Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Las Vegas

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

GO to Dicks Bar (The Shame Of The Strip!) prepare yourself to have abuse thrown at you from the bar staff...And Be Given Hats with really Funny Stuff wrote on it..Take a helicopter Flight into the Grand Canyon.. Do the Stratisphere Rides. Have a cocktail in Wynns,See The Water Show in The Bellagio.. I wanna go back Now! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,288 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

All info great countdown is 13 days for me to make my 1st visit there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Is there much to do there for those of us less 21 than others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

obl wrote: »
    Is there much to do there for those of us less 21 than others?

las vegas is certainly not the family friendly destination it was in the 1990s but there are still numerous things to see and do for those under 21

there is the rides on top of stratosphere http://www.stratospherehotel.com/thrills/

circus circus has free circus acts every 30 minutes and there is a small indoor theme park at the back of the hotel http://www.circuscircus.com/las_vegas_entertainment/adventuredome.aspx

the pools at most of the strip hotels are amazing, alot of hotels have slides, lazy rivers etc e.g. mandalay bay, hours of fun http://www.mandalaybay.com/thingstodo/Beach.aspx
    or mgm grand http://www.mgmgrand.com/amenities/grand-pool-complex.aspx

other hotels like sahara and new york new york have rollercoasters, while some have large gaming areas with computer games and other "carnival" type attractions

the showcase mall contains loads of stuff for people under 21 like m+m world, gamesworks etc, its right in the middle of the strip too http://www.vegas.com/shopping/showcase.html

flamingo hotel has a huge garden behind the hotel with animals, mirage hotel has a small zoo in the back where you can watch dolphins and other animals http://www.siegfriedandroy.com/animals/garden.php mandalay bay has a huge aquarium called shark reef http://www.mandalaybay.com/entertainment/sharkreef.aspx

mac king at harrahs is the best show in vegas imo (easily the best value for money anyway) http://www.harrahs.com/EventsDetail.do?locationCode=LAS&detailName=the-mac-king-comedy-magic-show-detail&eventTitle=The%20Mac%20King%20Comedy%20Magic%20Show

las vegas mini grand prix http://www.lvmgp.com/

indoor skydiving http://www.vegasindoorskydiving.com/

star trek the experience at the hilton is a great laugh but it closes on september 1st :(

there is lots of other stuff outside the city like boating on lake mead about 20 miles away or going to the chocolate factory in henderson which is about 8 miles from the strip

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭spear thrower

Hey Rossie you pointers have been brilliant so far.. i just have a couple of questions..

Does Vegas go quiet in September(I am going 11th sep- 20th sep)??? Its just we are stayin in the MGM Grand and the lazy pool is closed during the week starting in Sep and now you are saying the Star Trek show isnt on..

Also i will be renting a mustang and was thinking of driving to the hoover Dam.. Is it worth the drive and is it convient/possible to drive to it..

I am really lookin forward to it but i just hope it doesnt fizzle away after August..

Cheers in advance..

september ain't as busy as august but you can still expect to see huge crowds on the strip day and night despite the US recession, last year las vegas welcomed 3.27 million visitors in september. Friday and Saturday nights will be crazy busy on the strip

not sure what the story with the mgm lazy pool (perhaps they are fixing it or something), it is normally opened during the winter months.

as far as the star trek thing goes that closes its doors for the last time on september 1st after a 12 year run in the hilton so you just missed it :(

yeah i would totally recommend hoover dam and a cruise on lake mead for a few hours http://www.lakemeadcruises.com/ there ain't many places you can cross two time zones in one step like on hoover dam. Its very convient to drive to, just follow the signs south-east of the strip for 20 miles to Boulder city. its a motorway as far as boulder then you start climbing the few miles or so from boulder to the dam

while you have a car in vegas i recommend you see as much of the surrounding area as possible, here is just a few other things you might want to see http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=56062793&postcount=44

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Hi guys, Im getting married in Las Vegas in April 2010. Really looking forward to it but havent been there before. My daughter will be 10 at the time of the wedding. Am I mad to be bringing her? Will she be allowed in the bar at the hotel the night of the wedding? What can we do with her in the evenings? I dont want to leave her at home (it is my wedding after all) but Im starting to worry that she is waayyy too young for this city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mcgrate

Hey Bally, congrats first of all :-D
    I guess it depends what you plan on doing while you're there. If its a holiday to gamble and party, then yeah, wouldnt go with the 10 yr old. But there is sooooo much to do in the area of vegas, that I think your 10 yr old would love it. Do some searches for Vegas with kids, i read a good lot of things on tripadvisor. There's a list of 100 free things to do with kids.
    Plus, you dont want him/her to miss your wedding! Just plan your itinery appropriately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,311 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Bally8 wrote: »
    Hi guys, Im getting married in Las Vegas in April 2010. Really looking forward to it but havent been there before. My daughter will be 10 at the time of the wedding. Am I mad to be bringing her? Will she be allowed in the bar at the hotel the night of the wedding? What can we do with her in the evenings? I dont want to leave her at home (it is my wedding after all) but Im starting to worry that she is waayyy too young for this city.

While vegas is definitely adult orientated, in the evening time you'll see loads and laods of families just walking up and down the strip just taking pictures of themselves in front of the hotels.

Check out the Excalibur hotel. Its a fair bit less fancy than some but its aimed more at the family market. The Tournament of Kings I mentioned above is perfect for a ten year old. There are also plenty of magic shows etc, which aren't aimed at adults.

As far as the bar is concerned, it depends which type of bar it is? I'd definitely contact the hotel before going just to make. Weddings happen every day in vegas so it won't be a new query for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Thanks a million guys for the responses and advice. I am much more confident now that she will be ok. I'm glad to hear that there are family orientated hotels and there will be things for us to do in the evenings.

We're not interested in gambling so that wont be a problem and we are not big drinkers either (although I would like to be able to have a few to celebrate). We are lucky as there a a nice few of us going (even granny) so there will be no problem with baby sitters. Still I dont want her to be sitting in the hotel room each night.

Im sooo excited even though its a long way off. I'll be keeping an eye on this site for tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Simon201

Bally8 wrote: »

I cant imagine there would be any problem having children in the function room of the hotel, like anywhere in the world there would always be a few youngsters at a wedding.(although a phone call to check would be a good idea). Your daughter will love the madness of the hotel themes etc and with regards to going out in the evenings which may include going through casinos, my friends sister lived there for a couple of years with her 2 daughters (5 & 7 ish) and what she said was as long as the children keep to the central aisle (ie the walkways and not near any machines) and don't stop there's not a problem in most of the casinos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Lump wrote: »
    Oh, I stayed at the MGM grand - It was quiet, but still busy in the hotel. We had an entire pool to ourselves which was nice - We could have gone to the main pool but enjoyed having banter at our "Private" pool. We upgraded to a suite which was pretty pointless - The rooms are massive any way :)Head to New York New York for the coaster. We went up the stratosphere, but I bricked it when I saw the rides, so didn't go on any of them. There's a great Icecream place in the Bellagio - and I think the view of the fountains is fine from the path - It's good to go to the proper showing at night 8pm I think. (It's on a cycle during the day).

Same as that. Was there in August and had dinner on top of the Stratosphere. Those rides are freakin crazy. They hang you over the side of the building and attempt to make you soil yourself with a series of stomach churning manouvours. Roller coaster on top of New York New York scared the sh1t out of me too. Delighted i done it afterwards though, really worth forcing yourself to do it. Stayed at Caesars which was fab. Done the helicopter ride of the Grand canyon which is amazing and took in a show too. You can buy tickets for dinner, shows and just about anything else from www.tix4tonight.com out lets for half price or less! Really great deals to be had. (Do not buy tickets from the casinos directly as you will be fleeced). There are a few outlets along the strip. We got ours just down from the MGM. Place is in a building in the shape of a giant cola bottle. You will not be bored and enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Off to Vegas on New Year's Day. Staying in the Treasure Island. Mainly going for a shopping and girly holiday. We have 6 days there.

What did people think of Fashion Show Mall and the Premium Outlets Mall? Any other good shopping recommendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Pythia wrote: »
    Off to Vegas on New Year's Day. Staying in the Treasure Island. Mainly going for a shopping and girly holiday. We have 6 days there.

What did people think of Fashion Show Mall and the Premium Outlets Mall? Any other good shopping recommendations?

Done my main shopping in vegas !! Only place i went was an outlet out past the airport. Easy taxi spin!!

Caesars isnt bad either actually nice mall in there.

There's two outlet malls. One is indoor (near airport) and the other is outdoor near Fremont St (pretty similar to Woodbury Common). We went to the outdoor one. Plenty of stuff to keep you happy. Visit their websites to see what shops are in each.

Fashion Show Mall is just that, a mall. Loads of "high street" shops such as Macys, Victoria Secrets, Gap, Abercrombie & Fitch etc. A similar mall, but smaller, is attached to the Planet Hollywood hotel. The Forum Shops at Caesar host plenty of high end shops but if you're into designers, they're a good bit cheaper than Dublin prices. They have a huge Tots'r'Us there too. You can find store listings at all their websites

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭cacio

Vegas is my favourite city to go shopping in. I've been three years in a row and am planning on going again next year.
    There's a mall in loads of hotels (Ceasars, PH, Bellagio etc) but they're usually more of the upmarket shops like Chanel and Versace.

The Fashion Show Mall is cool. It had a lot of shops that I like and had Macys, Bloomingdales and other department stores as well. Check out Metropark in the mall. I loved that shop.

I didnt like the Premium outlet mall at all. It just didnt seem to have anything special. If you have time maybe check it out as it's not that far from the strip. If you dont like it you can always leave easily.

The Las Vegas Outlet Mall is the one past the airport. I seem to buy loads in there! It's got a good mix of shops and is a great place for shoes/runners. It's open til 9pm most days so you'll have loads of time there.

Across the road, just down from the LV Outlet mall you'll see a huge shop called Fry's. It's an orange and red building - cant miss it. If you're buying ANYTHING electrical buy it there. It is so cheap and has absolutely everything. It's got the biggest dvd/cd collection as well. I always spend a few hours in Fry's alone.
    Just opposite Fry's is a place called Las Vegas Town Centre. It looks like a business park from the outside. But once you head in you'll see it's another cool shopping area. It's all outdoor and has a great mix of shops from H&M to Juicy Couture and Mac. It's so pretty there and is a great place to wander around for a day. We were there in July and they had mini sprinkers hanging in all the trees. It was gorgeous. It also has loads of restaurants and a cool cinema so there's loads to keep you occupied.

As I said, you'll see shops everywhere and won't be short of places to go. But I recommend The LV Outlet Mall, Fashion Show Mall, Fry's and LV Town Centre. If you need any more info PM me or write here.

BTW, I'm female aged 23 so it'll give you an idea of the style shopping I like.

Enjoy! You'll have an amazing time. *jealous*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Between the shops in the casinos and the outlet malls you'll have as much shopping as you need. (Here's some store listings)

My two favourites are the Forum shops at Caesars
    http://www.simon.com/mall/directory.aspx?ID=224
    http://www.harrahs.com/casinos/caesars-palace/casino-misc/the-forum-shops-detail.html

and the Las Vegas Premium Outlets.
    http://www.premiumoutlets.com/outlets/outlet.asp?id=58

the other Premium Outlets mall is here:
    http://www.premiumoutlets.com/outlets/outlet.asp?id=61
    (again it's part of Chelsea Premium Outlets as above).

Here's the Fashion Mall
    http://www.thefashionshow.com/html/index15.asp

I'd recommend hitting the outlet malls first to see if they have anything you want as they're cheaper than the the Fashion Mall and Forum shops.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭bmacma

On a different note what is the dress code like in Vegas, from what i've heard the heat is pretty bad most of the time. I am going in vegas and wondering what the deal is for daytime/evening/restaurants etc in terms of dress code?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,798 ✭✭✭✭kippy

kippy wrote: »
    Great thread people.
    Looking to spend a week there this time next year on a leg of a honeymoon.
    Havent been there but Fiancee has. Really looking forward to it after reading this.
    Kippy

Well spent three days there in July of 08, on the honeymoon and I loved the place, Exactly as many have said here. So much to do and see and so much FREE entertainment. The fountains, the pirates show and the volcano outside the three big hotels on the strip are all free, plenty walking around the hotels. The venetian was AMAZING in my opinion, Ceasars wasnt far behind. Really enjoyed the place and even managed to win a small bit of money at Blackjack but you could spend days there and not spend a penny.
    We also caught the Cirque du Soleil - Love show. It was possibly the best show I have ever seen and although relatively expensive I would recommend catching it.
    I enjoyed the place so much I plan on going back sometime in the next 12 months.

bmacma wrote: »
    On a different note what is the dress code like in Vegas, from what i've heard the heat is pretty bad most of the time. I am going in vegas and wondering what the deal is for daytime/evening/restaurants etc in terms of dress code?

When are you going?

bmacma wrote: »

ANything goes basically. In casinos and bars you'll see evrything fro shorts and t-shirts to black tie. No one gives a second look to either

The more upscale the restaurent, the smarter you should dress (like everywhere else). There are some eceptionally posh restaurents there but prices will indicate this for you

SOme clubs are really, really high end fashion wise. Have a look www.jackcolton.com for news and reviews of bars and clubs there

When are you going?

I'm going to be there for the last wek in April.. Can't wait

Dodge wrote: »
    ANything goes basically. In casinos and bars you'll see evrything fro shorts and t-shirts to black tie. No one gives a second look to either

The more upscale the restaurent, the smarter you should dress (like everywhere else). There are some eceptionally posh restaurents there but prices will indicate this for you

SOme clubs are really, really high end fashion wise. Have a look www.jackcolton.com for news and reviews of bars and clubs there

Makes sense, thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I stayed in Excalibur. Right beside the Luxur, New York New York and The MGM Grand but nowhere near the price room wise. Fairly decent hotel and all you really need.

Head to Spearmint Rhino. Best strip joint aver! The women are unbelievable and very friendly. Drinks are very pricy though.

Best 5 days I've ever had. Can't wait to go back.

Myself and a mate are booked into the Excalibur for Easter. I've read reviews from people saying its full of familys and kids and extremely noisy, also the buffet is the worst on the strip. Any advice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

Heya,

I stayed in Excalibur, loved it, we found that families with kids were the minority, it was mainly groups in their 20's. The buffet isn't bad, try the Bellagio though! We loved that hotel, Dicks Last Resort Bar and Restaurant in there is great craic too.

super-rush wrote: »
    Myself and a mate are booked into the Excalibur for Easter. I've read reviews from people saying its full of familys and kids and extremely noisy, also the buffet is the worst on the strip. Any advice?

if its your first time in vegas the amount of people will be overwhelming at first, excalibur is a 4000+ room hotel so you can expect to see tonnes of kids especially in the basement and by the pool, i would recommend trying to upgrade to one of the widescreen tower rooms as they are nicer than plain tower rooms

excalibur ain't the worst buffet on the strip but its far from the best either, its passable lets leave it at that but buffets at flamingo, harrahs, monte carlo cost about the same and are of higher quality, buffets at off strip hotels such as gold coast, orleans and golden nugget cost less than excalibur and of higher quality as well. the one advantage of excalis buffet is that its 24hr. look out for buffet coupons, there will be girls handing out $5 off coupons to flamingo/harrahs outside those hotels, spice market at planet hollywood is one of the best buffets in vegas http://www.destinationcoupons.com/Nevada/Las_Vegas/spice-market-buffet/spice-market-buffet-coupons.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

rossie1977 wrote: »
    if its your first time in vegas the amount of people will be overwhelming at first, excalibur is a 4000+ room hotel so you can expect to see tonnes of kids especially in the basement and by the pool, i would recommend trying to upgrade to one of the widescreen tower rooms as they are nicer than plain tower rooms

excalibur ain't the worst buffet on the strip but its far from the best either, its passable lets leave it at that but buffets at flamingo, harrahs, monte carlo cost about the same and are of higher quality, buffets at off strip hotels such as gold coast, orleans and golden nugget cost less than excalibur and of higher quality as well. the one advantage of excalis buffet is that its 24hr. look out for buffet coupons, there will be girls handing out $5 off coupons to flamingo/harrahs outside those hotels, spice market at planet hollywood is one of the best buffets in vegas http://www.destinationcoupons.com/Nevada/Las_Vegas/spice-market-buffet/spice-market-buffet-coupons.asp

Cheers for that. We booked the Widescreen rooms from the start, really glad we did now.

If you're sying to go to a buffet, I recommend the Spice Markey Buffet in planet hollywood

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

I've being to Vegas twice and going again in 6wks but can't really remember if most night clubs are very strict on runneers as a dress code, especially the pams hotel?

Anyone know or have an idea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Collinho

Yeah don't wear them! I stayed in the MGM last time I was there and we went to one of the clubs in there and saw a chap turned away from the place cos he had a pair on, my recommendation is dress smart so the bouncers have no reason to turn you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

how long would you need realistically in Las Vegas? 3/4 days? more?
    myself and bf thinking of heading to states end of summer for 3 weeks and one place I definately wana go to is Las Vegas...will be planning other destinations around it then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

fifib wrote: »
    myself and bf thinking of heading to states end of summer for 3 weeks and one place I definately wana go to is Las Vegas...will be planning other destinations around it then

4 days is plenty. That includes a day to see Hoover Dam and Grand Canyon. If you are going to do that I advise renting a car and starting very early in hte morning as the best view of the Grand Canyon is accessible to you will be the South Rim which is a good 5 hour drive from Vegas.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭alibaba12

hey have been there twice stayed at the luxor & flamingo - if ya can try to stay somewhere in the middle of the strip near harrahs - flamingo - ceasers palace.

defo go gran canyon - I preferred the helicopter trip with the champange breakfast - I also did the fixed wing aeroplane trip & went the indian village half the price but not as good.

try & see as many of the hotels as you can they are amazing.

the star trek show has closed in the hilton apparently opening this year in the new shopping centre - im not a trekkie but as the yanks do everything ott it was brilliant.

go to the top of the stratosphere & go on the rides, if you like rock n roll memorabila go to hard rock hotel

definately take in a show - vegas can can or something like that

there are always tribute shows going on like beatles etc google it. if your into cirque du soleil the "O" at the bellagio & the "beatles love" are supposed to be best - although id try & tickets before hand as they can book out early.

if your there and want tickets there is place on the strip with a big coke bottle outside it go in there they usually do cheap tickets.

go see the old strip - you will need to get a cab - bout 20 bucks - watch the freemont experience - biggest lcd screens in the world with smellyvision :D the old strip aint as nice but its where the first hotel was built for the railway workers back in 1800s i think. its called the golden nugget.

on the new strip the flamingo was the first place to roll the dice (from what I remeber) worth getting a pic of at least.

loads of rollercoasters in the hotels that you can go on. nyny has the coyote ugly bar. defo get the yard of cocktails roughly around 36 bucks each but ya would be locked on 1!

nightclub that i liked was pure but there are loads more - ppl sell tickets on the streets for these you can get a whole bunch for 20 bucks.

thats all for now if i remember anymore I'll post it!

D-Generate wrote: »
    4 days is plenty. That includes a day to see Hoover Dam and Grand Canyon. If you are going to do that I advise renting a car and starting very early in hte morning as the best view of the Grand Canyon is accessible to you will be the South Rim which is a good 5 hour drive from Vegas.

I stayed there 8 days first time didnt see everything & 4 days second time - still didnt see everything but it depends on your personal choice

depends on personal preference, some people hate vegas and 2 days in enough for them, some love it and a week flies by, if you are an outdoorsy adventure person then you could spend days in the mountains surrounding vegas

i wouldn't recommend driving to the grand canyon from vegas, its too far to go and back to the south rim in one day, the only way to see the GC is to hike down

I'm going for 9 days next month :D Second time there, was there for 2.5 days last time, making up for it this time because that was ridiculously short.

another tip: if you are gambling using the slots. get a members card from your hotel (it will usually cover a few hotels), you pop in the machine your gambling on & u get points every time you spin. the points get converted to cash and when you leave you can use this against your room service bill or in the restaurants & cafes.

also if your getting a taxi to and from the airport to the strip say to the luxor it should cost no more that 12 dollars. make sure you tell them to take the most direct root to the strip and not to go in the back of the strip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Myself and my fiance are hoping to get married there in Oct/Nov time. What's the weather like then?

Also, does anybody have any tips on wedding chapels - best/worst?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭LashingLady

We got married there last year in September and it was still HOT. I was there in late November a few years ago and it was mild like our Autumn - I needed a jacket on one of the days. I would say most of October and early November would be very pleasant, and there is never much danger of rain.

We got married at the chapel at the Wynn Hotel which is one of the big strip hotels, and thus was quite expensive for the ceremony etc. There are lots of off-strip chapels which are much more reasonable but I don't know much about them to be honest. Your best bet to get opinions would be the Vegas board of www.theknot.com. That's like the US version of weddingsonline and I found it a godsend when I was planning mine.

We had our reception at Maggiano's which is a family style Italian restaurant. We had 30 people with us, and Maggiano's was workign out the best cos the package included a 4 hour open bar so took away that logistical problem of whether to pay for guests drink!

PM me if you have any more questions!

Myself and my fiance are hoping to get married there in Oct/Nov time. What's the weather like then?

Also, does anybody have any tips on wedding chapels - best/worst?

Thanks!

if you want to do the wedding on the cheap pick one of the independent chapels north of the strip

if you don't mind splashing out a bit then choose one the chapels in the resorts (all the resort have one)

very expensive wynn, bellagio or venetian

the flamingo chapel is lovely, its right in the middle of the gardens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

I'm heading on sunday for 10 nights can't wait

Hey All,

Anyone got any tips on going to see the Grand Canyon while in Vegas? It's pretty far from Vegas isn't it? Bus tours I found are a 14 hour day trip, not cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Spadina wrote: »
    Hey All,

Anyone got any tips on going to see the Grand Canyon while in Vegas? It's pretty far from Vegas isn't it? Bus tours I found are a 14 hour day trip, not cool!

You can get flights out there apparently, but you pay big money for them.

I`m in the same boat as you. I`ll be in Vegas(volcano permitting) this day week for 7 days and I fully intend to see The Grand Canyon. I`ll either take a coach trip or hire a car for the day. We can spare a full day so havent got too much problem with the travelling, although looking at it written down, it doesnt sound like much fun.

Yeah we're leaving in about 10 days, ash cloud permitting! I'm meeting someone over there who will only be there for 4 days, so a full day trip really shortens that. The bus tours stop at Hoover Dam and stuff which I don't want, but I wouldn't have the nerve to drive there myself, hmmm, tricky one!

the south rim (the most popular and most photographed part of the canyon) is a long bus or drive from vegas yes. i have done it and its a trek, however we did a group tour in a car so it was a fun day and we stopped wherever we liked, in a coach with set schedule it wouldn't be near as good

the north rim and the increasingly more popular west rim with its skywalk thingy are much closer to vegas, haven't been to either so can't compare but if you want to see the canyon in a lesser time period those are options

other options include a flight to grand canyon airport from vegas, the airport is just outside the south rim entrance, from there you can take a bus tour, a helicopter tour or just walk into the park http://grandcanyontourcompany.com/air.html

rossie1977 wrote: »
    the south rim (the most popular and most photographed part of the canyon) is a long bus or drive from vegas yes. i have done it and its a trek, however we did a group tour in a car so it was a fun day and we stopped wherever we liked, in a coach with set schedule it wouldn't be near as good

the north rim and the increasingly more popular west rim with its skywalk thingy are much closer to vegas, haven't been to either so can't compare but if you want to see the canyon in a lesser time period those are options

other options include a flight to grand canyon airport from vegas, the airport is just outside the south rim entrance, from there you can take a bus tour, a helicopter tour or just walk into the park http://grandcanyontourcompany.com/air.html

I think it's just gonna be too far for us to go, when the other person is only there for a few days. I'm gutted, really wanted to go there. I googled the west rim and it says it's 5 hours from Vegas so it's basically the same thing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭martinn123

Spadina wrote: »
    Hey All,

If you are lucky at the tables, book a helicopter trip, pretty dear but worth it. You can book at shops on the strip, and the Co will pick you up at hotel, Returning to Airport the chopper flies along the strip, which at night is some sight. good way to invest your winnings.

Alternatively take a trip to Hoover Dam by car, not too far and worth a visit.

have a good trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭fifib

We had our reception at Maggiano's which is a family style Italian restaurant. We had 30 people with us, and Maggiano's was workign out the best cos the package included a 4 hour open bar so took away that logistical problem of whether to pay for guests drink!

where is Maggianos? I ate there in Chicago - best Italian ever! it is the same place right? Cannot wait to try it again..just found out yesterday too theres one in Orlando :D this will be the highlight of my holiday :P

It's on the outside of the Fashion Show Mall at the top of the strip. I also ate there - yum yum can't wait to go back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

I've eaten in both(the Vegas one this week) and tbh the Orlando one is by far the better place. Bigger, nicer, better service etc.

Service in Vegas was very poor and the food was mediocre. Was so looking forward to it after having great meals in the Orlando one but left disappointed and definitely wouldn't return.

Just across the road, and one I'd definitely recommend, is the dinner buffet at the Wynn hotel. It's around $35 a head plus taxes but it's fantastic, top food,especially for a buffet. We also did TIs buffet and were disappointed with that. Aot cheaper than the Wynn, and of course we didn't expect the same standard, but I would defintrly spend the extra and go to the Wynn.

Another one we really enjoyed is also close by, Dos Caminos in the Palazzo (where we were staying). One of the few places we felt we could afford in the Palazzo, it's Mexican cuisine and really excellent. It
    doesn't look too big from the entrance, but it has a very big dining room.