Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

shooting at home...

Options
  • 02-11-2007 12:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 14

Hi Folks, although not new to firearms, having spent some time in the army, I am quite new to actually owning my own!

I saw a post recently by a farmer who had been "plinking away" with his new rifle, and it got me wondering... What are the 'rules' about shooting at home?

I have around 1.5 acres out the back and measuring today reckon I could nearly stetch to a 100 Yard practice range, 75 Yards easy.

I'm not aware of too many other ranges in my neck of the woods (the name is a give-away!) and am quite keen to keep honing my skills...

I have a cz .22lr at the moment so we're not talking anything too 'heavy'.

If the considered opinion is that I could "plink away" myself at home any advice on how to go about setting it up and where to buy the equipment?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭jaycee

Depends on what you include in your neck of the woods ...
    The Midlands range is outside Tullamore ... not too far surely ?

Be aware that under the new legislation , ad hoc home ranges may need inspection and licencing . :((

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Tribunius

What is the other side of your land? You are probably going to have to build a backstop. Assuming of course that you can even get away with doing this.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman