Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

EL 2008 transfer/rumours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

DesF wrote: »
    In other news, I'm unreliably informed that Davey Scouse could be on his way back to Shels :eek:
    Ian Bermingham could be going to Pats.

Player coach deal offered to him?, if he takes it Bermo would be a decent replcement. Rogers on grand a week eh how you matching that?

Bets for 2008

25/1 An Irish club to reach the group stages of the Champions League

10/1 An Irish club to reach the group stages of the UEFA Cup

2/1 The winners of the Setanta Cup to go on and win their domestic League

16/1 A date to be announced for the amalgamation of the Irish League and the League of Ireland

25/1 Shamrock Rovers to play a competitive game in Tallaght Stadium in 2008

10/1 The Republic of Ireland to start their World Cup qualifying campaign with three consecutive victories

2/1 John Delaney to resign as FAI chief executive before the end of 2008

3/1 No team to be deducted points in either division of the 2008 Eircom League

6/4 The FAI Premier League to be won by a Dublin team

1/2 The FAI Premier League to be won by any team from outside Dublin

all from ladbrokes

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Pat Fenlon is the new Bohs manager.

Surprise surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

In other news, I'm unreliably informed that Davey Scouse could be on his way back to Shels :eek:

Where'd you hear that??? I love the Scouse. He's a merc but he gives 100%

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Where'd you hear that??? I love the Scouse. He's a merc but he gives 100%

You read the Shels forum don't you?

When did you get access to here btw?

Months ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Pat Fenlon is the new Bohs manager.

Surprise surprise.

I was really hoping Alan Matthews would get that job. One way or other, the Bohs fans will hound out this chancer as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

gimmick wrote: »
    One way or other, the Bohs fans will hound out this chancer as well.
    absolutely. i have great respect for Nutsy but the reality is that he's a very average manager. 3 league titles sounds great on paper but it masks the many flaws to his tactics. I don't think he can be possibly as bad as the red trousered spoofer but i'm pretty certain that Nutsy's Derry disaster will not be a once off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭raheny red

KdjaCL wrote: »

25/1 Shamrock Rovers to play a competitive game in Tallaght Stadium in 2008

What yiz reckon fellas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I'm going to put a €10 on it to be honest, 50-50 chance they'll play there this season.

According to the Bohs forum Davey Scouse is off to them, along with Shels goalkeeping coach Fred Davis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

I'm going to put a €10 on it to be honest, 50-50 chance they'll play there this season.

According to the Bohs forum Davey Scouse is off to them, along with Shels goalkeeping coach Fred Davis.

Maybe im putting 2 & 2 together and getting 5 but this Fenlon Scouse thing is going beyond weird and going to a totallly different place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

Club Fined by FAI for obeying Garda

Class headline from the Drogheda United website: http://droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Article.asp?ArticleID=1297

I really, truly fúcking hate the FAI.

in the interest of safety

If they really, truly cared about safety that pit should be knocked to the ground.

Drogheda are not above the law. Fully deserved fine for them. Kudos FAI. No doubt the money men of Drogheda paid well to allow this.

Just another example of bribes from new the nouveau riche. Wonder where the money has come from!

"Drogheda" :rolleyes:

How the likes of Drogheda and Finn Harps get licenses to play in the LoI with the state of the stadia is crazy.

And then Cobhs' stadium, every stadium by UEFA regulation if segregation is being inforced both sets of fans are supposed to have toliets and food facilities, instead Cobh give you a pass to go out to the local Spar for food:rolleyes:

Bobby Ryan to Pats.;)

How the likes of Drogheda and Finn Harps get licenses to play in the LoI with the state of the stadia is crazy.

And then Cobhs' stadium, every stadium by UEFA regulation if segregation is being inforced both sets of fans are supposed to have toliets and food facilities, instead Cobh give you a pass to go out to the local Spar for food:rolleyes:

Tolka Park was a a progressive stadium until you decided not to invest a few more quid in it after building that "half stand".

Turner's Cross is probalbly the best ground ATM which is has been been built like a lego set over 12 years and will always have a few lego pieces mising.

If the clubs on this island decided to thing stratigically 20 years ago we would have 4/5 decent grounds in this league.

All hail the AIL I say.

Strategic thinking for a change,

Tolka Park was a a progressive stadium until you decided not to invest a few more quid in it after building that "half stand".

Very little to no Shels money was spent on Tolka Park in recent years. The New Stand was grant funded. Ollie was too busy dumping the sale money from Tolka into our team

Are you on drugs?

You know where that money went, well, money that didn't really exist.

The "half stand" you are on about wasn't built the whole way across because of planning difficulties in relation to the houses on the Richmond Rd.

There's also a story about the misappropriation of the other half of the grant money for that stand. It fell in the Tolka I believe :D Haha, and when was Tolka ever progressive? Back in the Bovril days?

There's also a story about the misappropriation of the other half of the grant money for that stand.
    Misappropriation of funds at Shels?

lol

Never happened.

Although, have you seen the goatse invasion on our forum. Very funny.

Turner's Cross is probalbly the best ground ATM which is has been been built like a lego set over 12 years and will always have a few lego pieces mising.

If the clubs on this island decided to thing stratigically 20 years ago we would have 4/5 decent grounds in this league.

All hail the AIL I say.

Strategic thinking for a change,

Don't make me laugh. Turners' Cross has the New Shed which is amazing but apart from that nothing amazing in that stadium.

Have you been to Athlones' New Stadium, I'd say thats a better stadium than Corks.

Personally I wouldnt call it "amazing".

The point is that there has been a gradual progression.

Tolka was the "Best" and by a long way but the club left if go.

Misappropriation of funds at Shels?

lol

Never happened.

Although, have you seen the goatse invasion on our forum. Very funny.

Was there another invasion today? I nearly got sick when I seen that yesterday. I like porn as much as the next chap but that was knacker

Tolka was the "Best" and by a long way but the club left if go.

Well em in-case you didn't know we have debts running to the heavens and back.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

steven bradley signed for falkirk today

Any idea what the fee was?

Heard that Alan Mulcahy signed for Shels from Waterford.

Jason Byrne signs for Bohs. no fee to cardiff :confused:

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Jason Byrne signs for Bohs. no fee to cardiff :confused:

kdjac

How much did Cardiff pay for him a few months back ? Hard to believe there is no fee involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Are Cardiff not in dire financial straits? a couple of grand a week off the wage bill should come in handy. But then Kdjac is the only one to say its a done deal so who knows

Sarge wrote: »
    How much did Cardiff pay for him a few months back ? Hard to believe there is no fee involved.
    He left Shels on a free afaik.

bohsman wrote: »
    Are Cardiff not in dire financial straits? a couple of grand a week off the wage bill should come in handy. But then Kdjac is the only one to say its a done deal so who knows

got that from your forum........

Cardiff accepted 100k off pats in summer but byrne wanted to stay, now hes free.

kdjac

"Alan Matthews" was in the CCFC offices on Saturday afternoon. Looks like the inevitable is nigh.

Matthews OUT!

gimmick wrote: »
    "Alan Matthews" was in the CCFC offices on Saturday afternoon. Looks like the inevitable is nigh.

Matthews OUT!

Dont buy todays mirror :D

he wont be manager till the 10th so you gonna miss out on Mooney and O Callaghan cant play for you till the summer bet you sign him anyway :D

kdjac

Dont buy todays mirror :D

he wont be manager till the 10th so you gonna miss out on Mooney and O Callaghan cant play for you till the summer bet you sign him anyway :D

kdjac

And then they'll blame FIFA:D

The strongest George rumours down here are that he is going to Bohs in the summer.

His agent tried to flog him to Shels pre-Cork's title season but no doing over wages. Think Heary has gone on record with his feelings about the twat too. Can't see Fenlon buying him. Too much potential for disruption. Any word on Fenn heading back south? He managed to become even more fat and useless at Bohs last year. I really despise that guy. Total mercenary

Bobby Ryan signed from The Pars to St.Pats for around €15,000.

Jamie Harris is signing for either Cork, Pats or Derry.

Jason Byrne has yet to sign for Bohs, he is awaiting a financial package from Cardiff City as he's contracted till May 31st.

Neil McCafferty has left Derry for Grays Athletic.

Pats signing fenn :(

kdjac

Pats signing fenn :(

kdjac

Hahahahahahaha:p

I wouldn't even wish him on Shels if he offered to play for free.:D

FIFA have abolished the 3 clubs in one season rule. The FAI are taking the credit for it. They should in fact be thanking Cork City for their pressure and research.

This opens the way for George O callaghan to return in time for the start of the new season. Question is though, will it be with free spending Bohs, or Cork City. Please may it be the latter.

lol @ Dundalk

http://www.dundalkfc.com/News/080111_Statement.html
    oh please don't slag off our players, they are really sensitive, don't you know

pathetic imo :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

We are supposed to have signed Alan Moore on a pay as you play deal

Not bad if fit

gustavo wrote: »
    We are supposed to have signed Alan Moore on a pay as you play deal
    You won't be paying much out on that contract anyway
    Not bad if fit
    lol

I fúcking hate that man. He sucked money from Shelbourne last season, the only one of the players who insisted on having his contract honoured.

He was being paid by Shels and Derry last season.

If I say other names about him, I'll be banned.

I hate him.

Two words, Hadjuk Split. He's a hero for that if nothing else

Blah blah blah, what he did to Shels last season blights his record in other years in my eyes.

Anyway, even when he was around he couldn't have given a shiney shíte about "run of the mill" league games, when he was fit to play that is.

No, I still hate him.

He sucked money from Shelbourne last season, the only one of the players who insisted on having his contract honoured.

If I was in his position, in any job or situation, I'd do the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Why didnt the other players then?

Because they are men of honour, who played for the shirt.

Alan Moore is a mercenary.

Because they are men of honour, who played for the shirt.

Alan Moore is a mercenary.

What would you do if in your current employers were in financial ruin after agreement upon a contract? Would you just take it on the chin or would you demand that your contract be honoured?

Oh and for the record I think Moore is a ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Anyone know how much Byrne cost Bohs?