Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snow Hunt 2007

• 03-11-2007 12:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

SNOW HUNT 2007

Myself and sundog thought we would ask other weather lovers ( if you are interested ) in Ireland/UK of snow on a hike/walk up to Kippure Mountain. Think of it as a weather forums meet up. A nice way to spend a Sunday morning / early afternoon.

Snow Hunt on Sunday the 11th of November 2007,

Destination: Kippure Mountain Wicklow/Dublin, 757 metres or 2271 feet asl

Meet Lamb Doyles carpark at 9.30 am sharp on the blackglen road sandyford or if you know the area meet at Kippure Mountain gates at 10.15 am. Transport not provided.

Bring usually hiking gear. Warm clothes, tea and a snack etc.

This may be cancelled at short notice due to prevailing weather conditions at the time. Theres no point in going unless it,s snowing on high ground, so ill be watching the weather carefully over the next couple of days.
    Kippure mountain has several routes, we will be walking up the simple route, a single lane road. Take approx 1 hour and a half. Theres no rush going up. Enjoy the scenery.

Hopefully it will be a nice day out with people who share a common interest, the weather.

REMEMBER YOU ARE RESPONISBLE FOR YOUR OWN PROPERTY AND SAFTEY AND THE SAFTEY OF OTHERS.

http://mountainviews.ie/mv/index.php?mtnindex=73

Let us know if you are interested in going by posting here or pm me so ill know how many to expect on the day.

Ian

• Registered Users Posts: 15,433 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Sounds like a fun idea, count me in.
    Lets hope the synoptics keep looking as promising as they do now.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Trogdor

I'll probably be able to go to this, hope there's some of the white stuff.
    Here's a video from our first Northerly last winter up on Kippure. We had to turn back before we reached the top because it got too bad, and the you could hardly see in front of you when we started to get higher. I had to put the camera away as the build up of snow on it's side killed the battery:p
    http://www.brayweather.com/blizzard_video.html

Longfield wrote: »
    Sounds like a fun idea, count me in.
    Lets hope the synoptics keep looking as promising as they do now.
    Uhm...

I don't think so... *

http://www.wetterzentrale.de/wz/pics/Rukm1441.gif

Twill be cold up there alright if that pans out, but sunny with no hope of snow and a temp of maybe 6 or 7c at the top of the mountain.

Bring sunglasses lads in the hope that it's not to be a cloudy high :D

* note I don't make forecasts on the basis of just one models output or on one "12z" but I do take notice when models trend away from one solution and onto a different one.
    It usually means whats coming might be benign.

Heh, your probably right, once these things start drifting they rarely go back the other way.

Still, I like the idea and am well on for it should we get the right synoptics in the next few months (as we surely will).
    I'm looking forward to your reports of mad car drives up Croghan this winter too!

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

Im still going even it isnt snowing, Have about 5 people going so far. The models show that the cold may just clip us , still early days yet, things could change.

I'm looking forward to your reports of mad car drives up Croghan this winter too!
    Indeedy!
    When ye had the snow there last february iirc,I got about half way up the mountain in the jeep before it said it was going no more.
    Outside I was waist deep in snow,twas like being in the alps and yet only 4 miles from Arklow-in fact we went to mcdonalds beforehand and were eating it up there :)

As for snow on the wicklow mts next w/end,it's only a small possibility I'd imagine.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭Snowbie

Kippure wrote: »
    Im still going even it isnt snowing, Have about 5 people going so far. The models show that the cold may just clip us , still early days yet, things could change.
    Good on you,cant make it this time unfortunately but hopefully there be other times with drifts and the lot.:)

Dont forget to bring a camera and the woolies as it seems to be an upgade on the models today for cold so the summit might get a dusting in a rouge shower.

I'm still game.
    Could well be nice and clear and frosty on the top, some nice icicle's too if we're lucky.

Its nice to meet other weather nuts so should be a bit of craic and an opportunity to
    collect some nice snaps too, we might even get a flake or two (if we are really really lucky!!).

One things for sure - even with a warming climate the mountains will still get snow occasionally so hopefully we'll get to do a few of these walks in proper conditions :)

I'm still game.
    Could well be nice and clear and frosty on the top, some nice icicle's too if we're lucky.
    On sunday morning there may well be going on the 12z
    http://85.214.49.20/wz/pics/Rtavn13810.png
    Thats all still subject to change of course.

I don't think ye will be pegging snow balls-plenty of time later in the winter for that though.

Models still seem very uncertain about this, how severe and if at all when. The GFS ensembles start to split on the 9th! and after that things get very messy.
    http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/MT8_Dublin_ens.png
    I'm certainly not going to put much faith in the models below, but i think they are showing that there still is a chance that the original Northerly might come off
    http://91.121.0.76/modeles/wmc/run/wmc-0-108.png
    http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rgem1201.gif
    http://www.wetterzentrale.de/pics/Rjma1441.gif

Im very uncertain about the models tbh even in the maximum reliable time frame.Who knows,the HP could retro back west allowing the LP to topple down closer to Scotland N England allowing a NNE to develop and plenty of shower activity being blown in off the Irish sea.

Probably not going to happen as ex Hurricane Noel's remmants will see to that with a powerful jet stream.Cant foresee height rises of GL as this HP will come close and maybe eventually slip over Europe,which is disastrous for us.Still early days but im fed up with mild at this stage.

Still worth a look , should be a bit of craic too.

A second northerly is back on for Sunday.

I can't make it on Sunday:(. Hopefully it won't be too long until the next Northerly/Snow Hunt:D

Great to see so much interest, remember boys and girls half 9 sharp. ;) then arriving at the gates of kippure at 10.15 am approx.

Just to let you know part of the M50 will be closed tomorrow. It may affect some peoples travel plans.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1110/m50.html

Don't forget to bring appropriate gear for the Rain that is forecast.

It may be quite misty up there too if not foggy depending on the progress of the front and the rain.
    Keep your mobiles charged.

I'm going to cry off this, have been drinking tonight and won't be safe to drive around 09:00 tomorrow morning.
    Hope we see a few pics from those that do :)

If theres snow involved I'll be there next "Snow Hunt""!

A good day up the mountains. Started off clear, then the cloud rolled in. At the top the tempeture was around 5 - 6C . The windchill hovered between minus 3 and minus 4. No snow however but still a great day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Surrey Snow

Kippure wrote: »
    No snow however but still a great day.

Better luck next time. ;)

SS