arcade1 wrote: »
    was in vegas about 2 months ago, fantastic, like everyone here says it the greatest place on earth.
    dont try and plan to much,just walk around and soke stuff in,
    and dont bother with the rides on the top of the Stratosphere Tower, they are pure crap!!! a complete waste of money. dont get me wrong the view from the top is class but the rides are rubbish, much more of a thrill playing blackjack.

you dont even need to go to a nightclub, sit down at a blackjack table with some strangers, and talk to them and the dealers, most of them are good fun, dont forget to tip the dealers if your on a wining streak or when your leaving the table.

you can play blackjack in reno, atlantic city, detroit, boloxi and hundreds of indian casinos so what sets vegas apart???

you can´t be arched off a 1150ft tower and spun around at 3gs in any of those places mentioned though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mcgrate

Roaster wrote: »
    You have to go to the Grand Canyon. Absolutely excellent experience. Also go out on the Skywalk. A bit of a rip-off but at the same time worth it (if that makes sense).

Also I went to a Gun Range. It was the first time I've ever used a firearm. Quite cool shooting an Uzi.

Hi Roaster,

Can you give me more information on the gun range? Would love to take my boyfriend there. We're going early next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭abakan

any recommendations for accommodation?? heading there and would like to stay at a nice hotel cheaply.I have heard of the saraha mentioned as a good place.

any other ideas
    ta

mcgrate wrote: »
    Hi Roaster,

Can you give me more information on the gun range? Would love to take my boyfriend there. We're going early next year.

its actually called the gun store las vegas, inside they have a firing range. you choose your weapon at the counter, loads to choose from uzi, shotgun, ak47, M16, handgun etc etc. Rounds cost $25 or $20 with coupon that are available everywhere in vegas hotels. You get five shells with a shotgun and 25 bullets with a ak47 (but every time you pull the trigger of an ak47 it fires 3 shots, well i did for me). The store is located approx 3 miles east of the mgm grand hotel and the CAT bus that travels up and down Tropicana avenue stops right outside the door here is the website http://www.thegunstorelasvegas.com/
    abakan wrote:
    any recommendations for accommodation?? heading there and would like to stay at a nice hotel cheaply.I have heard of the saraha mentioned as a good place

i stayed at the sahara 2 years ago, nice enough hotel for the price $40 a night for a room with 2 double beds. If you are staying at the Sahara make sure you ask for a room in the TANGIERS Tower as this was built in the early 1990s unlike parts of the hotel which were built in the 1950s and are beginning to show their age :(

the main problem with sahara is its location. It is located at the far end of the north strip near nowhere. Its is half a mile to to nearest hotel/casino and there is nothing but crappy tacky souvenier shops nearby, the nearest hotel south is Circus Circus and north is Stratosphere. Give it a few years and Sahara will be in a good location as 3-4 giant casinos are currently under construction near there but today i wouldn't recommend Sahara for a first time vegas visitor.

for the same price you can stay at the Gold Coast where i stayed in January, really nice hotel, much better restaurants, better location next door to the Rio Hotel and the Palms which both have excellent nightlife, downside to Gold Coast is the size of the bathrooms and the tiny pool.

If i was to recommend 2 hotels on the strip in the middle of all the action for budget first timers i would send them either to Excalibur or Tropicana. Tropicana like Sahara is quite old but the "Island Towers" rooms are very nice. DO NOT STAY AT THE GARDEN ROOMS IN THE TROPICANA, they are the old motels rooms built in the 1940s, beware, pay the extra $10 for the island tower room if staying here.

the Imperial Palace where the OP is staying is also a good choice, its location cannot be beat by any hotel in town no matter how much extra you pay.

one piece of advice, cheapest time of year to go to vegas is the 3 weeks before Christmas but it will be much colder then. The weather in April is perfect and all the pools will then be open.

best website to look for vegas hotel rooms http://www.travelaxe.com do not book through an independant website though, write down the rate and then ring the hotel direct and they will match that rate and more than likely put you in a better room if you book direct with them

thanks for the reply, good advise and ill take it on board.

I think why I was giving the saraha was because it had cheap poker/blackjack table $5 and resonably priced room rather than 10/20$ in other hotels.

ill have a look at that website now and hopefully book something soon, and yip im heading there the 12th Dec, frecking cool........

gold coast hotel has $5 poker/blackjack tables and $3 roulette. room price would be the same but overall i would go for gold coast over sahara every day of the week due to location and the fact there is a FREE shuttle bus to center strip every 20 minutes

reviews of sahara http://las-vegas-hotels.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g45963-d97733-Reviews-Sahara_Hotel_Casino-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html

reviews of gold coast http://las-vegas-hotels.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g45963-d91823-Reviews-Gold_Coast_Hotel_and_Casino-Las_Vegas_Nevada.html

my reviews of both places are in there somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

*Penn and Teller play the Rio, excellent show but expensive at $70 a pop, but you do get to meet both guys at the end.

Thought the show was poor, and I'm a big fan of their TV shows.

Stayed in the Gold Coast both times I was there, good value and proximity to The Rio.

There is Karaoke every sunday, keep an eye out for Sparky (he looks like a 90lb version of Sloth from The Goonies).
    Say hello to him and he will probably say:

Hi, I'm Sparky! Welcome to Las Vegas - what you see is what you git and what you git is what your stuck with!'

At least, that's what he said to me and both of my friends one by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭briman1983

hey op what kind of money did ya pay for flights and accommodation yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭arcade1

you can play blackjack in reno, atlantic city, detroit, boloxi and hundreds of indian casinos so what sets vegas apart???

you can´t be arched off a 1150ft tower and spun around at 3gs in any of those places mentioned though :D

they were the least thrilling rides i have ever been on, the rides in tramore are more exciting!!!
    i went to magic mountain outside LA a few days after vegas, if you want good rollercoasters go there.

what sets vegas apart is that the atmosphere, its undecrible, you have been, surely you know that it cant be put into words, that is what sets it apart, no matter how much you win or lose, you will never look back at the trip and say you shouldn't have done it, bacause it will always be worth it!
    what makes vegas special is not some crappy excuse for a rollercoaster on the top of a tower.

arcade1 wrote: »
    they were the least thrilling rides i have ever been on, the rides in tramore are more exciting!!!
    i went to magic mountain outside LA a few days after vegas, if you want good rollercoasters go there.

what sets vegas apart is that the atmosphere, its undecrible, you have been, surely you know that it cant be put into words, that is what sets it apart, no matter how much you win or lose, you will never look back at the trip and say you shouldn't have done it, bacause it will always be worth it!
    what makes vegas special is not some crappy excuse for a rollercoaster on the top of a tower.

ah man that explains it, you were on the crap rollercoaster, no wonder :eek: They have built two new rides on top of the stratosphere since called Insanity and X-Scream and dismantled the god awful excuse of a thing they called a rollercoaster; the High Roller, man that blew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

Arcade I cant believe you didn't enjoy the rides, I did them all and you will not get a better buzz :eek:. The rollercoasters in some of the other hotels are a bit of craic too, new york new york is best.

I agree with the other posters and stick to the smaller hotels for gambling, 1 deck for blackjack, smaller minimum bets etc, we even used $1 chips as in 10 $1 bets to make the minimum bet. It will scare you when you see the size of some of the bets people make.

We stayed in the Golden Nugget, beautiful room, great service, we kept getting comped free food and drink and there is a huge one armed bandit which works, remember to get a picture :D. The Nugget gave free lessons on how to play blackjack, craps, poker etc in the mornings and then they give you free chips to play with. I think most hotels do this also.

A bus runs from the old strip up to the new and onto a great outlet store, nice bargins, great thing about the bus is you pay one price and can hop on and off as long as you go in the one direction.

Star Trek experience in the Hilton is a must, do both 'rides'. We spent a day in the grand canyon, flew out there which is a great flight includes spin over the dam then we got a Helicopter down into it and rode a donkey back up. As part of this package we got a night flight over Vegas. It was fairly pricey but well worth it, booked it online lots of different companies do it.

The clubs and pubs are ok but the bigger ones are populated by 'Coke Cola' ad people, you know the type done up to the nines and want to teach the world to sing :mad:. Nine fine Irishmen in new york new york was one of the least plastic paddy bars I've tried on my travels and pretty good Guinness, barman did put on a hollywood 'orish' accent went he heard mine usual Irish drink for an Irish man sh*te, soon stopped when I handed him a 5 euro note Irish money for an Irish drink in an Irish bar for an Irish man as I said to him ;).

Do take some time and visit the bigger hotels and go into their VIP sections, the slot machines only take credit cards as the minimun bet was $500 per pull, scary how much money people were losing.

Heading back this summer for the Star Trek convention :o, I know geeky but from what I hear they are a once in a lifetime experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Simon201

Was in Vegas in September, would advise anyone to try and get to see 'Love' in the Mirage. Oh jesus, I was blown away, like yeah I'd be a bit biased cos I like the Beatles and it's not cheap, but it's just a completely brilliant mixture of acrobatics, dancing and acting all incredibly enhanced (but not over the top) with the most amazing technical theatre gadgetry. And unlike when you go and see one of those Lloyd Weber/Rice shows where it's kind of enjoyable but you've never heard any of the music, there are so many familiar Beatles songs played (there are no live singers, it's all the original tracks) I can't see how anyone wouldn't enjoy this show.

how much are the extras when you arrive at the hotel in vegas.

booking the tropiciana tomorrow but i have just seen the "extra" taxes not included in the price but are on the terms and conditions

I have to pay $6 per night for extras and another tax for clark county

Anything else do ya know of.

thanks a mil

room tax in clark county is 9% on top of the nightly rate

some hotels have added extra taxes like electric usage and other bs like that in recent years :mad:

if staying at the tropicana, take my advice and choose the island tower rooms, apart from that have a great trip and it looks like the weather is improving for next week but don't expect much over 11 degrees and try the $20 trick at checkin http://www.thetwentydollartrick.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

I was just on the MGM grand website. I was looking at booking 3 nights there in the middle of july next year. 3 nights starting from the 09/07/08 in a Grand Tower room was $272 for a room for 4 per night. That works out at $68 (€46) per person per night. That seems pretty reasonable. How does that compare to other hotels in the centre of the strip and is it worth it?

the MGM grand is a great hotel, just south of centre strip in a fantastic location across the road from New York New York, Excalibur and Luxor

its a massive hotel (the biggest in the world with over 6,000 rooms) and the rooms are easily what we would call 4 star here, the more expensive ones probably would equal irish 5 star. the grand has 5 pools and 3 food courts as well as about 20 restaurants, nightclubs, numerous bars and even a 18,000 seat arena for concerts and boxing etc.

The Grand Tower Rooms are the smallest in the hotel but the advantage is that they are located closest to the strip which means you wont have to walk the 1/3 mile distance from the back of the hotel to the front, which is tortuous a couple of times a day believe me :)

looking at mgm website they are offering me rooms for $189 a night those dates, thing about vegas is the prices go up alot on friday and saturday nights so beware, try to plan to stay between sunday and thursday, also the weather in vegas in july can be hot (very hot, it hit 48C last July :eek:) so take that into account

hotels in vegas often give out promo codes for deals on rooms, the longer you wait the better the deal may be http://www.smartervegas.com/promotionaldiscountscodes.aspx

if staying at the tropicana, take my advice and choose the island tower rooms, apart from that have a great trip and it looks like the weather is improving for next week but don't expect much over 11 degrees and try the $20 trick at checkin http://www.thetwentydollartrick.com/

haha, i love it, deffo try that 1 and ill report back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,903 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I stayed in Excalibur. Right beside the Luxur, New York New York and The MGM Grand but nowhere near the price room wise. Fairly decent hotel and all you really need.

Head to Spearmint Rhino. Best strip joint aver! The women are unbelievable and very friendly. Drinks are very pricy though.

Best 5 days I've ever had. Can't wait to go back.

yip the 20 dollars trick worked in the tropiciana. upgraded to the rooms overlooking the strip.

cant wait to go back with money. the beatles Cirque Du Soleil show was brilliant. and just the greneral vegas was brill.

needed alot of catch up sleep after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Glad I came across this thread, heading to Vegas in Feb - Hopefully the weather will be lovely (20 degree's average is grand for me) and hopefully going to stay in the Bellagio - Looking forward to it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,311 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Nice thread. I'm heading there in may this year so wondering if there's any more to be added. Staying in Ceasars Palace. 4 nights as part of a 3 place holiday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Just back from 6nts in Vegas so I have to LOL at a thread called "Things to do in Las Vegas"

The answer is there are too many things to do and you won't get to do everything no matter how efficient you are with your time there. Crazy place.

You need a day to take in the sheer size of it and to find your feet but it's a great place that you can't help liking in all it's tacky goodness :D

Tip: get yourself a 24hr pass for "The Deuce" (bus that runs stip to downtown all day and all night). You meet some right lunatics on it too, for that real Vegas experience :eek:

Savman wrote: »
    Just back from 6nts in Vegas so I have to LOL at a thread called "Things to do in Las Vegas"

The answer is there are too many things to do and you won't get to do everything no matter how efficient you are with your time there. Crazy place.

You need a day to take in the sheer size of it and to find your feet but it's a great place that you can't help liking in all it's tacky goodness :D

Tip: get yourself a 24hr pass for "The Deuce" (bus that runs stip to downtown all day and all night). You meet some right lunatics on it too, for that real Vegas experience :eek:

exactly five trips down for me and the next time i go there will be 8 new hotels built come 2010 and loads more stuff to see.

hope you have a good one over there Savman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

exactly five trips down for me and the next time i go there will be 8 new hotels built come 2010 and loads more stuff to see.

hope you have a good one over there Savman
    Had a frickin' ball. $0.25c wings in Hooters at 4am!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

I was there at the start of Feb. Put $50 on the giants to win the superbowl, won $275. Thats the only gambling I did! Again had a ball! 3rd time there, would definatly go back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,311 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Back about a week or so. Thought I'd put my 2 cent in.

Stayed in caesars. Fabulous hotel. Really top notch all round although I fel t like i didn't belong there. The Shadow Bar and Seashorse lounge are cool places to have a quick drink. Pussycat Dolls casino had outrageuos dealers. Ridiculously sexy. Head into the free Pussycat Dolls Lounge early enough and you can head into the cray Pure nightclub with no hassle. Caesars poker room was by far the best I witnessed (ended up down $70 there so its not my wallet talking)

The theme hotels are ridiculously OTT (in a great way). If you want to watch the bellagio fountains, pay the 10 dollars to go to the top of the Eiffel Tower in paris and view it from there. Far better than on the sidewalk. If you want to have a little dinner while watching them, Olives is agreat spot.

Fremont Street experience is great and the whole area had a great buzz. in saying that we only stayed about 90 minutes before heading back to the strip. Of the other freeshows I though the Sirens of TI to have the best production values. What it lacks in subtlety it makes up for in tight clothes and fireworks.

You could spend days just wandering through the hotels and casinos but the casino i enjoyed most was the non themed planet hollywood. Just had a cool vibe about the place.

The only show we paid for was the Tournament of Kings at Excalibur. brilliant mindless fun with a dinner thrown in too.

Overall a top place, and somewhere you could visit time and time again and not get bored IMO

If you go to Vegas - GO TO THE GRAND CANYON! I loved it, although saying that, I went in Feb. Very quiet so we got a little more from it. The flight was a little longer in the aircraft, the Pilot was chatting away and gave us some tips. When we landed at the Canyon we had a Helicopter ride down into the canyon - Me and my friends had the copter to ourselves. Then we went on a boat ride for about 20 minutes up the river. As it was so quiet we were on the boat alone and the guy driving took photo's of us and was really good banter.

If you do go, it's pointless going on the sky walk, you've to pay, and you can't bring your camera onto it. Just get the bus to the next stop and sit on the edge of the canyon with no safety ropes - It's amazing. Costs £200-ish for the trip I went on, a lot of money but well worth it :)

Oh, I stayed at the MGM grand - It was quiet, but still busy in the hotel. We had an entire pool to ourselves which was nice - We could have gone to the main pool but enjoyed having banter at our "Private" pool. We upgraded to a suite which was pretty pointless - The rooms are massive any way :) Head to New York New York for the coaster. We went up the stratosphere, but I bricked it when I saw the rides, so didn't go on any of them. There's a great Icecream place in the Bellagio - and I think the view of the fountains is fine from the path - It's good to go to the proper showing at night 8pm I think. (It's on a cycle during the day).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭iPoker

Rossie has it pretty much all covered.

I'd just throw in some more reccomendations for;
    The Gun Store.
    Cirque Du Soleil; Personally I went to see Ka and was completly in awe, astonishing.
    Grand Canyon day trip at least.
    Rides atop the Strat are great fun alright, although wouldn't say they are the scariest or most exhilarating I've done.

Ditto with KA - especially if your well on. Any views on O? Wasn't amazed with Mystere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,798 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Great thread people.
    Looking to spend a week there this time next year on a leg of a honeymoon.
    Havent been there but Fiancee has. Really looking forward to it after reading this.
    Kippy