Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EL 2008 transfer/rumours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Big Ears

KdjaCL wrote: »

Bleedin loads now, striker now?

Apparently so , his name is Jamie Harris ;) .

Pats seem to want to have a monopoly on centre-backs .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Mulcahy has been signed as a centre half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Sparkey has returned home after 10 years.:D

http://www.shelbournefc.ie/news.php?id=817

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

What a journeyman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

:D oh god, great for nostalgia but being brutally honest i saw him action for Longford twice last season and he was their worst player by a distance, he has slowed down considerably and i think he was constantly injured on and off all last season, Shels can't afford to have crocks this season

but yeah great to see him back in a red shirt but bad signing IMO but it there is one person i'd love to prove me wrong it's him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Ha, legend.
    MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    What a journeyman!
    True, but a Reds great nonetheless.
    :D oh god, great for nostalgia but being brutally honest i saw him action for Longford twice last season and he was their worst player by a distance, he has slowed down considerably and i think he was constantly injured on and off all last season, Shels can't afford to have crocks this season

but yeah great to see him back in a red shirt but bad signing IMO but it there is one person i'd love to prove me wrong it's him!
    Hmm...he might turn the clock back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Sparkys probably my favorite player ever to play in the el.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,913 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Best news of this transfer laden day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Ran himself into the ground during the semi final vs UCD. He nearly had to be stretchered off at fulltime!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Pats up to 7 signings now and they get better and better.

Damien Lynch - Drogheda Utd
    Bobby Ryan - Dunfermeline
    Joe O'Cearuill - Barnet
    David Patridge - Brentford
    Gary Dempsey - Yeovil Town

In for the 3rd time
    Jamie Harris - Dunfermeline

In for the 3rd time
    Dessie Byrne - Bohs

And still a striker to come in, Fitzpatrick and Frost most likely to leave soon.

Edit rumour is its Lapira we signing the irish american lad.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

Edit rumour is its Lapira we signing the irish american lad.

kdjac
    Not a chance of him signing, he has an offer with Toronto who play in the MLS.

The keeper? Apparently hes on trial with us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Big Ears

bohsman wrote: »
    The keeper? Apparently hes on trial with us.

No the striker who somehow managed to get capped by us due to family connections .

Not a chance of him signing, he has an offer with Toronto who play in the MLS.

Hes with them afaik has spoken to Kerr recently and due over to have a look.

O Cearuil wont be us too long hes looks like an arsenal centreback :eek:

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Are you implying he's good or rubbish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

The American goalkeeper has been given a number for the season, who is he?

http://friars.cstv.com/sports/m-soccer/mtt/konopka_chris00.html

Was on trial with Cardiff and a few others.

wiki - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Konopka

He played for Bohs v Monaghan today along with Glenn Cronin

what was score?

Also jason Byrne injured?

We used to have a fanzie called osamisdoubtful, methinks you be having something similiar but actually true :D

kdjac

Byrne was signed with a hamstring injury but somehow passed a medical on 2nd attempt. Ken Oman went off injured after 5 minutes, Glenn Cronin is very injury prone, Thomas Heary and Harpal Sling already live in the treatment room.

We won 1-0 Chris Turner, apparently Neale Fenn was MOTM.

People see me as a mix between Joey Barton and George Best

:D:D

Furious george with some cracking quotes.

http://www.setantasports.com/en/Sport/News/Football/2008/02/02/eLOI-OCallaghan-slams-Rico-on-return/?facets/sport-space/football/great-britain-locale/

Already in trouble, is he eyeing the beer or the last digestive !!
    http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/uploads/1181072264/gallery_73_25285.jpg

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

http://droghedaunited.ie/scripts/Article.asp?ArticleID=1319

shaun williams gone out in loan again this time to finn harps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,286 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Mooney is looking at them too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭SectionF

Last time George played at Dalymount (last time he played in the eL?) Joxer made a monkey of him.

^ probably told him he can drink more than him.

Beat Glenavon last night 1-0

Best ground in this country by a mile, they not very good and we were magic :D

Laurent Merlin on trial played a bit last night hes magic :D

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Sporting Property Developer Dodgy County Council Franchise F.C. Corporation plc have announced their squad at their grand launch tonight

Goalkeepers:
    Steve Williams
    John Hussey

Defenders:
    Brian Gannon
    Derek Tyrrell
    Philip Byrne
    Aidan Colllins
    Chris Deans
    Brian Kelly

Midfielders:
    Karl Byrne
    Christy Doran
    Paul Caffrey
    Collie James
    Stephen Caffrey
    Joe O’Neill
    Jim Crawford :(:(:(
    Conan Byrne
    Fiachra McArdle

Forwards:
    Robbie Doyle
    Davy Sullivan
    Dinny Corcoran
    Peter Hynes

3 or 4 more quality signings in the July transfer window and that team could well win the the first division title, think they've taken one of Shels' best young players too which is even more annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭DSB

That team isn't as good as the Shels at all but seeing Crawford in there just isn't nice:(

Sporting Property Developer Dodgy County Council Franchise F.C. Corporation plc

:D:D

Not as good as Sporting Feck All.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

**** you Crawford, twice he has messed Longford around. Then again as bad as things are we dont really need an old cobbler like him.

Ndo becomes irish today so expect a demand for a free transfer to Real Socidead fairly soon.

Merlin the magician got another weeks trial with Pats, should play vs Dundalk tonight.

kdjac

from www.eircomloi.ie

All eircom League of Ireland clubs receive licences

The Football Association of Ireland’s Club Licensing Committee has awarded licences to all 22 eircom League of Ireland clubs for the 2008 season.

All 12 Premier Division clubs have received Premier Division licences, as have three clubs in the First Division who fulfilled the criteria for a Premier Division licence. The remaining seven clubs, including Sporting Fingal, have been awarded First Division licences.

Although St. Patrick’s Athletic were awarded a licence, this was subject to the club submitting further information to the Club Licensing Committee within an agreed timeframe. A financial sanction was also imposed on the club.

All clubs have been notified of the Club Licensing Committee’s decision. Clubs have the right to appeal decisions to the Club Licensing Appeals Body.

The Club Licensing Committee has already awarded “A” Championship licences last November to the new clubs that will be joining the eircom League this season.

Er....what the fúck with SPA?

Kdjac? Any comment?

Submitting dodgy licence applications?

Fines before the season even starts?

Why are they being given extended time?

Double Standards tbh. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Another cock up by the FA-fúcking-I

"Bohs" must have done trojan work to sort themselves out in the last few weeks then, unless of course the FAI just chose to look the other way.

gimmick wrote: »
    "Bohs" must have done trojan work to sort themselves out in the last few weeks then, unless of course the FAI just chose to look the other way.

Any since when would they do that.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

DesF wrote: »
    from www.eircomloi.ie

Er....what the fúck with SPA?

Kdjac? Any comment?

Submitting dodgy licence applications?

Fines before the season even starts?

Why are they being given extended time?

Double Standards tbh. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Another cock up by the FA-fúcking-I

Jaysis Des, don't over-react or anything. :rolleyes:

An administrative error by Pats. They have to provide an original of a document. How is that 'double standards'?

Lose the chip, its getting boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

gimmick wrote: »

Bohs problems had nothing to do with licencing.

Well it does, the money they have been spending to bolster there club in recent seasons is coming from that famous developer who bought Dalymount afaik. And Harristown has been having problems lately.

Lose the chip, its getting boring.

Pot, kettle, black much?

I've never seen anyone on this forum with more of a chip!

We were fined 15k for something in relation to the 65% wage cap :D

Rogers on his way another EL manager had a chat with him and he became unsettled, he wants out and we asked for Mansaram and 15k for him have to be careful so as not to reveal who the unsetling manager is.

he going to Shrewsbury afaik for a fee.

Bas "moonwalking" Savage on trial with us played yesterday in our defeat by Kiev.

kdjac

We were fined 15k for something in relation to the 65% wage cap :D
    So, are Pats ignoring the wage cap, and just paying fines?
    Rogers on his way another EL manager had a chat with him and he became unsettled, he wants out and we asked for Mansaram and 15k for him have to be careful so as not to reveal who the unsetling manager is.
    Weird, there were stories of him trying to unsettle two of our players also. Our keeper and best player. WTF is he at?
    he going to Shrewsbury afaik for a fee.
    rofl.

Dave Rogers. Superstar Mercenary.

Barry Ryan - none
    Brendan Clarke - schools international

Stephen Brennan - U21 international
    Derek Foran - U19 international
    Jamie Harris - ? (Wales)
    Stephen Paisley - U21 international
    Dave Rogers - none
    Joe O'Cearuill - full international (2 caps)
    David Partridge - full international (7 caps - Wales)
    Des Byrne - U21 international
    John Frost - U21 international
    Alan Kirby - U20 international
    Damien Lynch - U21 international
    Noel Haverty - U19 international
    Gary Dempsey - U21 interntational
    Keith Fahey - U20 international
    Joseph Ndo - full international (21 caps - Cameroon)
    Michael Keane - U21 international
    Bobby Ryan - none
    Glen Fitzpatrick - ?
    Gary O'Neill - none
    Ryan Guy - none
    Mark Quigley - U21 international
    Daniel Corcoran - U19 international

No way in hell we gonna make that cap with that squad unless special k buys 100,000 raffle tickets. And still a striker to sign.

Think the fine was for a bank statement, we want 15k for rogers and our fine is 15k/

kdjac

Is that Savage fella a striker?

Where's Noel "Baresi" Haverty on your list? Is he not making the step up this year, or is he out on loan? He has underage caps doesn't he?

Is that Savage fella a striker?

Where's Noel "Baresi" Haverty on your list? Is he not making the step up this year, or is he out on loan? He has underage caps doesn't he?

Savage

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bas_Savage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9JHt_9RltY

Haverty played in all our pre seasons so far, you shall see him tomorrow night playing for a good team with good players.

kdjac

Haverty played in all our pre seasons so far, you shall see him tomorrow night playing for a good team with good players.
    Why isn't he in your squad list then?

Not going tomorrow. You bastards are charging a tenner in, no way I'm contributing to your "fine fund".:rolleyes::rolleyes:

A fooking tenner for a friendly. Seriously.

he is in the squad list :confused:
    Damien Lynch - U21 international
    Noel Haverty - U19 international
    Gary Dempsey - U21 interntational

was a tenner into wexford youths, 5 pound into glenavon,
    damn right we should charge, be a decent amount there a lot of pats fans really really really want to see Shels :d

kdjac

he is in the squad list :confused:
    Yeah, I missed it. Three times.
    damn right we should charge,
    I'm not saying you shouldn't charge, you just not getting any of my money.

Some praise for the FAI and the licencing procedure.
    The detail of reporting that clubs in Ireland are required to produce is the same as UEFA would require from Barcelona or AC Milan because the FAI chose to implement the highest level of licensing. For instance, we were asked to produce a written Youth Development Programme and the examples they sent to us were from FC Copenhagen and Borussia Dortmund!

I have to say kudos to the FAI, and the clubs for meeting the specifications (apart from SPA :p). IF, and it's a big IF imo, they were all actually met and nothing was swept under the carpet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭raheny red

That's shocking alright. Galway charged a score into one of their friendlies a while back. I was surprised to find that I had to pay into the Village game. Thought that was a joke! A fiver into a ground where you can watch from outside a railing is taking the piss!

raheny red wrote: »
    That's shocking alright. Galway charged a score into one of their friendlies a while back. I was surprised to find that I had to pay into the Village game. Thought that was a joke! A fiver into a ground where you can watch from outside a railing is taking the piss!
    But there were International players on show in Cabra :D

A SCORE is a piss take alright.

Robbing batsards.

It was €8 for a student and €10 for an adult into Finn Park last weekend. :eek:

I may quit my job to ask how much it is for the "unwaged" tomorrow for the craic.